We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable, but a few improvements needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Aventuras Akumal. Crtra. Chetumal - Cancun, Km. 251, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Winnipeg
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, but a few improvements needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation. This area of Mexico is abudent with things to do even with small children.
The hotel is beautiful, the lobby and the grounds and the beach are wonderful. Some poeple have commented on the need for water shoes, you don't, there are vasts areas in the water with no rock.
The first room we were put in was apparently a junior superior suite that is in a building that was or is not on their web site (blg 336). Months before we arrived, we requested sea view room...we got put in the furthest building possible from the sea....I found that insulting considering I specifically booked JS rather then the standard room becasue the web site showed the rooms to be up front by the sea. The building we were put in was situated along a service road, so it is busy and noisy. I do believe these buildings are rarely used becasue of the terriable location of them. We spent one night in the room and I had instant respiritory issues from the mould smell (I an not usually senstive and I totally expect some mildew smell when traveling to tropical humid climates).
Whe we moved rooms the next day we were forgotten about and left standing there in the lobby waiting AGAIN with a small child who wanted nothing more then to go to the beach.
This hotel complex is famous for "une momento" or "right away"....and they just leave you waiting for days...really.
Our new room was building 12 which is appparently a downgrade from a JuSup suite....even though it is on the sea. (I personally felt swindled by this as the map on the web site makes one assume an upgrade will get you a view of the sea based on the map....not so). The coffee maker in our new room had scunggy old water in it and did not work. We called a few times a day, stopped staff and showed them, and they would leave on promise to return with a nrew maker.....it took five days to get a new one. A really small thing that really annoyed us. Could have been avoided. Don't tell guests "un momento" and then leave them hanging over and over again...The maid actually threw out the note we left for her and the maintence slips you hang on teh door are for blowing in the wind only.
One day my daughter and I were playing in the pool. A family was there with a girl that appeared to be around 8 years old. This child had a bowel movement in the pool right beside us.
We went rushing out and immediately showered off, then told the towel guy. No one told anyone to get out of the the pool. Instead, later from our balcony, we could still see people in the pool and soemone had put up caution tape around the area the accident happened. Later we saw someone bucketing it out. That was not hygenically acceptable at all.
A la carte service was always great with friendly, witty service.
Buffet service was terriable unless you sat in Solfreino's section or got the attendtion of one the bus boys. We were there for two weeks and many nights our server never once gave eye countact, never mind water or wine. I had brought this to the attention to the buffet manager once and nothing was done. Sometimes we sat with our dinner plates stacked in the middle of the table. We were there for sometime too as that was our relax time. I l aways felt bad having to ask someone else from outside our section to get us wine or water or coffee as I know they were busy. But soemtimes i would have no idea who our serve was supposed to be. If there is a next time, maybe I won't be so timid and just help myself to the wine and water and clear my own plates....then I won't have to sit and wait and get more and more annoyed.
We never recieved a welcome basket (not sure who is supposed to get them, but our freinds did).
I have also heard rumours about room service that I would have liked to take advantage of on more then one occasion with a tired child, but saw absolutely no informaiton on this).
Over all, we really enjoyed the grounds and the wild life. The natural areas are beautiful.
Most staff encountered were freindly. Some were exceptional and made our holiday (who I have already noted to management).
All in all, from reading trip advisor, these are all common complaints, soemething the resort needs to work on because it is beautiful and could be better then it is.

Room Tip: Building 12 is a standard room and is great. Save your peso's and don't bother upgrading, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Danielle;

Thank you so much for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and sharing your review.

We are happy to read that there are elements of the Gran Bahia Principe that you quite enjoyed, however We are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service concerning the service in restaurants and the cleanliness at the pool. We have already shared it with our public areas and restaurant manager in order to improve and enhance quality of service. Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.

The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced.We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and give us another opportunity to able to show you the kind of service we are capable of giving.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,598
    1,716
    615
    265
    124
See reviews for
1740
2689
56
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This resort is top notch and is very clean and well maintained. The lobby bar is huge and very relaxing with good service and some live entertainment. The resort is connected to a number of other ones and all are available to you. A golf cart style vehicle conveys you from resort to resort and you can eat/drink at any of the restaurants and bars. The beach is great and water is very nice.

