We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere. Great vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Great vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall our experience at the gran Bahia principe coba was a great one. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean aside from mildew in the bathtub, the pillows smelled slightly of mildew and upon our arrival the mini fridge was not cleaned out and a half drank coke was in there. The Buffett had good quality food however the temperature of the food should be monitored more closely as it seemed colder than it should. It is definitely a place we will return to. I would recommend it to all of our friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are really sorry regarding the incident that you described. Rest assured that we have taken corrective actions to improve the quality of the service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

A kind regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,818
    2,269
    757
    255
    168
See reviews for
2,621
3,588
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,623)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I would like to start off by saying a big thank you to the Virgin team, both the Sarah's from Virgin in Derby Westfield, our amazing Virgin Rep's Grant and David! The virgin air hostess crew were very kind and friendly! Also a big thank you to the amazing staff, they are so kind, welcoming and friendly, always smiling, even though they are working hard to make the clients very happy, they still have a warm and friendly smile on their faces! A big thank you especially to the receptionist Yaneth, to the waiters Juana Maria, Pech Herrera, to the driver to Coba beach Daniel, and the waited at Premiere lobby Emmanuel, also to our room cleaner Avid, who made our room sparkling clean! They are all so nice, but these are the people with whom I was the more in contact with!
Absolutely loved it! I'm 14 years old, I completely disagree with people and their comments on here, saying that the staff was rude, and that they spoke poor English, if you expect people to talk fluent English wherever you go in the world, I would advise that you're better off staying in England! I strongly recommend this hotel, to anyone to be honest, but in particular when you have children/families its a paradise on earth!
The drinks and cocktails were delicious! My brother and I loved Piñada and Shirley Temples! The beach is so near, and we absolutely loved taking those little carts that take us practically everywhere! My mum wants me and my family to go to Barbados next year because she wants us to discover more cultures, but honestly I don't know how many times I told her that I really would like to go back to Gran Bahia Principe, and my little finger is telling me that we will probably end up going back there next year! There are so many things to do, but one thing we didn't so this year that we wanted to do next year is to go visit the Mayan people and how they live and see the culture!
But I strongly recommend this hotel, absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Aly,

We are very thankful for your nice opinion about your family holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

All our facilities were created for all our guests at any age. We are truly happy that you had had fun and the staff made you feel at home. We will transmit them your greetings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

The warmest regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been to the Rivera Maya before, but this was our best trip. The Grand Bahia is large with three resorts tied together. We stayed at the Coba resort. Ask for a map when you check in. . . you will need it.

We booked through Apple Vacations and they did a great job. Apparently, all people who book through Apple and stay at Coba resort are automatically in the Premier section of the resort with extra bonuses like robe, slippers, champagne and fruit in your room. We also were allowed to eat in the Premier buffet which was much cooler than the other buffet. The safe was also included at no charge. Nice surprise since Apple did not tell us this when we booked.

We had 2 rooms since there were 4 travelers and both rooms were great. Air conditioning worked fine and the daily maid service did a great job. We stayed in building 5 and had a short walk to the beach.

The buffets were good, typical buffet food. We liked the fact that you could eat at any of the 3 resorts and we did. We liked the buffet at the Tulum resort best because you had more of a breeze by the ocean. Since we stayed 7 days, we were allowed to book at 3 of the restaurants and choose Mikado (ask for show table), Le Gourmet and Don Pablo. All were good but make sure you reserve these before you go. We emailed Felix 2 weeks before we left and he responded within hours to confirm our reservations.

Getting around this resort was no problem. Trams came all the time and the staff was very willing to take you wherever you wanted to go. The staff was awesome and very friendly. Did not hear of any thefts at this resort like I have read on other resort reviews.

Pools were very clean but you have to get up very early to reserve a chair. We spent a lot of time in the quiet pool . Very relaxing and not crowed. Party pool was also fun, just a bit louder.
This resort seemed to attract families with kids. Did not see any rowdy behavior by drunk people.

Since my husband and daughter are scuba divers, they did 4 dives that were booked at Akumal dive shop at the Akumal public beach (not at the resort). The Akumal dive shop did a great job but ask for Condor. He has been there 23 years and was great. They did a night dive which was awesome. We choose this dive shop because we had been there 3 years ago. We did utilize the dive shop at the Coba resort for our 13 year old son to try diving at the pool. This was free and they did a good job.

