We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Resort, Amazing Food, Dolphinarus, Water Park, and More!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Resort, Amazing Food, Dolphinarus, Water Park, and More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Gran Bahai Principe Tulum Apr 2-14, 2013. It was a family friendly experience.

The highlights were wonderful food and restaurants. We loved the restaurants. Mikado was fun excellent food and great service and show. Get a “show” table at reservation if you can. The Brazilian, Coba Gourmet and Tulum Gourmet “Don Pablo” were all fabulous food and service. The nights at the buffet were very good. The selection is huge. There is a salad bar, sushi bar, Mexican bar, and much more! We ate like kings.

The resort is large. The pools were very nice. There is something for everyone. The Coba water park was lots of fun for my 3, 9, and 12 year old children. The beach was amazing. There really is something for everyone: great sandy beach, rocky shore with snails and crabs, 2 docks at Akumal with small fish near shore. We enjoyed shopping on site at the Hacienda.

There were lots of animals which we loved. There are lots of iguana, cote, racoons, geckos, and so much more. The kids loved seeing the variety of animals.

We spent a day at Dolphinarus. We loved the experience. They recommend no sunscreen but if you bring it most put it on their face after the dive or you get terribly burn on the full day experience. If you book ahead online you can save 20%-25%. They sell pictures at the end of your session. It is negotiable and most paid 30% - 50% of asking price, depending on the package. I highly recommend the trainer for a day. It is something my kids will never forget. I wish you could choose the 2 complimentary pictures.

It is just a few miles from Akumal public beach where you can swim with the turtles. You can go to the Hacienda (shopping) then walk to the road. You can catch a taxi at the road $14 or $2 per person on the Collectivo. The Collectivo drops you off at the road and it is a short walk to the public beach. It is an easy swim from shore to see turtles and small fish.

Free Wifi in the lobby was slow but worked well to check in with home.

There was lots of walking. Lots of band-aids needed for my 3 year old with sandal rubs on her feet. The stroller was handy to have. The golf carts were inconsistent and sometimes did not want to pick us up when the kids asked (I insisted a few times when my son fell). Also, the diesel fumes were strong on the cart on the truck. If you ride the first car the fumes are not an issue.

Here were the few negatives. The check-in was long. I waited over 20 minutes to start check-in. The guests in front of me were told there were no rooms. I was very distressed. I was glad to get a room.

The rooms are basic and a bit dated. It was not a big deal to us. Our room had a mattress topper and we found it comfortable. We were in villa 9 which was central. It was great to be central but off the golf cart path might be quieter. We had a ground floor room which was great with a stroller. No concerns with pests or must. We had one or two bug bites during our stay and recommend you bring standard itch cream.

There was some noise at night from golf carts. We were woken almost every night between 2 and 2:30am when the party closed down.

It is very odd that you pay for the room safe. I have not seen this in other resorts.

We found it hard to get beach chairs several days. This happens everywhere but is a disappointment when you want one chair.

I was concerned about a long bus ride and booked a private van with USA Transfers. It was $135 USD for 4-7 people for return transfer. They had car seats. It was very good.

Overall this was a very family friendly resort and we had a wonderful time. We would love to go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Mattress topper was comfortable. Villa 16 and 17 would be my first choice away from the golf cart p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Rauncie:

We are glad to know that Grand Bahia Principe was a good host during your family vacation.

