We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break from the Colorado winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal. Crtra. Chetumal - Cancun, Km. 251, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A welcome break from the Colorado winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day vacation. Other than what we saw on the web, we knew nothing about the resort. Impressive is the word. Lots of thought went into the design and construction of every aspect of this complex which is world class offering reasonable prices. The landscaping is immaculate. The food and service in the Yucatan buffet very good and a special mention must go to the daytime bar tender in the Las Olas Snack bar. Under extreme pressure most of the time, he maintains a sense of humor, has an excellent memory and is just good at his job. Our room cleaning lady Griselda also excellent. The Maitre d' at the Yucatan and the cashier, impressive. Key managers circulate constantly ensuring the services under their supervision maintain consistent standard. The sandy beaches are well maintained, attractive and there are places where one can wade without treading on 'stones' but some caution is needed. The water is clear. We just 'hung out' and enjoyed the place.
We used the services of Olympus Tours for transport to and from the hotel to Cancun Airport, a 100 km drive / 1.5 hrs. . Absolutely no complaints, the travel arrangements went smoothly and on time and Olympus even took care of our return flight confirmation. The quality of the vehicles and drivers good. The Olympus Representative in the Tulum lobby, Jorge, proved very helpful and arranged a very satisfactory and comfortable, air conditioned coach trip to Chichen Itza complete with beer and soft drinks, well handled by Berto, Felipe and Carlos. A long trip? It didn't turn out that way. Felipe led us around the large Mayan complex, an excellent teacher by any standards. Be warned, even though the air temperature was around 75 degF at the archaeological site on March 7th, it was still hot in the sun, lots of walking, very little shade and what plank benches there are are designed for very small people. One young lady in the group fainted, possibly due to heat stroke. In spite of a phone call for medical assistance, no help showed up. Luckily there were a couple of nurses in the group who managed to get her back into ambulatory condition. On approaching the exit, there was an ambulance parked under a nearby tree.
My wife and I, who are no 'spring chicken', had an excellent experience and have no cause for any criticism except for two minor incidents. My wife tripped on a rock hidden in the sand and scraped her right shin seriously. Later that afternoon she stumbled and fell while negotiating the soft sand near the small waters edge. In both cases, no one went to her aid yet there were lots of people lounging around. No first aid facility was obvious nearby. I managed to get some vodka from the nearby bar to help cleanse the wound and, later, hydrogen peroxide and light dressings from the Public Relations desk in the Main Lobby. However ......

Room Tip: Senior guests should be aware that lots of walking is involved. So rooms closer to the beach, snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Appreciated Guest:

Thank you very much for your valuable comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Tulum for your vacation.

For the Grand Bahia Principe Resort all observations, suggestions or criticisms are very important, because our clients are the best supervisor we have.

It is of great satisfaction for us to know that you have really enjoyed your time at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort. We are truly sorry that we did not help during your wife´s fall. However we thank you, to offer to us the opportunity to learn from this experience.

We really appreciate that you took part of your valuable time to share your opinion.

Sending you our kindest regards and hoping we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,609
    1,718
    616
    265
    124
See reviews for
1745
2695
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Kelowna, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent two weeks at this resort. Our room was clean & well looked after. We were however disappointed with the electrical (old style which required purchasing an adaptor to allow charging of devices) and very small safe (will not hold a small laptop) which cost $5.00 per day. [see photo's]. We spent most days at the Akumal Snackbar Pool as their Entertainment Group of Carlos, Liz, Martin, Merce & Eduardo - was the best by far. The upbeat music and activities (Spanish Lessons; Stretching; Water Aerobics; Water Volleyball & Polo) were enjoyed by most everyone. We looked forward to this each day. The food in the Tulum, Akumal and Coba's Buffet's was more than adequate to satisfy us - although we were disappointed in the lack of seafood at the Buffet's or in the detached Restaurants & we tried eight in our two weeks. It also appears that storms have left their mark on the thatched roofs - and they appear to require urgent repair. This resort is huge - so thank god tor the trollies. The highlight of our trip was swimming with the dolphins at the resort. The biggest disappointment was Thursday Nights when no entertainment was offered in any of the Theatres, which in our opinion was an attempt to force the guests to attend a Mexican Fiesta at the Hacienda for an additional $18 per person. We felt this was their opportunity to share their culture, with no need to charge an extra fee. The Restaurant that disappointed us the most was their Mexican (the Tequila).

