We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Azul Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Luna Azul Condominiums to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Azul Condominiums
Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Modena, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an older building but very well kept. The room was small and well appointed with fridge and other amenities. Very close to water on the beach so it was salty but with the door closed the AC worked well and kept the air dry at night. There was a hammock which was a nice touch. Recommended for no frills but clean and we'll kept stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in this Casita for three weeks in January - February 2014 and loved it so much we have booked for six weeks next year! Yes, it is small compared to the condos, it faces the road and only has a 2 burner hot plate in an otherwise lovely kitchen, but it is a short walk to the ocean view and when we cooked in (rarely!) two burners were sufficient. We had plenty of room and at the end of a sun and activity filled day we loved our comfortable and cozy little casita. We chose Casita Sur because of the price (half the cost of a condo) and the amount of sunlight compared to the other casita or the bodegas. It has three large windows, two sky lights and small block windows all along the cathedral ceiling, which also made it feel larger. The only downside was there is no where to entertain guests but La Buena Vida worked for that, plus I did not have to cook! BTW, the casita now has new dinnerware with bowls. The maid, Alba, and management went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We have stayed at Luna Azul for several years, and we loved our time in both the condos and Casita Sur.

Room Tip: We have stayed in condos 6 & 7 and Casita Sur. Recommend all of them highly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a good choice if you want to stay in Half Moon Bay. Our second floor unit, No. 4, was great, with comfy beds and very nice decor. There were a few ants, but I think that's to be expected in the tropics. We also rented Casita Norte on the ground floor for a few nights as an overflow for some members of our party. That had harder beds, a few more bugs and a slightly musty smell, but maybe a good budget choice. The second floor unit has a lovely balcony and diagonal windows, both affording great views of the beach. The beach itself, as others note, is a bit narrow and water shoes are needed to wade in, due to the coral. Also a shame that plastic garbage washes up some spots, but we also saw that on the gorgeous Tulum beach. But we like to snorkel and there was good snorkeling still available at Half Moon Bay, despite some die-off of the reefs over the past few years. The main Akumal beach was a mob scene with hordes of people being bused in during the busy holiday season, while Half Moon Bay remained quiet. There are some palapas and chairs in front of Luna Azul, which was great until some obnoxious renters started reserving them at 6 AM (I kid you not) by running down in their nightclothes to lay out towels etc. The unit comes with daily maid service, and the maid worked hard, including washing the dishes. Deservedly got a nice tip. This was our second visit to the area. Last time we stayed at Playa Caribe next door. The units are almost identical in layout. Playa Caribe is slightly better maintained and has the tiny pool and drinkable water, but Luna Azul was cheaper and we enjoyed it just as much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in #7 on the 4th floor. Amazing view and a great breeze. We visited in August and only turned on the AC for a couple of hours just before bed. The AC was quite loud, but it cooled the whole place down and dried it out for a good nights sleep. Beds were comfy, maid came every day and did the few dishes we had and made us fresh towel animals!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The condos are clean and the maids are excellent. Its quite a walk to the village. We alway stay in the village but this year we changed condos. If your holiday is about swimming, snorkeling and lazing on the beach then do not come here !!!!! On first glance it looks wonderful until you try to enter the water. It is so rocky and full of bricks and boulders that we could not find one decent point of entry. It was sad for us and the family. Take my advice and go to another beach. Afterall what is a Caribbean holiday if you cant get into the water ? This must be the worst beach on the whole Riviera Maya. Shame. We love Akumal and will return but not to this beach :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was not as excited as some reviewers about Luna Azul.

Location- right in center of Half Moon Bay, walking distance to two mini-marts, bike rentals, and four restaurants. Nice beach with good sunset view. Chairs for lounging on the beach.

Staff- next to location in terms of highlights. Prompt, helpful, easy to find. There is night security, parking and bike parking.

Architecture- my principal complaint with this condo. The ground floor units lack privacy facing the ocean, people sitting on deck look into living room. One unit had blacked out window. Made me feel uncomfortable sitting there. I would choose upper floor unit.

The Casita Sur- fronts the road and parking lot, the noise tapers off fairly early but little curb appeal for this unit. The bathroom was the size of one in a sailboat, deal killer for me.
The kitchen area has hot plate, good sized refrigerator sink, small microwave, a few pots/pans, no bowls, and some cups. There are empty shelves for storage but little ambiance/decor. There are two beds in unit but one would be hard pressed to survive many days or bad weather in confines. Wifi does not reach this unit. Another person I spoke to in a regular condo could not get service either, we both sat out in the lobby area, which was fine for me but if you need wifi this unit would not work. We don't watch much tv but wanted to see a special event and could not figure out how to make it work, staff was gone for the day and no instructions in the room.

Seems like maybe the unit is in need of a cash infusion, no really maintenance issues just lack of personal touches that make it nice for extended stay. I would not rent this unit again, condos may be a different story.

If you have accessibility issues, this building is not for you. Stairs to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in the condos in area before .unit 6 is on 3 rd floor . no elevator but not bad . They had security and nice staff .Always felt very safe . Housekeeper did our dishes . We used to stay in casitas akumal but started staying in condos . Yes more money but much nicer and roomier than hotel room . We go to store about 20 mi away and buy about 100 dollars worth of food and cook our breakfast and lunches there then have dinners out. If you dive a lot the dive shop is too far away to walk and the golf carts are too expensive to rent 40 a day. I took taxi one time and they carged me 70 pesos , way too much . So you have to plan transportation. My in-laws stayed in room 4 with a toddler and he got into all the nick nacks. Unit 6 was nice but not as cluttered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luna Azul Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Azul Condominiums

Address: Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Azul offers a great choice for visitors to Akumal and the Riviera Maya. Centrally located along Half Moon Bay, Luna Azul is within an easy walk to everything. The sandy beachfront location is perfect for sunbathing and offers easy access to the bay for snorkeling and swimming. Great snorkeling is just in front of Luna Azul. Each unit is air conditioned, with satellite television and wireless internet. Two bedroom, two bath units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luna Azul Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Azul Condominiums Akumal
Luna Azul Condominiums Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Azul Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.