The beach was nice and very long. Difficult to walk the entire length. Lots of chairs but may be hard to find one in the shade later in the day. However, if you go to the Akumal resort at the far end, there was always chairs in the shade and also a nice protected cove. We took bran cereal flakes from the breakfast buffet down to feed the fish and had hundreds of fish in minutes. A bar is also located in this area so it is the perfect place to go. Make sure to bring water shoes, suntan lotion and bug spray (though we did not experience many bugs) because it is much cheaper than buying at the resort.

Best part of the trip was going to the Akumal public beach about 3 miles from the resort. We had been there 3 years ago and snorkeled with the sea turtles. Lots of sea turtles and coral reefs with fish. Bring your own snorkel set from home and just follow the people in the water. AMAZING experience. There is a nice restaurant on the beach which serves very good food at decent prices. Great hamburgers and shakes. You can take a taxi from the resort to get there but we used the bus which costs $2 per person each way. The bus, which is actually a nice white van picks you up at the Hacienda restaurant and drops you off on the highway at Akumal. It is a quick 5 minute walk to get to the public beach. BEAUTIFUL BEACH! We saw turtles, stingrays, barracudas and lots of fish on the coral reefs.

We really enjoyed this resort and had good weather. It was hot but always a breeze by the ocean. The only complaint was that the buffets were too hot. We asked if there were plans to air condition the buffets and the resort said no.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same inside. Building 5 was not too far from the quiet pool and about a 5 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are happy to read how beautiful your vacations were at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are amazed that your family had a week of full joy and was delighted by the beauty of the resort and the nature that surround it.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for our 1 year anniversary in October. It is a huge resort, with trollies taking you around the complex. Restaurants were good, but the good ones booked up quickly. There wasn't any air conditioning in the public areas which was a negative, and the ac in the room was regulated, and never really got cool, and it was HOT and humid the entire trip. Loved the pool/bar area. This resort is more for families than couples. Also, beware of the mosquitoes as they were HUGE and hungry. Overall, had a nice time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for spending your valuable time writing your nice review. We are very grateful that you had shared your anniversary with us and enjoyed it.

All your suggestions are more than welcome. We have reviewed your comments with our team to introduce improvements.

We would like to welcome you soon

Best Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first time at GBP Coba.... we loved it. I got the golden package. Check in was fast with no problems. The room was clean, air condition worked fine and was in a very good area sec 22 rm 32227 close to everything. The beds are a little small, the are a full size. The beach was beautiful and clean we liked the Coba beach the most. It had colorful fish swimming by, which the kids enjoyed. Our favorite Buffet was at the main coba lobby. If you enter from the outside doors the first section to your left is Maria's tables, she is the best!!! Had our coffee ready and the kids juices refilled fast. The evening staff is also great in that section 2. We also liked the Buffet and food at the Tulum area!!! I did not like the service at the Akumal buffet, it was hot and the servers were rude. That was the only time at had a bad experience. I had no problems getting beach chairs at the beach area. We had 4 dinner included in our golden pkg we ate at the Japanese, Pescador, Mediteranian, and don Pablo all were great!!! Mediteraian just a little bit to hot and the poor waiters were sweating up a storm. We loved it!! It is a big property but the trolleys are there constantly. Great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Lizzy,

