We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive family comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Fall Offers
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“All inclusive family comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We're recently returned from Thanksgiving with family on the Riviera Maya. Our stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum was very comfortable. The "hacienda style architecture" of the buildings was appropriate for the location. The various pools were never overly crowded. The built in breakwater "whales" at the beach made a second area for safe swimming. Our granddaughter loved both areas. She also enjoyed the day she spent at the childrens' program. This is a very good family location. Dinner on site at Don Pablo restaurant was extremely good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Steve:

It is very nice to read that you have appreciated our rooms, the kids club and the excellent food at “Don Pablo”. Let me express our gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.

The Grand Bahia Principe Resort family hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for the second time and give us another opportunity to be able to show you the kind of service we are capable of giving. Please write us a little mail before your arrival and we will be happy to accommodate your wishes.

Best Regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,984
    2,368
    867
    351
    177
See reviews for
2,470
3,770
86
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in the Tulum section of the resort, building 23 with a view of the dolphin tank. Every staff member that we came in contact with was fantastic. The room was standard AI fare, kept very clean, and fridge was restocked daily..nice change, many only do it every two days unless asked. There is ongoing construction, and there were people staying in the rooms closest to it. We ate at the Gran Tortuga, a must do! Preferred the Coba Buffet for supper and Akumal for lunch. I liked the Akumal beach, DH preferred Tulum..something for everyone. We both agreed the Tulum lobby was our favourite.
The carts, oh the carts!! I don't think we waited more than two or three minutes ever for them, anywhere in the 3 resorts. The drivers were charming and oh so funny, this place simply would not work without them.

The dolphins.. I understand the pools exceed the authorities/regulations for size, but that doesn't mean morally, they are big enough for the animals. I have no doubt in the future these tiny pools will be looked at with revulsion and the standard will be much much larger tanks. However, it was obvious they are well cared for and the staff is obviously completely devoted to them. They never appeared to be alone, no matter the time of day or night.

Speaking of animals, there were a lot of people feeding the fish and coatis etc. The fish were very pushy after the bread ran out. At one point I was being nibbled and slapped by at least 100 of them, they were in a begging frenzy. It's only cute until a child, without food, is bitten by an over exuberant barracuda or raccoon. Last I checked there isn't a bakery in the ocean or jungle, they don't need your pastries.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the ongoing construction when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Linda:

We want to express our appreciation for sharing with us and with other Trip Advisor Users you gracious feedback regarding your visit to Gran Bahia Principe Resort. We fell so content to read that you have enjoyed yourselves and that you took the opportunity to admire the natural surroundings.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our transportation service and the hotel facilities.

We all are looking forward to welcome you and your family again at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.

With best regards
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at GBP-Tulum for our just 4 day annual vacation. We had a very relaxing time, the food was very good, the room was clean, the service excellent, and a beautiful beach. We were very pleased that it wasn`t the typical all inclusive, that means a noisy beach with a bunch of young drunks. The location is close to Tulum Ruins, and 45min by car from Coba`s, very convenience if you want to know a little about Maya´s culture. The only drawback was the pushing sellers trying to take us to the timeshare meeting. Overall, it was a very nice place, we would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Relaciones Publicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Maria:

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and for taking the time to share with us your views on our hotel.

We are delighted to read how you have enjoyed the excellent service of the entire team of the Bahia Principe complex, the cleanliness of the room, the beauty of the beach area and the food offered in our restaurants.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Where to start? I have been to the Caribbean 7 times, DR once and Cuba 6 times. Got a good deal to go to GBP Tulum, so decided to take the plunge. Travelled with my wife, and daughters aged 8 and 10.

Check in was quick and easy. We got to the resort just before noon, and our room was ready for us. All we did was ask. We were at our building less that 10 minutes after arrival at the complex.

The room was spotless, spacious enough for us and the fridge well stocked. We stayed in building 10, close to the beach, small pool and 24 hour snack bar. We were about a 6-7 minute walk to the lobby and buffet. It was extremely quiet here at night.

The main buffet was very good, fresh and very good selection, including a kids section. At Breakfast and Lunch we always sat in the area serviced by Senor Jose de la Cruz. This gentleman is the embodiement of service!!! He has a memory like a steel trap, and is what every server worldwide should strive to emmulate!!!

The bars were all good and very well equipped. My kids enjoyed the self serve slushies at the pool bar. Service at every bar we attended was excellent!!!

We ate at 3 a la cartes .... la Dolce (Italian), la Gran Tortuga (Brazillian Steakhouse) and Mikado (Japanese) where we sat at the show table. The service, food and atmosphere at each was top shelf!!! No complaints from anyone in our party.

We did one excursion to a park called XPlor where we did zip lining, cave swimming and rafting, and drove an amphibious vehicle. It was an outstanding day all around!!! We also did a shopping trip to Playa Del Carmen.

This resort complex is massive, but that is what we prefer. There was lots of wildlife strolling around. Also, there are photographers daily walking around with exotic wildlife for pictures. We took full advantage of this.

