We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Carlisle
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my first ever holiday so I didn't know what to expect. We were staying in block 6b on the second floor. The room was very clean but the air con in the rooms isn't as good as what I expected.

We stayed for 2 weeks and it was long enough for the resort. During the 2 weeks of being there, it rained once at night time but it only lasted for about a hour so there wasn't any harm.

During the day time, we were at the activity pool where the animation team put on fun activities every hour. There was always something to do and the animation team were very helpful and got people involved with activities. I would give the animation team a 10/10 for the work what they do daily. When it was our last day Manuel, Jesus, Alfonso, Rodrigo and Ramon came and said bye and all got our pictures with them.

Improvements:
The bars and restaurants need more air con as we couldn't sit down and have a proper meal because it was so hot. Also if you want a sun bed, you have to wake up at 6 in the morning to go and get one. There isn't enough sun beds for all the guests staying in the resort.

When we booked the holiday we got told we can get free water sports on the beach and we were excited but no water sports on the beach were free which was disappointing.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Hannah,

We are happy to receive your valuable review.

It is great pleasure to read that you liked the room, the animation team and the activities at the resort.

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the air conditioner and the sunbeds. Your comments have been sent to the correspondent departments in order to take necessary measures of improvement.

Speaking about the water activities at the beach, we would like to inform you that snorkeling, catamaran and kayak are free of charge. For this one has to go to the beach and book it there directly. It is necessary to mention that these water activities depend very much on the climate.

We are looking forward to your next visit in order to repeat this positive experience.

Sending you our kindest regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,534
    2,142
    712
    231
    154
See reviews for
2,479
3,376
54
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,493)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was our first time in Mexico, and it was the best holiday I have been on. The hotel was great and very beautiful and the staff were also very good especially the entertainment team who were excellent, I thought that Jesús was the best entertainer because he was always around and getting everyone involved in the activities, he also had a lot of energy and was always smiling, he was easy to talk to and a great dancer. I loved his aqua gym and Spanish lessons.
The music at the hotel was very good thanks to the djs Ismael, Casanova and Puma. All of this was made so perfect thanks to Rosy Valdez who made everything work so well which made my holiday so good I could not have wished for anything better.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Demi,

We are very happy to receive you positive feedback and to learn that your first holiday in Mexico was the best in your life.

Your comments are very motivational for the staff as we always strive to give the best service to the guests. We will forward your gratitude to the animation team and to the DJs mentioned with great pleasure.

It will be honor to welcome you again at the resort.

Best regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to GBP in April for 7 nights in April with my mother, husband and 5 year old. We loved it so much that my husband, son, and I returned in July for 12 nights. Both experiences were great.
April was a better time to travel because of the humidity in Mexico. It wasn't humid, was sunny, and it didn't rain. July was really humid, sunny, and still no rain. We found 7 nights to not be enough. Most people traveling were from Canada and Europe. We met a handful from the USA.

The grounds are extremely well kept. There are animal called coatis everywhere and iguanas. My son loved seeing the animals daily and especially counting how many iguanas he would see.

Coba isn't on the beach but you take a golf cart like tram that runs every few minutes. The ride was always fun for us. We enjoyed the breeze and seeing the iguanas. We spent most of our time on Coba Beach. They have stretching class at 10 a.m most days, zumba at 11 a.m. and water aerobics in the ocean at 12 p.m. Some days they cook paella on the beach around 1 p.m. It's so yummy. They also grill hamburgers and hot dogs at the Akumal pool some days. Akumal pool is right next to Coba beach.Coba beach is one of our favorites. There are a ton of fish swimming. Bring your snorkel and water shoes and you'll have a blast. I saw a small octopus one day, a barracuda, and a puffer fish just off our beach. Nothing to be afraid about just amazing. The water is clear and perfect.

My son preferred Akumal's pool not sure why so we spent most of our time there both trips. At 4:00 p.m. at Akumal's activity pool they have some kind of kid activity. Once it was a piñata and another time is was a slide.

Coba has a great water park for small kids under age 10ish. Some days they have activities there at the water park.

My son went to the kids club at Akumal and at Coba on the last trip. THe first trip he only went once. He prefers being with us. One this trip he went and planted a year. There's activities from 9-5 p.m. Some kids stay the whole day. They take the kids to the water park, to the beach activities and feed them from 1-2 p.m. at the snack bar.

Every night there is a kid's show at 8 p.m. at all three hotels. When I went in April I received a paper with the kids show location, what it was, and where it was. This was very helpful. This trip I wasn't given anything and asked various times what the kids show was that evening and the front desk never seemed to know. The last trip the kid's show was in the kids club two times. One night was the kid's spa. They gave the kid's bath robes, put yogurt on their faces, put cucumbers on their eyes, ect. It was really cute. Another night in the kid's club was camping night. They made a fire and roasted marshmallows. They didn't have these actives in April when we went. This was good for us because it gave us a break from 8-9 p.m. without our child.

