We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not a 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not a 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This resort is good, but not a 5 star. It maybe was when it was new but now the furniture is getting old and tired and looking well used.
First, let me say that the Mayan Beach and the Riviera Maya are only different in where the accomodations are located. They share all of the common areas, amenities and restaraunts. So--whatever you read about one, applies to the other.
The food is good--especially in the ala carte restaraunts. We liked the Cajun, Brazilian and Steakhouse--in that order. Service is very good in all of these.
The two buffet restaraunts are from the same kitchen and there is a tremendouse variety of food for every meal. If you can't find what pleases you, you're not even trying.
Drinks are plentiful--as much as you want. Many have the fancy drinks wherever the bar is, but I opted for Cervesaz, which is Corona on tap. Good beer. The house wine served in the restaraunts are ok to good. You can order name brands from the ala cartes for extra $$.
The pools are well taken care of and are sparkling clear all of the time. The staff are allways cleaning them. There are three main beaches--see youtube for what they look like. They are clean and sandy. If you stay on the main beaches you're in sand. If you go elsewhere, you're on rocks, limestone and lava. Wear water shoes for that. Snorkeling is good right at the resort. Not a lot of coral, but many fish of all descriptions. I came across a 3ft. Barracuda while I was out--made me a little nervous. I used my own gear which I would recommend.
The entertainment was good--better than the average resort show. They have a large stage area for this and the show starts at 930pm. There are also a couple of lounge areas close to the main theatre.
The staff at this resort are first class. They're very eager to please, but don't gush all over you and want to be your buddy. The only exception was the buffet breakfast. Many of those guys weren't eager to be there and it showed.
Each accomodation building had it's own concierges and they were very helpful. If you need a ride, they'll call a golf cart for you or you can take one of the shuttles that are going around the resort. The resort is very large and if you have trouble walking, you'll need these.
The biggest complaint of this place was the window between the bathroom and the other part of the suite. It's quite large and in some suites there is just a hole. Makes for privacy issues. Our room had a large frosted glass in this hole except for about an inch around the perimeter so there was no issue. Make sure you get a room with the frosted glass if you can.
AC in the rooms was very quiet and as cool as we wanted it.
Overall, I'd recommend this resort, but again, don't expect a 5 star.

