We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, and not the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time, and not the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We would like to thank the staff at the royal suites, for the best vacation we have ever had. The junior suite we stayed in, had a beautiful whirlpool tub on the terrace, and the room itself was very clean, very beautifuly laid out,and very romantic. From the generous amount of towels, room sevrice, and full bar, to the VERY professional attitude from all the staff. The friendly attitude of "welcome back home" to the great bartending at the terraze pool with Julio, our stay was and always will be Bragged about to all our friends. We were very happy with food amounts and the different resturants menus. We were introduced to the very good shot called the "cuccarachia"....go to el jardin for this one, or the lobby bar at the royal suites, or the churchhill private bar. We are already planning our next trip to Grand Palladium, in the next few months as we are extremly excited to get back to "eden". Thank you again to all the great staff at the Grand Palladium..Royal Yucatan Suites....we will be seeing you all very shortly!!!!!!

Room Tip: Villa 70 royal suites...ARE THE BEST....................
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    523
    242
    99
    49
See reviews for
581
808
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

First trip as travel club members and it was so nice! Great food at the steak houses 4 of our 7 nights there.Love the food on the beach - from the jalapeno poppers to chicken wings to fajitas! Walking around is fun too - iguanas and wildlife everywhere. Our suite was nice and very close to everything. The live band playing 80s rock was KICK AZZZZ! Loved that show the most of all! Liz did a good job with the travel club. Joshua was a great "special" driver of our blue golf cart and we always enjoy a night cap at the Sports Bar with Jacinto. Only had one grumpy bartender at the upper pool bar, but there's always one in a crowd. The only bad part is that the pillows are bad. Next time I will bring my own.

Room Tip: Bring a mug to keep your drink of choice cold. And your pillow from home. Don't miss the spa as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

After what felt like months, I decided to take my wife on our honeymoon to the Grand Palladium White Sands Resort & Spa villa #6136 oceanview. We are both seasoned travelers and can be picky at times. We flew Club class with Air Transat's Airbus A-330 which was worth every cent. All in all it was an amazing resort let alone the 3 other resorts it's attached too. The resort is so huge it has a train system that runs throughout the resort all hours of the day and night.

Pros:

-Size
-clean
-nightly entertainment
-food was pretty good but nothing special
-room was clean and had no musty smells
-very friendly staff and bartenders!
-drinks as wear or strong as you want them
-on site shops

Cons:

-size (if you don't like the walks or transit system to and from rooms/sister resorts
-ocean (erosion has washed away quite a bit of sand leaving sharp rock


Top notch resort all around!!!

At the night bars by the theaters, look out for """""""""""""LOUIS """"""""""""
he is the man!!!!!!!!


You will not be let down at the Grand Palladium white sands!

Remember tip well and often. They work 12-16 hours a day in the heat to support there families!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the transport pick up points
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We've travelled through much of the Caribbean, staying at Sandals and RIU resorts in St. Lucia, Jamaica, and Mexico. We love Sandals and RIU both, but when Grand Palladium offered the best deal for 2 adults and one child over the New Year, off we went.

FOOD: Plentiful and varied at the a la cartes. We tried the Brazilian, Mexican, Italian, and Mediterranean restaurants, and were pleasantly surprised at each: steaks were cooked perfectly, and my two picky eaters always polished their plates. Unfortunately, we were turned away from a number of empty a la cartes, with hosts saying there was a 2 hr wait because of wedding parties. Arrive at the a la cartes no later than 5:45 p.m. if you want to be assured of a table. Dinners at the buffet were only passable, with much of the food sitting out for long periods of time; however, the exception was New Year's Eve, when there were endless mounds of lobster and shrimp. The Cookie House in the buffet restaurant was a real treat, with freshly baked cookies available morning through night. And don't forget to get ice cream / popsicles from the bar near the pool!

SERVICE: Spotty. We had to call housekeeping on occasion, asking for extra blankets and pillows; these requests were handled promptly, and with a follow-up call from the front desk. However, despite a $2 / day tip, after our room had been serviced we often found only 2 towels for the three of us, and had to call housekeeping for more. Restaurant staff at the a la cartes were attentive and friendly while the buffet staff were rushed.

