We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 30th Anniversary/Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera ChetumaL-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Orillia, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our 30th Anniversary/Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just came back from 10 days at the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa for our 30th year Anniversary/ honeymoon.
Hola !!The best time we have ever had. We highly recommend it to all…A-plus
Summary of our trip (worth the read)
This is a very big resort and SO enjoyable and worth it.
There are an abundance of pools with many chairs or some Bali beds, restaurants, bars and shops you can never get bored. If you just want to relax enjoy the view of the ocean or lounge at the pool this is the place for you. There is an activity Schedule for each day that you really will have a problem choosing just one. You also get entertained when you walk around and see the small animal visitors that will put a smile on your face. We can enjoy many sunrises and sunsets overlooking the beauty of the ocean. There is so much to see and do that our 10 days definitely weren’t long enough.
You can walk your heart content or take the train or golf cart they provide if you feel like being spoiled. The drivers do their best to get you exactly where you need to go and with a big smile too. Or if you want you can take a pontoon boat ride with Alfonso you will also get an extra smile and chat.
The food is great, whether you choose Italian, Mexican, Seafood, Mediterranean or just another type of tasty food you can have it in abundance in an ala carte restaurant or a buffet. We also enjoy a drink and the piano playing at the Hemingway Bar when we wanted a quiet moment.
The people were so friendly, helpful and kind. We felt like royalty.
We met so many that it was impossible to thanks everyone or get all the names of them but some that we did are: Bell hop (when we got there) Santiago, waiter at the Portofino Restaurant -Jose, Bamboo Restaurant -Yobany and Marcelino, La Adelita Restaurant -Victor, La Laguna Restaurant - Fransco and Chimal - to name just a few. We didn’t get any of our housekeeper’s names but when we saw them they all had smiles and “Hola!”. We would sometimes get surprising towel origami presents when we got to our room. Our rooms were always clean and the bar stocked…what more could you want.
The waitress and waiters at the Buffets were too abundant to catch any names or the waitresses at the lobby bars who serve drinks while you enjoyed the warm Caribbean breeze and relaxed. There are so many people that made our trip enjoyable - all you had to do was look around and see all the hard worker and double or triple that for those who are behind the scenes.
If you want night time entertainment too, can go to one of the many shows they offer for free or enjoy the local group Con Classe who will entertain you into the night.
You can enjoy a Paella on the beach Sunday at lunch or spend the day at the Spa on the resort. Or just enjoy the moonlight at the Las Rocas Pool by the beach.
There are outside trips you can book through the hotel or just take a “collective” for $4 to town. We saw there was also golf, hobi cats, water sports, snorkelling and boating and many more things which we will try the next trip 
So take your Bubba’s, a good pair of walking shoes, you bathing suit and cover-up as well and light evening wear and enjoy to your hearts content. Take some extra tip money so you can show your appreciation to the staff because it is shared by all.
You will not want to leave. We didn’t! We will be back…guaranteed !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear yappydouglas,
First of all congratulations for your anniversary. I'm happy to know that you choose us for this special date.
Thank you for your time to write your review, I will pass your good comments to our staff. You can be sure they will be happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    446
    181
    73
    73
See reviews for
511
666
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Last year, 22/6/11 we stayed at this hotel for two weeks and were very happy with all the facilities provided which helped as the weather had not been too good, the mosquitos were out in the droves due to the jungle setting and the muggy weather, to add to our problems my back decided to play up and a safari trip had to be transferred to something else less energetic. Problem our safe was broken into, in our room, and all our money was taken. Following an investigation by the security staff, and on our insistence the holiday police we were offered a complimentary package to be taken up to the end of 2012 in any of their hotels, unfortunately now the time to honour this agreement meets with total blanks to our email enquiries. I hope the management read this review as our intention was not too publish this on Trip Advisor as we had been happy with the signed agreement. Perhaps now somebody may contact us in response to our email. Thank you - hoping for an speedy resolution

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear ebnursey,
I'm sorry for the problems you mention. I can't identify you with the details you mention as I would need more information.
I don't know if you have a wrong email but I will be glad to assist you with any questions.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our stay at this resort was from May 11-16th for our 10th year anniversary.

We were greated by a Welcome drink and cool face cloth which was much needed after a 7 hour commute. Our check in was very efficient and our room was beautiful. We had a Suite on the Riviera side which was huge! It had a balcony off the living room area and one off the bedroom. The bathroom had a huge jacuzzi tub and seperate shower. When we got back to our room the first night, we were welcomed by a lovely bottle of champagne and a note from the hotel wishing us a Happy Anniversary.

