We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
NovaScotia_10
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very Nice, very large resort. Very beautiful grounds once you get the lay of the land as this resort allows you to move freely between three resorts ( Tulum, Akumel, and Coba ) with numerous above average dining options and bars from quiet to quite busy. Buffet food at all buffets we found to be above average with great selections. Staff are friendly and helpful but extremely busy so tip generously, they deserve it.

Extremely good value. Only downside is the 1- 1/2 hour drive from the airport but we would definately go again

Room Tip: relax and enjoy, you are on vacation. Don't look for things to be critoicial of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear NovaScotia_10,

First of all we are really happy that you decided to visit the Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we really appreciate that you take part of your time to share your experience with us. It is an honor to know that you really enjoyed your holidays and that we could fulfill your expectations.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality of our service. With pleasure we will communicate your nice comments to all the member of our team. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back,

Receive my cordial greetings,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,381
    2,581
    904
    302
    203
See reviews for
3,031
4,025
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,907)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As this was our 5th time back to the Coba resort, we were treated like royalty. Would very much recommend the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. We started our days at the Tulum pool, under the palapas, and after enough sun, would find ourselves at the Iquana Jacuzzi pool, where Paulino would take very good care of us. We love Paulino!!! Our favorite al la carte was Mikado, and thanks to Gaudalupe and staff for making my husbands birthday very nice. Cake was awesome! Also Victor the Bellboy, was very willing to take us where we needed to go, and got us to our Gran Tortuga reservation on time. Thanks Victor! Love the resort, and will definitely be back.
Wish you could get a decent Canadian Whiskey, maybe 40 creek, or crown royal. Made so many good friends with the social interaction at the Jacuzzi pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Brenda B,

We will like to take this opportunity to express how much we appreciate your loyalty and preference for our hotel, it make us very happy that one again you enjoyed our facilities and the great service of all the members of the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya family, especially Paulino, Guadalupe and Victor.

Comments like yours help us to know better the needs and wishes of our guests, we will review yours with the hotel management, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us but especially for letting us share with you your husband's birthday . We will be looking forward to welcome you back here in your Mexican home.

Sending you my kindest regards.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This resort was clean, nice rooms, beautiful pool and good service. There were lots of activities and always things going on at the pool for entertainment. It's not right on the beach but it doesn't make a difference, it's maybe two minutes to walk through the resort and if you spent want to walk there are dozens of trolleys at your beck and call. Food at the buffet was really good, the restaurant food was ok, not as good as I expected but far from bad. I'd go back again if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ATynes,

We appreciate that you took part of your time to share your experience here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba. Your comments about the performs of our services do that our work is worth it. We will forward your nice words to all the members of our staff, especially those that enable our Resort is very clean.

It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us here at the Riviera Maya

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first vacation to Mexico and we couldn't have chosen a more beautiful, friendlier place. Very clean and very nice accomodations. A huge resort, but very well managed. I want to mention the staff was very attentive and helpful, especially a bell boy named Jose Puc at the Coba Premier. He was always willing to help and very friendly!!! I would go back again and still see things we didn't get to see the first time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear partymarty193,

First of all we really appreciate that you decide to visit the Gran Bahia Principe Coba for your very first trip to the Mexican Caribbean. Comments like yours help us to improve our service every day. We are really happy to read that you enjoined the kindness of our staff; Jose will be pleased to hear that you delight his service. It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us .

