We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Amazing vacation. Food was wonderful, great bartenders, clean rooms & good drinks! I traveled last spring so my recollection of details are a little foggy however it was my favorite vacation down south to date. I will absolutely return to this resort!
I loved the xel-ha excursion and enjoyed cabbing to akumal bay to swim with the wild sea turtles... Also, coco bongo is a MUST for anyone who likes to party or even enjoys watching great performances.
don't forget to enjoy the tequila, it's never tasted better than it will in Mexico!

Hope you enjoy your vacation as much as my travel companion and I did! We both still reminense on the trip :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear lacocala,

First of all we really value that you decide to visit the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. Thank you for sharing your experience during your visit in May with us. We are happy to read that you have a great time in the Riviera Maya.

Your observations are welcome and valued. The most important for us is make our guests happy, we will share your nice words with our Food&Beverage and Housekeeping Departments. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,335
    2,054
    676
    220
    149
See reviews for
2331
3275
52
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Georges, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Don't really have anything negative to say about this place, it's really awesome. Only negatives are that it's a little far from Cancun airport, not much lighting in the room and noisy at night if your room is close to the lobby. Other than that, nothing to complain about. Excellent service. Food is really really good, I had been told food in Mexico was better, but didn't think it would be so good!! Restaurants à la carte that we did were the Sea Food restaurant, Tequila (mexican) and Gourmet. Gourmet was the best but the other two were also excellent. The site is huge, so there is lots to see. It took us 10 minutes to walk to the beach, so we would take the mini-buses. Lobby is very impressive, very grand. Try the Mayan coffee they serve at night in the lobby! Room was super clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was really nice. Beach was beautiful...some areas are more rocky but there is a section of the beach with beautiful clear blue water and soft white sand. Drinks are SUPER!! All in all, we would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: as mentionned previously, if you like to go to bed early, DO NOT get a room close to the lobby...it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Thal_corbeil,

We really appreciate that you share your beautiful pictures and experience during your stay here in the Grand Bahia Príncipe Coba.

We will share your nice words to the Food&Beverage Manager, the Lobby Bar Mayan Coffee Makers and our Housekeeping department, thank you very much again for your great feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you a second time here in the Mexican Caribbean,

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The GBPC has the potential to be a MUCH better than present but because of its size and several overlooked details, it's more of a 3 star.

Having stayed at 8 all inclusive resorts in Mexico and the Dominican over the past 9 years, I've seen the good, the bad and the ugly. Heres my take on the Grand Bahia:

The Good:

Food quality is above average for AI's (they did seem to run out of popular items at the buffets and had no restock strategy.
Staff was mostly professional and friendly and several went out of their way to please.
Grounds kept clean and neat

The Bad;
Poor signage - critical in a resort this size. Wandering around looking for your building, restaurant, etc.is not a quality way to spend your vacation. The golf cart shuttles give you an idea of the size. So if you arent lucky enough to get a seat or want to simply walk, signs (maybe color coded sections) are important.
Rock hard mattress - good if you like that kind of thing I guess.
Poor resort design and layout. WAY too much walking to get a beverage, use the facilities, grab a bite. Add 4 more bars near the beach, another showering off area or two, 4 more bathrooms and it would be a good start.
Poor air circulation in restaurants (yet alone air conditioned)
Inconsistent maid service

The Ugly:
Size - cant imagine the effort someone mobility challenged would have navigating this resort. I run 1-2 miles each day normally so its not like I'm out of the "getting around" game.

Tip to management:
Management needs to pain more attention to things that add value/pleasure to guests - not so much the need to have the sand in walkway ashtrays meticulously imprinted with a logo.

Hire a consultant - or stay there yourself walking in the shoes of your guests. You'll soon see things from a different and better perspective which will allow you to better serve your guests.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best since you'll be walking around a lot all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Steve O,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are really happy to read that you enjoined the kindness of our staff.

All comments and observations from our guest are well accepted and value, they are important to keep and reinforce they quality of our service. We will review your feedback and suggestions with our management board. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns, thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just got home yesterday from a week long stay at the Coba. We stayed at the Ambar in Punta Cana 3 years ago and really enjoyed it, and thought we would try this one out as it's the same chain again. To be honest, it was great to get away from Canada in February and overall it was good. We are pretty laid back and most things do not bother us when we go away, so this is more of an update only :)

Things that could improve:
Couple of things that were not what I would consider a 4.5 star resort, 3.5 - 4 at best
1. Beds are extremely uncomfortable - hard and you have to have them bring a mattress topper to try and make the best of them
2. Entertainment was the same thing every night. Karaoke overkill and no places to sit. There is such a lack of seating at the Coba that people sat on the stairs to the entrance of the lobby making it extremely difficult to get up and down them. Off the lobby was a "music" bar and they had the same band every night but one which they were off for the evening. Not the greatest, but hey it's what you get I'm assuming, but would have been nice to have some sort of assortment. There was a smaller location at the "premium section" of the resort in Coba, but people figured that one out and seats were also difficult to attain and again the music was the same everynight.
3. Pools - just a word of warning, if you do not get your towel on the lounge chairs by 6:30am you are SOL for the day.
4. Food - Buffet was acceptable but same thing day in day out, no variety whatsoever.
5. Beach was ok, but lots of rocks and lots of people -still able to walk it

Staff was great and no complaints at all, rooms were ok, towels limited, and lots of walking.

Overall, the sun was shining and there was no snow. I don't think I would go back to this location, but really I can't knock it. We did enjoy our stay and look forward to our next adventure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Keltray,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us and that you enjoyed your visit at our facility . All comments and suggestions are well accepted, our clients are the most important value in our chain.