Room Tip: remember the glass in the window hole in the room. Don't expect an ocean view--they save those f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,018
    2,598
    1,021
    364
    292
See reviews for
2,584
3,752
112
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,966)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great modern hotel... its huge! Long bus ride so be prepared. Beers and water are offered for a cost too... better than nothing!
Great staff check in, even though our room wasnt ready we placed bathing suits in the carry on so we were fine till it was.
Room was great when we did check in. It was our anniversary so we got a few freebies. Great view of the pool from the third floor. Lots of pop and water in the room.
We didn't have problems finding chairs by the pool. We went between 7 & 9a. You may have problems after 10a though.
The beds were hard but we still slept ok. We asked for a room away from stairs or elevators so that helped. And we always bring earplugs on vacation.
The lazy river was nice to have, as was the ice cream shoppe. It was great having the snack bar right by the pool.
One day the bathroom was in very poor shape. I even tried to tell the staff, but unfortunately there was a communication barrier. It was clean later though.
The coffee shop is fantastic!! The Spanish coffee is amazing!
The rest of our group arrived 3 days later for the wedding. I personally got married at a resort, so comparing the two came naturally.
There are lots of wedding options but unfortunately if you want any of them you have to pay. The wedding coordinator, Elizabeth was great though.
Almost 10 of us ended up going to Coco Bongo's and it was great! I would recommend it to anyone who likes clubs. We even got a private area instead of the floor because we paid for a vip package. This vip package is the only package they offer at the resort, so if you decide to go, you won't be disappointed. Franchesco and Ernesto were awesome bringing us drinks even before we asked, and about an hour before our bus was to pick us up, they started bringing us water and cleaning up the area. I definitely recommend to any younger groups!! Remember to get a $5 shot. The girls are hot and its worth it. If you don't feel like dancing, sit and watch the show. Its about 3 hours long!!
My husband lost his towel at the pool and the towel desk was happy to just give him a replacement no questions asked.
The beach was small for the resort size, but it was completely private. No one bugged you to buy anything while you sat, and there were no other resorts on the same beach.
The disco, gym and spa were far to walk to, but if you waited they had designated golf carts out to the area.
The spa was very pricey, but people in our group who spent the cash said it was worth it. I was planning an updo for our friends wedding and it was going to cost $120. I also remember looking at the prices and the water areas cost $45.
There was lots of foods to choose from at the main buffet. We ended up going to the steakhouse, the meditrainian and the mexican. We would recommend all 3 but others from our group didn't like the food so much at the steakhouse.
Its unforunate but the french or gourmet restaurant is at a cost. I would think that if you are paying for an all inclusive, it should be all inclusive.
There is a fake concierge desk in the main lobby. My understanding is that this desk is only for timeshare deals. After booking our a la cartes with the concierge in our building (2900's), we received 2 calls from the fake concierge, asking us to book our a la cartes... since we hadnt yet. Tricky!! They should really label that desk something else. Every building has a concierge desk. Book your a la cartes through them directly and as soon as you get there for best choices.
The welcoming tour is useful if youve never been to an all inclusive, are a bit worried about anything on the resort, or if you want to take an excursion. However if youve already been to one, this meeting is the same as the rest. All you need to leave the resort is the checkout slip from the front desk. You don't need anything from Air Transat or from the meeting.
Room service is at charge after 11p, and the better menu is at charge. Wifi is at charge too.
The peep hole incident came out the week we were there. We checked our maintenance room and bathroom right away. Staff were untold about the incident, and it was not mentioned while we were there. Since we checked our room, we didn't have a problem with it.
Fyi, it takes about 30 minutes to fill the tub for 2 people to sit in it.
Get to know Christian and Miguel at the pool (the entertainment staff)! They are both so nice, funny and honest. :-) Saret was our waiter while we sat in our lounge chairs around the pool. She is amazing and took care of our whole group very well. If you see her, try to sit in her section!!
The shows at night were horrible. Great for kids, but don't waste your time.
One last tip, they don't have umbrellas for you to use so bring one with you!
Safe travelling and have fun!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandmayanbeach, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi The_Wife_101, thank you for let us know about your experience in the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort and Spa, it is good to read that you have a good vacation with us and you enjoy our amanities. Regarding the French Restaurant, as you know, we offer seven all inclusive restaurants, and the reason why we decided to have the gourmet restaurant with an extra charge was to give the oportunity to our guest to have a private dinner in a restauran with no more that 10 people per sitting.
To make reference to the peep hole, we would like to take this opportunity to respond to the recent guest experience you mentioned. After being notified of the discovery of the hole in the shower, we conducted an immediate and thorough inspection of every single room in the resort, and repaired the wall sealing in that particular unit. We can confirm that this problem has been taken care of and it will never be repeated. We have also incorporated more robust measures in our daily room inspections, and implemented closer supervision of our maintenance personnel to ensure this is an isolated incident. Rest assured, our first priority has been, and always will be, the safety, security and satisfaction of each and every guest. Hope to see you soon. Daniel - Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Loved this resort, everything is up to par. The only negatives are beds were hard and pillows were small. Snorkeling at the resort was amazing! Lot's of walking to get around but we enjoyed that. Wear good shoes. Food was as expected and staff super. I would go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms were definetly nicer then others. Ours was in the 2500 building and it was nicer and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Food was ok... same thing everyday. Theme nights were good in the buffet gave you some differ ant options.. oriental one night with a sushi table Mexican another night with pork tacos fresh. Only did one alacart the Brazilian... really enjoyed this they came around with the food served off the spikes.. as much as you wanted... meat lovers dream.