Kind Regards from you already Mexican home.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I visited the Gran Bahia with some friends the first week in March 2013. The resort is beautiful, from the impressive lobby, to the well cared for gardens to the modern clean rooms. The resort is quite large but their are numerous trollies with friendly staff waiting to take you where you need to go. My friends and I often went to the beach in the Tulum section in the mornings where it was easy to get lounge chairs and find shade under the many palapas when you've had enough sun. In the afternoons we enjoyed meeting up with other guests at the Iguana Bar jacuzzi pool. If you find yourself there, hopefully Paulino is bartending, he is great! The Buffets were quite good, though nothing was particularly amazing. The cleanliness of the resort is quite evident and the hostess at the restaurants always offered hand sanitizer. I never noticed a dish or piece of cutlery that was dirty or even had water spots. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the A/C was quiet and worked well. The mattresses are quite firm, but we learned that foam toppers are available if needed. One down side to the rooms is that the safes are not digital and a key must be obtained from the lobby for $5 USD per day. The rooms also had modern LCD TV's and a variety of channels that included some english channels. There were also many iguanas, coatis and other animals around the resort, but they were never a nuisance or problem. We went on a morning excursion which was an ATV tour. We each had our own ATV for a few hours and traveled through a small village and then jungle to a small nature preserve with spider monkeys and other animals. We then went for a quick swim in a cenote and returned to the resort. We all really enjoyed this little adventure and it was reasonably priced. I would highly recommend staying at the Gran Bahia Principe. If you prefer the beach, I woud suggest staying in the Akumal or Tulum sections. If you don't mind the pools or catching a trolly to the beach, it is more affordable to stay in Coba, but all the resort's features are available regardless of what section you are staying in.

Room Tip: I would suggest a top floor room to avoid the sound of hard shoes on the tile floors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Edsel475,

We are grateful for your beautiful comments. Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. It makes us happy to see that with you we did it . We will enlighten to our personnel of your pleasure for their kindness services. Paulino, the housekeeping Department and the Cleaning Department will be really happy to know that you appreciate their work. Thank you very much for sharing your comments and pictures with us.

It would be an honor to welcome you and your friends again here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Riviera Maya,

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife, 2 kids(18 and 17) and I travelled to this resort in 2012. This was our first trip to Riviera Maya. I can't complain about a single thing with this resort. We were unexpectedly upgraded when we checked in which was nice. The food was fantastic, the service was excellent and the resort was unbelievably beautiful!! It's a very large resort but the shuttle service was really great, we never had to wait more than a few minutes. My son and I went across the highway to the Riviera Maya Golf & C.C. and played 9 holes of golf. What an incredible golf course! We took an excursion to Xel-Ha and spent the entire day in the water snorkelling. I would definitely recommend this resort to anybody who's not afraid of a big resort. There were alot of people there but because the resort is so large, you didn't really notice. We never had to wait to eat either.

Room Tip: The rooms at the Akumal lobby are much closer to the beach. it was at least a 10 minute walk from ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Romans116,

It is very kind of you to take part of your valuable time to share in Tripadvisor your experiences here in the Gran Bahía Príncipe Coba last April.

Our goal is to be capable to get the full satisfaction of our entire guest. It makes us happy to see that with you we did it. We will share your comments with all the member of our staff and the Golf crew, they will be very proud for the recognition of their work.

We will be very honor to welcome you and your family again here in your new Mexican home.

Receive our warmest regards.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was my first trip to Gran Bahia Principe in Mexico but i am a past guest with Bahia, in total 12 times. Our room was at Club Premier, the room was nice, clean. We was near the pool. I was disappointed for the buffet, the food does not fill quickly, sometimes the food has been a long time in the dish, they missed freshness but in overall it is good. This is multi-resort, so you can go every where except Sian Ka'an, there is a cart that picks you up every 10 minutes to go either the beach or another Bahia. The food à la carte...it was so good, good service. If you are a past guest with Bahia, don't forget to mention at your check-in, they will give you a little bite more attention specialy in your room, I mentioned that I am an past customer with bahia, more than 12 times, they gave us a bracelet of VIP1, we were allowed to go on the site of Bahia Sian Ka'an, which is prohibited customers Bahia. The activities that are always taking place at the multiple pools, ocean-front, clubs, lounges, spas, etc. There is so much to do that it's hard to fit it all into one week, so you never get bored. We had great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Yo1629,

Your loyalty and preference to our chain make us proud of your work, we are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and the kind service of all our staff that are part of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Riviera Maya. Thank you very much for sharing your nice review with us. It will be an honor and a pleasure to welcome you back here in your Mexican Caribbean Home.

Sending you my kindest regards.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 7 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.