We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing vacation. Food was wonderful, great bartenders (especially Jose & Fernandas I believe are their names!) clean rooms & good drinks! I traveled last spring so my recollection of details are a little foggy however it was my favorite vacation down south to date. I will absolutely return to this resort!
I loved the xel-ha excursion and enjoyed cabbing to akumal bay to swim with the wild sea turtles... Also, coco bongo is a MUST for anyone who likes to party or even enjoys watching great performances.
don't forget to enjoy the tequila, it's never tasted better than it will in Mexico!

Hope you enjoy your vacation as much as my travel companion and I did! We both still reminisce on the trip :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear lacocala,

Thank you very much for taking you the time for review your experience in Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba during your time with us in May.

We are really happy to read that you enjoyed the services from Housekeeping and Food&Beverage departments, we will share your nice comments with them specially with Jose and Fernando.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,352
    2,063
    684
    221
    149
See reviews for
2356
3281
52
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first time to Mexico (All-Inclusive) Dec 25-Jan 1. Family of 5. I will summarize by Pro's and minor Cons

1) Grounds are impeccable
2) Service was always attentive and friendly
3) Rooms were well kept, clean and large (turned off the A/C and enjoyed the ceiling fan and breeze from the open balcony
4) No bugs (outside or inside)
5) Ability to share facilities/bars/pools restaurants with other attached Bahia properties
6) Excellent New Year's Party
7) Drinks were excellent and lineups were not worth mentioning
8) Food was good - (our family are Foodies and we have high expectations). Buffet always best at opening times. Mikado Japanese was excellent
9) Take the collectivos (white vans) at the gate to go to offsite locations 2-4$ per person / trip
10) Beach is good (some minor rocks) but lots of open and closed areas to choose from
11) Easy snorkeling just over the beach rope
12) Pools are clean and creative

Cons:
1) Shuttles between beach and lobby(s) should be more frequent. You have to learn the routes and time. Sometimes its faster to walk than take the shuttle
2) Wifi (free lobby) was intermittent - but put you device away and enjoy the sun
3) Bring sunscreen - costs at the store are between 20-50$ for a single bottle

We loved our experience and would return again to this family of properties.

Room Tip: Everything seems far away - but really just try the walk - it will be shorter than you think
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear vanalphen42,

We fill honored that you choose México and Grand Bahía Príncipe Hotels & Resorts for your first all inclusive holiday. The most important think for us is to make our guest happy and we are content that with you and your family we did it.

We will review your comments with all our departments we really appreciate that you take part of your time to share with us. We are looking forward to welcome you soon here in the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't have much to add to the many reviews of this resort. They're all pretty accurate. Instead, here are a few tips for people travelling with young kids (I travelled with a 4 year old Dec, 2012).

- Most Important: Email guest servies before you leave and have them book the restaurants for you in advance. I did this (the day before leaving) and was very, very happy about not waiting in line to make reservations during my stay.

- Bring a stroller: This will enable you to pack a bunch of toys, suntan lotion, etc. The walk to Coba beach is not that long... we generally walked to the beach rather than taking a shuttle.

- Stay in building 25, 26, or 27. Request a room not facing the main cart road. We stayed in building 26 and it was perfect. Away from the reception are but not too far. Close to the quiet pool (which is the smaller of the two pools at COBA).

- The quiet pool has a section that goes from super shallow (2 inches) to about 4.5 feet depth. This is a perfect area for a 4-5 year old to play and was very safe. It's perhaps the only pool within the 3 resorts with this type of "graduated depth" area.

- The kids club did not work very well for us as I found "aged 4" was a bit too young. Many of the kids appeared older but they seemed to have fun. I wouldn't count on the kids club if your child is 4/5 years old.

- The "couch" area within the room is perfect for a 4/5 year old child to sleep on at night. Just request extra bedding when you arrive and the housekeeper will make up the bed. Bring a nighlight in case your child gets afraid of the dark. If necessary, the main bed is large enough for a child to sleep.