Thank you for giving us your nice feedback about the time you had here and the activities that you had enjoyed. I believe that your suggestions will be very useful for other readers.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,693
    2,223
    791
    324
    161
See reviews for
2,281
3,513
78
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WESTBANK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our second time at the GBP in the Riviera Maya. Our first trip we stayed at Akumal and really enjoyed it, so when it came time to pick a resort for our wedding, our first thought was GBP again - this time us and our 16 guests stayed at Tulum. Both trips were fantastic, but I'll focus more on this most recent one.
The Tulum portion of the resort is apparently the oldest, but you wouldn't know it. The grounds are maintained constantly, we always saw people working on the vegetation, repainting, scrubbing, cleaning, etc. The amount of work they put in to keep it beautiful is amazing.
Our room was beautiful, I think we got upgraded because we were the wedding couple, but we had a junior suite over looking the ocean - is was fabulous. We did have a small issue with whistling wind through the patio door, but within 20 mins of calling the desk, the issue was resolved.
We tried many of the A La Carte's, all of the ones at Tulum and 3 at Coba - all excellent, and a nice change from the buffet (which is excellent as well). Our wedding dinner was at the Mexican restaurant at Tulum, the food was fabulous, the service was great, couldn't have been better. I highly recommend Gran Tortuga (at Tulum) - the brazilian restaurant is a great experience and the food is to die for. Also highly recommend Mikado (at Coba) - the japanese restaurant. The show the chef put on was amazing, and the fried rice appetizer was so yummy our entire group was talking about it all night.
The wedding.... wow, what can I say? Jazmin and Carla are amazing! Between a few emails back and forth prior to arrival, a 20 minute meeting the day before the wedding, and about 5 mins chat at the ceremony - these girls have everything organized to a T!! I am a planner, organizer, potential for bridezilla... they took care of everything so that I could actually enjoy my day. It was wonderful and ran so smoothly. The photographer was excellent as well, we have gotten so many compliments about our pictures!
All in all - I would recommend this resort over and over to anyone - looking for just a getaway vacation, a destination wedding, or anything. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: To be close to the center of the action, I would recommend requesting rooms in Villas 1-10. Past th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cory Lyn:

Congratulations first of all, and thank you very much for review. We know how important the wedding days are for a couple and I feel happy you enjoy them with your entire group.

Jazmin and Karla are very important assets to our staff. We do appreciate that you have named those staff members that made your stay a bit more special.

Congratulations for you and for your husband have a happy and long life together and please feel free to contact me to create and amazing experience for your first anniversary.

Best wishes
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent hotel, excellent facilities, excellent service and excellent selection of food and drink JUST DONT BOOK WITH THOMAS COOK only 15kg luggage charge you for every excess and 5kgs hand luggage (weighed as well), seats booked for extra leg room not always the case.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Billy:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the Trip Advisor community.

It sounds great that you had enjoyed yourselves during your visit to Grand Bahia Principe Resort and that you had left behind for a while the bustle of everyday life. We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally invigorated

We wish I was given the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Sincerely
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

As we were on Honeymoon we were offered a free upgrade to the adults only section Sian Kaan. The rooms were immaculate, free mini bar with great room service which was also free of charge. The service during the day at the poolside was highly professional with waiters offering drinks and fruit so you didn't have to leave your lounger! The evening entertainment was brilliant and the resort was so large there were excellent buggies to transport you anywhere at any time. All the waiters, bell boys and other staff were very friendly, helpful and provided 5* service the entire time. The best part was the quality of food, particularly the al a carte restaurants. The meals were included but were the quality of a meal in a posh restaurant in the UK worth close to £100. We were very impressed with all aspects of the resort and it will not be our last visit. Great for couples of all ages and families as we could see there were lots for children to do as well.

Room Tip: Take your marriage certificate with you if you are newly weds. We were upgraded to the adults only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Steph:

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment on Tripadvisor.

First of all, it is important to underline for our online community that this review is about the “Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka´an. Indeed, our guest at Sian Ka´an will enjoy more exclusive services for adults only.

We would like to let you know that we are at your service should you ever decide to visit us on another occasion and would feel honor to welcome you.

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our large family party visited for 12 days over the Easter Break, consisting of 5 children. My parents came too who had previously loved their stay here 4 years prior.
We were told that the transfer from the airport could take 2 hours, but it only took a little over an hour, lucky perhaps as only 2 drop off points?
On arrival the reception is impressive and check in was swift, great after such a long trip.
The staff there were lovely, couldn't do enough for you, the grounds were constantly being maintained and cleaned.
The room was basic, which is fine as you spend so little time in there anyway but the food was average in the restaurant, large selection to choose from so you didn't eat the same thing every day but as previous posts, it was very repetitive.
Disappointingly, we weren't able to snorkel in the sea and experience the marine life as the red flag was flying all but 1 day during our stay.
There were a couple of downsides:
Smoking - Throughout the grounds and in parts of the hotel, there were lots of smokers.
Wedding parties - There were several very loud American wedding parties who's sole purpose whilst they were there seemed to be to ensure that the entire population if Cancun could hear them! The language was far from acceptable given the number of children on site, so we had to choose carefully which area's of the various hotels/pools we used.
Pool Bars - As above, avoid them! full of loud, drunk groups. twice whilst we were there the pool was closed as someone had been sick in it.....nice!!
Sunbeds - Same old, same old.....towels out at 7am....on our last day there was almost a fight between an older lady and a young couple as she accused them of steeling her beds, staff had to intervene!
Dress code - As this was listed as a 5 star, we expected as was published, that people would make a little effort in the evening. This has certainly been our experience in the past when staying in 5 star hotels, but, disappointingly, only about 1/3 of people made any effort to wear something other than shorts/beachwear in the evenings.