Very close to town and Tulum ruins.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Rob:

It is of great satisfaction for us to know that you have really enjoyed your time at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

Being a three hotel complex gives us the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests.

It was also delightful to hear that you enjoyed the the entertainment. It is important for us to know that our staff efforts are appreciated by our guests. We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

We look forward to receive you in our resort again and hope you do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited Tulum Resort in Nov 2012. We were celebrating my 50th birthday. Our friends thier 25th Anniversary and both couples had bubbly and fruit bowl on arrival. A wonderful start to an amazing holiday. We found all 3 hotels close at hand to visit all pools, beaches and of course the delicious A la Carte restaurants on foot. Little shuttle buggies pass by all rooms and ammenities every 5 minutes for those who have walking difficulties.
The beaches were beautiful white sand and always plenty of sunbeds to chose from, the herons visiting daily added to the fun.Take your snorkels with you,gorgeous brightly coloured fish swim around you at just a few feet out.
We did loads of trips and most of them by Taxi, easily ordered by the concierge at the front door.Hotel so wel situated to all the local attractions.
Our favourite was swimming with the Turtles at Akumel beach just a short taxi ride away. Tour reps on hand daily to help with trips a little further away. A cultural tour is a must. The Mayans way of life is fascinating.
Food was in abundance in all buffets and so much to chose from, the A la carte restaurants were lovely to experiance but buffets so wonderful your torn to chose.
I would reccomend this Hotel and this area of Mexico, and we will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Karen and Co:

Congratulations first of all, and thank you very much for review. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday and your friends wedding anniversary.

We feel glad when we read that our guests feel pampered and that you received the high end service we are committed to provide during your stay. I want to say thank you for writing your valuable appreciation regarding your visit to Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

We will be happy to welcome you and your friends back in your second home in the Riviera Maya.

Sunny Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed February 2 to 9, 2013. Check in was smooth, the staff were all very friendly. We stayed in Villa 18 on the third floor. We had a view of the ocean and pool. We found the food to be good with a nice variety. We ate at the Mediterranean restaurant and Tequila which is the Mexican restaurant service was excellent and the food good.
The Lobbies in all three resorts are very impressive. We opted for Tulum because its closer o the beach. Getting around the resort is easy as they have frequent "trains" to pick you up if you don't want to walk.
My biggest complaint is the smoking in the lobby where the free wi fi is. You could not get away from the smell of cigarettes. It really should be non-smoking. My biggest kudo is the staff, we have nothing but wonderful things to say about all we encountered.
We went into Playa Del Carmen one day. The taxi driver walked us to 5th avenue and waited four hours for us to do our shopping. There was no extra charge and we appreciated him waiting.
The beach was a bit disappointing because it was quite shallow, but we understand a hurricane a number of years ago washed away most of the beach. They have placed large sand bags to stop erosion resulting in it being quite rocky in most places. Anyway it was still a beach in February!
I wouldn't hesitate to return although we might opt for Coba as it seemed to be a bit more rocking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

It is very nice to read that you have appreciated our check in and the variety of the food. For the improvement of our services, we take your comments about the smoking areas and hope to improve the suggestion of the rocky beach.

Hoping to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent xmas and new year 2012 at this supposed 5* hotel, well i think Thomas Cook need to evaluate this hotel closely. It barely passes as a 3* because of its service and poor performance. The mini bar in the room was a joke, consisting of two small bottles of coke, small bottle of sprite and a packet of crisps. O'h nearly forgot the two small cans of beer. The A La Carte restaurants ran out of food on three occasions, how can this happen when you book 24 hrs in advance. Had to wait two days for coffee whiteners to be placed in the room, and to top that im still waiting for the faulty iron to be replaced. Then there was the sports bar - what a joke that was. It consisted of a shabby old pool table, a few tables and chairs and a T.V dating back fifteen years. The Mexican people are very friendly and the manicured gardens look lovely, but if your thinking of spending £4000 of your hard earned money this is definetly not the place to go. O'h and to top that you will be charged £45 per person to leave Mexico, perhaps we ought to think about charging people to enter our country. Summary - Give this hotel a wide berth as it is apparent that they are cutting corners and we the consumer are paying the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Paul:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review about the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum hotel. It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations of a five star hotel. Some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our values again.