Rooms very nice and large.. yes yes hole in the wall.. this did not bother me till I came home to read about the couple in my lot that had a camera peephole from the shower... this view went from the shower to the jacuzzi to the bed... stay away from 1501 this was the room they found it in. Read about it in the Toronto sun January 23rd 2013. And double check your room

Wildlife.... wow so many raccoons at 4pm everyday there was a family of at least 20 from my balcony view making its way toward the beach. The iguanas are everywhere.. they come right by the pool and the birds are beautiful.

Lobby and check in.. I asked how much for an ocean view upgrade 800 pesos a night. I travelled with my 2 year old . No stroller friendly as the buffet was on the top floor and the elevators were constantly broken. We even walked over to the other buffet also located on the top floor and that elevator was broken too... disappointed to carry stroller and baby up 50 stairs every morning for break fest only to do it again every night for dinner.

Playa de Carmen..... do yr shopping here... brand names and trinkets all cheeper. They take us and pesos. Only$19 round trip
with the shuttle each or $30 cab ride one way.
The pros... grounds are well kept and beautiful... you will not starve... service is great
The cons..... be prepared to walk a lot... long drive from airport.... check in is a 3 pm be prepared to wait if you have an early flight
Hotel only takes pesos so have some just in case.

Travel date January 20-27te

Room Tip: Stay away from 1500 rooms unless you want someone watching you... make sure you check for peepholes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi mgervais1, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I really appreciate it as it is our best source of information in order to improve our services. We would like to take this opportunity to respond to the recent guest experience you mentioned. After being notified of the discovery of the hole in the shower, we conducted an immediate and thorough inspection of every single room in the resort, and repaired the wall sealing in that particular unit. We can confirm that this problem has been taken care of and it will never be repeated. We have also incorporated more robust measures in our daily room inspections, and implemented closer supervision of our maintenance personnel to ensure this is an isolated incident. Rest assured, our first priority has been, and always will be, the safety, security and satisfaction of each and every guest. Thank you Daniel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just want to say that this Hotel is wonderful,the staff are really friendly + food is really good and can recommend the japanese restaurant as food is lovely and staff are entertaining. Our junior suite was huge and kept so clean by the staff. No complaint regarding the alcohol as we tipped the bartenders as advised and rec'd all named drinks much to our surprise,would go back to this hotel. Only two minor complaints regarding the stools in the lobby bar they are the most uncomfortable stools that I have ever tried to sit on? please please put a bit of padding on them. The beach is ok and we really enjoyed the wild life around the Hotel.The main beach bar could do with an upgrade more chairs at least as it is used a lot as they did a bbq everyday. the lazy river was real fun and the pools were good, we ourselves prefer to go to the beach. the sea was lovely and the weather was amazing.

Room Tip: Our room was in the block directly next to the Riviera Maya lobby bar.handy not far to walk home at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were a group of 6 adults from the uk and stayed for 2 weeks from 23rd January. I read many of the reviews before travelling and a few since returning and I guess if you discount the very negative reviews along with the "absolutely fantastic" ones you get a pretty comprehensive idea of what the resort experience was like for the majority of people who go. We went with no illusions of 5 star luxury, really, people only need to check the amount they paid against other resorts to know that they were opting for something less than perfect. In the event we thought the value per pound was excellent and if we want something better next time we know that we will pay an awful lot more for it.
For what it's worth we were happy with most things especialy the service from all the staff including the sometimes criticised concierges. Ours, in block 2400 was excellent and we had no trouble getting the a la cartes booked - thanks Marleen!
This is very much a family resort and as we travelled without children felt there could have been more to do in the evenings especially if the theatre shows were of little interest (good as they were). The bars in the two main buildings may as well have been in a shopping precinct or an airport departure lounge due to the vast size of the buildings and gave no feeling of intimacy. The sheer size of the buildings meant that acoustics were poor and any live music was lost in an echo of white noise. The only other place to go was the disco and as we are a little too old for drum and base music (50 somethings) it was not for us. I think the resort would benefit by using somewhere like the bayou restaurant as a late evening bar rather than as an a la carte with a bit of 60s, 70s and 80s music thrown in.
Would we go back? Yes for the wonderful staff, the lazy river, the snorkelling and the surprisingly good hamburgers served on the beach! But next time armed with the kids and grand kids - they would love it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Firstly i am not a new traveler, I have been to mexico 13-14 times on each coast. Have travelled thru out Germany, Ireland , London , Amsterdam , Bahamas and Cuba. I have never felt compelled to write a review, even thou I do rely on first had experiences. I travelled to The Grand Sirenis as a Christmas present (family vacation) myself, daughter and two sons all past the age of twenty on Jan 5th 2013. Yes the weather was incredible(usually is in Mexico). Posts I had read about this resort advised of the man made beach, which actually turned out better than what I was expecting(am a beach bum) . Room so so...yes big hole in the wall to the bathroom, shared room with my daughter, two sons room was adjoining. Food pretty much like all the other resorts..it is what it is, will you starve no.

