We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete satisfaction!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Complete satisfaction!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love to spend some alone time when we can....have been to Cancun area several times. Bahia Principe was much needed, and was above our expectations for the price. Our best experience in Mexico yet!!! Can't wait to go back. When we do, it will be Bahia Principe!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Samandscotty,

We really appreciate that you take the time to share us your experience during your stay here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we would like to thank you and your wife for choosing our resort for your recent holidays. It is a pleasure to read that you were pleased with our installations and services, we hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,550
    2,150
    715
    231
    153
See reviews for
2,486
3,387
54
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ignace, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A really well run resort. Beautiful surroundings, great staff, clean, great drinks!!! (especially the pina coladas and daiquiris) etc. My parents and I stayed at the resort from March 16 to March 23. I would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family. The only two issues we had was there was not enough lounge chairs by the pools or at the beach. On vacation I like to sleep in a little and then go for breakfast before hitting the beach or lounging around the pool. By 9:30a.m. there was absolutely no lounge chairs. 1/4 of the chairs were empty but people left towels and rocks on the chairs to save their spots. Many did not come back for hours while people had wait and place towels on the ground or bring out chairs from their rooms. I realize that I went during peak season; however, I don't want to wait hours for a place to sit. The food was quite good, especially the Japanese, Seafood, and French restaurants. The buffet was good but you often had to wait as food went quickly and there were often empty or rear empty trays. If you waited 15-20 mins they would eventually be refilled but again the food went quickly. If you eat at the buffet make sure you should sit at Joana Maria's section. She is an absolutely amazing waitress. We always made sure she waited on us. Overall great trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Laura L,

First of all thank you for trusting Grand Bahia Principe Coba and choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We are very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of Juana Maria, she will be very happy to know that you remember her.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality of the services in our Resort, we will review your observations with our Food&Beverage Manager and the Hotel Management, as we are always working to reach excellence.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Wilmington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I and our 2 adult sons ages 23 and 21 just finished our 3rd trip to GBP Coba.We had an "Amazing" vacation. Our rooms were perfect with the new flat screen tvs. The new Kids water park is a Fantastic addition to an already amazing family resort. Thank you to Andeina Lobo Sandrea, Felix,Sergio, and Tony "Miami" and all of the staff at GBP Coba for all that you did to make our vacation Special. The rooms were spotless, the food and its many choice of restaurants were excellent, along with the wait staff!! The resort is Beautiful and the grounds are incredible. We like all of the individual villas instead of a big hotel building so much to see. From the moment you arrive they are catering to your every need, With a welcome drink and smiling faces everywhere. Thank you again to all of the staff at our home in Riviera Maya We are already planning our 4th trip to Grand Bahia Principe Coba, See you soon!!!!

Room Tip: Pack a carry on with swim suits and flip flops in case you arrive before your room is ready. You don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear keithlpalladino,

As always it is a delight to read your nice comments, thank you for sharing with us your recent experience here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba, your home in the Mexican Caribbean. We are very happy that once again you and your family were pleased with your holidays with us, it will be a pleasure to forward your nice words to all the members that are part of our great team, particularly Andeina , Felix,Sergio, and Tony Miami.

It will be an honor to welcome you back for your 4Th visit,


Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

my sister and I had a fantastic time here; pool hopping, riding the golf carts, walking around getting lost... it was all fun. not the place you want to go if you want to get wasted and not remember who you talked to last night, but the perfect place to go and have a drink by the pool or beach and watch some silly dancing at night. we went on a mayan adventure with olympus tours, and had fun zip lining, rappelling, and climbing the pyramids. a great place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear "apusillo",

First of all we really value that you decide to visit the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. Thank you for sharing your experience and pictures taken during your recent visit to us, our goal is to make all our guest happy and we are very content that you have a fun, relaxing holiday here in the Riviera Maya. Expecting to have the opportunity to receive you and your sister again,

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from the Bahia Principe Coba where we stayed from March 17-24 and are sad to be home. This resort is amazing and would return tomorrow. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are also. The food and drinks were wonderful. We ate at 4 ala carte, Le Gourmet, Dom Pablo, Mikado and Portofino, and all were amazing. We have been to the Bahia Principe 10 times (different locations) and my husband and I have decided that this one is our favourite. Some of our favourite staff were Zaciaras in the Cozumel buffet, Salucia and Estele from the Daiquiri bar, Laureano and Rene from the Hibiscus pool bar and Ruben the person that kept our room spotless.
We felt so well looked after at this resort that we really didn't want to leave. You could tell that this resort was not only well managed but they take care in who they hire. We had the good fortune of meeting some of the management team such as Felix Schiokat and Melitza Freites not because we had any problems but because these people believe in getting out and meeting the guests. They take great pride in their resort and it shows.
Looking forward to the next visit.
Elizabeth from Hamilton Ontario

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Mrs. Elizabeth,

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Coba team , we would like to thank you for posting your review of your recent visit to the Riviera Maya, we feel very honor that from all the Hotels and Resort from our chain you choose us as your favorite.

