We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I travelled here in September for my 40th birthday, after reading some negative feedback on TA I was slightly dubious of what to expect.
I was not disappointed, we were greeted at the hotel by wonderful staff and taken to our room in Coba by the porters, yes the rooms do smell slightly musty but that is not really suprising considering the humidity! Overall the rooms are clean and are just what you expect.
Everything about the hotel was wonderful, the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you.The food choices in the buffett resturant for all meals were plenty and honestly if anyone cant find anything they like from the variery then they must be VERY fussy!
We ate at the A La carte resturants and the Arlequin was by far the best, but they are all very good and the service was brilliant.
We travelled into Playa a couple of times and used the bus service from outside the complex, very cheap $4 each way, it's the way the locals travel! Yes it's a bit of a cramped journey but when in Mexico ....
I reallly can't fault a thing about the hotel, my husband and I have both said that it is the best holiday that we have ever had and we have been to Mexico before and Dominican 3 times!
The only downfall was the weather, we probably had 2 days of sun in total but you cant let spoil your holiday!
In all the food, drink ( branded ones when you request them) rooms, staff, just everything was brilliant.
We didnt want to leave but we will definatley return there .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tracy,

Thank you very much for taking time to share you experience at Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts. Your comments are very rewarding.

It is a pleasure to know that you had great holidays. Everything we do is for our guests to enjoy. We are glad that your expectations were exceeded.

We will be honored to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,553
    2,150
    716
    231
    153
See reviews for
2,486
3,391
54
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,505)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

When you take into consideration the size of the whole complex/resort they do an ok job in all of the key areas.

It is clean, the staff are reasonably accommodating (mostly) and the food is reasonably good.

The site is vast and is host to thousands of guests at any one time and, unfortunately, they all want to be fed all at the same time and are not always patient.

The beach was ok and the pools busy but it was getting a sunbed, or the 4 we needed, was my main bug bear and a bit of a nightmare. Not much of a holiday as getting up early was the order of the day if you wanted somewhere to sit and we were not particularly fussy where we sat!

Whilst we stayed, queues formed outside main dining areas before opening times, I have never seen this before! This then had a knock on effect all evening and whenever you went in, there were always large numbers of tables that had not been cleared as the staff never seemed to catch up.

On a couple of occassions we opted to eat a satelite restaurant which was just around the corner from us but to be honest after a couple of times it became samey and bland as it just did not carry the same menu and same choices as the main restaurant.

The bar next to this restaurant, however, was perfect as there was no rugby scrum at the bar as in the main bar areas.

Like previous reviewers, really disappointed by the lack of Mexican food and agree that whilst the food in the a la cartes was perfectly edible it lacked something.

All very average really.

All in all OK but was expecting more and for the cost for a family four to this hotel, have had much better for much less.

Not on my list to revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We really appreciate that you have taken time to share your opinion. We are very happy that you enjoyed the beauty of our resort and that you were pleased by the effort of the staff.

We are very sorry that we did not meet with your full approval in some facilities. However, we would like to comment you that the areas of opportunity which were described have been reviewed by our management team so that they take stronger measures to improve where is necessary.

We hope you decide to visit us in a near future; we assure you we will exceed your highest expectations.

Kind regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 10 days (Oct 11-21) and thoroughly enjoyed it! A spectacularly groomed resort with so much to offer! Fabulous, fabulous entertainment, great beach, fantastic pools, good food and great staff and people! I will say, however, I was not impressed by the MANY traveler's we saw who did not leave their servers a tip at this resort after a meal...and you all know who you are!! Life is just so much better when you can make someone else a little happier with a little something extra for their hard work and great service.

Thank you Grand Bahia staff for your hard work, great service and making our holiday fabulous! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter where your room it, guaranteed it's going to be close to a pool and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We really appreciate that you took the time to share some valuable comments about your last stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you were pleased by the friendliness of our staff and that you showed your appreciation.

We are looking forward to welcoming and hosting you soon.

Sending you our kindest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The resort is beautiful, well maintained grounds, friendly staff. We had some mishaps with the room that ware never resolved, but my biggest complain is lack of AC in the whole complex. The only areas that have AC working are the rooms. All restaurants, buffets, bars and lobbies are way too hot and not that pleasant. It would be nice to have lunch or diner in cooled environment, not to mention a drink with friends at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

It is a pleasure to read our guests’ opinion. We would like to thank you for choosing us and for sharing your comments.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the effort of our staff.

The most important for us is the feedback of our guests because it is the tool that helps us to improve every day the quality of the service we offer. We have reviewed your observations with the hotel management to take actions to reinforce the service.

We will be honored to welcome you back.

Sending our kindest regards
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The only disappointment, was I found that the selection of true Mexican food wasn't there. the a la carte's were the same way. The only 3 we could get at a reasonable dinner time were Japanese, international, and seafood. I think the international was the worst

Room Tip: ask for a room on the main level of the villa you're staying in, if you have a problem walking s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know you that spend your vacations with your family.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations in some of our facilities. However, your suggestions have been reviewed by the manager of the department. They will be taken into account to improve the quality of our service.

We would like to welcome you back soon

kind regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico and we very much enjoyed our stay ! We stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of August (in rainy season but only had major rain the last 3 days). Our room was in block 22, good for the pool and the reception with restaurants. I've seen reviews saying this block wasn't great, musty smell etc. This wasn't true in our case ! On arrival we were glad of the margarita freshly made for us at reception after a gruelling flight with a delay and the stupidly long queue at passport control (obv out of Virgin and Thomas Cook's hands). On arrival to our room we found a large super king bed and a sofa - no good for a family of 4 ! However, this wasn't a major issue as a bed arrived within half an hour and the sofa bed made up too (some people do over react and say this was a major problem). We found out from other holiday makers that we had done ok in the end as we should have had 2 doubles as a family of 4 but they were tiny doubles so happy days. The a la carte restaurants were varying in quality, we didn't like the Italian at all, the Mexican was ok, le gourmet was very nice and best of all was Don Pablo (we luckily went twice). We never tried any of the many other a la carte restaurants as I pre booked and tried to avoid food I thought the boys (aged 8 and 11) wouldn't eat, I.e the Japanese. There is no need to do this as every a la carte has the same children's menu so we would have been safe. Sunbeds were a major issue....5.30am alarm if you wanted one ! We only needed 2 as the boys never lay on one but some people insist on saving loads, hence why there was a lack of towel-free beds ! I could go into great detail about anything and everything but overall we had a fab time and would return :-)

Room Tip: Block 22 was great for the main pool (where they do have twice weekly daytime pool parties). It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Kelly,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your review with us. We truly appreciate your nice comments about your stay.

We are happy that your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts were great. The best reward is to read that our guests are pleased by the effort that we make every day.

We would be honored to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Amazing vacation. Food was wonderful, great bartenders, clean rooms & good drinks! I traveled last spring so my recollection of details are a little foggy however it was my favorite vacation down south to date. I will absolutely return to this resort!
I loved the xel-ha excursion and enjoyed cabbing to akumal bay to swim with the wild sea turtles... Also, coco bongo is a MUST for anyone who likes to party or even enjoys watching great performances.
don't forget to enjoy the tequila, it's never tasted better than it will in Mexico!

Hope you enjoy your vacation as much as my travel companion and I did! We both still reminense on the trip :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting us and for sharing your comments about your experience. It is a pleasure to know the opinion of our guests.

It is a delight to read that you were pleased by our great facilities. Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. These nice comments about us make us feel we have reached it and keep working harder every day.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Business Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.