We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort - get treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort - get treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Coba is a beautiful resort full of warm hard working people ready to cater to your every need. I read reviews daily for 3 months before going. I suggest doing the same especially if you've never been out of the country or at a all-inclusive resort before.
Ride to the hotel: kinda long-non stop transfer through Apple Vacations (extra $30) and took about 1hr 20 min.
Check In: Quick and easy
Food: Buffets and snack bars-really good-lots of variety-Seafood ala carte/not so good-to fancy for my taste-didn't like the choices
I was disappointed that the Japaneese ala carte was closed during our stay
Drinks: Can get them anywhere-not real strong but really good-if you want to get buzzed, do shots of tequila (mixed drinks won't get you there)
Room and Grounds:Imaculate, clean and fresh-towel art is great and always plenty of towels, soaps, tissues etc.
Tipping: I didn't see a difference is service whether we tipped or not. I left $2 a day for the maid and $2-$3 for our waiter at breakfast and dinner. The people that work at this resort are very friendly, eager to please and extremely hard working. If you can afford to go on vacation then you can afford a few dollars here and there for these wonderful people. I can't say enough good things about them.
Currency: Everyone is more than happy to take American money. No need for pesos.
I loved this resort and the service we got from Apple vacations. I did learn a couple things from this trip. 1st of all, we've never gone anywhere like this before. We only went for (4) days. Need at least 6. I would opt for a resort closer to the airport next time with such a short stay. If you are looking to party, this isn't the resort. Nightly entertainment (gotta see the M.J. show) is ok but disco doesn't open until midnight and it's for the younger crowd (we're 36 and 40). The entertainment it kind of repetitive as well. I would have liked a more adult atmosphere (pools shut down @ 7pm, shows are over around 10:30-11pm). It would have been nice to party @ the pool late and perhaps had a more adult club (like I said the disco was geared for the younger crowd). With that being said, the Coba is a wonderful family resort and we had an amazing time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,617
    2,176
    720
    235
    156
See reviews for
2,515
3,437
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

This place is really a special place. Theres so much food and drink to choose from and it makes a change to go to a big all inclusive where you have many options on a night- this is what made it special for us.
The beach is amazing especially the coba/akumal area of the beach, its crystal clear with tropical fish. All the pools are fantastic- the only problem being you have to be up at 7am to lay towels down which was annoying.
We prefered the Tulum buffet, only reason being there was more to choose from but coba buffet is still excellent.
Theres shuttles buses to go around which took us a while getting used to, but its easy after a few days.
We took a taxi to tulum ruins and its beautiful, but very hot so be careful. We went to xcaret and stayed for the night show which was also good- so much walking. Definately go snorking in the underground rivers theres so much tropical fish.

The hacienda is very good with shops and bars when the hotel quietens down on a night.
We didnt see many shows but we went to the circus one which was excellent.
we will be going back in a couple of years!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Great Place !
Our 2nd time athe the Coba.
Great service, fantastic food, very friendly staff.
I strongly recommend...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

The accomodations were awsome! The rooms were great. I wasn't afraid to walk around barefoot and the shower/tub was clean. The food was excellent at the buffets and restaurants. The snack bars at the pools and the midnight snack place wasn't the greatest. The beach was wonderful and it was a nice walk to get to it, not too far! The pools were nice! There were some problems finding seats. People tried to save seats by placing towels on the chairs. We waited a while and when they didn't come, we put the towels on one chair and took the other. They didn't show up at all!!!! All of the employees at the hotel were so, so nice! We spent one day at Playa del Carmen which was a fun place to visit. It took about 1-1/2 hours to get to the hotel from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at Gran Bahia Principe Coba from April 12-19.

Room was superior, compared to other all-inclusives we have experienced. King size bed. Large sitting area (table and two chairs, sofa/day bed). Jacuzzi tub with shower (great water pressure all week). Mini fridge with beer, pop and juice - restocked every day. Two large (1 litre) bottles of water provided each day. Coffee maker and coffee, replenished every day. (a bottle of Baileys provided our "must" addition for morning java on the balcony!) Air conditioning worked well, was also an overhead fan. Balcony was fairly small, with two plastic patio chairs and a small table. We were on the ground floor (no issues), all the buildings were three-storey walk-ups.

We did not drink the water in the room, but drank water in the restaurants all week (appeared the be bottled, as was the water they used to make coffee).

Maid service was excellent. We left $2 on the pillow every morning. One day she forgot facecloths and it took about 2 minutes to get replacements.

Bags delivered promptly when we arrived; we left early on Sunday morning and called for bags to be picked up - cart was there in 5 minutes.

The Gran Bahia Principe complex on the Mayan Riviera is amde up of three resorts: Coba, Akumal and Tulum. Tulum is the oldest, stretches along the beach. Akumal is newer, fronts onto the beach although a good part of it is not directly on the ocean. Coba is behind Akumal. Even the furthest villa at Coba is no more than a (pleasant, easy) 10-minute walk from the beach. And there are shuttles that run all the time.

We had access to all of the restaurants (buffet and a la carte), pools, bars, etc. at all three. So the choice among a la carte restaurants was varied. Our favourite was Mikado (Japanese restaurant at Coba). Agree with other reviews about booking early:!We waited until the morning after arrival and had to make a few compromises. Main issue was time: we ended up eating late (9:00 - 10:00pm) when we went to the a la carte restaurants. No issue, that fit our schedule ... but couples with children might have found that problematic. We also found that when we showed up an hour early, we could still get a table.