This resort is HUGE!!! We got lost several times over the first couple of days but after that it was fairly easy to navigate. After that first night, I realized that high heels are not an ideal shoe to wear! If you go, make sure you bring sensibe shoes. There are shuttles that take you around but I am one who cannot sit and wait....I could walk there faster :) Also, if you take the back path by the ocean, you can navigate quite quickly to the lobby of preference.

We snorkled off of the main beach. You need to be quite careful as there are very rocky sections that make it difficult to get out but it is very much worth it. On the Riviera side, close to the beach bar, there is a large reef section with thousands of fish. They swim with you! The last time we came to Mayan Riviera, we paid to have a catamaran take us out and saw one fish. Hands down, the snorkling here was incredible without paying for a high priced tour. There is a sandy section of the beach (White Sands) where the swimming was excellent. If you go further down towards Colonial, there were several turtle nesting sites, although, no hatchings while we were there.

The grounds were beautiful. Surrounded by jungle and wildlife. There is a lot of places to seek shade. The staff work very hard to keep this resort in tip top shape and it shows. We saw racoons, iguanas, anoles, vultures (haha), and several other exotic birds. The beach is quite large and I never once felt crowded.

There is never a dull moment as there is plenty of activity and entertainment. If one lobby is quiet, you can always hop on to the lobby train to the next. The pools were fun and there is a swim up bar for those who can swim (deep sections to get to it).

The food was a mixed bag. I was not a big fan of the buffet but am not a 'buffet' type person. There was a huge selection so I always left satisfied. Bamboo (Chinese cuisine) was not a favorite but I am use to authentic Asian food so am a huge critic when it comes to this. I really enjoyed Portofino (Italian) and Sumptouri (Japanese). If you do indulge, all the walking burns off the calories ;)

We can't wait to come visit again.

Room Tip: Riviera Suites are in a very quiet area. if you want to be in the mix of things, the White Sands and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Tammy L,
It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you that we have a nice beach to do snorkel.
I hope you have the opportunity to visit us soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Well first off, let me state that we were at this resort for a 2 week stay from April 28 to May 12, 2012 for our wedding. Because of being a large group, all of our rooms were upgraded from junior suites to suites. We don’t believe our review for this resort would change had we not received the upgrades as we saw some junior suites and they were also quite nice.

We had a truly enjoyable stay at the Grand Palladium Riviera. Let’s start off with the resort in general.

As other reviewers have pointed out, this is quite a massive resort, but not unlike what you’ll find in the Mayan Riviera (Barcelò, Bahìa Principe, Iberostar, etc.) or in Punta Cana. What can be commended of this one is the fact that the resort was actually carved out of the mangroves that were there beforehand instead of clear cutting the whole area. This place is alive! What a treat to cross paths with iguanas, raccoons, coatis, etc. The grounds are consistently being kept immaculate – the positive side of walking around so much on this huge resort… more on that later. The layout of the resort is quite ‘’organic’’ is style (as opposed to straight quadrant roads), but can also lead to confusion as to what direction you need to go to get somewhere. I have a good sense of direction, but others from our party still did not know their way around after a two week stay (pay attention to the signs and you’ll be ok)!

What made getting around the resort a bit cumbersome was the lack of consistency from the trolley system. These large golf carts (wheeled trains in between lobbies) followed set paths that ultimately brought you from your villa to the lobbies. Staff told us that it should take no longer than 10 minutes for one to pass by a stop. I suppose they meant 10 ‘Caribbean’ minutes as we’ve waited much longer, and sometimes without a sign. So we walked… Most of our group actually enjoyed the walks because of the beautiful property, but some had minor disabilities and others had children and strollers. If this is your case, I might recommend the Kantenah/Colonial side of the resort because it doesn’t have a lagoon running through the central part of the resort, so no steep bridges to climb up and down.

The lobbies are all quite massive and share many similarities albeit being different in some ways. The Riviera offers the largest of all amphitheatres (the Colonial has the other one) and it also has the discothèque. Other than the buffet, all à la carte restaurants are at the other lobbies. The Kantenah side offers a couple neat ‘’up-scale’’ bars (Hemingway and Churchill) that offer premium liquor selection. Speaking of liquor, the overall selection was quite half decent, with many quality rum, tequila, vodka and whiskey. The Colonial has a sports bar for those who can’t miss a game!