ROOM: Passable. The bed was somewhat on the hard side, the pillows lumpy and flat. The mini-fridge was restocked every day with water, beer and pop, but I missed the rum etc. some resorts make available in your room. GPWS asks that you not hang towels or clothes on your balcony / patio for aesthetic reasons, and so do not provide a hanging rack; as a light packer who occasionally has to wash a T-shirt, I missed this. On a brighter (and perhaps more important) note, the shower was roomy, and there was good water pressure and plenty of hot water.

OTHER: The beach is beautiful: a long stretch of fine white sand, maintained by a crew hauling away rocks every day. It's popular, so be sure to claim a lounger in the morning or you may be out of luck. My son and husband played tennis every day. It's a bit of a trek to the tennis / basketball courts, so they caught the golf carts whenever possible. Be prepared to inhale exhaust to and from your room, as these carts drive on the paths all day. Kids will have lots to do at GPWS: the kids' clubs were well attended, and my son enjoyed feeding the koi the resort has in ponds around the resort, and seeing the crocodiles and iguanas.

BOTTOM LINE: It was OK. What would really prevent me from returning was the distance from our room to just about everything: food, drink, amenities. Our room was in the 5800 block, a decent walk to the restaurants, bars, tennis / basketball courts, and pool. We are athletic and enjoy long walks, but it's a bit of a hassle walking that distance multiple times a day, or when you've forgotten something in the room. Just us though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear calliope_8,
It's good that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services.
Thank you and I hope you visit us soon.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Nice resort. Very large. Train takes u to lobbies and two white trams go to rooms have to get the tram from your lobby.

I found food awesome. Loved the Bamboo and the Rib my steak u could cut with butter knife.

Rooms were large and clean. Although we had to continually ask for 3 of everything even though we were using both beds and pull out couch. (would have been obvious to me that there was 3 in room as booked).

We had 4 power outages on our stay. First was during the nightly show. Maintenance said it was routine shut down for air conditioning. Ya lol like they do that during the show. One at 6am with alarms going off and on. And one while I was in the shower.

Spa is awesome. Lots of chairs at pools. Signage was a little confusing till u got used to it.

Overall had a enjoyable trip...No one bugged us for timeshare did not even see anyone. No vendors walking beach to bug u.

Took bus $3.00 to town but all the same stuff as resort. Buy liquor and souvenirs at airport.

Had 4 double Strawberry Daiquiris within 2 hrs and still was never feeling alcohol and still did not get a buzz even though I watched him put in rum..(should have been falling down drunk ) Think it was watered down...as beer and wine was ok..

Room Tip: We stayed in 6215 ocean view. It is on 2nd floor but could not see ocean for trees maybe better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Good morning swainer,
Thank you for your comments and sorry for any inconveniences regarding power outages.
As you can imagine it is not routine and we would not do anything during show time. There was an external problem so we had to use our own power generators so we could fix it quickly.
Thanks again and I hope you visit us soon again.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

