We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for family who would like to cook at home” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Save Saved
You added Las Villas Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Villas Akumal
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Km 104 Fracc. Akumal C, Playa Jade | Carretera Cancun Tulum, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Akumal B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good for family who would like to cook at home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here with a friend in March 2011. Hotel was beautiful but not near much. The hotel restaurant closes early and the only few dinner options are down the beach in town which is about a 20 min walk. The cab drivers in town, which is tiny, tried to charge us $10 to go 5 minutes down the road. I'm from NYC and not scared by high prices but it was a rip off. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and the staff is nice but the beaches are rocky and you are not really able to swim. It is about 25 minutes from playa de Carmen and you can easily grab a shared van on the highway. I would recommend this hotel for families who would like to grocery shop and stay put to save money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    36
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
57
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

These villas are tranquil and have direct access to the beach. The waters in front of the villas are a little dangerous with some sharp underwater rocks and subject to strong tides. This is beneficial however, because it keeps the tourists from other resorts away, making the place peaceful. Still, if you want the traditional beach, a 10 minute walk to the north takes you to some beaches with soft sand that are great for swimming in.

The villas themselves are well laid out, with everything you might need. The hotel offers breakfast and will run to the supermarket for you (for a fee) but we brought our own food. The kitchen is a good size as are the bedrooms.

The facilities do include a nice grassy area as well as a mid-sized unheated pool. The iguanas that roam the grounds do not bite, but they look scary the first time they approach you looking for a snack.

The place has direct access to the highway but the grounds are large enough that you do not hear any road noise. Nearby, you will find Tulum and lots of famous cenotes.

Room Tip: As each villa is privately owned, some of the owners lock the closet doors so they can store their p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I spend much of our time in The Yucatan. We chose this fabulous find of a hotel to spend the final days of a family vacation. We rented two junior suites for three generations ranging in age from 1 - 65+. The accommodations were pristinely kept, the staff incredibly helpful, the little pool was perfect for toddlers. The reef just to the right of the hotel beach is abundant with wildlife. In fact, the snorkeling in front of this hotel is far better than that off the famous Akumal Bay beach! The iguanas are plentiful here, too, and they enjoyed being fed by the small children. As a bonus, in the dark of night, we had the pleasure of watching a huge turtle come out of the ocean, dig her nest and return to the ocean...a forever memory! This hotel is definitely on our "return to" list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed four nights at Las Villas Akumal and loved our experience! The 1 bedroom villa had a spacious bedroom, bathroom, living area and kitchen. We found the kitchen to be well equipped and well designed. The king size bed was really comfortable! However, we spent very little time in our villa. We enjoyed the continental breakfasts and ocean view offered at the Villa's restaurant. Most of our time was spent poolside, beachside, or snorkeling. Loved the poolside bar! Ocean kayaks and snorkel gear can be checked out for free! We also snorkeled in the main Akumal Bay where we saw about 20 sea turtles. One night after dark we sat in the Villa's lounge chairs and watched two giant sea turtles come ashore and lay their eggs. The volunteers let us view them quietly up close and the next morning marked the nests to help protect them. One of my favorite quirky things about the resort were the iguanas! They sunbathe in the lawn and are very harmless, and shy away from people if approached. Reminded me a little of the brown squirrels of the Pacific Northwest! The resort is quite secluded, which was fine for us. We had a rental car and were able to get around easily, but without a car I think it would be difficult to get groceries, beer, and experience other areas in Akumal. The staff was friendly and helpful, gardens and grounds well kept, and maid service outstanding. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent 5 days in Akumal in the hotel Las Villas.

The accomodation is very nice, very comfortable, all the rooms have a small kitchen.

Continental breakfast is good with fresh fruits and fresh bread.

The swimming pool is perfect for the kids.

Staff is really friendly and helpfull and dedicated to answer all your questions and solve any problem.

The best atraction is the beach of the hotel where turtles are coming during the night to nest.

Ideal location and accomodation for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night and thought it was going to be a super average experience. We were surprised at how spacious and clean our room was with fridge, water dispenser, mini kitchenette and dining area. While our major gripe was with the people staying next door who had the TV blaring and children running amok until midnight (noise carries badly), we did have a few other minor annoyances. We had to run the water for quite some time for it to heat up and for those who like to sit on the royal thrown for their morning ritual or are a little modest - be warned it's not tightly sealed. ;) These minor things didn't bother us but maybe they would you?!

Room Tip: We had 208A with a comfortable king bed. It has air con and fans. It's a great space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I dont want this to seem like one of those all perfect scores that dont really matter, but honestly, this was the very first time where everything was the exact same way it was on the site. We saw the milky way, mars, several constellations, and 2 green turtles giving birth the first night we arrived. It was almost too perfect to be real but it was! Amazing in every way i could think of! Definitely recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Villas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Villas Akumal

Address: Km 104 Fracc. Akumal C, Playa Jade | Carretera Cancun Tulum, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Villas Akumal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Las Villas Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Villas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Villas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Villas Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.