We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is a disappointment for Akumal.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Azul Condominiums

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Azul Condominiums
Save
You added Luna Azul Condominiums to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach is a disappointment for Akumal.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The condos are clean and the maids are excellent. Its quite a walk to the village. We alway stay in the village but this year we changed condos. If your holiday is about swimming, snorkeling and lazing on the beach then do not come here !!!!! On first glance it looks wonderful until you try to enter the water. It is so rocky and full of bricks and boulders that we could not find one decent point of entry. It was sad for us and the family. Take my advice and go to another beach. Afterall what is a Caribbean holiday if you cant get into the water ? This must be the worst beach on the whole Riviera Maya. Shame. We love Akumal and will return but not to this beach :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was not as excited as some reviewers about Luna Azul.

Location- right in center of Half Moon Bay, walking distance to two mini-marts, bike rentals, and four restaurants. Nice beach with good sunset view. Chairs for lounging on the beach.

Staff- next to location in terms of highlights. Prompt, helpful, easy to find. There is night security, parking and bike parking.

Architecture- my principal complaint with this condo. The ground floor units lack privacy facing the ocean, people sitting on deck look into living room. One unit had blacked out window. Made me feel uncomfortable sitting there. I would choose upper floor unit.

The Casita Sur- fronts the road and parking lot, the noise tapers off fairly early but little curb appeal for this unit. The bathroom was the size of one in a sailboat, deal killer for me.
The kitchen area has hot plate, good sized refrigerator sink, small microwave, a few pots/pans, no bowls, and some cups. There are empty shelves for storage but little ambiance/decor. There are two beds in unit but one would be hard pressed to survive many days or bad weather in confines. Wifi does not reach this unit. Another person I spoke to in a regular condo could not get service either, we both sat out in the lobby area, which was fine for me but if you need wifi this unit would not work. We don't watch much tv but wanted to see a special event and could not figure out how to make it work, staff was gone for the day and no instructions in the room.

Seems like maybe the unit is in need of a cash infusion, no really maintenance issues just lack of personal touches that make it nice for extended stay. I would not rent this unit again, condos may be a different story.

If you have accessibility issues, this building is not for you. Stairs to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in the condos in area before .unit 6 is on 3 rd floor . no elevator but not bad . They had security and nice staff .Always felt very safe . Housekeeper did our dishes . We used to stay in casitas akumal but started staying in condos . Yes more money but much nicer and roomier than hotel room . We go to store about 20 mi away and buy about 100 dollars worth of food and cook our breakfast and lunches there then have dinners out. If you dive a lot the dive shop is too far away to walk and the golf carts are too expensive to rent 40 a day. I took taxi one time and they carged me 70 pesos , way too much . So you have to plan transportation. My in-laws stayed in room 4 with a toddler and he got into all the nick nacks. Unit 6 was nice but not as cluttered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we stayed in #5 and found it to be exactly as promised in the pictures and descriptions:a casual, very pleasant place, up on the third floor, overlooking a beautiful bay with multiple shades of blues and turquoises, hard working, friendly staff (thank you for the clean room -- hard to do with the sand, and thank you for the coconuts!!). The wind blew strongly much of the time we were there (short visit), so the temperatures were easy to take at night (only tried the bedroom ac once). Akumal is a small place, right now, but growing fast - probably not good for the environment or the small place experience that we enjoyed. Our trip was brief but beautiful, and this place really was terrific. (and yes, we did have the luck to see a turtle swimming right in front of the place).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I go to Akumal yearly. We just love this area and hope someday to retire there permanently. For a number of years, we stayed at the property next door but were disappointed on our last few visits (unfriendly manager, beach not kept clean). This summer, we decided to try Luna Azul and were delighted. We stayed in Bodega Sur, one of the studio units that is not right on the beach but right around the corner and up the stairs. We loved it! Everyone at Luna Azul is friendly and professional. The gentleman who rakes the beach works so hard and keeps the beach beautiful! Our room was always kept spotlessly clean and the air conditioning worked nicely. The beach in front is lovely with an adequate number of palapas and lounge chairs. Because this is Half Moon Bay, the water entry is somewhat rocky but if you take water shoes, you will have no problem going into the gorgeous turquoise Caribbean waters! Luna Azul is also just a short walk from La Buena Vida, our favorite bar and restaurant in Akumal. We loved Luna Azul and hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: Loco Gringo has great pictures and descriptions of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in Luna Azul Unit #6 and had a wonderful visit. The unit was comfortable and with all necessary amenities but certainly more of a relaxed, beach house feel than a new uppity fancy place. We loved that. The view was incredible and there was plenty of a breeze entering to keep us cool. Akumal is a great destination to avoid the more touristy nearby areas play Playa de Carmen or Cancun (which we skipped entirely). Plan on having a car for a more comfortable stay- there are some small markets in Akumal but its a drive to the bigger grocery stores. There are also a few restaurants within walking distance. We had a great visit and yes, we also saw some sea turtles!! Hope to be back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We loved everything about Luna Azul. WE were there in Feb. and loved being right on the ocean, seeing rays and birds and turtles from our balcony and being able to relax on the beach just a few steps from our condo. It was comfortable inside but the beauty out kept us on the beach and in the water most of the time.

Room Tip: All are good rooms. They all look out on the water and the ones on lower levels are just closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#13 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
3.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.0 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront
Del Sol Beachfront
#10 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#11 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
1.5 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#1 of 7 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Azul Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Azul Condominiums

Address: Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Azul offers a great choice for visitors to Akumal and the Riviera Maya. Centrally located along Half Moon Bay, Luna Azul is within an easy walk to everything. The sandy beachfront location is perfect for sunbathing and offers easy access to the bay for snorkeling and swimming. Great snorkeling is just in front of Luna Azul. Each unit is air conditioned, with satellite television and wireless internet. Two bedroom, two bath units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luna Azul Condominiums Akumal
Luna Azul Condominiums Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Azul Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.