We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, laid-back but not much to do for younger people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Bahia Principe Tulum to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, laid-back but not much to do for younger people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I travelled to the Bahia Principe in Feb 2012. The accommodation was great (if perhaps not quite 5* standards) and the staff were wonderful. I've never stayed in a friendlier hotel. However, I'm not overly used to all-inclusive and I found it a little too far away from everything. It didn't feel very Mexican and to visit the 'real' Mexico, it became pricey and involved long coach trips.
The food was great and the beaches were lovely, although there were not many great places to swim. The entertainment shows are different every day but are repeated every week so once we'd been there for the first week we had little to do at night. The bars are great and cocktails yummy but at 24 we seemed to be the youngest people there. It wasn't perhaps the best place to go for two twenty-something girls.
Therefore, to round up...If you're not a fan of sight-seeing and you are looking for a romantic getaway for a few weeks, this hotel is great. If you're not looking for places to go out drinking and prefer nice meals and quiet evenings on the balcony then this resort will suffice.
I did have a great holiday but perhaps next time I go away I will rent a villa and do self-catering so I can explore a bit more of the country I'm visiting.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 8 which was close to pool/bars and beach. If you stay in any over 30 it's qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,823
    2,283
    816
    331
    165
See reviews for
2,341
3,638
83
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,643)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Amazing place, nothing else compares to it.. Couldnt fault it in anyway. Gorgeous place in a gorgeous area.. Definately a couples holiday, cant wait to return :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Went to Gran Bahia Principe Tulum last May, and was so impressed i am going back this May . Staff and resort were fantastic, with great choice of food, and A La Carte restaurents.
If you,re looking to relax this is the place to be. They are quiet pools, and ones with more activity's during the day.

Room Tip: Would have prefered top floor room with sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

First I would start by saying we thoroughly enjoyed our time at GBP "Tulum". We don't go to Mexico as often as we go to Jamaica, but were very happy with everything.
THE RESORT
The resort IS big, but we didn't find it difficult to navigate, or a bother to walk or ride wherever you wanted to go. We actually found riding the shuttle's enjoyable and an excellent way to meet other guest's. We felt the food was easily above average for an all-inclusive, with good variety and many option's with reservation restaurant's available. I would recommend making some reservation's ahead of time though as they seem to go fast once there.
I thought the service was generally very good as well. We did not experience any "issues" for them to deal with, but room cleanliness and the ground's etc. were all top notch.
I would highly recommend a private transfer. We used USA transfer's and they were prompt and courteous. Trip took just under and hour on the way out and maybe an hour and five minutes on the way back.
THE BEACH
As many people have noted, the beach is rocky in a lot of places once your "IN" the water. The best swimming is down by the Akumal end, but the beach is ALL great for walking.
GOLF
For a resort that offer's golf as one of their inclusion's, I always find it interesting that more people don't include much info on the course. SO, I thought the course was excellent. I thought the conditioning and layout were very good. The course is very challenging with a lot of water and of course jungle lining the fairways. The fairway's are fairly fast, so if you are "off line" a little bit your ball can find the jungle even when you "thought" you were safe. You really are RARELY going to be able to hit out of the jungle if your ball get's there, you will be lucky to find it actually. And on that note, bring LOT'S of ball's. Ball's in the pro shop are $22.00 per sleeve, $88.00 per dozen. It was overall a very nice course, very good maintenance and of course very very scenic. My advice, play the white tee's the first day to get to know the course a bit, then move back if it suit's your abilities.

OVERALL
A very good resort for the money. An excellent golf course for money as well.
If you have any question's feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite Club Hacienda get's you free use of laptop's in your private lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner and I went to Mexico to celebrate our anniversary and my 30th birthday. We couldn't have asked for more from the hotel. They have clearly been taking previous reviews about the beach and wavess on board and are working to improve them to beyond paradise. Really such an amazing place. The weather in February was perfect for us, in the high 20's but with a nice breeze and not too busy. A truely luxurious winter break and so pleased we didn't fall into the hype of Cancun and took the extra time to get to this hidden gem.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 14.. brilliant location. Tulum is the closest to the beach and away from the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have been 5 times, and are counting the days til we return for our 6th visit..... SIX times!!!
Yep, we just love this place. The staff have become our family. Nothing is too much trouble whether you are a first time guest or frequent guest like us. We both HIGHLY recommend this vacation spot for you....single family group....you will NOT be disappointed!!!! We hav taken my father with us twice, and he is 90 years old.

Room Tip: We like the Club Hacienda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife, baby and I stayed here in February for 6 nights. If you're into the all-inclusive experience or cruise ships you'll probably like this place. The complex is huge with four different resorts in one complex. Lots of Canadian and European groups on budget holiday was the general crowd here. Huge buffets of average food and unlimited syrupy drinks. The staff is very nice and tries hard which makes it difficult to put the place down. Clean rooms, but bring your own pillow if you have neck issues since the pillows are poor quality. It's pretty laughable that they rate this as a 5 Star resort on Apple Vacations. Apple did a bait and switch with us as we paid extra to be upgraded to a Junior Suite which they guaranteed would be no more than 500 feet from the beach and in the Club Hacienda area. Upon checking in, however, we were informed that basically NONE of the rooms at this resort were beach front and that Apple had "misinformed" us although it was clearly stated on the website and our confirmation page. Don't be suckered in and pay extra for essentially nothing. It didn't really matter since the beach is small and not very nice with large erosion prevention sand bags in the water that look like whales washed up on the beach.

The Sian Kaan resort on the other side of the highway next to the golf course and away from the beach is much nicer with a modern design and relaxed atmosphere. No "boom boom" techno music like at the pools at the other 3 resorts. I played golf every day at the Riviera Maya Country Club which is a great Robert Trent Jones Jr. course. The course is very difficult with sloping fairways and jungle that eats balls even on good drives. A real challenging course with no ocean holes, but lots of water and cenotes as hazards. Saw some cool wild life on the course such as coatis, parrots and iguanas so worth playing a round for this alone.

My wife got so fed up with the loud music and rowdiness at the pool that she walked to the front of the resort and took the 25 minute cab ride to Tulum and sat on the beach there. I went with her one day and what a different world with an amazing white sand beach, great little inns with excellent food and a relaxed vibe. Next time we return to the Riviera Maya area we'll stay in the town of Tulum (not the resort).

Room Tip: Be Cautious of Apple Vacations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Crta Chetumal - Cancun Km 250., Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 960
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.