I cannot say enough about this place, and especially the staff. Front Desk, Guest Relations, Shuttle Drivers, Housekeeping, Bartenders, Servers, Air Canada Vactions rep, but most especially Jose de la Cruz in the Main Buffet. The service was EXCEPTIONAL!!! Everything about this resort was amazing, and we are already planning our return trip!!!

ADIOS!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Relaciones Publicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest:

After reading your wonderful review about your recent stay on the Tripadvisor pages, we want to thank you for your beautiful comments about the service of the front desk staff, as well as the public relations, housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff and all the people who made your stay special.

Our waiter Jose de la Cruz sends you his best regards and appreciates as the big example of the buffet personel your great writing and we want to assure you that the management has already a special gift waiting for him thanks to his excellent work.

It is great to hear that you will be coming back soon, the whole team is waiting for you and will be honored to make your next stay special again.

Hasta pronto!
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the GBP - Tulum in December of 2010. 2 families, 10 of us in total ranging from 5 to 45 years of age. This was the first time travelling to Mexico with the kids, and our experience at the hotel was excellent!
We were able to get 3 adjoining rooms behind the Brazilian a-la-carte restaurant, which was great in the mornings as it was also a breakfast buffet. We were close to the beach as well, and the trolley cars were great for getting anywhere else we needed to go at the resort.
I'd consider the food above average, compared to other resorts that my Wife and I have been to. The quality was the same, but the selection was greater. The main buffet had a sushi station (my favorite), and there was a kids area with cheese sandwiches, hot dogs, fries, etc. Perfect for our finicky eaters. The 24 hour snack bar was close by as well, and very convenient on our way back to the rooms after spending the night at various shows and lounges. We tried the Japanese and the Brazilian a-la-carte restaurants. Both were excellent. No one had any issues with the food. Drinks were average fair for an all-inclusive at this price range. Kids enjoyed non-alcoholic daiquiris and pina coladas
The beach is a bit more rocky and the sand whales numerous and in view, but the snorkelling was fantastic, especially at the Akumal section of the resort.
Pools were nice, clean, but very cold. After a while, you got used to them.
The staff were what brought this resort over the top! Very friendly and helpful. My daughter even posed for a picture with the maid. She loved the towel animals. The front desk staff even went above and beyond when I presented an unusual request. They went out of their way to accommodate us. Best I have seen in the 10 or so resorts I have been to.
We all loved the GBP - Tulum so much, that we are returning January 17th. It's a Christmas present for the kids, who said they prefer to go back to Mexico again over Disney World (well, almost... the older ones and the adults do, for sure!).
We had explored the town of Akumal, and spent a day at Xcaret water park. Next time, we plan on going to Tulum, and possibly Coba ruins, and a visit to Playa del Carmen.
Overall, great place for a family vacation. Can't wait for our return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Relaciones Publicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member:

Every comment on tripadvisor is important to us and we want to thank you for taking the time in writing us a wonderful review about your recent stay.

Our executive chef has already passed on your appreciation for our sushi corner and he is delighted to read that you have liked the selcetion of the food.

The management and the rest of the team of the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum resort hopes to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards,
Massiel V.Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Let me first say that we have gone to this resort twice. The first time was an awesome experience and we even got to know the resort manager. The second time we went with our children and our friends children. My son took his girlfriend along too. I will just say that during our second stay my son's girlfriend was taken, YES TAKEN, by some of the resort staff. It happened in front of the sports bar where she was dragged behind the sports bar and taken to the apartments behind the chain link fence. Of course, we went to the police in Tulum and filled out the paperwork, but to this day we do not know what happened to the worker that took her. My son's girlfriend was able to idenitify the worker in a line up. Very horrible experience as the manager seem to think we were lying and I am not sure why we would make up such a story as this. Just a terrifying experience. We were not compensated for our trip from the resort or our travel agent - not that that was what we were looking for but our entire trip was ruin. Please make sure your teenagers stay together at all times.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Relaciones Publicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member:

The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced. We attend all our guests from the moment any report is made and the security departments as well as the authorities make their professional investigation after official reports made.

We are very sorry you have left the Mexican Caribbean with this impression, our goal is to help and satisfy our guests and we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Sending you our kindest regards from the Mexican Caribbean.
Sincerely,
Massiel V. Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Can anyone explain me why on earth the hotel encourages you to email them but NEVER REPLIES???
I booked a room a month ago, sent them several emails concerning different issues to make sure everything is arranged for a perfect stay, but NEVER heard ANYTHING from them!
Really pissed off and looking forward for a trouble vacation in December((((

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickivanden, Relaciones Publicas at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear future guest:

We are very sad to read this comment as our customer service department tries to reply on all the mails we receive. We have contacted you personally via the tripadvisor website to help you with any request or wish you may have, and did not get a reply until today.

Our website gives you the contact dates, also we gave you another and extra address in the mail sent.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Yours Truly
Massiel V.Damm
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
4.7 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 960
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.