As for food there are 9 restaurants (10 if you’re staying at Royal Suites) that all have different national or regional themes (Japanese, Asian fusion, Mexican, Brazilian, Ribs, Steaks, Mediterranean, seafood and Italian). These are all à la carte and you’d have to be pretty picky to not be able to eat well here. Some of the standouts were the veal and lamb at the Mare Nostrum (Mediterranean), the beef teriyaki at the Bamboo (Asian fusion) and many in our group enjoyed the seafood at the Punta Emilia. Note to self, do not miss the Sumptori food show, rather spectacular and tasty although fairly salty. If you enjoy snacking 24 hours, you’ll enjoy heading to the beach bars where you can get a great selection finger foods. We only did the buffet once for dinner, but the selection was reasonably impressive. The same could be said for breakfast – they have pretty much anything you could crave for from fresh fruit, to eggs (cooked however you want them), to all types of bread, bagels and pastries, from cheese to cereal and fresh squeezed juice. For lunch, your buffet options are the main buffet at the lobby, with a large selection similar to dinner and the pool buffet, where you get a decent, but smaller selection. At either you could have cooked on the spot fish, chicken and pork. Being in Mexico, I found the preparation was pretty blend on typical Mexican food, but they had a wide variety of sauces to spice things up (I suppose they do have to cater to a wide clientele). The guacamole and pico de gallo were amazing!

Let’s get into the rooms. As stated earlier, our room was a full suite. You basically enter in the living room part that has a couch (with roll-a-way bed) a coffee table, three comfy chairs, a desk and Sony LCD TV standing on a unit that holds your coffee maker and mini-fridge (Pepsi products, water and beer). Next there’s a short hall with a two-door sliding closet (with safe) that leads to a mirror on one side facing the bathroom on the other. The bathroom is fairly large with a whirlpool tub, large marble counter with a single sink, toilet and a large enclosed shower area. At the end of the hallway is the bedroom with countertop for a large piece of luggage, an LCD TV standing on top the dresser (not a lot of room for storing clothes), a desk and finally a king size bed with two night tables. Both the bedroom and living room have access to very nice balconies. Upon first impression the rooms are quite nice, but you start noticing many small scuffs and markings on the furniture that gives you the impression that the rooms need a little updating. This is truly not a big deal as the rooms were very clean, but we enjoy a more modern feel – they could easily change the bed covers and paint the walls to neaten things up. Our bed was quite comfortable, we enjoy harder mattresses, and the standard pillows were just fine, although some in our group would have liked something thicker. You have the option of a pillow menu for 3$/day. Also, you could feel that the mattress was covered with a light plastic, of sorts, which did not breathe very well, although we slept very well and, overall, we were quite happy with our room.

We were rather pleased with the beach area as we found it the best spot to enjoy the sun and outdoors with the nice breeze making sure we didn’t overheat – If you can stay in the sun, by the pool, for more than 10 minutes you’re much braver than we are… Anyways, having been to Punta Cana, La Romana and Barbados it’s safe to say that this beach offers something for everyone. The sand is white and somewhat powdery (not so much as in Punta Cana) and can be a bit rocky because of coral formations right close to some of the shore. On the other side of the coin, you get much better snorkelling right off resort (but not a great as that of the Dreams La Romana, DR). The water is probably one of the clearest I’ve ever seen. From one end of the resort to the next resort (El Dorado) you can probably have a good 30-45 minutes stroll on the beach. Staying at the Riviera, our coast was rocky coral, very beautiful in its own right and we had direct access to the salt water pool. This amazing area with chairs and Bali beds was built in the coral sea wall and also has a bar. You could easily spend most of your trip there and if you’re a beach bum you can walk 5 minutes to the beach – probably a further 5 minutes to hit the nicer swimming areas with no rocks or coral. During our two week stay, we never found the waves too much to handle, even when the red flags were out and during most of our trip the water was quite calm.

As an important side note, we never had any problems finding chairs in our out of the sun, nor at the pool or at the beach. The sheer size of the resort never made it feel packed with people.

If you’re looking for nice free-form pools, this is the place for you. The Palladium has two massive pools, both are quite similar except that we found the Kantenah/Colonial pool too deep, but more exciting (more activities). The Riviera/White Sand pool had cooler water (a positive). Many times, by the swim-up bar, we found the bartender overwhelmed by the patrons. He did an amazing job serving all these people, but he could have used more help to speed things up a bit. Definitely one of the nicest pools we’ve been at. There are a few more adult pools interspersed around the complex, but we only took advantage of the one by the main pool for a late night swim. It’s very nice having the option to cool off in a pool at night!

