We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great vacation we had, we had a great time, the resort is very nice, the beach is so beautiful, the room was very clean, the service was good, the food was so great, we had so many choices of places to eat, the ocean is very great to do snorkling, we had a great week!!!
We would return anytime!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear MichelleG912,

Receive greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we would like to thank you for sharing your one week experience with us, we are very content that you were pleased with our installations, services and the staff esprit of service, we are looking already in welcoming you back here in to Mexican Paradise.

Sending you our kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,783
    2,254
    751
    253
    161
See reviews for
2,600
3,565
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kanata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

First experience travelling to Mexico. It was awesome! The Coba was very clean, with beautiful gardens and swimming pools. The food was excellent in variety and quality. The service from the employees in all areas was friendly and helpful. We were treated wonderfully. If you needed a drink, a bar was never too far. The beach is big and beautiful. Just remember it is a coral beach. The sand is coarse in areas. The golf course is outstanding. I was told by players who played at many of the courses up and down the coast, the Riviera Maya GC may be the best one on the Yucatan. I highly recommend the Coba for a first time visit or a return visit. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Upper floor units are quieter. The tiled floors are noisy when people are dragging their luggage or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear William D,

We feel honored that you chose our Resort for your very first visit to the Riviera Maya, we are very content that you enjoyed our facilities, thank you very much for your great comments, will forward them to our Golf Course Management and those who make possible that Grand Bahia Principe Coba is always spotless and well maintained.

We will more that happy to welcome you again for a second time,

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Principe Coba from March 13-21. This was our first trip to Mexico and must say the trip was absolutely wonderful. The service and staff are incredible. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were given a nice cold drink which was delicious and appreciated! On our first night there we were given a room on the first floor, which I did not want. The room was nice and clean, I just preferred to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor for more privacy on the deck etc. We immediately went to the front desk and requested to be moved to another room and were told they were full and could not make the change until the next day. That was perfectly fine and we were both so exhausted by then that it was okay with us. We were transferred to a different complex on the 2nd floor the next day and were quite happy with this change. So after getting settled in new room we made our way to the pool. On our way we stopped to pick up our towels. We were given 2 tickets for 2 towels. After picking up what we thought were both towels, we proceeded to the pool area and once there we realized that we were only given 1 towel. We just wanted to relax for a bit in the sun so decided to go back to towel guy after to get another towel. MISTAKE! After trying to explain that we were only given 1 towel instead of 2 towels, the guy acted like he could not understand us and was unable to give us another towel without having a ticket. Ugh. So off we went to the front desk explaining what happened and they were kind enough to give us another ticket to get our other towel. We are not sure if this towel was billed to our room or not but I guess we will find out later! Anyway, these were truly small issues and our own fault for not double checking before we left the towel area. After these small issues it was all great from there. This resort is very large but also very beautiful and well kept. The grounds are immaculate and the staff works hard to keep everything clean. We were a bit confused the first couple of days figuring out where everything was but they have trollies/carts that will pick you up and take you anywhere you want to go. Again, the drivers are all so friendly and will stop and ask if you need a lift. After a couple days we were able to figure things out. We spent our days at the jacuzzi pool everyday. We really enjoyed that spot because it was quiet (no kids) and right beside the snack bar, washroom and bar. Perfect location for us. As for the food, we loved it. The buffet was fantastic and always had a good variety of yummy choices. Again, the staff couldn't do enough for us. We went to 2 al la carte dinners. Mediterrainian and Italian. Both of these dinners were great! We have been to Dominican and Cuba where the al la cartes were terrible. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was at this resort. We honestly enjoyed every single meal we had during our stay. Our weather was beautiful. Only 1 afternoon we had some rain which is no big deal when you're sitting by the pool at a beautiful resort enjoying a delicious Pina Colada! We would highly recommend this resort to anyone. You will not be disappointed! We went on this trip to have a break and relax which is exactly what we did. Almost forgot...we went to the Michael Jackson show during our stay. Great performance!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear DParsons_13,

It was an honor for us welcomed you and your husband for your first holiday in the Mexican Caribbean, we are very pleased to read about your satisfaction for the services, facilities and kindness of the staff, your comments will help us to maintain and improve the quality of our service, we already discussed the incident that you report with towel exchange and taken the necessary steps to avoid this from happening again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband again soon here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

Yours faithfully,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just got back from GBP Coba Family of 5 with 3 kids. Surprised when I read other reviews on the bus ride to resort saying it was so long and we were there in 1hour 20 minutes with no stops. When we got to the resort we expected our rooms to not be ready until 3pm but the nice manager found us 2 rooms with the connecting door as I had requested and they were ready for us right than and there! I was already impressed and we hadnt even started our vacation. So we were in our rooms changed and at the beach by noon hour.

The beaches are very nice, there are 3 of them and we would go to the COBA .. we actually only went twice to the beach and the rest of our week at the pool.

Pools are very nice and very clean. Refreshing not warm and not cold either.

The new Waterpark for the kids was a hit for my small children. Theres even a lifeguard that watches them so you can enjoy the pool.