Buffets were excellent. Good variety of food, always found something we liked. Never walked away feeling disappointed. Good service at the tables at the buffet - wait staff were always prompt in providing water, drinks, coffee or taking away plates. We found the main buffet near the Coba lobby very busy in the morning, and found our way a couple of days to Cozumel buffet which was smaller but never quite so busy.

People are out early (6:30!) putting towels on poolside chairs/loungers. We could always find a chair by one of the pools if we walked around . . . but the "reserve a chair and then disappear back to bed" approach taken by most meant that by 9:00 a.m., most chairs by the pools were spoken for. So we went to the beach. Never had a problem finding a chair on the beach, even when showing up late in the morning. Especially easy when we walked up the beach toward Tulum.

It was windy when we were there, so surf was up. But there are some sheltered areas of beach for swimming, going for a dip. Thankful for sandbags (where the teenagers would stand and wait for the waves!).

Lots of bars, of course - by every pool as well as in the lobbies. We found the pool bar to be a little much (lots of very drunk people by early afternoon). Not that we mind people having a good time, we just moved down to the other end of the pool when things were wound up. Main lobby bar at Coba and Akumal before dinner in the evening was very enjoyable.

Used the gym: not a lot of equipment (one rowing machine, one cardio machine, one stationary bike, some weight equipment) but not too cramped, machines were mostly in good repair and staff were helpful.

We noticed a lot of European travellers at this resort - many from the UK as well as Italian, Spanish, German. Many Canadians, of course. But not a lot of Americans, which was a bit surprising.

Bus trip to the resort from Cancun was fine. About an hour-and-a-half, with stops at two other resorts. If you have a bus arranged with your tour operator (we were with Air Transat), exit the terminal and bear left...big buses are just around the corner, and they are pretty well signed. We stopped to ask for directions in the terminal concourse and had to extricate ourselves from a very aggressive timeshare pitch!

Would strongly recommend Alltournative if you are planning an excursion. We took the Mayan Encounter (ruins at Coba, ziplining and rapelling into a cenote); it was a great day. If you go to Coba, though - rent a bike or a Mayan 'taxi', or yo'll be jammed for time!

We'd go back to Gran Bahia Principe Coba in a second.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Canadians be careful with these guys. Nice resort, treat you well until something goes wrong. We unfortunately arrived on the 14th of April, Conquest vacations went bankrupt the 15th. I went to them to see what was going on. I offered to pay what Conquest owed them for the room. They stated their contract was with Conquest not us. As such they charged us the top rate they could charge us. I paid $4990 (Cdn) for the original package. The Bahia Coba made us paid $5,690 just for the rooms. There was no negotiating with them. I told them this was extortion. I asked what would happen if I didn't have the money to pay. They told me they would help me reach friends and family to get the money from them (nice help hey!). I was told if we didn't pay they would not allow us to check out and would call the police. As I said I had no problem paying them what was owed to them for the room, even though they were the ones that extended credit to Conquest. But they would not go for that. They charged us the rack rates. These guys are crooks. Also once they knew we didn't have a rep at the hotel representing us the service went down hill. They did nothing to help us. I asked to use their computers so I could find out what was going on and what other resorts where doing, they would not let me until I paid what they demanded. We compared stories with other Conquest victims when we were waiting at the airport to get out of Mexico, Coba was not the worst but they were defiantly up there.
BE VERY VERY CAREFUL WITH THESE GUYS THEY ARE EXTORTIONS.
Oh yeah, a la carte restaurants were great, buffet sucked.
Good Luck

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

My fiancee' and I travelled to this lovely resort in January of this year. The hotel was a "Mystery Hotel" through Apple Vacations. Our trip was a 3 night 4 day get-away that was much needed. The trip was wonderful except for the weather (rained and cloudy until the day we left). Other than that, the hotel itself was amazing.

We are used to smaller resorts, so we were overwhelmed with the size of the complex (it is 3 hotels in 1). Check in was the same as every other one that we have been to; rooms not ready until 3 or later. The bad part of this hotel is the tram system they have to get around the resort. We prefer to be able to walk around to get to specific restaurants, bars, pools, and the ocean. Depending on your room location that just is not possible here, unless you enjoy really long walks.

Once you get to the beach though you will be amazed with the size of it. The beach is clean and someone is always around cleaning up. Like most resorts in the area there are sandbags in the water; they are there for a reason though. The water is calm in most areas, but it depends what interests you. You can go in an area with good waves or you can go into another area with little or no waves at all.

The beach has a few bars on it, but the best one is the bar that has swings on it; down side is that it was very windy sitting there, but well worth it. If you are into long beach walks then you need to walk north on the beach on all the coral rocks. Once you get down to the end you turn to your right and you will find a hidden treasure; an abandoned beach area that is absolutely Beautiful.....It's a good walk that requires sandals or shoes, but is well worth it.

We had the pleasure of being invited to an Apple Vacations beach dinner one night that was just for those that booked through Apple Vacations. Since the weather wasn't all that great for us we decided to go, and WOW was it well worth it. They served Lobster tails, shrimp kebobs, steak, and chicken. They also gave away free t-shirts; all just to say thank you and ask for any input on the resort (It was no time share sales or any other sales pitch).

Since this resort is so far from everything else they have a unique layout in that its like its own city. They have their own area of the resort that has a nightclub and shopping area (La Hacienda) that is awesome. All you do is take the tram ride and enjoy the nightly entertainment.

This resort is huge, and with all the venturing around we did in our short trip, i dont think we were able to see all that they offer but we were inpressed with it. We probably wouldn't return to this resort only because we enjoy the smaller sized resorts, but we would definately recommend this resort to those who like the larger resorts.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.