The time time shows were good. We like the Michael Jackson show and the Lion King show. For the Lion King show they have the kids face painted and on stage for the show. My son loved MJ. They had the same shows in April and July.

The food is good. We enjoyed the buffets and eating at the snack bar when we didn't feel like getting dried up. We enjoyed eating on the beach when they had paella or eating burgers grilled at the snack bar on certain days. We didn't really get tired of the buffets. The service in the buffets was lacking in July. It may have been that it was extremely humid and hot inside the buffets. There isn't any air condition in the restaurants. AIr condition is only in your room and in the kids club and in the spa. It took a while to get drinks. I had to ask for coffee 4 times at times and also ask the waiter 4 times for water. I always tipped at the buffet but still the service was lacking. In April it was better and it wasn't as humid.

The rooms were great for us. The air condition in our room 17b worked great in July. I heard other's didn't. We were further away then I wanted to be and I had emailed 4 times asking for a room close to the water park and lobby.

Would I go back?? YES! I went back twice in four months. Who does that?!

My son still talks about our trip daily. He's ready to go back in Christmas . IF we do go back we would have to stay in the new Don Pablo because my son loves Akumal pools.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your precious review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our resort as well as the grounds, the fauna, the beach, the waterpark, the miniclub activities, the shows, the food at the buffet and the snack bars and the room.

Concerning the problems you have experienced this time, we would like to inform you that they are totally under our standards and we have already taken corrective actions to improve the areas mentioned.

We are looking forward to your visit in Christmas.

Sending you our best regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Bahia Principe Coba from 8/13/14 to 8/18/14 with our 2 boys, ages 6 & 9. We really don't have a single complaint about the resort. :) Due to plane cancellations we arrived a day late and were able to check right in since our room was already ready. No problems with the desk people or other any other service people. Paid $100 extra for a non-stop transport from the airport, took about 1 hr 30 min. and included non-stop return which was only about an hour and 10 minutes.. fast driver? ;) Resort is very close to Xel-ha and other excursions so once you're down there, you don't have to spend a lot of time in vans from there on.

Room: We stayed in a 3rd floor room in building 22 which overlooked one of the pools. We were given a 2 double bed, 1 single bed room. The beds are very firm, which is perfect for kids and I. Husband's back suffered a little, but still less than he has experienced with other hotels. After reading a lot of reviews about poor AC, we were pleasantly suprised to find the air in our room worked great- it was always nice and cool at all ours of the day and night. We kept the ceiling fan on to help. We did notice the fridge only seemed to work sporadically, so water and drinks were not ice cold, but it wasn't a big deal. The room and bathroom were spotless and in great condition. The jetted tub worked great and was really relaxing. The 3rd floor was a litlte bit of a hike, but it helped offset all the buffet meals. :P We saw no bugs or reptiles in our room during our stay. Once at night there was a racoon lingering around the bottom floor but it ran away. There is a little ravine/grove outside the building where a large coati family lived, every morning we saw the babies running around. Snack bar is right next door, and the large dinner buffet wasn't too far. We were short walking distance to the waterpark, and didn't have to hear all of the noise associated with it. ;) Saturday night there was some sort of party in the pool with loud music, but it didn't last too late.

Complex: it's huge. We needed a map with us at all times the first 3-4 days. But there are trams running every 3-5 minutes so it wasn't a big turn off. Everything was very clean and well-groomed. Tram drivers are polite and don't expect tips. If one did do something special like wait for us when they were about to take off, or vary their route slightly to get us closer to our destination, we did tip them.

Beaches: the nice thing about the size of the resort was that there were several types of beaches. One near the Akumal hotel had some docks and many many fish swimming around you while you swam. People snorkeled here. The beach by the Tulum was a little rockier, and had seaweed flotillas near the shore. There are large, long sandbags put out to break the large sea waves to make it more comfortable/safe to swim. Our boys found that little crabs liked to hang out on those, especially in the seams, and so this quickly became their favorite beach. They spent hours on the bags catching little crabs (which were pincher-less, so not a danger) and bringing them back to shore to show us. We consistantly found loungers just past the preium member area, and there was a snack bar/bar right near there as well so it was a good place to be. Never saw a person in the premium area, all those empty chairs and curtained beds sure looked nice tho. We didn't see a lot of the other beaches since this was their favorite, but our last night there we walked the beach from the Tulum to Coba areas, and went by where they had sea turtle eggs roped off. People were on loungers here at night, maybe hoping to catch a hatch?

