We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Coba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked Coba on a seat sale for Christmas and didn't really have an idea of what to expect. Well I wasn't prepared for a 2 hour bus ride, but that aside the resort was amazing. It's actually 3 resorts in 1 and you get to use the facilities of all resorts. Overall we had an amazing experience and I would totally return in a heart beat. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make our stay fabulous, especially Christmas Eve. A special night was planned with Christmas dinner, Santa Clause on the beach and lovely decorations everywhere.

What I loved about this resort:
Great food. They can cater to celiac's if you need.
Awesome staff. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Sergio the entertainment guy at the pool is awesome. Also Felix the PR guy is amazinginly helpful if you run into problems.
Large Rooms: Lots of space in your room including storage.
Awesome Pools: Many to choose from
Wellness Center: Don't miss out on this, Tao Wellness Center is separate from the resort but you get to use so take advantage.
Golf Resort on Site: your room includes a round of golf so make sure you take golf shoes and clothes.
Lots of beach and chairs to enjoy: you can enjoy a hammock, swimming in the ocean or laying on the sand.

What I didn't love:
Hard Beds: Ask for a mattress topper to avoid this.
Paying for safes: necessary but be prepared to pay $5 dollars a day.
Super sweet drinks: I love pina colada's and margaritas but ask for only a little sugar
Long walks from the room to lobby: request a room close to the lobby to avoid long walks to and from.

Basically the resort was fabulous and the what I didn't love are small and easy to avoid. The return for what you pay is fantastic. It is a large resort so make sure to budget in time to get from one resort to the other because you need to take a golf cart. That said being so large, there are many things to do including shopping a the Hacienda, renting bikes and riding around the property, checking out different restuarants around the property and watching the shows at different resorts on the properties.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room on the third floor close to your lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Pam P,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience here in the Riviera Maya, comments like yours help us to improve and to reinforce were it is necessary.

We are glad that you enjoyed the services and kindness of our staff. We will communicate your observations with all our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon and thank you again for your nice review.

On behalf of all the members who are part of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba family, we want to wish a happy and prosperous new year!

Best Regards,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,345
    2,054
    682
    220
    150
See reviews for
2345
3276
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been to a number of all inclusive resorts in the Mayan Riviera, Puerto Vallarta, Dominican Republic and Jamaica. But my friends and family always return to the Coba. The resort, facilities, staff, amenities and food keep us coming back. Yes, the resort is big, but they easily make up for that with the transportation system.

The animation team this year was fabulous, and we can't wait to go back again. There were 12 in our group this time, and they made our vacation that much more memorable. Thank you Sergio, Gabriel, Angela, Eduardo, Gilberto, Luis Angel, and Obama! And the staff at the buffet were so gracious in accommodating us every day so we could eat together. We always made sure to sit in the same section with Zacarias and Ana. In the lounge in the evening, Florentina was fabulous! Two weeks just wasn't enough this year - can't wait to return for three in 2013! Thank you Coba.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear "Denine R",

Thank you very much for your nice comments, your preferences make us feel proud of our work, we will share your beautiful words with our animation team they will be truly content. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family here in the Grand Bahía Príncpe Coba.

Kind Regards from the Riviera Maya,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just got back from our 4th trip to the Gran Bahia Principe Coba Golden. As usual staff was excellent and very friendly. This is one of the reasons we keep going back. Not only does the staff treat you like family but this is one resort that management does really acknowledge their customer loyalty. We have stayed at the Grand Marival in Puerto Vallarta at least 8 times. The Marival does acknowledge repeat clients with a glass of champange and a Dollarstore Fannypack and a t-shirt after 5 or more times. Where as the moment we arrived at the Coba Lobby we were treated as very special clients. Everynight there was something special left for us. The first night was a basket of fresh fruit and two T Shirts, the second night a beautiful boquet of flowers. We would be treated to special goodies left in our room for an evening snack. I want to send special thanks to Felix Guest Services Manager, Andres, Mauricio & Omar our servers in the Cozumel Restuarant, Jose our Bell Boy in Coba and of course our beautifuly housekeeper. This trip was strickly for some much needed R&R so we only did one side trip to Chichen Itza which included a 15 min stop to Valladolid (you could easily spend 2 hrs here) and a stop for a swim and lunch at a Cenote. Our guide was excellent. In our opion Chichen Itza is a trip best done on it's own or 1 other attractions. When you book a tour it can include multiple stops and does not give you any where near the time you need to experience this site. On the positive side we know we want to go back, but as a private tour. Downside to Chichen Itza, they have opened this site to what seems like every vendor in Mexico, so be prepared. Be sure to get out and explore the area away from the resort, there is so much to see and experience. Have already booked for March 2013

