We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal. Crtra. Chetumal - Cancun, Km. 251, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another fab holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Grand Bahia Prinicipe Tulum from 19th February till 6th March and it was our another great holiday.
Hotel complex actually consist of 3 hotels - Tulum, Coba and Akumal, but as we found out from walking on the beach - the Tulum one has the best beach. We stayed in Villa 15 which has a great location - it is not too far from main bar and it is also very close to the beach, its snack bar, smaller pool and 24/7 bar.
The rooms are very clean and our maid was very nice - full of positive attitude and very friendly. It was very nice to talk to her. She always made sure we had loads of toiletries in our bathroom.
Food in our buffet restaurant was very good too - lots of choices, but you have to be open minded and remember it is still a buffet, so do not expect too much. We loved our Mexican Corner!
For every week of your stay you are also allowed 3 bookings in a la carte restaurants and you have quite a few to choose from overall in 3 hotels. We chose La Gran Tortuga-Rodizio, Don Pablo and Tequila Restaurant at Tulum and Mikado and Mediterráneo Restaurant.
We were looking forward to the first one, Brazilian one, because recently we went to one of the Brazilian restaurants in UK, but I am afraid it did not live up to our expectations. It was not the best, but still alright. Restaurants I would not recommend is the Tequila and Mediterráneo - we did not find there anything exciting. Restaurants definitely worth visiting are Mikado (Japanese) and Don Pablo (Gourmet). We really enjoyed them both and visited Mikado twice and if we had more reservations available we would have surely gone to Don Pablo again.
Snack bar was serving quite basic food as burger, chips, nachos etc, but to be honest that is all what you need on the beach. Tip: look out for on the beach grill - that is making fresh meats on the grill and is very tasty.
The resort is very beautiful and well maintained - some people could probably fault it, but for us it is understandable it is hard to clean such a big area with over 70 villas, 18 rooms in each. That makes few thousand people coming and going at all the time!!! They try their best and do some little drawings even on the sand on their ashtrays!!!
There are golf carts transporting you between 3 hotels, rooms and restaurants, but beware of staff trying to take you to the VIP Club and attempting to sell you time share. That is the only down side of the hotel, but on the other hand you get some money towards activities you choose (golf, spa, excursions).
There is lots to do when it comes to activities - you can play golf, riding bicycles, play tennis, do scuba, play golf (extra charge), go to shows which are every night, attend Spanish classes or just chilled at their few bars.
We chose to stay on the beach and do excursions - Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza. All worth seeing if you fly in our case 10hrs to this part of the world!
If you like your drinks we recommend you get them from the main bar as you can get branded alcohols there (if you tip the waiters, they will give you very generous amount!) and not only local spirits which you get all over the resort. While we are on the subject of the main bar - we would like to praise our favourite barman, Caleb - he took real care of us and it was very pleasant to talk to him.
In the resort there is also Hacienda Don Isabel where you will find a disco, GP, pharmacy and a lots of shops and stalls. They do actually offer quite good price as we found out when we went out outside resort. Many items were actually cheaper then outside resort and the only better prices were offered at the stalls at Chichen Itza. If you plan to go there, buy your souvenirs there - you get bargains!
Overall - it is a very good hotel with good food, brilliant location and very friendly staff. Highly recommended!!! You will not regret it :)

Room Tip: If you are not going for Hacienda Service (VIP) try to book your room in Villa 15 which is close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the hotel staff we would like to thank you for your informative review. We were delighted to hear that you had a fab vacation with us.

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.


We are happy to read that you had an unforgettable experience with us and we will pass on the message to the team. We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back!!!

With Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,834
    1,789
    646
    275
    133
See reviews for
1,860
2,848
56
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent a fantastic two weeks at the resort, food is excellent great variety and freshly cooked, plenty of choice. Staff are very welcoming and friendly (despite the rudeness of some customers). The resort is clean and well maintained, we emailed prior to our visit to request a king sized bed with a matress topper, also to book our a la cart restaurants, this was all ready when we arrived. The show table at the Japanese restaurant is a great experience, food in the Brazilian restaurant is very good.
We always got a sunbed and shade hut, the pools and the beach are lovely. The evening entertainment is varied & enjoyable, certainly the best we have experienced in an all inclusive resort.
Coco Bongos is an enjoyable experience as is a day in Exceret, you can get the local bus, collectivo, from just outside the hotel, we went to Akumal beach, Tullum ruins,& Playa Del Carmen for a very low cost, drivers are helpful and will let you know when you reach your destination.
If you are thinking about booking your holiday here then stop thinking and just do it, we will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Anne:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the Trip Advisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

We thank you for recommending our hotel also to your friends; the best publicity is the one that people make at home after their holidays. I hope they were all as satisfied as you were. We will be happy to receive you again for another visit to our hotel.


We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back!!!

Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited Mar 6-13/13 as a pair of 40-ish couples. We're repeat customers, having been here 2-3 times before, and we can say that the resort is improving each time. Of particular note this visit is that the staff is more comfortable speaking English and that they are very attentive to food allergies. We would mention an allergy to our waiter in an a la carte restaurant and every staff member after that was aware and alternative menu items and substitutions would be suggested by the wait staff. If you can manage it, sit in Jose's section of the buffet restaurant; great service isn't what one normally expects at a buffet but Jose delivers.

The beach in front of the Akumal resort is white sand, if that's more to your taste than the somewhat rocky one in front of Tulum -- it's an easy stroll away. Some pools are noisy and others are quiet. The beach was always fairly quiet.

