We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garbage stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Garbage stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our stay was 19th to 26thOct 2013. Worse hotel I have stayed at. First of all it took over 1hr 40min in line to register,then was told that we need to pay $5 a day for the in room safe,never had to pay for a safe before. Then tried to book a la carte nothing available until 10.30 at night. Who wants to eat at that time with young children? The first 4 days we went for breakfast at 8.30am to find that while only 50% of the tables were occupied the rest of the tables had not been cleaned! waited 10mins for the table to be cleaned then another 10mins before we got coffee. No one to replenish the food many of the trays were empty. Not enough staff working, no fresh fruit ,bananas,apples,grapefruit, oranges etc. We had no creamer in the room the second day,so we walked 5mins from our room to the lobby asked for creamer at the front desk and was told someone will bring it to your room, back home in Toronto and still waiting for the creamer to arrive. Rained for a couple of days,the roof in the lobby and buffet area leaked. Stay away from this piece of crap hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments. Your opinion is very important because it will help us to improve the quality of our service.

We are truly sorry that we did not meet your highest expectations in some of our facilities. However, the areas of opportunity which were described have been reviewed by our management team so that they take stronger measures to improve where is necessary.

Looking forward to seeing you and sending you my kindest regards,

Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,800
    2,263
    751
    255
    164
See reviews for
2,610
3,576
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton.Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I reviewed this resort last January 12th and must admit that I misspoke, I titled it : 19th All Inclusive first review, in fact it was my 20th so here is my latest review of the GPBC - my 21st A.I. !
I have been to this resort 3 times and have also been to the Bahia in Punta Cana and stayed this trip from Sept. 4th - 18th, we went for our 35th wedding anniversary but will not travel in September again for 2 reasons - the weather (unusually rainy this year I heard - but when you go to Sunny Mexico 11 days of rain is not fun)! and reason 2 since it is the low season all the restaurants are not open. It was disappointing at first since we asked for a room by the quiet pool to find that the snack bar there was closed - also the premier buffet was closed , having said that there were still many options but as my husband has back problems this was discouraging. Our last weekend both of those restaurants were open for Mexican Independence day as there were a couple of hundred extra guests and yet neither was busy so you can't blame the resort they are running a business after all.
The grounds, entertainment and food were exceptional as usual as was the service except for one individual - it was another rainy day but we ventured out to the activity pool as the rain hadn't started yet, making the best of things we went to the swim up bar only to be told by Jesus that it was closed (DUH) and my husband would have to climb out to the upper level to get served - He had no guests to serve just us and couldn't come down 5 stairs to get us a drink ?? This is the one time we did not tip - he is not an asset to an otherwise outstanding resort.
On to the people who went above and beyond - Andreina who has stepped into the Guest Service manager position brilliantly , wow, you and your team made our vacation unforgettable - from booking all of our a la carte dinners to giving us a great room location to decorating our room with tons of heart shaped balloons, champagne , a fruit basket,a flower arrangement and t-shirts upon our arrival and again on our anniversary with rose petals everywhere including in a bubble bath, more champagne, beautiful towel art , another gorgeous floral arrangement (don't know who does these but they are very talented) and chocolate covered strawberries - simply AMAZING, we can't thank you enough Andreina !!!!!
Magdalena at the premier lobby was so sweet and efficient when we would go there after dinner to listen to music. Manuel the manager at the Meditereaneo was great as was Bartolo who I remembered from the last trip and he made our dinner at the Cozumel special. Andre and others at Kukulcan buffet excelled .Also Jaime at the Hybiscus pool bar who went out of his way to get us water bottles and was very good at his job. We enjoyed Le Gourmet and the Arlequin a la cartes as well as others but our favourite again was the Don Pablo at the Tulum from the lovely hostess, always happy to see you and greet you with a big genuine smile to very hands on manager (Marco, I think) just amazing ambience, service and food above all, I recommend the surf and turf and the apple torte once again although everything we tried was awesome and we ate there 3 times this visit including our anniversary dinner where we were served a special appetizer and a heart shaped chocolate cake flambé for dessert as well as champagne - this restaurant is exceptional , I can't imagine what a meal like this would cost in Toronto !!
One other change during our stay - you are limited as to what drinks you can order at the buffets - only beer, wine , champagne and vodka we were told, no coffee with baileys or other mixed drinks - one of the outstanding features of this resort is the premium brands of drinks available - I sincerely hope that this doesn't change as well.
We also really enjoyed the Golden Lobby (which was closed on our last visit) it was a minute from our room and had awesome wifi reception ( much improved from last time)! and was a intimate place to hang out with great service by Julian and others who brought you nuts and whatever drink you would like. One night he made us shooters that looked like the Mexican flag - wonderful !! Thanks to Victor who is such a pro with your luggage and is on top of things always and is always so pleasant !! Also the trolley drivers who made our trip and went out of their way for us on more than one occasion - you are appreciated :)

We saw very few people tipping which is appalling to me - don't use the small print that states all gratuities included as an excuse to be cheap - you are getting sooo much for your vacation dollar here at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba -the staff are great , warm , hard working people who don't make a lot of money -tip for good service please !!
Don't give it a second thought - you will love love love this resort - any questions just ask.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Krystal,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your opinion about your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels.

It is a pleasure to read that your vacations were full of joy and fun, since this our best reward. All our staff is very thankful regarding your greetings and nice comments about their effort, Specially the ones you mentioned.

We would like to welcome you back in a near future. We will be happy to pamper you again.