- For breakfast, instead of going to the main reception, head over to the Akumal Premier buffett. It has the same food but is much quieter and less packed. Anyone can eat at this breakfast location.

- Bring lots of suncreen. It's expensive to buy it here so be prepared. The spray on stuff works best as it's quicker to reapply on children. Look for stuff you can pray on wet or dry.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Request building 25, 26, 27 non-facing the cart path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear "Wopper",

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba for your family holidays. We are really happy to read that you have a good time with us. We are pretty sure your review will be really helpful for our future guest. Thank you very much for taking part of your time for sharing with us and future travelers your tips.

It will be an honor to welcome you and your family soon again.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 5th time back to this resort and I am already looking forward to next year! The rooms are amazing with alot of space, and this is the basic Jr Suite. The food is delicious and there is always a variety so that everyone is happy. There are a lot of activities for everyone, whether it is beach volleyball or pool activities. And the activity team, headed by Sergio is full of energy. Of course, there are quiet pools and relaxing spots on the beach if you just want to sit back and read. i love this vacation.!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear BEW78,

We feel really grateful about your preference, thank you very much for sharing with us your comments about you recent stay with us, we will forward you nice words to Sergio and the animation team. It would be an honor to welcome you a 6Th time.

Best Regards from your Mexican Home,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family visited this resort Dec 22-29.We are a family of five, two parents ages 48 and 50 and 3 teens. I have travelled to Riviera Maya and Cancun area more than 20 times over the past 26 years. The entire Coba resort has junior suites and the extra space was appreciated. My husband and I had a king bed and the kids had an adjoining room with 2 queen beds and a single bed. After 2 days we asked for mattress toppers and they added alot of comfort to the extra firm mattresses. The rooms had stocked mini fridges, safes, flat screen tv's, jetted tub and shower, patio , a couch and a table with 2 chairs. Rooms were modern, large and clean.

We stayed at Grande Bahia Principe Coba but utilized the beaches and restaurants at Coba, Akumal and Tulum properties.The staff within the entire resort complex was friendly and helpful. This was the happiest staff of any hotel we have ever stayed at and it makes the whole vacation experience so much better when the staff is so nice. Other guests at the hotel were primarily from Canada and England and not as many from Russia, France, Argentina, Columbia and USA.

We noticed the hotels seemed understaffed at pool bars, housekeeping and room service. However it was a holiday week and a very busy time for the resort.

Shuttles and golf carts transport you from place to place. Although this was confusing at times we never waited more than 5 minutes for a shuttle to arrive. Several instances the bell boys would use a golf cart or golf cart drivers within the resort would pick us up at get us to our destinations. We felt the transportation within the resorts was effecient.

A few minor issues are expected during any hotel stay. We had two adjoining rooms and we realized late in our stay that the phone in the kid’s room didn’t ring. A working phone would have allowed us to connect and meet up more easily. Jets in my tub didn’t work even after visit from maintenance. We had ants in one bathroom. We called the front desk and they sent someone up and he sprayed and left a spray can and we would spray at night for 3 nights and that took care of it. None of this was major and didn’t impact the quality of our experience.

We stayed in building 3 and liked the proximity to Coba premier lobby and little shops, Coba pools and Akumal main lobby. Our first floor room was fine but wish the patio didn’t face the road because shuttles going by and workers pushing laundry carts can be really loud in the morning. I generally like to sit on the patio in the early morning and have coffee so instead I walked to the premier lobby for excellent coffee and a quiet place to begin the day.

I did a yoga class at the Tao wellness center one day. It was a very crowded class with a really good instructor. The Tao wellness center is worth a visit and they had some unique things in the gift shop.

The beaches: Tulum beach had a rocky entry and sand bag “whales” but also the finest sand. Coba beach was less rocky and we were able to walk in. It had a good reef for snorkeling. We took our own snorkel gear and snorkeled every day. Akumal beach was the rockiest and almost not usable. The big deck over the water is where morning stretch and zumba are done and the deck defines the borders of Akumal and Coba beach. All beaches had bars that you could walk to and order drinks. They are no waitresses for pool or beach areas.