The rooms were clean and well serviced, including the mini bar.

The resort is a 2 hour bus ride from the airport, which is a bit of a negative, but that does get you closer to the Xel-Ha excursion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Grand Bahia Principe guests:

First of all thank you for trusting the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort. We really appreciate you taking the time to post us some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and the service in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and there is no better quality control than yours, as a repetitive guest.
It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work.

We are very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of the employees and I hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future. It was our pleasure to be at your service!

We thank you for recommending our hotel also to your family and friends, the best publicity is the one that people make at home after their holidays.
Please write us a little mail before your next arrival, so we can prepare what in the meantime already is "your" room with the VIP amenities you deserve.

Warmest Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked with WestJet and stayed at Tulum from October 27th - November 3rd. We were very impressed by the resort! The grounds were gorgeous and impeccably maintained, and our room was always clean. The beach was busy, but we never had an issue finding seats.. Crisanto at the pool bar was one of the best bartenders I've ever met, and took very good care of us! He would see us getting into the pool and would have our drinks waiting for us by the time we got to the bar. We didn't have any issues booking our à la carte meals, and highly recommend eating at the Japanese restaurant.

Although the food at the buffet was a little repetitive, it was always tasty and hot. When people say the resort is sprawling, they mean it. Of course, the whole Grand Bahia complex is gigantic, but Tulum in itself is huge! If I recall correctly, we stayed in building 21 and it took us about 10-12 minutes to walk to the main building. They do have little carts to transport you around the resort, but we chose to walk more often than not.

If you're looking for excursions, I'd recommend Xel-Ha for those looking for a relaxing and enjoyable day and Xplor for those up for adventure and excitement. We had a great time at both sites!

Overall, we had an amazing time at the resort and would definitely book there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Kate:

We are very happy to have had the opportunity of hosting you.

The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the Trip Advisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

It is very niche to read that you enjoy the warmest service that we Mexicans are able to give to all our guests. We thank you also the nice comments about our delicious food and nice grounds.

Thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the GBP México. Please inform us prior to arrival to accommodate your requests.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, Cleveland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled with a large party 24 in total for our wedding in october 2012. From start to finish we had a exellent time and couldnt fault anything, the food was exellent with enough choice to please everyone (even some very fussy children and parents). From checking in to leaving the staff were brilliant and made us all feel like royalty. The wedding day itself was lovely, i would like to take this opportunity to thank all the wedding team especially Jazmin, from booking at the travel agents to arriving everything was taken care of and we had a really special day. After going here european holidays feel a let down. We are hoping to return to mexico in the near future and this place will be our first choice. The place itself is huge and has the feel of a small town rather than a hotel, be sure to book the a la cartes early as they go quick and are exellent especially the Japanese and Arlequin. Without a doubt this is well worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Paul:

Congratulations first of all, and thank you very much for the review. We know how important the wedding days are for a couple and I feel happy you enjoy them with your entire group.

Jazmin and Karla are a very important asset to our staff. We do appreciate that you have named those staff members that made your stay a bit more special.

Congratulations for you and for your wife have a happy and long life together and please feel free to contact me to create and amazing experience for your first anniversary.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this resort from March 2nd to March 9th and had a great time. The food at the buffet was the best of all of the resorts we have stayed at so far. The Brazilian a la carte was excellent and I would recommend it. The grounds are immaculate and are maintained constantly. It is a huge resort but there is non stop transportation to where ever you need to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Rocco:

Thank you for coming to the Grand Bahia Principe Resort. We fell so happy to read that you have enjoyed yourselves and that you took the opportunity to admire the natural surroundings, to enjoy the facilities and the best food and beverges.

Hoping to see you again

Greetings
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston,lancs england
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First of all let me say the hotel is beautiful.There are three actually on the same site all very good and it is a massive complex.It must be said the staff are all wonderfully helpful and friendly wherever you go.We found the rooms well appointed and comfortable(Hacienda Club) and its owncheck in and breakfast restaurant and pool were a a good feature cutting down on queues and giving easy access to sunbeds throughout the day.
There are golf cart trains to whiz you all around the resort and plenty of bars and restaurants.There are shows every night but we didnt bother with them preferring entertainment in the bar areas or eating in the al a carte restaurants.
The al a cartes were a godsend because the buffets we found to be very repetitive and it really was difficult to get anything other than lukewarm food.most buffets i know suffer from this problem but there was no wow factor on presentation that we have experienced at other resorts either.
The beach is fantastic miles of white sand but woe betide you if you like seabathing because as soon as you step in the water you encounter lots of rocks making it very difficult to get in and out.We did find a better area by turning left from the hacienda club beach and walking about 150 yards beyond the hotel boundary.Otherwise go up to Akumal where they have created mini lagoons where you can paddle and splash about but not really swim.
There are loads of trips available the Chichen Itsa site is a must as are the Tulum Mayan Ruins.Chichen is a long day but worth it but Tulum can be reached by local bus or taxi very cheaply within about twenty minutes(take swimwear beach and sea fabulous) Other trips seem to centre around adventure parks and look great if you are young and or very active.
All in all we had a great time and as long as you are aware of the minor niggles ive pointed out and make use of your Al a carte visits youll be fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor travelers:

On behalf of the management and all the staff of the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guests in our resort. We realize that there is a myriad of other resorts for you to choose from and we are grateful because your choice was to spend your vacation at our resort.

Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services and make sure our entire guest feel welcomed.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal. Crtra. Chetumal - Cancun, Km. 251, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Business Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 906
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.