We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant disappointment at the end” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unpleasant disappointment at the end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a quite nice 2-week stay in Gran Bahia Principe and mostly enjoyed it but the last day totally spoiled our entire impression from the vacation. We had a prepaid transfer (by "Best Day") from the hotel to Cancun airport. About 20 minutes before the pick up time we showed up at the lobby, left our luggage at the door guy and went slowly to the lobby to check out. We had about 15 minutes to check out until the transfer should arrive and there were only 5 people waiting in front of us, with two check-out receptionists. We thought we will still have some time after check out to relax or walk at the pool etc. But when we saw that it took about 10 minutes to check out ONE person, we started worrying... And we were right: there were still 3 people in front of us, when the transfer arrived. My girlfriend went to him and told him that we are waiting in the check-out line and it takes quite long and asked him to wait. Thereafter, she went to a check-in receptionist at the front desk and asked him to help us out, as the transfer is waiting and we just need to return the keys, as the whole vacation was prepaid. The receptionist showed zero interest and told us to wait. So, at the end it took 30 minutes to check out!! Thereafter we quickly went to restroom, as the ride to the airport can take up to 2 hours and when we returned we realized that our prepaid transfer LEFT!
We immediately went to a "Best Day" representative in the lobby. She made one phone call and told us: "The guy left and there is nothing I can do for you!". So we called the hotel manager, explained him the whole situation but his only respond to our complaints was: "It's your problem, you should have been here earlier!" We were quite shocked to hear this, as after spending 2 weeks at this resort I was expecting a different response. We have been traveling a lot but we have not seen such a reaction from a manager and disinterest to solve a situation, they indirectly caused. Furthermore, I don't think that we are that spoiled if we assume that it should take shorter than 15 minutes to check out 1 person... At the end, we had to call a taxi and pay it out of our pocket for the ride to the airport!

Here are some observations and tips from our 2 week stay:
1) Be prepared to wait. Example: to book an a-la-cart restaurant you have to go to "Public Relations" desk, which also books trips. Some people have no idea, what trips they want to do, so it may take 30-40 minutes till they are done. We were waiting in the line for over 1 hour and then it took us 2 minutes to do all our reservations. This is just one example, there were more cases we were losing our vacation time by waiting for some service...
2) Don't book "Best Day" transfer! They charge you $70 for a ride one way. Taxi from the Cancun airport to the hotel is 900 MXN ( = 69.60 USD, according to official exchange rate). The "Best Day" transfer may take up to 2 hours, if you are unlucky and they have to make several stops to drop off other people (which was our case). The taxi made it to the airport in ~1 hour.
3) If you are planning to do trips, exchange enough money in a bank in the US. The bank at the airport had rate 10.5 MXN for 1 USD, in the hotel 11.5 MXN. The official rate today is 12.96 MXN for 1 USD! If you plan paying with USD for services, eveybody will accept it but they will use rate 1:10.
4) Price in Mexico is a very variable term. Be sure you know the price BEFORE you use a service. If you don't know the price, they dare to ask for up to 100% more!
5) Don't book trips through the hotel. They are quite overpriced there. If you find some local dealer, you can save up to 50% (but consider point 4, as the price can change from one day to another :-) ).
6) For travelling along the coast (from Tulum to Cancun) the Collectivo buses are the best option, but again consider the point 4. :-)
7) The rooms in the resort are definitely not 5*, as the resort is claiming. We estimated it to 3.5* compared to other resorts we visited. The A/C in the room was very weak - in our room it was running the whole day on max and still was not able to cool down the room (that's NOT a 5* standard).
8) Food was very good, very high variety, options... Food was available the entire day.
9) The sea at the hotel: during our stay it was very windy with big waves the whole time, from sunrise till night. There are wave breakers along the whole beach, so that it's possible to "swim" in front of them (but there are still many rocks in the water, so you may bring your water shoes). Behind them the waves can be very high and powerful and except for me (I am a strong and experienced swimmer), nobody else dared to swim there. However, the seabed is very boring, with only some seaweed, but no corals or fish. Between hotels Tulum and Akumal there a nice and big coral reef with plenty of fish, however with a strong rip current (sideways). The life guard may kick you out of there (it happened to me once regardless I told him I can handle the current).
10) The beach is very long but definitely not enough for the three hotels (Coba, Akumal, Tulum). If you plan to get a chair on the beach, do it early in the morning, otherwise you can be out of luck.
11) Beach volleyball court was dangerous: a concrete plate with ~1-2" sand on the top. If you dive for a ball, you can injure badly your knees or elbows (there were several cases of bleeding knees).
12) There is free Wifi in only the lobby, with a good signal, however super slow and sometimes stopped working. Our impression was that the hotel wants you to upgrade to premium (paid) Wifi.
13) Minor issue: we were surprised there were no hot tubs in the resort. You may not need it during the day, but it would be nice to have one after sunset, when it cools down. We had a few days, when the temperature dropped after sunset to low 60s.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Marek:

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Resort.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations of a five star hotel. Some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our values again.

