We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in February - beautiful beaches, fantastic food, friendly and helpful staff, property is very well maintained. Lots of entertainment to see and activities to take part in if you choose - or just relax by the ocean and listen to the waves. Lots of great pools on this property too if you prefer that. This is an ecologically friendly resort and you will see an assortment of iguanas, coati, and agouti on the grounds. They are of course wild and do not approach people, but it is wonderful to see them. This resort is huge and there are carts running constantly to help you get around. It is part of the fun to chat with the drivers as you check out what is going on all around. The whole place is safely gated and there are excursions available to Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum Ruins, etc. It is about an hour from the Cancun airport, but we travelled in air conditioned comfort and it was pleasant to see the scenery there and back. We plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear traveldreamer02,

We are very happy to read that you have a great experience here in the Grand Bahia Príncipe Coba, that you have been pleased with our facilities and the wildlife that is around our property, that it is protected for our ecological foundation. We already share your nice comments with all our staff including the Ecological Foundation. We would like to invite you to visit us again soon here in the Mexican paradise.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,642
    2,186
    725
    236
    157
See reviews for
2,529
3,455
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at coba 5 nights over New Year's Eve. Beautiful hotel! Really big with all the hotels in one but easy to get around. Great food! Fun New Years party! Amazing and friendly staff!! Our room was the only negative... But definitely didn't ruin the trip or change our mind about coba. It was a little musky and beds were uncomfortable. But still slept good. My boyfriend loved all the animals on the property! Would definitely recommend this place! We used USA Transfers to get to the hotel from the airport and it was a good choice. Easy and quicker. A trip to remember!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Cirrusxx,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba, we are really happy that you choose our Resort to celebrate the New Year.

The comments and observations of all our guest are very important for us, we are delight to read that you have a great time with us and that you enjoyed the friendliness and esprit of service of all the member of our team. With pleasure we will transmit your review with all our departments.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your boyfriend back here at your new Mexican home.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Manor, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The drive to the hotel from airport was over hour, now once we got there it was nice people were very nice the lobby was great! Got to our room different story, smelled so musty and the beds felt wet. I will say that we stayed in there one night and we complained and they moved our room. Very very nice to the customer they did everything to make it wonderful vacation. Staying at this one you can use all three hotels, tumuli or akmaul (spelling) I would stay at one of those. Closer to the beach, had to take a cart to beach which became a pain. Food was good , people were nice and overall the place is clean. They don't serve drinks to you at the pools or the beach ! Booooo every all inclusive serve you drinks not this one. I would say I went for sun and the beach and I got it but was not wowed by the place. The workers made the place ! All very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear L.B.,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are really happy to read that you enjoined the kindness and esprit service of our staff. Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. We are very sad of knowing that with you we did not obtain it. We will review your observations and suggestions with the Hotel Management to introduction correcting and reinforce actions were is necessary.

Expecting to have the opportunity to receive you again in one of the hotels here in the Riviera Maya to be able to offer you a more agreeable experience,

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place. Nice time. Beautiful facility. Friendly employees. Only downside you must keep an eye on the lady at the dive shop that takes the money. Given the chance, she will overcharge you. Some of the restaurants at night could use more air conditioning as they can be a little warm feeling. Otherwise it is a fabulous resort. If it were priced at $500-575$ plus taxes that would be a great deal for the week. I wouldn't want to pay more than 700$ for the week. PS this includes the flight from Calgary.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Haragas,

First of all thank for have been chose Gran Bahia Principe Coba as your destination for your holidays and taking the time to write your impressions.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the great service of all our staff members. The comments of our guest are very helpful of improve the quality of our service everyday, we will transmit your observations to all our departments and the Scuba Diving Center Management.

It will be an honor to welcome you again,

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went there for a family wedding. It was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds itself, was beautiful and extremely well kept. The food was good , but we had already been spoiled by cruise food,( it's hard to beat that )., but everyone we traveled with really enjoyed it,All and all, a wonderful place to go.Some in our group are already making plans to go back next year.

Room Tip: If your not in the best of shape , ask for a ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear fussy561,

Comments like yours help us to improve our service every day. It is a pleasure to read that you and your friends enjoyed your time here in the Mexican Caribbean.

Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our guest and it make us proud of our teamwork to know that with you we did it, we will be very happy to share your nice words to all our departments. It will be an honor for us here in Grand Bahía Principe Coba to welcome you and your friends, once again .

Yours faithfully,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Bahia Principe Coba resort in February. We have stayed at other Bahia resorts many times in the past, so when we checked in we asked if they would upgrade us. After consulting with reception manager the desk clerk cut off the Blue bracelets we had been given and replaced them with Gold bracelets then she took back our room key and gave us another larger room. The resort is very clean, the food is excellent with lots of variety and of course the booze never stops. We will definitely return to Coba in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear 2wicethefun,

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you preference and loyalty to our chain, it was a pleasure for us that you visit Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us, we will enlighten all our departments of your nice comments, especially those who make possible that we have a spotless resort.

We are looking forward to welcome you here at your new home in the Mexican Caribbean,

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Bahia Principe Coba resort was recommended to me by a dear friend and I would recommend to everybody. Best place I have ever stayed at clean, clean, clean. The only problem we had and it really wasn’t a problem was the AC not working properly in one of the rooms but the staff quickly fixed that problem. The rooms are very clean; food is delicious, staff wonderful, entertainment also very good. I went with my 2 teenage children and they also didn’t have a bad thing to say about this resort in fact we are saving so we can return again. If you’re looking for a great family holiday or just you and your partner this is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Jacqueline E,

We are very happy that you have followed the recommendations of your friend and visit us here in the Riviera Maya. We appreciated to take some of your time to share your experience with us, we are very proud, that we fulfill your expectations, and we will communicate your nice words to all the members of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Family, especially those departments who make our possible that our Resort is always very clean.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family again here at your new Mexican home,

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.