We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN & sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FUN & sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Gran Bahia Principe Tulum and has a very relaxing vacation. Resort is kept immaculate. Alfredo was our waiter several times at Tequila restaurant and he was superb. He always welcomed us by name and was great server. My only complaint was Apple vacation rep inside resort. Wasn't in when supposed to be, changed locations but never let us know. I t was a waste of time tracking him down anyways. Otherwise fabulous trip!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Superior club haciendas , top floor best. They're located at far north end of Gran Bahia Princip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guests:

First of all I want to thank you for coming to Grand Bahia Principe Resort.
We are truly glad to read that our aim has been achieved during your stay with us: making you feel relaxed and away from the activities of the daily life.

Let me express my gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.

I wish I was given the opportunity to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest regards,
MassielV. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,166
    1,933
    687
    292
    140
See reviews for
1,981
3,091
65
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our entire family planned a vacation at this resort. What a mess! One family arrived a few days before the remaining 9 of us. After a LONG day of travel we arrived at the resort to the following:

1 - the resort was over booked, the rooms we had booked, paid for, confirmed 2 days prior were not available. We had pictures, a special family dinner and spa treatments already booked, planned and organized.

2- There was NOBODY willing to discuss the situation with us! The employee we were dealing with had been on the job 4 days, knew nothing, could do nothing. He just kept apologizing over and over. The woman we waited hours to speak with was busy dealing with another angry mob of travellers in the same situation. It was, by far, the worst customer service I have ever witnessed.

3- We finally dealt with another employee, he was at least decent. Had sympathy for our situation and seemed at least shamed at the situation we had been put in. We were given the following options.
A) A refund, a joke given that we had just travelled a full day to get there, during Spring Break.
B) Being sent to another resort in the area (we had no choice which one of course). The catch here was that in order to have this option we were forced to sign a paper essentially saying that we would not sue the resort. I find this disgusting as they REALLY had us over a barrel at this point. Hot, hungry, exhausted, no where to stay.....what choice do you have??

At this point we had 2 devastated children just wanting to enjoy their vacation with the cousins that were all ready checked in and enjoying themselves, a 1 year old needing food and to cool down, 2 exhausted seniors and 4 furious parents....not to mention the other angry mob of travellers. Not good hotel PR going on in that lobby!

The family that had already been at the resort wound up packing up, checking out and moving with us to another resort. The replacement resort was not "even better," as was promised. It was a marked step down and a real disappointment, especially for the family who had packed up and moved. Given that they are regulars to the Bahia, I think this situation was especially disappointing.

To be fair, we were given a "compensation gift" of 1 week complimentary stay at the resort. Unfortunately this is to be used within the next year, not particularly easy to make happen. I intend to try. I sincerely hope that this resort will step up and fulfill their promise and not once again disappoint.

I would highly suggest others keep our situation in mind when considering this resort, especially during busy travel times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Gran Bahia Principe Tulúm hotel. It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

The communication between the staff, the inconveniences of the hotel occupancy and the lack of service experienced are areas where we have already taken action to avoid this from happening in the future.

The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you and your family have experienced. Your travel agency will contact you very soon in order to make the relevant arrangements.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and give us another opportunity to able to show you the kind of service we are capable of giving.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a great time at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. Among the best resorts I have been to in the Caribbean. If you book at the Coba, Akumal or Tulum you can go to any of the resorts including the restaurants so there is always variety. There are always carts going around and they will often stop not at the designated spots if you flag them down and need a lift. I have mobility problems and had no issues at this resort. They also have wheelchairs available to borrow free of charge. We even had one cart driver take us directly to the restaurants we were going to! If you give them a tip they are very happy. The beach is great - some people complain about the sand whales which block the waves but we thought it was great having them as it makes the water nice and calm to swim and snorkel. The snorkeling is great, there are lots of little and big fish around. The food was also very good, I think it was the first resort where I really enjoyed the buffet food and there was lots of variety. The tacos were delicious with lots of authentic mexican toppings. The only downside of the buffet is that the staff aren't the most attentive. If you want a soft drink before you finish your meal it's best to go straight to the bar yourself. The Don Pablo was the best restaurant I think out of all the ones we tried.

The shops are not bad but the items are often way overpriced and trying to deal with the vendors is quite difficult as they are not very willing to budge their prices.

Overall we had a great week and would totally recommend this resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Meela:

We are happy to read your kind notes on Trip Advisor about your stay with us, we are delighted to know that our facilities and services have left a memorable experience.

Thank you for your recommendations for other guests.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again soon,

With best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I had picked the Tulum/Akumal area for vacation, with the intention of snorkeling a lot, as we heard this region of Mexico was wonderful for that. We booked the hotel due to the price and reputation. There were pro's and con's throughout the week-long trip.
STAFF/GROUNDS:A large majority of the staff was very friendly and willing to make sure all your needs were met. The room (junior suite) was very spacious and clean. Housekeeping did a great job throughout the week. The grounds were well kept and staff went around the pool and beach all day picking up trash/cups. The resort is one of a few, and you have privileges at the other resorts, with transportation to each. There is also a hacienda at which you can do some souvenir shopping, etc.