The restaurants/food: We ate at all three main buffets for breakfast and all were comparable and very good. We also had breakfast several days at the Coba premier buffet and the selections were not as abundant but it was quieter and the food was fresh and tastey. Cappuccino is only available at the main lobby buffets. We had lunch at several different snack bars because we could go barefoot and in our bathing suits. Selections were limited to burgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets, salads, fries, rice, guacamole and a few other items. No complaints about the taste or selection and the guacamole and pico di gallo were good. For lunch we also tried La Dolce Vita which has inside seating with linen table cloths. Shoes and cover-ups are required and it is buffet food with drink table service.

Dinners: we tried the main buffet in Coba lobby and also the main buffet Akumal lobby. Both were huge with plenty of choices. A la carts: Show table at Mikado-Japanese and the food was excellent, especially the steak, and the cooking show was entertaining. Le Grand Tortuga-Brazilian-food was good if you are a meat lover. They served chicken, turkey, and several kinds of beef, sausages, pork and ribs. La Dolce Vita is the Italian restaurant and each one of us each tried something different and none of us were impressed. My chicken was good but the pasta was undercooked, husband’s steak was very tough, son’s lasagna was mushy, other son’s veal was too chewy and daughter’s ravioli was okay. La Gourmet-we had the steak and lobster and both were very good, we also enjoyed their appetizers and soups and the house wines in this restaurant were good too. We e-mailed to get dinner reservations in advance and were so happy we did this. High praise for Felix at the Coba property. He was so responsive, polite and caring.

Teen perspective: Son-age 19 and he liked the Hacienda Dona Isabel area and sports bar, the disco, the 24 hour snack bars and the ease of meeting and hanging out with other teens from all over the world.

Daughter- age 18 and she liked Hacienda Dona Isabel courtyard for evening music, disco, all night snack bar where they could hang out with a big group playing cards and laughing till 5AM. She said the staff at the all night snack bar was terrific. She said the Coba main activity pool was the place for louder music and a wilder pool bar scene.

Son -age 15 and he missed organized games and pool activities that he has experienced at other resorts. Those types of silly games and contests (non drinking) are a great way for kids ages 13-17 to meet and hang out. He met a few kids his age playing beach volleyball but would have really enjoyed more organized games. At Iberostar they have “Star Friends” that pull kids into silly contests in the pool. He missed that. He liked the activity pool at Akumal best because they had ping pong tables and a basketball hoop in the pool. He also liked the beach volleyball located at Coba beach.

Entertainment: We all liked live music venues as an option to the shows. We have stayed at many all- inclusives and we are tired of the “shows” so the fact that Bahia Principe offered alternative options was terrific. In the evening we would sit at outside of the Coba lobby in a patio area. There was an outside bar, dj and dancing. Inside Coba main lobby there was live music a few nights and karaoke one night. Coba premier lobby had live (quieter music) each night from 8-11 PM. There were live bands on certain nights at patio are of the Hacienda beginning at 11 PM. Disco opens from 12-2:00AM (young crowd ages 18-25). Hacienda Dona Isabel has vendors and shops that sell souvenirs all day and are open till 11:30 most nights. Prices were reasonable and selection was varied.

Wish list: more information about other properties, the restaurants, and the events going on at the different pools and the different lobbies. Things like karaoke, paella at the pool, live bands at Hacienda, Mexican fiesta night, pool games were all things we discovered by accident. We wish there were descriptions and menus of all the resorts restaurants and also other events happening at all the pools and beaches. There were a bunch of television stations devoted to the resort and it would be great to view one that told us this information.