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear "DP7153",

Thank you very much for your excellent comments about the performances of our services, we will forward your nice comments to all our staff members, specially Felix, Andres, Mauricio, Omar and Jose. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon here at your home in the Riviera Maya.

The Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba Family wish you and your family an excellent 2013!

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and my parents visited the Coba for a second time this year from December 20th to 27th. We used USA transfers from the airport and the transfer was timely and pleasant. Upon arrival at the hotel we learned that we had been upgraded to the premier section. This was our 3rd visit to a Bahia resort so we were pleased with the little upgrades that we received. We had champagne, fruit basket, robes and slippers placed in the room. The TV's are nice LCD's with much better reception in the premier section. The maid did a great job everyday with towel arrangements left on the bed.
The food was great once again. Lots of choices. The waiters were excellent at each meal. The Christmas Eve gala was beautiful with turkey, beef, chicken cordon blue, caviar, seafood and much much more. The resort really went beyond for Christmas Eve. The only complaint I have about any food at the resort is the cheese nacho sauce it is way too runny, they need to make it a little thicker.
The entertainment staff does a great job from dailyactivities to nightly shows. The outdoor dance show most evenings is awesome way to spend the evening dancing and socializing.
I just don't get the complaints about the timeshare staff. Say a firm no and don't engage then and they will not bother you. Lorenzo who is part of the privilege club staff has become a friend and is a great guy to chat with. We got to know him on our last visit and was surprised when he remembered us right away.
The coba section of the beach is the best area to go to. It is nice and sandy and lots of fish around to swim with. The trolley leaves constantly from the lobby and is only a short ride if you don't want to walk. There is a beach bar just on the left as you enter the beach so convienent to gets drinks all day.
The chair game is definately on at this resort as with most. If you want a good spot then you need to get up early to place a towel out. They really need to invest in some more loungers because there is definately room for them. We are early risers so never an issue for us but could see how it would be if you sleep in.
The resort was full during Christmas but did not feel full because the resort is so big. We never waited long for anything and really enjoyed our christmas there. The temperatures were great. Only 2 evenings out of the 7 did we need to wear a little sweater. Looking forward to another visit to the Coba.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear "jclarkhalifax",

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family for the second time here in the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba, thank you very much for your nice comments. We are happy to read that you have a wonderful Christmas. We will share your beautiful observations with all our departments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again here in your Mexican home. On behalf of all the members who are part of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba family, we want to wish a happy and prosperous new year!

Truly yours,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family of five just returned from a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba. The resort is beautiful. We enjoyed the clean rooms, beautiful scenery, the food, and the entertainment. Every single staff member went out of his or her way to make our first Christmas away from home a very memorable and positive experience. Migual Angel Kubanul gave us a wonderful service and warm welcome each time we saw him in the dining room. Our only complaint was the other guests. During the day time, all was well. However, once these people left the bars at night, things were very different. We chose villa 22 because we read on Tripadvisor that it was quiet and central. Unfortunately, it was also right beside the Casita (24-hour snack bar) where the drunk guests congregated when the bars closed. There was yelling and screaming every nights except one. Two of the nights included fights that went on for over an hour each time after 3 o'clock in the morning. This resort is top notch. It is unfortunate that the guests are not. We were told that 90% of the guests at the resort are Canadian. So are we. It is unfortunate that this is the impression some Canadians wish to make when traveling internationally.