First of all thank you very much for you positive review. It is important for us to your opinion regarding your experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is an honor that yours was great and that you enjoyed your time at our hotel because it shows that our effort worth it.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lots of reviews for this place, so will stick to key points ( good and not so good!). Bearing in mind this is staked as a 5 star resort, the comments are based on our previous experiences throughout the Caribbean, US, Europe and Asia - knowing that 5 star means very different thing in all those places and having stayed in many thought those regions. To us, 5 star ultimately is more about how the guest feel than the availability of services/spa etc in any given resort. We didn't feel 5 star here.
-Really good size rooms, in an extremely clean and well maintained resort
-Fabulous wildlife wandering around - iguanas, coaties, birds, raccoons etc. Such a shame that many of the intelligence-challenged guests couldn't understand that feeding wild animals ice cream cones and chips so that you can get them to gather round for photos isn't acceptable. The resort staff should really do more to stop this appalling behaviour.
-In general, great staff - helpful, friendly, funny ( there was the odd grumpy exception, but we've all had bad days, so will forget those!)
-Japanese chefs table meal was great entertainment and pretty decent food.
- Don't expect too much from the a la carte restaurants - they're a welcome relief from the buffets, but nothing to get excited about. I would equate to local pub grub - not great, but you wouldn't send it back if you we're paying pub grub prices. Steak was probably the best bet, but if that was genuinely a filet mignon, I'm genuinely a uk size 6. (Neither are true!)
-We found the buffet restaurants pretty poor in terms of overall quality; they try to cover too many cuisines at one time and end up providing poorer quality. They'd be much better splitting the cuisines amongst the multiple buffets they have and concentrating on something to do it well in each place.
-Book your a la carte meals as soon as you can - for people only staying one week, email the resort in advance to book otherwise you will only have choices of 6pm sittings for the restaurants you want to eat at.
-Don't take any organised tour to Tulum ruins. The place is amazingly beautiful; do yourselves a favour and take a collectivo from the hotel entrance/hacienda area. It will cost you a fraction of the price and is such a stunning place it needs no tour-guided, over-priced, shopping-based, waste of time to detract from it.
-If you're going to do chichen itza, do this independently too- a private car for the day will probably cost around 2,000 pesos. Any organised tour spends too much time taking you to shamelessly obvious shopping spots and too little time doing what you've really come to see. Will leave a separate review of this too.
-Ik kil ( near chichen itza) is an absolute must-see; unfortunately not enough time there with the organised tours, but swimming in that sink hole is something we will never forget. Truly a once in a lifetime experience. Do not forget your cameras! Will leave a separate review of ik kil too.
-There was an enormous difference in service between August and 1st September onwards; I appreciate its tailing down from high season, but from one day to the next they'd shut down the 24hr snack bar (only place you get get tea/coffee/water/soft drink outside of main bar restaurant hours - when you're up at 6am to get a lounger, you need a coffee!) and the Cozumel restaurant and significantly reduced staffing numbers in the bars and restaurants. There was no notice this was happening, it just closed overnight. We did ask the Virgin rep (David) what was going on and he said he didn't know - not that he'd ask, or try to find out, or sorry that the advertised facilities weren't available any more - just that he didn't know either. Thanks for the inside info David!
-In busier periods (evidently before 1st sept!) the reviews about availability of loungers is absolutely true - but is almost a self-fulfilling situation. People do it because everyone is doing it; the only way this will change is if the resort put a stop to this practice by removing towels that are left there for hours on without people to accompany them. That said, I don't expect to ever need to stake a claim on a sun lounger at 6am in any genuine 5star resort!

All in all, I'm afraid to say, we probably wouldn't recommend anyone making a new booking, but use the advice on trip advisor to make the most of the stay you've already booked.
Don't misunderstand this review; it's no dump, it's not unpleasant in any way, it's just not the standard of 5 star resort we were expecting - or have been used to staying in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Room allocations are irrelevant - everything is is close to at least one the pools, the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Marc,

We appreciate that you had taken time to share your opinion because this is our best tool to learn.

We are extremely sorry that our facilities did not meet with your full approval as we do pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. Please, rest assured we will review your comments with our staff to improve where is necessary.

We hope you decide to visit us again; we assure you we will exceed your highest expectations.

Regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Ok this is our second time coming to this resort so first of all ignore the bad reviews last time we stayed at the akumal section and thought it couldn't get better we where wrong by a lot the resort comprises of 4 hotels that are all really 1 tulum is the original on the beach then you have akumal on the beach and coba of the beach but has the best entertainment and pools by far you will never get bored as there are 9 pools and my son and daughter loved it just a few annoying things that we didn't like 1 was that my sons band fell of towards the end and he had no problems at all until the last 3 days where a buggy driver took him back to the lobby after he told them he's been before and they said you need your parents for a new band he got there and they wasted 30 mins of his time for nothing not being funny but why would and English person fly out of England sleep outside and sneak around to get food that's obserdly crazy 2 is its too good haha love the place and defo plan on coming back for a 3rd time and many more people should vist

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments. We truly appreciate your compliments.

It is a pleasure that you had chosen us for second time. It is a pleasure to be part of your holidays. We are really sorry regarding the incident with the band. Nevertheless, it is a usual procedure for your own safety. Rest assured we will review your comments so that it is faster next time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

The warmest regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 7 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.