Overall, my parents were very disappointed this time and at a push I would only give this hotel 4 stars, this is only due to the effort the staff put in, as they work so very hard, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tripavisor Member:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review about the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum hotel. It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations of a five star hotel.

Nevertheless I also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. Our staff is one of our main strength and I am very grateful that you value it so highly.

Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services and trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Grand Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 weeks (third time staying at a Gran Bahia Principe Resort) - March 26 to April 9, 2013. To note, the resort was overbooked during our stay so the service was greatly impacted, I would say the service was "okay", despite always tipping for each meal at the buffet, and the quality of the food was not that great and long line ups for popular items ie. Guacamole, bacon, ice cream. Staff struggled to stay on top of filling trays of food and cleaning the tables for new people. Beach at Akumal was great, I would suggest walking to that part of the beach, and beach at Tulum was okay - a lot more coral and rocks. We had a standard room, great view of the Dolphinarium and ocean but the room was small and far from the main area of the resort. We could have went to the smaller pool and smaller buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch which was closer to our room but found there to be many more kids in that pool, so decided against it. Our room was small, bathroom was very small but we got over it quickly - just not what we were used to at the Grand Bahia resorts. We had the same problem with booking the restaurants - only 9pm and 10pm available despite staying for two weeks and booking far in advance: Brazilian restaurant was nice, Don Pablo I did not enjoy due to slow service - we did not bother trying others. I don't like that we have to pay for the safe in the room per day - they need to change that. The resort overall is very clean with nice gardens and rooms are kept clean.
I would not return to this resort or to any other Grand Bahia Principes. They offer good prices for stays but we were disappointed overall. We would not recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Jess:

For the Grand Bahia Principe Resort all observations, suggestions or criticisms are very important, because our clients are the best supervisor we have.

We are very sorry that we have not exceeded your expectations during your staying with us. However we thank you, to offer to us the opportunity to learn from this experience.
Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services and trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The trip was the first trip my wife and I took with our 2 daughters (5 and 7). We wanted a kid friendly resort that had nice ambiance, beach and facilities. We were sold when we found out the resort had put in a water park at the Coba resort and had also put in a Dolphinarium on the Tulum resort. We upgraded to the Diamond Club package hoping to get a premium service to make it a bit more enjoyable. We have been on several trips including 2 Gran Bahia’s before (Coba and Punta Cana). Both were beautiful, clean and had great food. The Tulum location was also close to Xel-ha that we also wanted to visit. We didn’t realize though that we were the furthest hotel from the airport and it took about 2hrs to get to the hotel.

The good:
The water park was amazing for kids. We spent hours there on 2 separate occasions. Both times we were able to get a shady spot under the pergolas to help the kids escape the sun from time to time. It was also relatively close to the bar so Dad could get a beer and the girls could get a fruity drink.

Swimming with the Dolphins was the highlight of the trip. Both girls were able to participate. The 5yr old could only stay on the platform (I accompanied her) though to pet and interact with them, this was more than enough for my excited little girl. It lasted 40 minutes and we got great pictures. $69 only. The 7yr old was big enough to go on her own in the big pool. She got to interact with them, got towed across the pool while she held the fins and again got some great pictures (that you pay for of course). This was $109. not bad price compared to the excursions.

The grounds were nice and well kept, lobby was great as well and the staff was friendly every where. Not much to complain about there.

The not so good:
On this trip, we were disappointed in several things.
Food, hotel room and evening entertainment and benefits of upgrading to Diamond club.

Food - The food in the main buffet was always cold and didn't have a wide selection compared to other resorts. It was the same food every mean, lunch and diner... every day.
We had diner at the Coba hotel one night and their buffet had twice the selection and all the food was fresh and very hot. I also had to return my chicken at the Mexican restaraunt TWICE as it was visibly raw (pinkish/grey and shiny). Even the manager was troubled with the food that I got served.