january 2012
did not get a welcome drink and fruit basket,tiquilla bottle as included.was in imperial suite and asked to be changed to ocean view suite,with extra charge this was done in an hour!!! beautiful room and view,but opened bed and it was full of bugs hundreds of them took pictures of this provided upon request.called front desk,took 2 hrs before they came and changed te bed and put a bit of spray,thank god i had my can of raid.we travel 5 times a year and usally go to bahia principe hotels.the grounds are very nice the pool to cold,the food is good but not like bahia hotels,gave a lot of tip but never had a single decoration on our bed.we would give this hotel maximum 4 star,quality price,not sure we would return to this hotel.too expensive and got a lot more in bahia principe hotels in dominican republic....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Richard L,
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
It would have been helpful if a manager would have been aware of the problems in your room as he probably would have helped to solve any problem.
Thanks for your feedback.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
dtor.whitesandriviera@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was our first stay at The White sands, we decided to ignore any negative comments about it that we saw on trip advisor and regret doing so. We upgraded to an Imperial Suite to supposedly get the best of everything a five star hotel is known to offer. We arrived at 7:00 pm and were to recieve a welcoming drink and cold towel, we recieved neither. No fruit basket or bottle of tequila was awaiting us in the room as was advertised by the hotel. Both showed up later after we requested them. The bananna's used in the fruit basket were over ripened, un-appealing and almost rotten looking and the basket did not look as those depicted in their brochure. Victor was on the front desk and behaved as his job was bothersome and un-interesting. He failed to inform us about how things worked at the hotel, as we later discovered. We got to our Imperial Suite, which was a designated "smoking room". At the time of booking back in September, we had requested non-smoking as we have children and my wife is allergic to smoke. We called the front desk and were told there was nothing they could do about it, they were full, which is odd as the hotel seemed quite empty being early January. Discovered our childrens pull out bed had no sheets, no pillows, no blankets and smelled strongly of old urine. Called the front desk about that and they provided sheets and two worn fuzz balled looking blankets a couple hours later. Never did get any pillows for the children the entire two weeks and I guess we were expected to use the stained throw cushions from the couch as pillows. Don't expect "turn down" bed service as this happened 4X during our two week stay, and only 2X for our children's bed. Children's turn down service were void of chocolates being placed on the pillows. Front desk is unfriendly and unhelpful, bordering on rude. Any inquires or requests are treated as annoying. We discovered on our first night that the faucet head in the tub was totally broken off and the shower in the shower stall was broken, closet door was broken and all balcony lights burned out. These were all fixed over the next few days, but this is what they call an Imperial Suite ? Very disappointing, don't upgrade to the Imperial Suite. Next couple days we spoke to the Concierge about being assigned to a smoking room and its condition, including not being able to use the air conditioner since it poured out smokes each time we turned it on. Our concerns were returned as "they were working on it". This all turned out to be untrue, they were doing nothing. My wife believed we were given a "smoking room" because we had children and the concierge lady Mariliia admitted that they put us in the smoking room because the hotel does not want children destroying their non smoking Imperial Suites. It became blatently obvious that the main duty of the concierge was to sell you on their Travel Club - a nice word for Time Share. At this point and after a week, we called our travel agent, who surprisingly has more pull than we thought. We appreciated the assistance Marlin Travel promptly gave. This is a good reason itself to use a travel agency rather than self book. The next day, six nights after we arrived we finally got a non smoking room with an apology from the manager , the well spoken polite Edgar Espinosa, who said neither the front desk nor the concierge had informed him of our concerns. Edgar genuinely seemed interested in resolving our situation which he did. He gave us what we paid for accomodation wise in the first place. There was no compensation offered for spending six days in a stinking broken down smoking room. The new room was an improvement and at least our children's bed did not smell of urine. Beware of the maids leaving the bathroom window open with no screens particuarly if you have children and are on the higher floors as this happened with us causing great upset with my wife. The maids also seem to have a interest in exploring cosmetic bags. The buffet is the best place to eat, particularly breakfast. Avoid the restaurants except the traditional Mexican one. The only good beach and area to swim is on the other side of the resort in front of the Ketanneh. The staff drive around the resort in golf carts at high speeds and without lights at night - a genuine hazzard. Pools are un-heated and seemingly empty being they are so cold. Hotel service is very inconsistant overall with it being predomiantly poor. This was a very stressful vaction and one we won't repeat. The hotel efforts are clearly focused on the exterior appearance as it is undeniably beautiful and grounds impecably kept. If they concentrated half of this effort into areas of customer service the end result could be amazing. We will be forwarding a letter to Air Transat Vacations and the owners of this hotel regarding our stay. Very disappointing for the money spent on this Five Star Holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivieraywhitesand, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Andrea J,
I’m sorry you had a bad experience in our Hotel. Our goal is to provide the best service in order to exceed our customers’ expectations.
I do apologise and I agree that we could have done something before. We worry about our customers and our Managers will be glad to help anybody (as Edgar did) if they are requested.
Thank you and if you decide to visit the Mayan Riviera in the future it will be a pleasure if you decide to give us a second chance.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#15 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium White Sand are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa (excluding the Royal Suite facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium White Sand Hotel Akumal
Palladium White Sands
Grand Palladium White Sands Resort
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.