Please be assured that we have addressed your letter to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service. We will do our outmost and work to improve your next experience with us.

We will keep on working to improve our services and trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great and unforgettable stay.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,605
    2,187
    776
    319
    162
See reviews for
2,240
3,444
77
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you are going for the Food: You will be happy. The buffets are a great mix of American and Traditional cuisine. Don't waste your time in the specialty resturants.

If you are going for the Location: Perfectly situated. Near the ruins. Near Playa. Near Puerto Aventuras. Near Xel-ha. Do NOT book tours. Get a cab and go on your own. You will save probably half the price of the tour by doing this. Don't let them scare you about "going off the resort on your own". It's just a tactic to sell pricy tours. Now having said that don't go asking your cabbie to take you somewhere to score you drugs. Use your head and you will be safe.

If you are going for the Room: Average. If your AC doesn't work have them switch rooms because no amount of fixing will help. Clean, comfortable bed. They could do with an update of their colors, but how much time are you really going to spend in it. This is a big resort and I have to say that noise was really at a minimum. The "party area" is nicely tucked away from the main area of the resort (entirely walkable, but there is also a constant trolly going back and forth to it). This keeps the hooligans and the noise nicly away from your peace and quiet. Smart move Bahia!

If you are going for the Pools: Good, clean, good locations. Good mix of deep and shallow and large hot tubs allow you to not be crammed next to a sweaty hairy stranger. Nicely heated and very comfortable temp for those wanting to take a swim after dark.

If you are going for the Entertainment: Skip it. Terrible. Horrible. I cannot say enough bad things about staffers dressed up in drag lipsyncing to Tina Turner. The musicians in the bar and eating areas however were fabulous.

If you are going for the Childrens Area: They do an okay job of entertaining the kiddies. Nothing that would give them a rating above average.

If you are going for the Spa: Again, average. I guess i'm used to what a pedicure means in North America. It was a good pedi, but nothing special and I'm not sure deserving of the label "spa". Same for mani's and massages.

If you are going for the Beach: Ding ding ding! This beach is clean. I don't know how they do it but it is spotless. Plenty of loungers and shade. And there is even a little reef that you can easily swim to where you can snorkel for fish. Take some breakfast cereal flakes to chum them in.

Overall would I stay again? Yes. Yes, indeedy! Any minor hiccups are attributable to the "delight" of being in Mexico. Service was very speedy and I didn't have to tip out $10 every time I want a drink.

Tips? If you are going to Mexico to party and booze it up, this may not be the place for you. The prepared drinks are watered down. But if you politly ask, tip well and use the same bartender all the time, by the second day you will getting all your drinks full strength. Again, the beauty of this place is your ability to cheaply leave the resort on excursions via cab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor traveler:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

The comments we receive from our guests are very important to maintain and/ or improve the quality and service in the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the GBP México. Please inform us prior to your arrival to accommodate your requests.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a late review, but just returned from another all inclusive and now realize how really great this resort is and think I should acknowledge it. We went as a family with a 3 year old and a 6 month old. It is a wonderful resort and you won't regret going. Tulum is more family orientated and great if you like beaches, although they have decent pools there too.

If you are a pool person, stay at Coba, or stay at Tulum and take the trolleys to Coba.They have tons there.

It is large, grounds are well maintained and lots to do.
They had shows for kids at night which was great. The food was really good and had lots of variety. You could go on trolleys to the sister resorts. We went to Coba where our friends were and really enjoyed the pools there.

The beach was really close to our room which was great for our little ones. Lots of chairs and the beach was so calm. Fish swim around your feet and the kids loved it.

Staff is really friendly and accommodating.
Highlights: The beach! So calm and beautiful.
They made paella by the pool one day and it was delicious.
Clean and a variety of drinks

Room was small but clean. Beds are a bit hard, but overall a really excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member:

On behalf the management and all the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing to be guests in our resort. We realize that there is a myriad of other resorts for you to choose from and we are grateful because your choice was to spend your special vacation at our resort.

The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the Trip Advisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort. It was delightful for all our staff to read that you appreciate the service of all of them and the facilities at the resort. Your comments encourage us to continue improving our services.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance at: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Kindest Regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

mediocre at best, staff were terrific, but the amenities and quality of product is not what is advertised. alcohol was adequate but when ordering a wine from the list (pay), no one had a clue what i was talking about (educate!), and the food was adequate, a 3.5-4 star experience only for Mexico... imprisoned dolphins onsite was upsetting... but beach was great... again, staff was terrific and the highlight

Room Tip: top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Resort and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

We truly understand your review and appreciate the opinion that all of our present and future customers may have about a dolfinarium in an hotel complex, some of them are against the dolphin captivity, others appreciate the new attraction being in hands of a professional organization, as an enterprise with experience in the building of a controlled habitat in specially created aquariums. The operation consists in a state-of-the-art life support system that changes the water in the pools every two hours and the dolphins are supervised, trained and taken care of by professional biologists. The dolphins have never known the open seas experience as they are born in captivity which is not an excuse or explanation to defend this activity, but information we want to give to our concerned customers.

