We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This place has an odd charm . With its mixture of grand spaces and charming staff . There a few short falls from perfection. It size makes finding things challenging. But the drivers of the golf cart buses do there best to link up with other buses to get you to your destination, the food is well prepared and plentiful . It Is well worth the long flight from the UK

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,157
    2,476
    866
    289
    187
See reviews for
2,897
3,859
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,814)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a week in April 2015 at the Coba part of this resort in Mayan Riviera. It is almost 2 hours from the Cancun airport. Beautiful and very large. Units were clean. Air conditioners had trouble keeping up with the high temperatures at this time of year. Beach was beautiful but the drawback was having to take the 'train' to get there. The hotel was far from the beach. There are lots of pools. Food was good. Lots of variety.

Room Tip: If you stay at the back there is a restaurant/buffet that is quieter than the main buffet near the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at GBP Coba from April 18-25, 2015.

My husband, 2 kids (ages 8 and 5) and I flew out of Toronto very early in the morning. We got into Cancun just after 9am. The Sunquest transfer to the hotel went smoothly, and we actually didn't mind the drive to the resort.

The grounds truly are beautiful and we'll maintained, makes for a wonderful first impression, and a lasting one that sticks with you after you leave.

Being that we arrived so early in the day, our room wasn't ready when we got there. We used the time to explore and to book our a la cartes (we explained to the Public Relations rep that we were hoping for earlier reservation times because of the kids, and we were happy to be able to secure a 5:30pm sitting at Mediterraneo and a 6pm sitting at Tequila). Loved both a la carte dining experiences and the waitstaff we met there (Arturo - Mediterraneo and Manuel - Tequila).

At check in, Carlos Tun welcomed us and was extremely patient with our questions! Gracias!

We had asked for an upper level room and didn't get that, but we were given a room in villa 6B, a quieter section, and that was perfect with the kids (and being on the main floor wasn't a problem in the end). It was an easy walk to the lobby and the main pool and kids' waterpark. Sure, the resort is big, but a walk is definitely welcome after a bit of indulgence at the bar and buffet!

The highlight for us was the excellent kids' programming. Initially, we'd planned to sign our boys into the kids' club 2 or 3 times while we were there, but the kids absolutely loved it and wanted to go EVERY day! We went to the mini club magic show at Tulum (fun!). The daily 8pm mini discos for the kids are really cute too: our boys loved them. Gabi, Norelie and Brenda are fantastic with the kids - really genuine, engaging, making each child feel special.

The buffet was great. We mostly frequented Kulkakan (the main buffet at Coba) and were all able to find items we enjoyed. Lots of fresh items, too, like fruit and salads.

We really enjoyed the beach and never had problems finding seats under palapas there. The seaweed is a natural phenomenon - out of GBP's control, although the staff works tirelessly to clear it as much as possible. The pools were a different story: we mostly spent time there later in the afternoons after picking the kids up from kids club since people were reserving chairs all over the place.

I have lived in Mexico before and speak Spanish (although I'm out of practice), so the language barrier wasn't an issue for me. But, really, I found everyone's English quite good anyway. And was happy to be back in Mexico!

This was our first experience at an all inclusive and we appreciated the open, friendly feel of GBP Coba. The fact that it can evoke such a feeling is really an achievement for a resort of its size. We'll definitely consider a return in the future!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

just came back from grand bahia principe coba 25 april, and all we can say is WOW, every where is very clean ,food great, excellent room over looking quiet pool was fab , staff very good , can`t wait to go back.

Room Tip: upper floor near quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First time in Mexico as a family, first time at this resort. We thought it was pretty good....only a few concerns that we had. First, the good stuff. Lots of space at the hotel, the staff seemed very friendly. Lots of nice breezes coming through as well. The distance to our hotel room wasn't too bad, we walked to and from the buffet and main lobby, and only took the little cars to the beach, the Hacienda, and the other buffets. My youngest was in the pool multiple times each day, the water was warm, and clean.

The snack bar was a great option too. Having the pottery painting shop set up, along with the henna tattoos was good for both of my kids. My youngest really enjoyed having the animal photos every day also. The buffet was good, some differences every day, and enough variation that even my picky child ate decently.

Some of the not so good....the wifi set up wasn't great. Only having one free hour that had to be used up at once was cruddy.