Food: was good. We aren't gourmet eaters, so we didn't didn't experiment much with the menu. That's not to say there weren't good options- everything from burgers/fries to many seafood choices. We and the kids were always able to leave full and happy. Breakfast in the Coba was great, good bacon, french toast and pancakes, and the oldest was able to get am omlette every morning. We ate at the Portofino- excellant filet mignon! Our dinner at the Tequila wasn't so greaty- very slow service and the food wasn't that great when it did finally come. Our last dinner was at La Tortuga, the brazilian place. Our 9 year old was brave and did the meat sword thing with us, and he and we liked almost all of it. Other nights they ordered from the kids menu, and even tho they aren't big on fish, they liked the fish fingers a lot. One had the grilled chicken one night and that was good too, as was the spaghetti. Kids enjoyed endless ice cream cones during our stay and liked the swim-up bars where they discovered they love shirley temples and virgin strawberry daquiris.

Pools- yes, they were warm, it was in the 80s and very sunny/humid all week so it's what we expected. Certainly didn't stop us from swimming and having a good time. Boys climbed on waterpark our first day there, thought it was good but weren't "all about it". Had just as much fun swimming around in teh regular pools and going to the swim-up bars. One day were joined a water balloon fight in the pool closest to our building, and one day we did volleyball at the large pool next to the waterpark. It was pretty hard to find 2 empty loungers at that pool- we took 2 chairs from the snack bar and sat in them for about half hour til we saw someone leave and were able to get their seats. There were also areas on the grass you could lay on. Sea was warm but still refreshing. Workers were gathering seaweed from the Tuilum beach. Note- it's not the gross slimy seaweed, it's clumps of foilage that float. They don't stick and aren't slimy. :) Could always find a chair there if you walked a little ways.

Summary- had a great time, great resort. Boys are already asking when we can go back. :D

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Martha,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for the family holiday.

We really appreciate you taking time to send your feedback.

Our aim is to get the maximum satisfaction of all our guests. Thank you very much for your positive comments about the amenities in the room, the shuttle service, the beauty of the beaches, food at the buffet and the restaurants, the pools and the staff.

It would be pleasure to welcome you again at our resort.

Sending you our kindest regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovaScotia_10
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Coba is a very large resort which is part of the Bahia Principe complex of the Coba, Akumal, and Tulum and to a bit lesser extent ( only because it is across the road, the Si'an kaan). The Coba is the one which is farthest from the beach and can only really be accessed, without a substantial walk) by the trolley cars but they are quite regular and there is seldom much of a wait. The Coba has great restaurants and depending on your package, you will likely have access to a number of other restaurants in the complex. The Gourmet and the Don Pablo were our favorites. The staff is great here and the resort is clean so there is nothing to want for on this resort oterh than you may have to walk a bit more than you like

Room Tip: choose a room close to the main lobby & buffet for convenient access to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you spent a very good holiday enjoying our restaurants a la carte, staff helpfulness and resort neatness.

It is a pleasure to contribute into your pleasant pastime.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great price, but I guess you get what you pay for. Beautiful place, but service is tough to get. We are not very demanding travelers, but when you ask staff for drinks, towels, and luggage service and never get them, it can be quite frustrating. We also stayed there exactly one year ago and had the best of everything. We brought our entire family, wanting them to have this great experience too, and it did not measure up. The front desk randomly called the room to see if we were enjoying the stay, and when I expressed my concerns, they said they would take care of it and never did. We were so disappointed that it was not as good as the first time. Could be bum luck, but not willing to risk it again. (Wifi only free once a day for limited time)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Denise,

Thank you for choosing us again for your vacations.

We are very sorry to read about your disappointment with the services provided. The problems you have mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken corrective actions in order to meet our values again. Furthermore we would like to express my appreciation for your concerns which will be discussed with our Management as soon as possible.

We would like to ask you about another opportunity to welcome you at the resort.

Sincerely,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontoon beach, il
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Reviewing this for clients/friends that are fellow travelers. We usally travel together but an illness kept me home this time. This was the 4th trip to the Coba for the couples (6th overall with the GB group) Minor bumps with Check In until almost 4P. Right away noted drink service had declined in attentitiveness and speed. Staff seemed more interested in visiting with each other than serving guests. Tipping had no impact (and this group tips alot) Room restocking missed basics like towels, water and coffee packets. Requests to Guest Services for missing items went unanswered. The 24 hour Casita shut down unexpectedly one morning after the missing coffee packet and an early Tee time. The 24 hour snack bar never stocked morning treats like it used to (fruits and pastries) They guys payed golf about 3 times and each time were picked up a the Premier Lobby but the dropped back off at Sian Kan resulting in at least a 20 minute wait for a cart to go back to the Coba. The air conditioning was absent or struggling in the heat at the restaurants as noted in other reviews. The food however was still good! Overall what a shame from past visits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Business Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.