The kids club was nice, Hemana watched our kids through the week, the only complaint I have is that they dont make a daily schedule of activities until they get a certain amount of kids in the club. For example if only 2 kids show up at 9am they will play inside only on there own.
She was very nice with my kids and they really liked her too.

Food. Very good food. The BUFFET at the Coba great variety of food and tasty.

4 alacartes we went to.
Seafood - THe best one of the 4
Italian - just OK
Brazilian - Dissapointing
Japanese - just ok

I have to say this. I love the resort and my only complaint would be the SERVICE in all the restaurants were not great. Dont get me wrong, the staff in the entire hotel were fabulous, very very friendly including the wait staff but the waiters/servers service was lacking.. wait forever for drinks or they would forget, happened all week.

Great place would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Strylcer99,

Thank you very much for your great review, it is a delight to know that your kids were pleased with the Mini-club and Jimena's company but particularly with our New Water Park, please remember that it is a rule that the Children must be supervised at all times by an adult while they are in the Water Park. As we are always seek excellency already sent your observations to the appropriate departments such as Food&Beverage and the Animation Manager.

We are very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees and we hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

Our kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE COBA from 03/07-03/14.
This was our first trip to the Cancun/Mayan Riviera and my only complaint was the amount of time we were in transit to get there (1h 45min). We booked with Apple vacation and we have no regrets.
The resort is gorgeous and extremely well maintained. Food was not perfect but not bad.
The service was very good at GBP in all 3 resorts with everyone being very friendly.
Our special thanks to Nadia from Public Relations (primmer club). She is doing very good job taking care of customer needs.
We will come back but next time for 10 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear travelers099 ,

Firstly we would like all thank you for trusting the Grand Bahia Principe Coba, for your very first visit to the Riviera Maya, comments like yours are useful to ameliorate and keep improving as every day the quality of our services, we will share your feedback with all our departments, so we can learn from your observations, as well we will be more than happy to transmit your especial mention to Nadia, she will be content to know that you were pleased with her services, but especially that you remember her.

We are excited waiting your next ten days with us.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have enjoyed my recent stay at Coba. Was at Golden Club section. Rooms large and clean. Staff at hotel very good. Enjoyed the restaurants especially the Brazilian restaurant. This was my 4th time at Copa and I have always enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear David H,

We are glad that your share your experience of your visit in December to the Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we are delight that you were pleased with the Golden service and your dinner at La Gran Tortuga, we will definitely transmit your nice words to all the member of our beautiful staff as they are the ones who make the magic possible.

As always will be a pleasure to welcome you a 5Th time here in your Mexican home,

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the first resort my wife and I have been to where we are considering going back. We have been to 2 other GBP resorts (Punta Cana and Samana) and liked them a lot. However, with the new splash pad/water park for kids that was recently installed (approx 4-6 weeks ago) we are going to take our kids back with us in couple of years to this great resorts. The staff are amazing. If you go with a supplier that provides Golden Club status (Transat holiday for us), but I think there are others, it makes it that much nicer. We enjoyed the room service with this service on more than one occasion.

The staff at the Golden lobby were absolutely tremendous. We only had 2 concerns during our entire trip that were a little bit bothersome for us. First was the service we received from the main lobby at Coba. We had an issue with an off site vendor for something that we purchased. There was a mis-understanding between us and the vendor regarding delivery to the resort. When we approached the front desk at Coba main lobby they more or less told us that it was our problem. Later when we passed the Golden lobby and asked Jennifer about the same issue, she not only helped us, but with a language barrier (we don't speak a lot of spanish) with the vendor, she took the issue and resolved the issue with the vendor and made sure that the vendor would deliver the product again and made sure they found us. Her service was truly what could be described as a customer service "Champion".

The other issue we had, was the qulaity of the wine at the Gourmet restaurant. I am not a vinophile. However, at the 3 other a la carte's we ate at, the wine was OK, which we understand for A-I resorts. However, the house wine at the Gourmet was not even remotely palpable. It tasted like turpentine. I ended up ordering beer which is OK but my wife and I enjoy a good wine with our dinner meals.

Other than that meal, the food was fantastic. The Japanese is a must do for everyone. The best a la carte meal we have had at any resort we have ever been to. If you can, the show part looks great. we had a table near the rooms so we were able to see the show without waiting until a 10pm seating.

Again although we did not use the service this time, we witnessed the kids club and water park and asked some quesitons and are definitely taking the kids back with us in a few years.

We also loved the buffet at the Akumal lobby near the shops. Zacharias and his colleagues were amazing. They couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: It all depends what you are looking for. Adults only would probably prefer near the jacuzzi pools as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Scott C,

It is a great satisfaction for the Grand Bahia Principe Coba team, that you share your experience with us and future travellers.

We are very happy to read that you were pleased with the Golden Lobby service, particularly with the assistance of Jenifer, she will be very happy to know that you remember her, we will forward your observations to our Reception Manager to enhance the service where it is required.

We are honored that you have selected our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back your new Mexican Home,

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 7 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.