The beaches were okay, we went 3 times and the last time there was so much seaweed that we didn't go in. That is uncontrollable. When we did have beach time, it was great. The only issue that I had was the lack of chairs, lack of shade.

The amount of drinking, drunk, and obnoxious people was sad. I know that the all inclusive resorts are rife with it, but the language was terrible from some of the folks, particularly when you're trying to shield a young child from it. At one point there was a woman passed out in her chair, with vomit pooling around her. Nice.

All in all, it was a nice hotel. Not sure if we'd go back, but it was a nice experience for our family.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled with my husband and two kids (14&11), flew on the terrific Dreamliner, make sure you come equipped with tonnes of snacks for the journey as they are very expensive on the plane. Booked though Thomson for Coba. Arrived after our long long journey and was kept waiting around for an hour for our room. When we finally reached the room it only had 3 beds, after wasting our first afternoon of our holiday sorting out a bed for my son it finally arrived at 8.30pm!! We were desperate to sleep!!
The resort is huge and is made up of lots of different hotels; Coba, Tulum, Akamel, Akamel Premier and a golf resort Sian Kaan. This is our third time at this resort, last visit being 3 years ago and we were under the impression that we would have access to ALL of the different hotels as previously experienced. We especially like the Akamel area, the pool and beach area are beautiful. When we arrived we were told that we would not be able to visit this area, you could only enter and eat here if you were staying in this hotel! But the people staying in Akamel could come and go freely to all of the resort... Whilst there we found out that if you book through First Choice this hotel is available and not through Thomson!! We did complain about this and our first experiences and they agreed to change our band to allow us entry into the Akamel area, this improved our holiday considerably as this was why we returned!
As the hotel is so huge you can travel everywhere by long golf carts which run on a grid system, this hop on, hop off system generally works well.
The food in the buffet restaurants is fantastic, plenty of choice for everyone with a great kids area too with plastic plates and cups.
You also have the choice of a la carte restaurants for dinner, three a week, we visited the Brazilian, Tapanyaki, Mediterranean, Fish, Italian, all of which were great with excellent service, with exception of the Italian which was very disappointing; food nearly cold, slow service, terrible waiter!!
The pool areas are plentiful but beware if you do not get up and reserve your sun beds by 7am there will be nowhere to lay!! This urgently needs to be addressed by the hotel!
We did this for two days at the beginning of our holiday and then gave up, preferring to sleep in! As we had access to Akumel beach the sun beds are plentiful at any time!
We did not see any shows, just the lounge singers which were ok. Generally by 11pm the hotel dies and everyone just sits in silence.
We went over to the Hacienda part of the hotel a few times, there is a small market and some shops for souvenirs etc but it is pretty quiet over there too.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest:

We highly appreciate your loyalty in choosing our hotel again and your valuable comments.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the pools, the Japanese, the Brazilian and the Fish restaurant as well as for targeting the points we can improve. All your observations are well received and we will do our best to reinforce the areas mentioned.

If you choose us again as your holiday destination it will be pleasure to serve you again in the best possible way.

Best regards,
Badía M. Temoltzin
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here Apil 8 - 18. First time here and we had the Royal Golden Club package. Don't waste your money on RGC. Buffet was always good with lots of different variety every day. We went to 5 of the specialty restaurants but none were exceptional. The resort is HUGE and you have to take the trolley everywhere you want to go. We were in 6B. Trolley to main lobby and then switch to another one to go to the beach. Beach was covered in seaweed and all you saw was staff raking it and a bulldozer taking it away. The bars were grossly understaffed with 12 to 15 people waiting at any given time to get drinks. Also the bars close at 10:30 pm. Really? Cleaning staff came around 4 pm, which was inconvenient when you are back for the day and trying to get readyto go for dinner. Of course, trying to get a chair at the pool is impossible with people going down VERY early in the morning and putting towels on the chairs that then sit empty all afternoon. Of course, this is a problem at every resort. For a hotel that is rated at 4 1/2, I would say it's a 3 at best. We usually stay at RIU hotels and have never been disappointed. Thought we would try something else but this place just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for sharing your vacation experience at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that your experience here was good and that were content with the buffet and the variety of the food; however we are sorry for the situation described. Our staff is always ready to help in anything our clients could need.

All your comments are really important to us, and they are taking in a big consideration to the management of the hotel.

We hope to see you again to host you at our hotel in order to offer the best possible experience.


Best regards,
Badía M. Temoltzin
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 7 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.