Room Tip: 1) Buy an adaptor for the electrical system at the Tulum (only). 2) No screen doors to decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review on tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and will pass on the great feedback to the entire team.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure all our guest feel welcomed.

We thank you sincerely for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

2nd time at the Grand Bahia Principe and the 2nd time we had a wonderful relaxing holiday. The resort staff work so hard and the place is so well managed that everything runs so seamlessly. The beach is huge and the facility so large that you can walk for ever. Can't wait to book another stay next winter!

Room Tip: I liked tulum as it is close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guests:

The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the Trip Advisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort. It was delightful for all our staff to read that you appreciate the service of all of them and the facilities at the resort. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.

Thank you for staying with us already twice, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back for a third time.

Warmest Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort February. This hotel is essentially 3 large resorts plus an even larger golf resort with privately owned condos. These are named Akumal, Coba, Tulum and Sian Kaan. You will likely see some of these names listed in your vacation searches. As a guest of any of these you have access to the amenities of any of the others except for Sian Kaan. You must be an owner to use their facilties. This gives you access to a good list of a la carte restaurants in this all inclusive resort. I think there are 16.

While we were there, the hotel was quite busy so we made reservations one day for an a la carte 3-4 days later. The best of these that we tried was the Tequila (Mexican) and the Mediterranio (Mediterranean). We also tried the Mikado (Japanese) but other than the wine being superior, we couldn't say it was very good and we also tried the Pescadore (seafood) which wasn't bad but the portions small, great salad bar though.

The Buffets were huge with many different foods available from the oriental corner, the italian corner the mexican corner, the vegetarian corner, and then a variety of breads, american foods and desserts. Hard not to find something to eat here for pretty much every taste. The quality is similar of most all inclusives, meaning it is still buffet food which tends to lack in richness of flavour that you might find at a proper restaurant.

The resort itself is very well kept with beautiful grounds and lovely pools. They have an area called the Hacienda with many shops where you can buy tourist type items you might find in a Mexican market and the prices are very competitive with what you would find at Playa Del Carmen. It is very well laid out and nicely decorated with Saltillo tiles and two great courtyards . This is also where the sports bar is and the disco. They have entertainment nightly in the smaller of the two courtyards before the disco gets going.

The tennis courts seemed to be under renovation as two of the courts were excellent while one was being resurfaced and the remaining two were covered in astro turf that seemed to catch the sand which made for a few funny bounces while playing.

They also had a number of hoble cat sailboats to take out. For those with sailing skills you could take one out on your own and for those who didn't they would take you out or offer lessons as well. Beyond this they had a list of water toys to sign out like snorkel gear, kayaks, etc.

This being a large place they had carts with seats they towed about the place to move you from one place to another. Its a little confusing which carts go where sometimes but if you tell them where you want to go they will tell you whether or not they are going your way.

The best beach is near Akumal where they focus their beach entertainment like beach games, yoga and Zoomba. The beach at Tulum is smaller and has some rocky sections that pretty much make it impossible to swim in. Coba does not have a beach of its own and is the resort closest to the highway.

All in all it was a nice resort but I think we prefer smaller places as you tend to get to know your bartender or waiter better. Also the resort is a fair distance from any towns which we like to explore when we head to Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you.

Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services whit other hotels. The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

We appreciate that you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: scenic property, good facilities; beautiful grounds, lovely pools and relaxing beach. Your suggestions have been duly noted and we assure you that we will bear them in mind.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked our trip with Air Canada Vacations and travelled from March 6-19, 2013.

The direct flight departed on time from Calgary and we were happy with the service from AVC. It was also nice to have free movies to watch to pass the time for the 5 1/2 hour flight. We arrived mid afternoon and it took about an hour to get from the plane to the shuttle. Not sure if this was normal, but it did seem fairly busy.

We choose to bypass the transfer provided by ACV and booked a private transfer through Canada Transfers. We wanted to get to the resort fairly quickly and didn't feel like making the numerous stops along the way at other resorts (I believe GBPT is one of the last stops and heard that it takes about 2 hours). Our driver was easy to find (holding a sign with our names on it) and had a van waiting for us with cold clothes, water and 6 Dos Equis (arranged prior). We arrived in just over an hour and we would definitely use them again, especially with what we thought was a fair price-$55 and $1 per beer ($61 total). We were also able to pay in Canadian!