After the first day my eldest son complained about waives of pain in his stomach, I pretty much told him to suck it up, relax...he was fine as long as he didnt stray far from a rest room. On the third day my stomach was bothering me also but tried to work thru it. By six am the next morning after a sleepless night my daughter finally called the resort medic as i was doubled over in extreme pain. The resort doctor came up felt my stomach advised my daughter to pay 277.00 cash for her fee, said she could not do anything and called an ambulance. The ambulance driver to me to Playa del carman client where he would not remove me from the back until my daughter paid 577.00 ambulance bill. Stayed in hospital for 2 days, had stomach pumped, could not keep anything down. While my kids were comming up to get me (via cab) my eldest son fell on wet title floor, bashed his head, blood everywhere and broke his foot. Needless to say we did not call the resort doctor afraid of another 277.00 fee along with another ambulance bill, came to hospital where I was at, yes broken foot.
At no time did anyone from the hotel, not desk person, manager, resort doctor call to check on my self or son. Very disappointing, even a how are you doing would have been could.
The resort nickels and dimes you for everything, I lost my hotel card, 5 dollar charge, no wifi/internet no premium alchol, believe me I looked. They left one bottle of water and two beer in the fridge, not even a known brand such as sol or carona.

So as always before you go make sure you have insurance/coverage as you may never know what can happen... food poison, bug virus what ever it was i had I had not experinced before and was extremely painful. Oh by the way sewage smell on beach and water, we actually had to shower with our bathing suits on because the smelt so bad.(Which of course is not a bad thing considering when we came home there was a report to peep holes in the washrooms....Be aware and be careful!!! Will not be returning to a resort that does not care about their quests and nickel and dime everyone.

Room Tip: Had third floor chucum building, middle of everything (if you must stay here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi Kmckmc, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I really appreciate it as it is our best source of information in order to improve our services. I am sorry that you left us with the impression that we not care about you; I want to express that this is not what the hotel stands for. As for the food quality it is very sad to hear that you think the hotel is not listed under the health and hygiene standards, it is important to know that we are certified with the Kristal award and have spent all performed health checks from travel agents positively. However, we are very sorry that we could not reach your expectations and have not had the vacations that you were expecting, which is why I give you a sincere apology. It is important to know that this can not be a case of food poisoningther since here in the hotel, we prepare food for many people and it is done in the same place with the same products at the same time, so if there was any food poisoning all the food would be bad and all guests would be sick. I do not know if you was on a tour or ate something outside the resort.
Also, we would like to take this opportunity to respond to the recent guest experience you mentioned. After being notified of the discovery of the hole in the shower, we conducted an immediate and thorough inspection of every single room in the resort, and repaired the wall sealing in that particular unit. We can confirm that this problem has been taken care of and it will never be repeated. We have also incorporated more robust measures in our daily room inspections, and implemented closer supervision of our maintenance personnel to ensure this is an isolated incident. Rest assured, our first priority has been, and always will be, the safety, security and satisfaction of each and every guest. Thank you, Daniel Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Zona Costera, Km. 256.3, Akumal 77780 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.