The RenovaSpa was a mixed bag for us. It’s very beautiful and massive, the pool is probably just a nice as the main pools and you have access to all, including the relaxation area that offers steam rooms, saunas and therapeutic pools. The massages and beauty salons were extra… Not bad. The gym is the lacking point, upon first sight it feels large and open, but the cardio machines were not in the best shape and lacked some free weights. Next door was a great looking group exercise room with a big open floor and a section with spinning bikes. We were very excited to see these bikes, but unfortunately all but one (out of 10 or 12) still had fully secured pedals. Hopefully the resort will fix these or at least remove them so that people like us don’t get their hopes up to keep their exercise routine going.

In review, aside from the inconsistent trolleys and a little need to freshen up the rooms, we truthfully enjoyed our stay at the Grand Palladium Riviera. Staff was generally courteous and ready to help and they responded much quicker to requests than what we’ve experienced so far in all-inclusive trips. Although the complex is pretty massive, it is pleasing to the eye walking around the different pathways and crossing path with so much wildlife. We have no problem rating this facility a 4 or 4.5 star out of 5 and recommending this place to others.

* As an aside of our review, we really want to thank Grace, from the wedding team, for her amazing help and work at organizing all the details of our wedding. She attended to all our needs and requests and made sure that everything went flawlessly. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

Room Tip: No room service unless at Royal Suites section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear degrace26,
I really loved to read your detailed review. Thank you for your time and I am sure that it will help other customers before they arrive.
I hope you visit us soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It's absolutely amazing to read reviews of the same resort and see such diverse opinions. When we read reviews of the Grand Palladium Resorts that present an unfavorably view, we are amazed!! Where did these people really go?! We went for our third visit in April, and if possible this visit was even better than the first two! Our family philosophy is to never go to the same place twice, so when we have been here three times in two years, that speaks highly of these resorts. Here are my thoughts this time:
THE EMPLOYEES: we have yet to see someone who seems miserable in their job! Can't say that about people here in the US now, can you? These folks are smiling,( and laughing, especially when we practice our Spanish on them). They were always ready to assist us in any way. It's amazing to my husband and myself to see them continue smiling when they receive poor treatment from the guests. Come on people, be nice!!! Those employees are there to make your vacation pleasant.
THE GROUNDS: beautiful! Sure it's a long walk from place to place, but what else do you have to do? Enjoy being able to walk at a leisurely pace, and maybe you'll start a new habit for when you return home. It's sure not going to hurt most of us to do a little walking. On the other hand, when we were lazy, we never had more than a few minutes wait if we wanted to use their shuttle.
THE ROOMS: great rooms. The a/c worked, the beds were comfortable, plenty of storage, clean linens and clean bathrooms. And a free safe on top of this!
THE FOOD: oh my goodness....if you can't find something you like to eat, then you should just stay home! We ate at the steakhouse twice, which was delicious, the Mediterranean was also very good. Our daughter and her fiance travelled with us this time, and they thoroughly enjoyed the Japanese resturant, and Punta Emilia. Of course the buffets were always good, we rotated between them at night and ate at the outdoor buffets at lunch so we didn't have to stray too far from the pool!!
THE POOL AND BEACH: the pool was a little cool for us in April, but that's just because we prefer it to be like bath water! Spotlessly clean, plenty of chairs and plenty of shade or sun...whichever you chose. The beach was clean and there were plenty of chairs. Perhaps not as much shade as would be needed during the summer months, but there was shade available while we were there.
THE SHOWS: first of all, it was so good to see again so many of the dancers that were there on our previous trips. The ballet shows are amazing, and have quite a bit of Mexican history incorporated into them. The POP entertainer shows are hilarious!! For the number of hours these guys and girls are working, then to perform at night....they are great shows! It was good to see Memo is still at GP! He is so full of energy and seems to be everywhere you look!! you really don't want to miss the "YMCA" song and the "ballet" to the Titanic music. HILARIOUS!!
TOTAL PERCEPTION OF GP: If there's a better place out there, I still don't think we would go. This place is so comfortable after three visits, it just feels like home. I'm anxious to try the Dominican Republic property next!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear gabby63,
I appreciate your good comments and I wish all our customers had the same opinion. I understand that we can improve our services and of course it helps if someone is not happy that we could know about their disagreement during their stay.
It will be fantastic to see you soon for your fourth visit!

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was our second trip to the GP - Riviera in as many years and it once again did NOT disappoint.

We stayed for 13 nights, and decided to upgrade to a suite (from the Junior Suite we stayed in last year), and we're so glad we did. The suites provide that extra bit of room you need to settle in for a longer trip - not that we spent much time in the room!