Check in was fairly quick and the only hiccup we had was that the resort couldn't meet any of our room requests that we had asked for 2 weeks earlier via email. We had asked for a 3rd floor room with a king bed and we received a 2nd floor room with 2 doubles....this was honestly the only "negative" and certainly wasn't that big of a deal to affect our holiday. We received our safe key (included with ACV) and welcome envelope and whisked off to our room. The front lobby is also the location where you can access the free wifi. I believe you can have unlimited wifi access, but there is a daily charge?

We were pleasantly surprised with the selection and variety at all of the buffets. They even served sushi every day and had a "kids corner" for the little ones. We ate at the following:
- Yucatan/Tulum (we had breakfast, lunch and dinner)
- La Gran Tortuga/Tulum (smaller selection for breakfast, but still good) Turns into an a la carte at night.
- Kukulcan/Coba (we only had breakfast and dinner here)

With ACV, we received 4 a la carte choices. We pre-booked 2 of them (Mikado "Show Table"/Coba & Don Pablo/Tulum) by emailing the resort directly and booked the other 2 once we were at the resort (Le Gourmet/Coba & el Pescador/Coba). We enjoyed all of them with the exception of el Pescador....we both ordered the crab and we couldn't eat it. It was deep fried in a soft/mushy batter. Our waiter noticed that we didn't enjoy our meal and offered to have something else made for us, but we just ate another helping from the buffet. We noticed other dishes being served and they looked good (shrimp and a seafood grill selection). The Mikado Show Table was our favorite and the "show" was one the best we have seen. It was also nice to have the 24 hour snack bar, Las Olas. They had a small selection, but it was good enough to fill the void in the middle of the afternoon or late at night.

We spent most of our time either by the "busy" pool or on the beach beside the volleyball court. The entertainment staff were excellent and always had people participating in beach volleyball, water polo and various other pool games....fun to watch. Even though the pool bar was close, we thought the quality of liquor was poor. We preferred to get our drinks at the Lobby Bar because they served Jack Daniel's and made excellent Mojito's. But the biggest reason was one of the bartenders, Crisanto. He always had a smile on his face and we looked forward to seeing him every day.

The only time we ventured off of the resort was for a shopping day (perfect as it rained that day) in Playa del Carmen and another day at Akumal Beach.

We took one of the "golf carts" out past the Hacienda and walked out the highway and took the Collectivo ($35 pesos/pp) to Playa del Carmen. We felt very safe and they dropped you off/picked you up within a short walking distance to 5th Avenue. We thought the shop owners were not as aggressive as we read about, but also felt that they didn't barter as much either. We had a snack and a few cervesas in the swings at the swing bar, Pez Vela. Laid back atmosphere and cool place to hang out for a while. Overall, Playa was a fun experience and we would do it again.

We thought we would experience a cab ride and hired a taxi down to Akumal Beach ($140 pesos). Our cab driver was very professional and even explained a few things before he dropped us off. It was a great beach with calm waters, soft sand and one the best snorkeling spots we have been to. We saw a ton of turtles, squid, rays, barracuda and of course lots of fish. There is also a restaurant located right on the beach called Lol-Ha....great food and you can't beat the view. We did notice there were lots of people that packed coolers with drinks and snacks.

The resort is quite large, but the golf carts make getting around very easy and you never have to wait very long for one to come by. This size is also a plus because you get numerous choices of where to eat, drink and relax. Overall, it was an excellent holiday and we would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the hotel staff and particularly the manager. Thank you for your informative review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us.

At the Grand Bahia Principe Resort we take pride in offering our guests good accommodations and the very best in food and beverages. Your review is motivating as it reflects that we continuously exceed our guest’s high expectations.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I will start off by saying that this was our first beach vacation as I couple, so we don't have much to compare to. But our stay at GBP did not disappoint! We travelled Feb 8 - 15.