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W'BURG CANADA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This resort is very large and the grounds are beautifully kept up. The food is good,but could be better,it could always be better but never had a problem with any meal I ate.The staff is very good through out the resort.The pools are clean the drinks were good everywhere I went. If you don't like it, just get an other one.
The a-la-carte restaurants were all good as well.the trams are everywhere to take you to any of the other Bahia Resorts,or to the beach or to the front or a resturant,go visit them all .The rooms were very good in the golden area,and the bars in the golden area are very good too. Goinging to the beach is just 10 min. ride. Some of the staff in the buffet were just awesome, Niria was one of the best ever and Jose was very good.At the egg station in the morning Guadalupe was so nice to every one.The bartenders at the golden club bar were so nice during the day you will see Julian he is Awesome. At the front desk, the manager is very special, thank you to Andreina Lobo she is there if you need anything. This resort is well worth the money.Don't listen to the bad reviews they are not true.Some people are never happy with anything.We have been to the Grand Bahia Resorts 9 times and have been happy every time,no matter what country we go to. We will be back again soon in the coming year. We have met some nice people there as well. JUST GO!!!

Room Tip: go for royal golden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are really thankful for this nice review about your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We feel very rewarded.

We are very pleased that you had a beautiful time and that every stay your expectations are exceeded. All your greetings are more than welcome. Our staff will be happy to receive them.

We will be truly delighted to welcome you back at any hotel of our chain.

Kind Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was the first time my husband, and I had been to an bahia principe . It by far exceeded our expectations. I could not say enough about how great the staff is animation, the gym very nice service , shows very good dancers, mexican party . All the staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful. jorge was our butler most of the time, and he was wonderful. Anything that we needed or wanted he took care of it on the spot. fanny was also very helpful, and always had a smile on her face.

The resort and beach were beautiful. The food was great. There was always a buffet open with wonderful food. The surf and turf, and the Japanese restaurants were our favorites.
We did a few excursions. Gloria at Apple travel desk was very helpful, when we were trying to decide which ones we wanted to do.

We were so spoiled by this trip we didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Joy,

We feel very proud because you were pleased by the service we provide and the staff effort. We are grateful that you chose Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are happy to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the facilities we have for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in The Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We travelled to mexico with virgin holidays. May I say that the vroom at gatwick and the flight with virgin were fantastic. Plenty of free drink and food. The 10 hour flight flew by with the fantastic entertainment on board but sadly that's where it ends.
On arrival we were greeted at the premier lobby and was given a bright red wrist band as we were one of the few suckers that upgraded to a club room. For an extra £200 we got a bathrobe that was too small, a room service menu that is limited to burger, hotdogs and chicken nuggets, free use of the internet at the lobby in which 95% of websites are restricted and advertised daily pool towels in your room in which the hotel told me was utter rubbish and that you only get pool towels at the start of your stay !! The premier lobby restaurant was closed and our villa was situated near coba lobby because the golden club villas were closed due to low season so why the hell did I pay for the club room upgrade???
After our 20 hour travel we finally got to our rooms to find that there were only 2 single beds and the room stunk of damp. It then took 3 hours to make up a small sofa bed for my son in which they had cheek to charge him am adult price. The room service number is a waste of time because they just lie when they tell you that what u have ordered is coming.
The staff on the front desks are rude.
The Hotel is full of the firstchoice/thomson brigade who thinks its acceptable to wear a Lonsdale vest and some reebok shorts that they have just purchased from sports direct for dinner ! Why to my fellow English men think that football shirts are acceptable attire for an evening meal .
I also have concerns of the fact that large group of young Americans are allowed to drink and party at 11pm at night in the pools in the darkness! With the toilets closed it makes me wonder where they go when they need the toilet?
The food was ok on the first day but then you realise it's the same food every lunch and dinner every day.
The drinks are watered down and everything taste so sweet and sickly.
I recently stopped at the sian kaan section of the complex and was fantastic with very little price difference, only this time I brought my son and sian kaan is adults only.
The waiters and bar staff are brilliant here though and they are the sole reason that kept us smiling. Please tip them well because they deserve it.
Would I come here again?.... Never, not even if it was free!!
Thankyou Virgin holidays for printing that utter rubbish in your brochure in which help me decide on this hotel and in the process, helping me waste £4000!!!!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments since the opinion of our guests is a helpful tool to improve even more. It is rewarding that you appreciate the hard work of our staff.

Our main goal is to please our guest with our high quality service. Therefore, we are sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled. Your suggestions have been reviewed to take actions where is necessary.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

The warmests regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Coba is part of a large complex everyone managed seperate but tied together higher up. Dinner at the al-carts are by reservation and are excelent. Water park for the children is nice. Dolphin complex at the beach very nice and affordable to do. Main buffet has a good selection to choose from. Tram or walk to the beach, not far. All in all a great family resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations and fot the time you took out of to share your feedback with us. We really appreciate your comments. They make us feel very proud of our entire staff and our effort.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in The Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Having just returned from two weeks at Coba I have never felt so relaxed. Travelled with my husband and 9 year old daughter.
What a fab place to stay, clean, excellent staff, beautiful surroundings!!!!!!!!! Can not wait to return :)

Room Tip: Book show table at the japanese
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We are truly thankful for taking the time to share your opinion about Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are thankful for choosing our resort for your last vacations. It is rewarding to learn that you enjoyed you stay and your family had a fabulous time.

It will be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 7 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.