Room service: We ordered 3 different times and each time the delivery was really slow (90 minutes) and there is no menu available. Basically hamburgers, hot dogs and nuggets. We went the front desk and requested a menu and they said there isn’t one. Kids would order chicken nuggets and fries and said they were hot and tasted good.

Pools: We spent time at all pools and each offered something different. While we were there the Coba activity pool had limited chairs and a wilder pool bar scene our 18 yr old daughter and 20 yr old son preferred this location; the Akumal activity pool drew a lot of younger kids and tweens. This pool has a basketball hoop, water polo net, and volley ball net and a few ping pong tables on deck. Our 15 yr old son preferred this pool location. The Akumal quiet pool had a swim up bar and me and my husband liked the music at this pool. The Tulum pool had a swim up bar which we liked a lot, plenty of seating’s under palapas but the music didn’t appeal to anyone. It was hard-core urban music with a lot of “F-this and that” which held no appeal for the 50+ age group or any other age group for that matter. With all the good music in the world what is the purpose of playing raunchy stuff? It offends so many and I am not conservative or strict in any way. Other guests expressed the same opinion.

Overall, we really liked this resort and would stay here again. It is important that you manage your expectations and understand that with a huge complex there is more logistics in meeting up with people and getting to beaches, pools and restaurants. However there are also many more options for entertainment, dining, shopping,beach and pool variety.

Excursions: My oldest son and husband went to the Coba ruins. They took a collectivo (public transport van) from the main road to Tulum and then boarded a bus in the town of Tulum which took them to the Coba ruins. The collectivo was $2 per person; the bus was $3 each and entry fee to Coba was $5 each. They rented bikes $3 each, climbed the pyramid and had lunch (2 tacos and 2 cokes) $3 each at a local establishment in the village outside of the national park. If they would have gone through a tour operator it would have been $70 per person. On the return they didn’t want to wait for the bus back to Tulum so they took a taxi from Coba ruins to the town of Tulum $25 total and then the collectivo back to the resort $2 each. Total for both was $61 USD compared to $140 for a tour company that would not have included the bikes or lunch.
Another day four of us took a cab 140 pesos ($11 USD) to Akumal beach to snorkel one day. It is five minutes by car. We saw sea turtles and other fish. I returned another day to Akumal public beach and took the collective $2 USD each way to do some shopping and have lunch at the Turtle Bay café (separate review). Akumal public beach area has some great shops with original art and really nice souvenirs and jewelry. I like the t-shirt selection and the little grocery store called Super Chomak, the glass and silver jewelry and one-of-a-kind paintings at a shop called Ak-Nah Gallery and another gallery that had high quality Mexican folk art which I think was called the Mexican Art gallery.

Lost and Found: I found a man’s ring while snorkeling in the ocean. We asked all the properties if one had been reported lost and were told no report had been filed. I would be happy to return the ring to the owner. If you think it might be yours please contact me through Tripadvisor with a detailed description-ring size, metal, gemstones, engravings etc

Room Tip: Look at a resort map and decide what you want to be near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "Likethewind27",

We appreciate that you took part of your time to share your experience in our Resort. Your comments help us to improve every day.

Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. It makes us happy to see that with you and your family we did it. We have already sent your nice words and suggestions to the departments involved and in the name of the whole members, we want to thank you again for your valuable comments.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby,Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I am a little late on writing this review but my boyfriend and I traveled to the hotel in may and had an amazing time I liked the convince of shopping right at the resort the food was awesome it is a large resort but you'll never get bored. The reason I gave the rooms a four is because they could be a little more modern but they were still clean and functional so modern doesn't matter if you are just sleeping there. Overall it was an amazing experience and I would go back any day!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "WantsAnotherVacation",

Thank you very much for taking you the time to share with us your experience here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba regarding your time with us last May. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

The comments of our guest are always helpful and will share yours with all our departments.
It would be a pleasure for us that you return to visit us here at the Riviera Maya. Thank you very much again for your review.