The people here are amazing, always willing to help and do pretty much anything you needed! Everyone from cleaning staff, groundskeepers, bartenders and everyone in between was great - far surpassed out expectations!! Tips were never expected but always very appreciated!! The only negative I would say is the front desk staff could be a tad friendlier! Our flight arrived very early in the morning (7 am) and we weren't able to check in until almost 4 (not their fault!). But there was a hospitality room available and we didn't find out about it until the next day. It would have been much appreciated if that had mentioned that to us upon our arrival - would have made our travel day less stressful.

The entire resort (including rooms) were immaculately clean. There were always people cleaning main areas and maintaining the grounds.

The beaches were fantastic! We loved the fact that we could change things up and use the
other beach at Akumal. The beach at Tulum was great for wave jumping and did have spots that were good for swimming, but rocky in parts. The water at Akumal was much calmer and good for swimming, although quite shallow for a long ways out - would be great for small children. We never had any trouble finding chairs at either beach.

We found the buffet at Tulum was much better with more variety - I think you would be hard pressed to not find something to like! We did try the buffets at Akumal and Coba - they were similar but had less choices.

Really like the fact that we had access to all 3 resorts! You could go to a different section everyday and find something new! Tulum and Akumal were quieter in the evenings and Coba was pretty action packed in the evenings - karaoke, live music in lobby bar and other common areas.

We chose 2 excursions during our stay. The first one was a half day trip to Tulum Ruins/Tulum Beach - this one is an absolute must see!! The ruins were very interesting (we went with a tour guide) but the highlight for us was Tulum Beach! Looks like a postcard and literally one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen! Be sure to wear your swim suit, as there is nowhere to change there. If our trip had been longer we would have gone back to that beach for another full day. The other was a trip to EXPLOR - this the perfect day trip for more adventurous folks! Basically a theme park with zip lining (about an hour and a halfs worth if you do all of them), atvs, paddling and swimming through the cenoates (gorgeous!!!!). We had wicked fun all day long and didn't even have time to do all of the zip lining!

We had an amazing time and can't wait to come back again! I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room on the 3rd floor in villa 42. Loved the corner room, as we only had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all thank you for trusting the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Resort. We really appreciate you taking the time to post some valuable comments about your stay with us and congratulations to the stadd. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and the service in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

Being a three hotel complex gives Grand Bahia Principe Resort the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food, facilities and the activities.

We look forward to receive you again and hope you do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit with any requests you may have to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I just got back from spending a week at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum after researching it online. We took a look though the poor reviews and had no idea how people were coming up with this stuff, I guess some people have impossible standards.

The common complaint here: 'beach is too rocky' - buy a pair of water shoes/snorkel, and problem completely solved, and they have plenty of notice advising about the rocks...

Do some research if you want to do a trip off-site to find what will be suited for you, as we went on a snorkeling/catamaran trip to Tulum where they led us perilously close to a reef (inches away from sharp coral/sea urchins), so you'd want to be a strong swimmer for that and a few people got cuts and one person needed to be helped back. However even despite that, the day was awesome and our guide for the ruins at Tulum was really knowledgeable.

Bring some extra USD as you'll find nice souvenirs to bring back for your friends and loved ones near the Hacienda (remember that it's a bartering culture though, we'd be quoted '$25' for something and then after waiting a few minutes without saying yes, would drop gradually to '$12'). You will find things you can't find anywhere else in the world and it's nice to support local craftspeople.

The food is EXCELLENT. If you are looking for really well prepared Mexican fare, you will not be disappointed. Every morning starting with a mimosa and trip to the buffet to assemble my own huevos rancheros with a wide variety of ingredients/saucess... I could do that for the rest of the year!

In terms of service, all of the staff were really nice. In particular 'Antonio' at the Yucatan restaurant despite serving a full resort of people, going out of his way to remember our orders and greeting us with a smile every day was beyond my expectations. Anyone who complains about 'the service' was likely rude and doesn't realize they are on all inclusive vacation while these people are working a 9-5. Be nice, give a tip, and you will have an amazing time and even make some friends.

I could go on and on about this place but just take my word for it and book now. Also of the 4 connected resorts I really feel Tulum is the spot to be - that 5 minute walk to the Caribbean sea, playing in the waves and swimming with schools of fish every morning cannot be beat.

Anyway I envy you lucky people about to book your trip here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Mike,

I take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back!!!

Best regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal. Crtra. Chetumal - Cancun, Km. 251, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.