Room location - we asked for an ocean front room and to be placed on the top floor. We received a room furthest from the beach on ground level. I understand that rooms might have been booked earlier than us - fair enough. They did offer us a room closest to the ocean on the 3rd day. Ground floor. We took it. It turns out there are trees that are + 20 feet tall completely blocking the view of the ocean and only people on the 3rd floor could possible get a peak of the ocean. We were however 50 ft from the beach and Diamond club pool. 5 minute walk to the main buffet and main pool so it was close to everything.

Evening entertainment - The shows were not of the quality that I have experienced in the past including 2 other Grand Bahia Resorts or any of the 5 other resorts I’ve been to. The dancers were never in synch, some turned in circles trying to figure out what the others were doing while some just got in other people's way. The production itself was weak and the props were only good in the "Avatar” show. The shows seemed comparable to a high school production. The singing was pleasing to the ears, great voices. However, the male singer didn’t seem to know any of the words to the songs. I told my wife this while he was singing and her response was that she didn’t think he was singing in English. I don’t think it was any language in particular. It sounded like he was imitating the sounds of the words to a song, kind of like my 2 daughters do. It was terrible. In fact, on each night except the Avatar show, more than half of the people left in the first half of the show. I had never seen this before. In fact I felt embarrassed for the entertainers at times.

Upgrading to Diamond Club – Not sure about this one. We were offered only 3 reservations for “a la carte” restaurants when we should have had 4. We only realized afterwards but didn’t go back to book an additional one as it was completely booked except the last 3 nights of our stay and we had already booked those nights. Funny enough, each restaurant that we went to was less than half full during our 1.5hr diner. We had a separate lobby for us only. Interesting idea, however, when we arrived, there was no one there and we waited 15 minutes for someone to show up. It took about a half hour to talk about not getting the room we wanted and then couldn’t get our room until 3pm (we arrived around 2pm). This wasn’t a big deal, more of an annoyance. Since we had to check out at 5am to catch our bus to the airport, we still had to use the main lobby since the Diamond club lobby only opened at 7 or 8 am. Another benefit is access to a “private” buffet for lunch and breakfast. Again, great thought, but the food was cold and the selection was very weak. The private pool was nice, bigger than expected and the bar was close. It rarely had places to sit though. So, without a quicker check in, bad food in the exclusive buffet, no additional specialty restaurant and not getting a better room selection, it definitely was NOT worth the upgrade. In fact, since we were at the farthest end of the resort, and far from the better beach area in addition to a very low traffic lobby we actually felt isolated. Not quite what I expected.

Beach – the beach in the Diamond sections is nice but you can’t swim there. Huge waves and rocky bottom. The waves continuously rolls rocks and coral onto your feet making it hard to walk. My feet were covered in scrapes and bruises for trying. Further towards the mail lobby though, they have very large sand bags about 100ft from shore to break the waves. It makes it look bizarre and ruins the picturesque image of the ocean. However, the water was calm between the sand bags and the beach and made for good swimming with kids. In addition, it attracted a ton of fish and we spent whole days snorkeling there. There was no need to go on any other snorkeling trips as fish of all colors would surround you when walking into the water

Overall the trip was enjoyable because of who I was with. The resort is beautiful, the dolphins were great and so was the water park. The snorkeling was fun as well. In general it was a good place for kids. However, the issues with the food make me doubt that I will return. But if I do, I would definitely stay at the Coba resort instead of Tulum. The food and ambiance is better bar far.

Room Tip: Don't expect an ocean view anywhere. There are none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Bruce,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to communicate your opinion about your last stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Resort we are happy to see that there are elements of the hotel that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the service at the privat sections and especially the Club Hacienda club house . We have already shared it with our Club Diamond manager in order to improve and enhance quality.

The spaces in the a la carte restaurants depend on the seating system we use to respond to all nationalities. We have seatings from 6.00 until 10.30pm with a limited amount of spaces as the guests come in every 30minutes and the service of our clients take generally, depending on the choice of food they make, about one hour and thirty minutes; if we would only offer two or three seating times every evening, we would have the same amount of spaces but the restaurant fully occupied in these 2-3 seatings, so the restaurants looks full but now we use the same amount of spaces spread over the whole evening in 30minute seatings.

Nevertheless, we do hope that you took treasured moments from your vacation at Gran Bahia Principe Tulum back home with you.

We will very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 960
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.