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I travelled to this resort in Dec 2012 and had a fabulous time. The resort was fantastic! It was quite a ways from the airport but we were expecting the long drive so picked up a couple of beer at the airport and enjoyed the scenery. Even though the hotel is further from the airport than most hotels in the Mayan Riviera area, the drive was well worth it. It was my favourite location of all places we have so far stayed at in the Mayan.

The beach at the Coba was amazing. Lots of chairs with shade as well as sun and each time we went in the water we took our snorkelling gear a there were lots of fish to see.

We were very impressed with the food and decided to eat at the buffet every evening rather than any of the a la cartes. We were happy enough with the selection and quality of the food at the buffet and didn't want to be on any kind of schedule with dinner reservations. We have enough appointments and commitments in our every day life so don't have any on holidays.

We usually ate at the Tulum buffet for breakfast and lunch since it was right off the beach. Then we would eat at the Coba buffet for supper. We tried the Akumal buffet one evening it liked the Coba one better.

We liked having access to the three resorts and really enjoyed the bar at the Akumal resort before dinner. We also enjoyed the shopping centre called the Hacienda. Golf carts were frequent if you didn't feel like walking. We enjoyed walking to the beach but usually took the golf carts to the other resorts. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and can it can be confusing at first, but we caught on to the layout after a couple of days.

We did two outings on our own as we don't like tours. We walked to the highway and caught the Collectivo to Akumal beach, which is very close. In fact, we realized we probably could have walked there along the beach - it would have taken an hour or so. We took our snorkelling gear and saw lots of fish and sea turtles. It was fantastic. This is where they take you if you sign up for the snorkelling tour, but it will cost $50/person. We spent $5 each in total for the Collectivo. You just stand on the resort side of the highway and the bus or Colletivo (white van) stops every 15 min or so although we never had to wait for more than a minute it two. The cost is 25 pesos each, or $2.50 each. When they drop you off at the road to the beach you have to walk in about 10 minutes. You will pass a library where you can pick up English books for $1 each. We rented a locker from the dive shop for $5 to store our stuff while we snorkelled. Akumal is a very neat town and we will spend more time there on our next trip. When you return to the hotel, you will need to cross the highway, but they have a pedestrian overpass so it isn't an issue.

Our second excursion was to the Tulum ruins and again we did it on our own. We had to cross the highway (use the overpass) and it was a further ride to Tulum. I think we paid $6 for two of us. Again it is a bit of a walk to the ruins from the highway, but it is a lovely walk and only about 15 min. There are options for getting a ride, but we enjoyed the walk. There are lots of booths along the way but we ignored them until we got to the entrance of the ruins. It is a very official looking entrance so don't get fooled by the booths along the way. The cost to get into the ruins was $11 for two. We loved exploring the ruins by ourselves, but tours are available if you prefer. It was so picturesque and awe-inspiring. We went early in the morning - about 8:00 or 8:30 and beat the crowds. When we left at 11:00 or so, the line-ups and crowds were crazy! I think the cost of the tour from the resort to the ruins was $30/ person. We did it for just under $12/person and did it on our own time which is very appealing. And it is very easy and safe to use the Collectivos so I highly recommend it

We took American money in small bills for tipping. However, in the future I would take American $1 bills for tipping and the rest of the cash in pesos. The bank exchange rate is about $1 = 13 pesos, but the usual exchange rate at businesses is $1 = 11.50 pesos. But many businesses did the conversion incorrectly or just used a conversion factor of $1=10 pesos. So using pesos to begin with is the most economical. Plus even if you use American or Canadian dollars, you will receive your change in pesos.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at GBPC and would not hesitate to return or recommend it to others. I cannot imagine what anyone could possibly complain about. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "Else111",

Thank you very much for your excellent comments about your time here in the Riviera Maya, it is really nice of you to take part of your time to share with us your experience. Our aim is to be able to obtain the maximum satisfaction of all our clients. It makes us happy to see that with you we did it . We hope to welcome you again soon and please be sure that we will transmit your satisfaction to all our staff members.

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.