Please be assured that we have addressed your review to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service. We will do our utmost and work to improve your next experience with us, we are looking forward to welcome you again in any of the hotel of our chain to provide you a more charming experience.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

it was my second time at this resort and i loved it even more! Activities, entertainment, food, service, beach and pools! everyone was very nice and welcoming and trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Haven't met a single rude person there (was in DR 6 month ago and everyone was super unfriendly there). Special thanks to a Russian speaking girl at Premier lobby (sorry, don't remember the name)- my friend's parents don't speak good English and she was very helpful and friendly. Victor and his animation team at Tulum - you were doing a great job - games, dances, sports - everyone had tons of fun! Akumal beach team was great as well - it was pretty amazing to see how they made all the people at the beach to participate in water aerobics. i know for sure that i will come back to this resort again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valerie V,

First of all thank for have been chose Grand Bahia Principe Coba as your destination for your holidays and taking the time to write your positive impressions.

It is an honor to know that you really enjoyed your holidays and that we could fulfill your expectations. We will foward your lovely specials mentions to Nadia our Russian Speaking Girl and Victor and the Animation team in Tulum.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your parents again soon here in the Mexican Caribbean.

Receive our warmest regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We traveled with 3 other couples from Feb 3-10. This was a roulette trip for us, and we didn't know where we'd be staying here until the Thursday before we left. We were VERY happy with this resort and any of the 6 of us would return in a heartbeat.

Check in: we arrived at 1:15 PM and were told our rooms would not be ready until 3 PM. We were expecting this and it was not an issue. they checked us in very fast and provided us all with our bracelets to be able to eat and drink. The 3 ladies we were with, fell in love with Jorge at the front desk. Look for him ladies, you will not be disappointed. :)

Rooms: Rooms are nice and spacious. they all come with the usual musty smell, what do you expect?, it's the tropics. Rooms were always cleaned very well. We had a minor issue with the pillows as they smelled rather sour. One call to the front and 3 fresh pillows were provided within the hour.

Beach/Pool: We mostly hung out at the quiet side on Akumel for the pool as there was access to the bar and the beach and bathrooms. The Beach there is not the best i have seen in my numerous trips to Cuba, D.R and Mexico, as it was rather rocky and not great for swimming, but if you take a tram or walk to the Tulum side for it's beach, you will not be disappointed. There was always enough chairs and palapa's to use, and getting up at 6 AM to reserve was not really needed.

Buffet/Restaurants: The wife and I have been to Cuba once, D.R 3 times, and Cancun twice. The buffet at this resort was by far the best we have ever had. Very big, lots of choices, and the food was actually quite tasty. Breakfast is always our favourite meal and the bacon was always plentiful and delicious. We only made it to 2 of the A la carte restaurants (you are only allowed to book 3 for the week you are there) We tried the Italian which was good, and the Mexican, which was also good. Our friends tried the seafood restaurant and were not too impressed, but sis remark that the salad bar was amazing there.

The only 1 complaint we had, and it really had nothing to do with the resort was the bus ride from the Airport. It was close to 2 hours in length. We were on a bus that had to stop and let other travelers off before we were dropped off. The Gran Bahia Principe is one of the farthest from the airport. If we had to do it again (which we might) we would definitely take a taxi from the airport directly and be there in just under an hour.

Overall the 8 of us could not have had a better trip. If we were to all go away again, we would probably go back to this resort again as it was really that good. I hope this review was helpful. Feel free to send any questions if there is anything you are wondering about.

Room Tip: Our travel agent requested a quiet room on the 2nd or 3rd floor away from the road that the trams tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear "Perianderson",

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and pictures,we are happy that you enjoyed your time here in the Riviera Maya.

For all the members of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Family the impressions of our guest are very important, we well forward you nice words with them, especilaly Jorge will be pleased to hear that you delight his service. Thank you again for your lovely words.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back here at your new Mexican home,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we have been to coba twice in two years and plan to return many times more! this is a beautiful very large hotel complex, however it is very easy to get around with the shuttle service provided to the other areas of the resort which you are allowed to enjoy with no special upgrades. i cant say enough great things about the staff, cleanlieness, service and food! the pools are large and offer enough for family, couples, or single travelers. we do not have children however speaking with others on the resort , they praised the childrens club. the grounds are pristine, the food at the ala-carts were exellant, we realy enjoyed the asian as you can book a SHOW dinner where they cook in front of you! the beach is vast but the chairs do go quick, but at the pool we always found chairs. the shows were very proffesional, a different theam every night. cab ride into playa was 20.us. or take the Collectivo at the highway, very safe and only 1.50. you must go to the town center ( hacienda ) located within the resort for there thursday night mexican show...awsome, there is a small charge but well worth it....food drinks, great music!! as with most resorts now , there are time share people who trick you into a tour....whatch out for them in every lobby near the buffet! they will ask if you recieved your "special gift". this was our only complaint. there is a dolfin pool that you can swim with the dolfins (at a cost) but just looking was fun enough for us...free shows every day...located at tulum on the ocean. get yourself aquainted with ALL of the resort as soon as you can, so as not to miss anything. every hotel hosts different shows and music in there bars every night! the buffets have a wide variety of food....again...each hotel has different food choices, we enjoyed akumal buffet the best. have a great trip, go for ten days if you can, we went for a week and it was too short for such a great resort! i would not spend extra on upgrade to royal/golden club...you get enough without the extra money paid. viva Mexico! feel free to ask any other questions. thanks for reading!

Room Tip: a great central area close to pool and lobby central to everything is building 31. the best room wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Paul V,

Thank you very much for sharing your nice comments and beautiful comments, your preferences make us proud of our team work. We will share all your observations to all the departments involve they will be happy that we fulfill your expectations.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you a 3Th time here again in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba.

Best Regards from Riviera Maya,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.