The service at check in was excellent, and I'm happy to say that most of our requests (sent one week in advance of our arrival) were accomodated. Our villa was a little further away from the pool than we would have liked, but really, it meant all of an extra 2 minute walk to anywhere we wanted to be. We had a great 3rd floor suite, which faced the ocean (although you couln't really call it an "ocean view", but you could SEE the ocean over the tops of the mangrove), so from the bedroom you could hear the sounds of the waves crashing in on the beach - true relaxation! :)

The bed was comfortable, the rooms were always well made up (a challenge with how much stuff we had all over the place!), and we had no problems with the mini bar restocking - as a matter of fact, we left a small tip and asked for extra pepsi, as we don't drink much else, and for the duration of our trip, we received extra pepsi every day. I found the pillows to be more comfortable this year than last, but think I may upgrade and get something from the pillow menu next year :)

We always enjoy the selection at the buffets at the GP, and our daughter, now 8, can be a picky eater, but she always leaves with a full belly. Special thanks to the chef at the Pizza station, who would always make sure there was a cheese pizza ready within 5 minutes if there wasn't one waiting for us!
Most times, the service was top notch (someone to promptly clean your plate, refill your water glass, offer an after-dinner cappucino), but that would be my only complaint, and not really a complaint - it was just inconsistent. And it really didn't appear to have anything to do with how busy the buffet was; sometimes it was busy and you got great, prompt table service, other times when it didn't appear busy, well, the personal service was just meh.

But certainly don't let that stop you from vacationing here!

We ate at 5 of the 7 a la carte restaurants (italian, brazilian, steakhouse, ribs and mediterranean) and the service was impeccibe. If you're looking for a great steak though, stay away from the steakhouse, and instead order the steak at the ribs place! And the lamb with mint sauce at the Mediterranean restaurant was out of this world (according to my husband - he just couldn't stop raving about it!).

This time we attended the breakfast sales presentation regarding the Palladium Travel Club. Look, we enjoy the Palladium brand, and figured it was worth 90 minutes of our time to go listen to what they had to say. They don't call it a time share, but its kind of a time share, and if you're not interested, don't go, and spend the 2 hours at the pool instead - I mean its vacation after all! Now we attended, and dealt with 4 separate people that morning; the first 2 were great and the last 2 were just way too pushy. After thinking about it for a couple of days, and talking to other people who had purchased palladium club memberships, we decided to go back and give it another listen, where we dealt with Hugo who was A W E S O M E, and at the end of the day ended up purchasing a club membershp that worked for us. We're looking forward to going back, and taking advantages of our membership (we have people now!). Anyway, the 90 minue presentation DID get me 2 $50 certificates for the spa, which I was able to use toward a couple of massages (one poolside, and one on the beach - trust me - treat yourself!!!)

Overall, a really great experience, and we look forward to returning to a property in the GP chain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear therodgerses,
Thank you for your time to write your review.
It's wonderful to see your good comments about our resort and it will be fantastic to see you in your future stays with us.
I like to see that you joined to our Travel Club. It is highly reccommended when you travel a lot or if you visit our resorts quite often as you get the best rates for your future stays. Many people gives their opinion without knowing the product and everybody always think of it about a "timeshare". I reccommend to get information of course without obligation and then I would respect everybodys opinion.

Thank you and see you soon,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We just spent a week at Palladium Riviera. I would never go back!!! The food was less than average and the outside buffet had no netting so watch your food or the crows come and steak it all, the staff weren't friendly, the maid for the room cleaning was amazing though that was a bonus, we had to get the sink fixed twice in the room which still didnt work so we had to pull to plug right out for the trip. This part of the hotel has no beach, you have to walk or take the train that stinks like diesel to the far end to get sand, we had all rocks with no loungers. Its really far to walk anywhere the lay out isnt great, the bridges over the pool are pretty far away from where you actually want to go. The lagoon around the pool and lobbys of whitesands and riviera smelt like swamp everyone near it. They also had there 25yr deal on for Club Palladium which was a great price if you were interested but it was a turn off from ever going to their hotels again. They give you a breakfast at the Royal Suites buffet and then show you the suites you would get if you booked there. They kept saying we want to spoil you this is where we spoil you, Shouldnt you be spoiling all your guests at a resort? Just didnt sit right

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear sarahr317,
I'm sorry you didn't like the Hotel and our services. We always try to meet our customers expectations so I'm sorry if this was not the case.
We have wonderful staff and services so I do apologise if we didn't do our best to provide the best vacation.
We have Managers on duty 24h per day so it really would have helped to know about any inconvenience during your stay.
If you decide to change your mind it would be a pleasure to meet you if you visit us.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera ChetumaL-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa is located sea front with superb access to the beach and is only 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Guests are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Riviera Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Maya
Hotel Grand Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riveria
Gran Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.