We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El pescador - Coba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Venice, Veneto, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“El pescador - Coba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Among the high quality restaurants of the Gran Bahia Principe El pescador was certainly the best place. I warmly reccomend this place because the food is delicious and the staff, aboveall Alejandro, is very amousing and kind; service excellent. They offered drinks, cakes, ..., great!!!
Nicola (Venice)

Room Tip: No problem for the location of the rooms, you can use a minitrain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Nicola_M308,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to share your experience here in the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. It is an honor to know that you really enjoyed your holidays and that we could fulfill your expectations, it will be our pleasure to communicate your nice words to the Pescador Team, especially Alejandro will be proud for the recognition of their work.

It will be an honor and a pleasure to welcome you again soon here in the Riviera Maya.

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,193
    2,488
    868
    292
    189
See reviews for
2,907
3,884
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,832)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife, myself and 2 other couples vacationed at Bahia Principe Coba from 2-16 to 2-23 of 2013.
The resort is still as beautiful as ever. The rooms are great, some people complain about the musty smell, but you are in the Caribbean, turn your a/c on and it goes away. This was my 6th visit to the Bahia resorts, one of the other couples had been there twice before, and the third couple their 1st visit.
The one thing I noticed was the specialty resteraunts service was wonderful, but the quality of the food was not as good as previous years. Also every reservation said long pants for men, the first two nights both places had many people in shorts, then the third night we went to Le Grande, I had way to much sun that day, I wore shorts because I was extremely uncomfortable in slacks, well they turned us down. I was pretty upset since the previous two nights many wore shorts, then someone said, well the Le Grande and the Mikado were the only two that enforced the policy(didn't get this note anywhere!). So the next night we went to the Mikado, wore slacks and sweat like a trooper because it was so hot in there. This was one that was suppose to enforce the long pants rule, guess what, they didn't. So I still don't know what the real dress code is, and if you are going to ask men to wear long pants, at least turn up the air conditioning, most have been sitting in the sun all day.
Overall these are pretty small complaints, We love the resort, will come back, but will limit the specialty resteraunts we go to.
We did play golf at the Sian Kaan, it was a beautiful course and very challenging, well worth the money.
The reason we keep coming back is the service we get from all the employees, unbelievably wonderful. True dedication to there profession.
This is a great resort and we will be back, no one can please everyone everyday, I had a bad day, not a big blemish on the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Bikermoose,

First of all we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your preference and loyalty. It is very kind of you share your experiences during your last visit to Grand Bahía Principe Coba.Your comments are really important; they help us to know better the needs and wishes of our guests.We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your visit at our facility. We will share your feedback with all our departments.

Regarding your Dress Code questions please let me clarify it for you for our Gourmet restaurants is necessary of gentlemen ware long pants and for all our restaurants gentlemen are not allow to be sleeveless. Once again thank you for your time and comments,
it would be an honor to welcome you again here in your Mexican home.

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very nice resort. Extremely large and spread out and is back from the beach with no oceanview rooms available. Somewhat of a downer for me but I got over it. About 10-min. walk from our Villa 1A to the beach thru the GBP Akumal resort. Lots of shuttle buses to move people around so don't worry about getting around to anywhere but watch yourself and your kids for these transporters. Needed the walk-abouts to work off the buffet eats anyhow. We were lost the first night walking around but the shuttle driver knew where to take us based on our room No. Good idea to get to know your resort map.

Room was very well kept by Adela and the bar fridge re-stocked each day with more beers and potato chips. We tip a little each day under the pillow and in the fridge door.