Room Tip: Avoid the Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Laura S,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your opinions and observations during your time with us here at the Rivera Maya. We are content that you enjoyed the services of Miguel Angel he will be delight to hear it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back here soon. On behalf of all the members who are part of the Grand Bahía Príncipe Coba family, we want to wish a happy and prosperous new year!

Sincerely,

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My one year old baby had a fever during our stay.

1. Hotel doesn't have any emergency care kit. The hotel front desk people were very cold, not willing to help. They said they dont have any emergency kit and they even dont have a thermometer. They suggested us to see the doctor in their resort shopping mall. Based on my travelling experience, this is the first resort that they even don't have a thermometer for customers to use.

2. The doctor gave us a hard sell of ambulance which turned out the ambulance was totally unnecessary.

This hotel doctor only wanted to sell his expensive service- taking $600 ambulance to the hospital. Actually, the fever was very curable with OTC drugs . And, the ambulance is not a real ambulance since it is permanently parked in the doctor's office back door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear "aurora8888",

First of all thank you for your comments about your stay in our Hotel. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Coba, Riviera Maya Resort Mexico.

One of the most important think for us is the safety and security of all our guests. That is why here at the resort we count with an external medical services the 24 hours. There is always one doctor and an ambulance well equipped of any emergency. We will check your comments and observations with the medical services to reinforce the service.

We will review your observations with the Front desk Manager, i hope that this unfortunate and isolate incident will not be the sole memory you took home with you. Our staff in general and our hotel are well known to be very accommodating and service oriented with our guests and this particular employee who did not exhibit such a polite behavior towards you, should not be the instrument to measure us as a whole.

Thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future.

Receive our warmest regards.

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First time to the Coba. Have been to Palladium three times but wanted something different. Bad mistake. In every aspect, Gran Bahia complex, beach, food, service falls short.
Paid extra for the Coba Golden, not worth it. When we arrived at the separate check in lobby (very quaint) at noon they confirmed we had building 2 but to return at 3pm as the room needs prepping. When we returned at 3pm, they told that "something" happened and we needed to be moved to another building further away. We had asked for bottom floor as my wife is pregnant but they could provide. On second day, spoke to one of the supervisors and managed to be moved however, we had to ask for everything...I mean everything. Phone in the room was broken, extra bed sheets. Asked for 2 double but they could only find a room with 1 bed. Complementary drinks, slippers, gown..etc. included in the Golden price was not included.
Staff is hard working but I imagine due to management style or lack there of, the staff was not very knowledgeable and sometimes rude. eg. tried to return a beach towel at 6:30pm at the pool but the towel exchange kiosk was closed. Went to the Coba main lobby and asked for a towel card in exchange but the agent told me I had to return next morning. Had to call supervisor again, and the towel was taken and replaced with a card. Simple things like this got to me. Repeatedly, I heard from staff, "it's not my fault", "I can't do anything about it", "it's not my problem"!!??

No beach, it's man made. Took a taxi to Akumal Bay 10 minutes away. Better beach but as it is a public beach not very clean. Palladium isn't exceptional but better. Beaches by Tulum ruins are beautiful but taxi ride cost over $20 US each way. Food/buffet was probably the worst I experienced. With Golden, one of the perks was 4 a al carte reservations. As it was during Christmas, they made us reserve table at buffet as well!! Too many annoying things about this resort. If I didn't experience Palladium, I would say this place is fair but it's really difficult not to compare. I would recommend Palladium without any reservation. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Kooture,

We are truly sorry that we could not fulfill your expectations and provide you with a more personalize service. That certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years, we have reviewed your comments with the different departments and introduce corrective actions or improvements where is necessary.

We expect to have the opportunity to welcome you again to be able to offer a more charming experience.

Yours faithfully

Ilse Saldaña
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal, Crtra. Xetumal - Cancun, Km 249, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Coba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.