Nevertheless I also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. Our staff is one of our main strength and I am very grateful that you value it so highly.

In the hope to be your host again in the near future, we invite you write us a message before your arrival to accommodate your wishes in the best possible way.

Kindest regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at Tulum between Christmas and New Year's. This is my first time traveling during the Christmas holiday, but I am an experienced traveler (and a former travel agent). I can not comment on the beach as I am a pool person, although the friends I traveled with went to the beach each day and said that it was very breezy which I attributed to the time of the year, but the swimming and fish life was amazing. There was an abundance of "nature" at this resort from hermit crabs, iguanas, racoons, capybanas (I think that's spelled right), etc.. Just something to keep in mind. Most of the time, they were not paying you the least bit of attention so it's not something to worry about.

I was pleased with the choices of drinks that were available and stayed with things I knew but also tried a few new drinks. I think some of the bartenders were a little slow but very capable of making anything that you could have asked for. They also made drinks for us to try when we weren't sure what to order.

I think the staff was very friendly, Everyone seemed to speak. They didn't seem to have as many staff members as fluent in English as other resorts I've been to so sometimes it was a little difficult to get them to understand what you were looking for. The entertainment staff was excellent for what they did. Although I think the resort was lacking in activities. They have no "dance club" and the shows were a little lacking. However, the volleyball, dance lessons, exercise classes, golf, and ganes were a lot of fun, I was disappointed that they hotel did not have a serving and cleaning staff at the pool. The bar in the pool was nice but you had to go so far in the pool to get to it and only had a few stools, no tables or seating area. The portion of the bar that was not in the pool did not have any stools and was not quickly accessible. There was no bar on the beach. It was so hot sometimes you could die of thirst if you didn't want to get in the pool to go to the bar. The food at the buffet was plentiful and good ...not always hot..but good. However, the buffet and the snack bar were located at such a distance from the pool that it was sometimes a chore to go get something to eat.

The rooms were nice size. We were in building 7 and were about half way between the lobby and the snack bar. The air is not overly cold but sufficed for us with and without the fan. As seasoned travelers, we always bring candles or oils for the room to combat some of the smells. These rooms also contain a sofa bed (twin I think) so if you need an additional person that needs a rollaway, you may be able to use the sofa. You may want to bring sheets as we called the front desk but no one came to bring us sheets. Fortunately, we ended up not needing them,

We did go to the sales presentation for the vacation club, I think the sales staff is a little aggressive. We did it with an ulterior motive so we didn't mind the time commitment, but while I understand this is their bread and butter, I could see this being very uncomfortable for some people. The only other item we wish the resort would take a look at is the lighting around the buildings. It was very dark in alot of areas and walking up on an iguana at night wasn't one of my favorite memories.

All in all, it's a very nice, very large resort.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on second or third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Cheryl:

We would like to say ¨gracias¨ for deciding to give us an opportunity to enjoy our services at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort.

We will pass the comments tp the team, they will be happy that you have noticed their services. At the same time we are appreciative with your fine impressions of our food and beverages department and would like to mention that we will be very happy to welcome you back here at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum for more nice memories and delicious drinks.

We would like to apologize for situation described referring the service in the bars and the lack of lighting in the buildings, as a company we greatly value the feedback which we receive from our guests as we constantly strive to maintain consistently high standard of service.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
info.tulum@bahia-principe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at this resort this past Christmas 2012 for 2 weeks. The resort is very large made up of several sister hotels together with a residential golf course. To get around to the a-la-carte restaraunts you pretty well have to take their transportation(golf carts with trailers) as the resort is spread over several 100 acres. There is local shopping so that you can get all gifts there versus going into Playa ($30.00 cab ride).
I am sure the beach was beautiful at one time but after the hurricane about 4 years ago the beaches have been washed out with lots of rock and coral visable.
There are several restraurants and the food was great at them all. Christmas dinnner on the 24th was spectacular; huge amount of seafood along with tranitional food displayed with several ice sulptures.The pools were well maintained but show their age. The swim up bar was part of the pool where most of the activities took place.
All in all, we enjoyed our 2 weeks stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Don:

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write your impressions.

Being a three hotel complex gives Gran Bahia Principe Resort the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food, pools and the activities.

We look forward to receive you again and hope you do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit with any requests you may have to: info.tulum@bahia-principe.com

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The sand on the beach is great at the Tulum; much better than Akumal.
Only complaints are with the buffet and alcohol. Buffet food was luke warm much of the time and booze was standard fair, but not great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Tulum Hotel.

We regret to hear that your perception about the food was not positive, however be assured that your comments have already been brought to the Food and beverages manager attention.

In relation to your comments about the food in our resort ,we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.


We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Tulum to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

Kind regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Rtelations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 960
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.