GOLF: The golf course was amazing! (Bring LOTS of balls!). They provide free greens fees, however, cart is mandatory which ranges from $65-80 PER PERSON. (I guess the greens fees really aren't free then!) Club rental is $45.

PRIVILEGE CLUB: Do NOT sign up for or attend the "welcome breakfast" for the Privilege Club. They say its not a time share....its a time share. We said "no" at the sales pitch and then 2 others tried to give us better deals. You still pay thousands of dollars (cheapest about $10,000) for discounted travel.

SNORKELING/BEACH: The hotel also offers snorkeling tours, however, save yourself some money...we took a taxi to Akumal beach (5-10min ride) for $14 each way, to go snorkeling at the same location the hotel would boat you to (for $52 per person). You can rent snorkels at the beach and swim with the fish and sea turtles. There are restaurants and places to eat there as well. We did most of our swimming at this beach as well. Upon reading other reviews of the beach at the resort which said the beach was rocky, I thought, "it can't be that rocky..." Well, it is very rocky and the surf was so large all week, there was limited swimming as well. Also, you must "reserve" your beach chair or pool chair very early in the morning. Some mornings we went to breakfast about 7-7:30am and many chairs were already saved. Not so much fun if you have activities planned in the morning and go to the beach later in the afternoon.

FOOD/ENTERTAINMENT: The food was average, with 2/3 dinners we had at the restaurants being somewhat better. Nightly shows were the same staff and only provided singing and dancing. I would have liked to see some Mayan stuff or flame dancers or something different. We were excited for the Thursday night "show", as it was Mexican Fiesta night. We made our way to the location, only to find that the nightly show came with a $17pp room charge! Overall, we both felt the hotel was good, but not one of the best we have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Golfers:

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you. Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services whit other hotels.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: nice and clean rooms, our shooping center; large grounds. Your suggestions have been duly noted and we assure you that we will bear them in mind.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived without incident. The hotel staff were very friendly, orientation was great. Greeted with Margaritas and drinks for the kids. Awesome! Rooms were clean and nicely outfitted. A/C could have been a tad stronger but it was decent. The beaches were awesome - snorkelling was good. Awesome set up and activities for the kids – they loved it!! Great to have all 3 resorts available to you while you stay here – water park at Coba was very good. Buffets were very well equipped although the food lost a bit of allure by then end of the week. Nice once again to go to each one for a bit of variety. Maybe I am just picky? The only real complaint we had was the ala carte restaurants. They weren't that good the food was a bit salty and over cooked. We opted out of the last included one for a dinner at the buffet to avoid disappointment.

We would happily return on another family vacation.

Room Tip: Try to stay at least a building or two away from the theatre if you go to bed early. it is a bit lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Sean:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum hotel, we would like to thank you for letting us know your opnion about your last stay. The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

We are not happy to read that the food has not lived up to your expectations; we always take note of those comments which indicate opportunity for improvement, however we were very impressed for your comment since we are very recognized and highly recommended by the quality of our food and delicious flavors.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort.

With best Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at he Gran Bahia Principe Talum for our honeymoon and I have to say it was wonderful. The complex is massive if you include the sister hotels but you feel like you are in a small resort and can always find your own space on the beach or in a shaded area in the trees on a hammock or in a jacuzzi by the beach. The food was amazing and we dined at a different restaurant every day with glasses of bubbly! Marvellous! The room and resort were immaculate and the staff very friendly. We were lucky to be there for valentines day too and it was lovely to get back to the room each day to see what sculptures the maids had made out of the towels, swans, elephants and hearts all appeared at some stage! Lovely touch! The outdoor pools were all lovely and each day you could venture out, jump on a golf buggy train and visit a different part of the complex and swim, drink or eat somewhere new We took a jeep safari and snorkelling trip, both great experiences. We wouldn't change a thing and we are hoping to go back for one of our anniversaries! An ideal honeymoon location! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room! Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Appreciated Guest:

Congratulations first of all, and thank you very much for your valuable comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Tulum for your honeymoon.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, is very motivating our managers and staff to keep on going the extra mile.

Please feel free to contact me to create and amazing experience for your first anniversary.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Bahia Tulum. This was our fourth visit to this resort. I contacted Maxi Agusti, customer service agent, before we arrived. We had some specific requests for the week. Maxi worked behind the scenes and fulfilled all of our requests.As always the service was excellent and the week very relaxing. We will definitely return to this resort. Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Ruth:

We want to express our appreciation for sharing with us and with other Trip Advisor Users you gracious feedback regarding your visit to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

It is important for us to know that our associates’ efforts are appreciated by our guests Maxi is a very important asset to our staff. All the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and the service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort and there is no better quality control than yours, as a repetitive guest of four times!

All in Grand Bahia Principe Resort hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a fifth stay to our resort and we will make sure your stay is nothing else but an excellent experience again.

With Best Wishes,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 Business Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.