Nevertheless I also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. Our staff is one of our main strength and I am very grateful that you value it so highly. Thank you for mentioning the beatiful gardens.

Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services and trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from our 4th trip at the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. The grounds are very well maintained. We have noticed changes and improvements to the snack bar area and new huts around the pools. It's nice to see the improvement and the effort to make the services better.

It is an older hotel and the rooms are starting to show wear and tear. However, you really aren't in your room that much, so as long as it's clean who cares? We were with a group of friends and there were a few issues with our rooms beyond age. One couple had a leak in their ceiling - not to mention tools found in their room upon check-in, another had a toilet that had a water tank not filling, and our toilet became clogged once and it took 4 calls before it was properly addressed - which meant we had a clogged toilet overnight. Not pleasant, but we all survived.

The main reason we come keep coming back is the Customer Service. Melchor Loria and Maxi Agusti have been and continue to be very good to us. We emailed our villa requests and dinner reservation requests before our arrival and they accomodated us to the best of their ability. Melchor called twice during our stay to check in and make sure everything was ok. Reuben at the quiet pool is an excellent bartender and Ursula, Marie and Francesca took very good care of us at the Akumal Bar. Everyone has a smile on their face and is willing to laugh, joke, plain out make sure you are taken care of. We have noticed that the service at the buffets has been a little slow in our last two visits. There were a few times at breakfast we had to wait 5 minutes before we received our coffee. Is that terrible? Not necessarily, but sometimes you need it - especially after too much tequila the night before!

Bottom line, we will most likely return. Hopefully next year, but the economy will have to determine that.

If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere, away from the main attractions that Playa Del Carmen and Cancun provide, than I would highly recommend the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. It's a good hours drive from the airport, but worth every minute!

Room Tip: You will need to take the stairs to get to your room, so if you have issues be sure to request a gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests:

We thank you for your loyalty (4th time), and your review about your recent stay with us. We strive to do so through the genuine warmth, professionalism of our staff, and highly personalized service so it is always rewarding to know the suggestions and comments from our guests which help us to be stronger and better and also help to guide us in knowing what areas we need to improve.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. Melchor and Maxi besides good friends are excellent managers

All in Grand Bahia Principe Resort hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a fifth stay to our resort and we will make sure your stay is nothing else but a lovely experience again.

With Best Wishes,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

6 of us went to Mexico in October 2012, we varied in ages from 22-57 and everyone had a great time.
FOOD + DRINK
The buffet was great for breakfast and pretty good for lunch, though food was nice it did feel a bit the same on an evening.Massive amount of choice, But then buffets are a bit samey. The a la carte restaurants were all fantastic, especially le gourmet, mikado and arlequin. I would advise booking these a couple of weeks in advance as you can get the show table at mikado, this was amazing!!! A must do!!
The drinks were mainly local brands but all cocktails were made fresh and not pre-made like some AI. however at the a la carte restaurants you can make the most of the branded drinks.
Swim up bars in all pools also a great feature.
HOTEL + POOLS
The rooms were all very spacious though a little dated but all very clean. If you want a new towel animal each day then its worth tipping your maid. Also worth tipping your mini fridge guy in advance as he will make sure you have plenty of beers, soft drinks and chocolate (leave money in fridge).
The pools are all very big and spacious and you can use pools in all 3 complexes, it never felt too full despite the fact it was busy, easy to get 6 sunbeds for us all. Also worth taking advantage of free trial dive in pool.
Although complex is massive you don't have to worry as there is regular shuttle buses to take you everywhere. We went on a bike ride on the hotels bikes too but didn't really take advantage of any tennis courts or sports.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was a great holiday.

Room Tip: Stay near restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member:

We appreciate your preference in visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. Thank you for your recommendations for other guests. Your comments are very encouraging as we are intent on being the leading hotel in the Mexican Caribbean.

It is very nice to read that you have appreciated our atmosphere in the hotel and the variety of the breakfast buffet. Being a huge resort gives us the opportunity to have several options/activities for all our guests, no matter the ages.

We look forward to receive you and your family again in our resort and hope you do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Playa Aventuras Akumal. Crtra. Chetumal - Cancun, Km. 251, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.