Decided to cut down to brekkie and supper buffets only or going to put on too much weight. Laura at the Kukulcan was our morning favourite and always had our Baileys ready with our coffee. Alacartes are good. Enjoyed the Gourmet and Mikado more than the Brazilian and Mediterranean. A drunk next to us at the Brazilian kind of took some of that enjoyment away. The waiter staff were great at all but I forget most of their names. Wilson at the Gourmet was a treat. Food at the buffets should be hotter, but I find that same trouble back home at most buffets as well. Try and select stuff just coming from the grills for piping hot food. I suffered some stomach trouble on a couple days that I blame on trying the different things I'm not used too. Maybe one too many tequila bar beverages as well. We always took advantage of the hand sanitizer offered at the entrances but I witnessed other tourists picking around with fingers and kids reaching and handling stuff. Use the serving spoons and tongs folks and mind your kids.

Beach at the Coba area superior to the Akumal and Tulum sections in our opinion. Coarser sand and rougher sea floor than the Playacar area beaches so you may want to wear water shoe/slipper footwear. Some unsightly erosion control devices over by the Akumal beach area is only eyesore that bothered me. A big smile to Jose at the Los Cocos Coba Beach bar. He and his reliever Jesus kept everyone needing a drink well supplied and lineups were short. Daily beach exercise and dance activities. Volleyball courts always well used but windier than Playacar back in December. Snorkel sites good out near the coral by the roped floats. You'll get whistled back by the EcoSecurity guy if you go beyond the ropes and given a stern finger wagging for going out there or feeding the fish. It's posted. SO DON'T DO THAT.

Here's my lecture. The beaches are kept clean by a worker picking up cig-butts, drink cups, etc. But people should be more conscientious about their own discards. Pick up after yourself or tip that picker-upper worker some of your pesos everyday for your mess cleanup. They also like US dollars. Wifey smokes but we always took our debris to the waste bins or cig.bins around the palapas.

We're not pool people so can't say what went on there. The kids splash park with some short water slides just opened the weekend we where there. Looks like fun for the youngsters under 11-years or so of age.

Night and beach entertainment same as other resorts we've visited both sides of Mexico. Some stuff was better than others but always something going on somewhere at the Coba Lobby patio or lounge singers in the evenings at the Music Bar and Lobby Bar. Didn't get to try the Tulum or Akumal nightlife.

Took the Collectivo to Playa del Carmen one cloudy day to blow a few hours on 5th Ave. Boy they like to load those vans up. Interesting shops and eateries and be ready to be invited by every shop keeper to do some business. We want to spend more time there someday.

The golf course is very nice. The short cut fairways must've given me 20-yards more roll than I'm used to and you won't know what's over that next hill until you've played couple rounds. Lost about seven balls but found more than I lost. Tight lies on all fairways. The greenfee was included but the cart, club rentals, glove and ball purchase, cost me $170 US. Can break 90 at home but couldn't break 110 from the whites here and haven't swung a club in anger since October.

Free WiFi signal not consistent in the lobbys and don't know if the paid for service was any better. Was down the last full day we were there but came up good enough about 11am to pre-book our flight seats.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor of Villa 1A overlooking the Akumal Premier Bar Patio and Cozumel Restaurant area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AlkaTcona,

First of all thank for chose Grand Bahia Principe Coba as your destination for your holidays and taking the time to write your impressions.

The comments and suggestions that we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service here in the Resort, we will review yours with all our departments to reinforce our improve the service were we need to. Also Adela, Laura, Wilson, Jose and Jesus will be pleased to hear that you delight their services.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, we expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again here in the Mexican Caribbean

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had wonderful stay at Coba Premiere. The resort is perfectly situated in the middle of Riviera Maya, half-an-hour commute by minivan to Playa-De Carmen. We have nothing bad to say about this resort, people work very hard to make our stay enjoyable. We would like to express our gratitude to the guest service representative Nadia Makhova for her personal attention and high professionalism.
The only drawback is the rocky bottom when you enter the ocean, but this is not man made problem. But that was not an obstacle to enjoy our vacation. We definitely hope to be there back.