One of our main aims is to get the full satisfaction of all our guest and to provide them an unforgettable vacation, we are very happy to know that with you and your husband, we approach our goal and we will forward your pleasant words to all the members of our staff that make this possible, particularly Zacarias, Salucia, Estela, Laureano, Rene, Ruben, Felix and Melitza.

We are looking forward to welcome you again here in your New Mexican home, please do not hesitate in contact in us before your next visit,

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week and had an amazing relaxing time here. I can not even begin to understand some of the poor reviews on here. Check in- 5 mins, luggage in room before we even made it up, check out- 2 minutes, bellboy called US the morning we left to ask if we needed assistance, arrived exactly at the time I asked. We experienced no foul odor in our 3rd floor room, minimum humidity (it's Mexico what do you expect!?) and our AC worked perfect. Yes the half shower doors sucked, but a deal breaker? Hell no. Luis cleaned our room exceptionally every single day and our mini fridge was stoked to capacity every day as well. Pools & beach, yes you get the inconsiderate people that get up at 6am throw several towels on chairs and disappears for HOURS, making it impossible to get a chair sometimes. One group of people had close to 15 chairs ALL day and literally were never at the pool. The buffets had great selection, granted it wasn't piping hot but again, you can't expect it to always be, we never saw a single roach or other bug inside our room or the buffet areas, flies at the snack bars but it's not closed in at all.. I found coba beach fairly nice, small shallow swimming space but oh well. We did have one sketchy incident where a lady knocked on our door during nap time and proceeded to enter our room before i could even get up, she saw me said 'sorry sorry' and ran away. Weird. Yes the resort is large, we had a 10 minute walk to the beach and max 5 minutes to everything else. Honestly the worst part of the trip was the other tourists! Such rude, inconsiderate, pushy, annoying people. We did 3 al a cartes, they were fine, nothing to write home about. Not crazy about the appetizer buffets, just not our style of food I guess. Main entrees exceeded our expectation in size at all 3 though! I would go back here in a heartbeat! Loved it! Don't let the fussy stick up their butt people discourage you! Royal golden is totally worth the extra 50$ or whatever it is.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear PrettyJ2,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate that you stay here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba during your visit to the Mexican Caribbean.

We will be more that happy to transmit your nice words to our team members particularly to Luis, he will be proud for the recognition of his work, also we will review your observations with our Food&Beverage Manager as one of the most important sources for improve the quality of our services is the feedback of our guest, thank you very much again for your comments.

We hope that you will not hesitate in visit us again in a near future,

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hi all! My girlfriend and I spent the last week of Feb. at the Coba and had a fantastic time!

Used Canada Transfers/Comfort travel for transportation to and from the airport and were there in about 45min. with no stops. I emailed ahead of time and requested some Dos Equis for the ride and the driver had them onboard for an excellent start to the trip! It was 107.00US RT and you can pay before you get there online. He also had waters and wet towels for a nice touch after your flight.

The Resort is fabulous! The staff is amazing and the grounds are immaculate! Check in and out was very smooth, thank you Barbara! The rooms are clean and spacious. The wildlife running around is very cool. Lots of iguanas and coatis!

The food at the buffets was outstanding and plentiful. We ate at the Mikado and Pescador for our al a cartes. Emailed ahead of time for our reservations. The Mikado was great and the Pescador was pretty good, I think the staff was having a rough evening. Just not feeling the love, but the food was good. Ate at the Cozumel buffet for breakfast every day and Elena was always very attentive! It was very relaxing and peaceful and a great way to start the days!

Hung out at the Iguana pool in the afternoons and had a great time meeting people and relaxing. Paulino was fabulous. All the pools were beautiful.

The only drawback for me was the beach. If you like hanging out in the sun or under a palapa, it's great. Plenty of room and chairs. I personally like the swimming and snorkeling stuff and the beach just doesn't have much of it. You can hike South from the Akumal resort beach and there's a nice lagoon and beach. Calm water, sandy white beach, and stuff to see. There's a local guy who keeps it cleaned up for donations and will grab you a coconut for refreshment if you want. Best snorkeling however, was at Akumal Bay, north of the resort. Turtles, rays, lots of fish etc. Just catch the Collectivo or cab up, it's pretty cheap. If possible bring your own snorkel stuff. They can run out at the dive shop and you don't have to worry about time etc. Another nice beach is south of the Tulum ruins. I think it's Paradise beach, very nice place for laying out or playing in the water. While the resort is spectacular, it's also nice to get off the property a little to see Mexico. I always have a great time interacting with the local folks and getting off the beaten path.

Overall had an awesome vacation! The staff is exceptional! From the grounds, bell staff, restaurant, house keeping, activities, to management, all were friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay very special.

I highly recommend the Bahia Principe and hope to get back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear COBowman,

We are grateful that you share your experience with us, it is for comments like yours that Grand Bahia Principe Coba, that our team finds every day motivation and energy to keep on the good work. We will forward your lovely specials mentions to Barbara, Elena and Paulino it will make them proud of their excellent work.

We are delight that you were pleased with our facilities and surrenders and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back here at your new Mexican home.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.