Room Tip: Check the resorts map, and, if you like quieter room, pick one farther from the swimming pool, resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Zabaks,

Comments like yours help us to improve our service every day. It is a pleasure to read that you join your time here in the Mexican Caribbean. We have already sent your kinds words to the departments involved and in the name of the whole Grand Bahía Principe Family members; we want to thank you again for your valuable comments.

It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us,

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were at this resort seven years ago and it blew us away, we knew we would return someday. So has it changed?, you better believe it!

The biggest difference is the resort has matured, the foliage has filled in and it is really lush. Take a look at the two pictures i will post, the difference is dramatic.

The food and service is still above average and the entertainment has improved over the years. We really enjoyed breakfast with Maria serving us at the main Coba buffet, the Japanese alla cart was our favourite dinner. The coffee in the Mexican restaurant (served out of a clay cal-drum) was amazing. We found the margaritas are a refreshing drink on a hot day but watch out they do catch up with you.

When we first arrived our room smelt musty, the next day we spoke to the transat rep who spoke to the golden club manager, we were offered a choice of two rooms. Another set of travellers were given a king bed when they wanted double beds, we spoke to them later and the issue was resolved quickly. This is what a true five star resort should do, no resort is perfect but thanks to Mr Nicai we had a wonderful vacation. Oddly enough we were moved to the room we stayed in 7 years ago.

If you like to snorkel, grab a taxi ($14us) and head 2 miles north to Akumal beach, it is safe and the snorkeling from the beach is some of the best i have ever done. You can also walk south of the resort a few hundred yards and you will find a small bay with an abandoned resort. I snorkeled there a few times and it was far better than the resort reef. Videos are posted on youtube, search redbeardcraig if you are interested.

We did the day trip to Ek Balam, it was a full day and we really enjoyed it. They start with a 75 foot drop down a rope into a large cenote, then a typical Mayan lunch and then onto Ek Balam (mayan ruins). The bus trip is long but you get to see alot of mexican villages along the way.

One word of advice to other travellers, there are a number of wild animals, coati's and racoon's that people like to feed in spite of the signs. If you feed them you are likely killing them. Once feed they tend to associate people with food and some become slightly aggressive. If they start nipping at the travellers, they will have to be removed or destroyed. So please enjoying viewing these animals but do not feed them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear "redbeardcraig",

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank that you have decided to visit Grand Bahia Principe Coba, we are grateful that you share with us your experience.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy the friendliness and service of all the members that make up our great teamwork, one of our major goals is to obtain the satisfaction of all our guests we are sure that María and Mr. Nicoli will be very proud of knowing that with you we did it. .

It will be an honor and a pleasure to welcome you again here in your new home in the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our 5th time to Gran Bahia Principe- 1 time @ Akumal and 4th time at Coba. Cannot fault this amazing place' it has wonderful hard working people who are friendly and can speak a little english. The meals are good in both the restaurants and the A la carte restaurants. A great place for a relaxing holiday. Would recommend a trip to Xel-Ha, just down the road, or Playa Del Carmen if shopping is a requirement. % star, no doubt.

Room Tip: If you are elderly, then request ground floor, otherwise choose pool area or games area if with chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Derek S,

We would like to take this chance to thank you for your loyalty and preference to our Resort. We are pleased that once again you enjoy the kindness and service of all members that make Grand Bahia Principe family. As always be an honor and a pleasure to welcome you back here at your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

what an awesome resort,very friendly staff,food was good and getting around was very simple with the shuttles zipping us through the estate,
The room was very comfortable and spacious,the beaches are gorgeous just relaxing reading and consuming adult beverages, a great way to unwind especially if you have had a test on the local golf course, also strongly recommended.
a great resort cant wait to get back there next april.

Room Tip: Remember tobook meals early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Modjo539,

Your comments are a very important motivation for the great family that composes the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us during your stay last May. We will enlighten to our team of your pleasure for the kindness of their services, they will be proud of the recognition for their work.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here next April,

Sending you my kindest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 7 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.