We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be one of the best places on the Yucatan coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa las Brisas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa las Brisas
Save
You added Villa las Brisas to your Saves list
Etapa A Fracc. Aventuras Akumal #44, Akumal 77737, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Akumal B&B and Inns
chico california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could be one of the best places on the Yucatan coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

After a long flight from California, and after seeing the growth and craziness that's occurred in Playa Del Carmen since our last visit 15 years ago, Villa las Brisas and it's location in Akumal was a true breath of fresh tropical air! We had the casita above the little store so not right on the beach but everthing was so well designed, clean and efficient we had no complaints. The little kitchenette was great and the owners were terrific- really nice people! When we informed them the hot water was lacking, they immediately checked it out and found someone ha turned the water heater down- problem solved. The beach is gorgeous and just busy enough to be interesting and the portion in front of Las Brisas is the quietest part of the beach! We stayed 3 days and loved every minute. Our only suggestions for the owners would be a few more hooks for wet towels and a bench for open suitcases would be nice. My wife also wished the casita had a balcony like the front units but it was most comfortable even without those ammenities.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hammockman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

This is a very well-run establishment, with gorgeous rooms and landscaping. The rooms facing the beach are especially stunning, but any of the rooms in this place would put you much closer to the beach (the water is literally steps away) than any of the rooms at some of the bigger hotels (like the Grand Bahia, just down the beach); and the backfacing rooms look out onto a very tastefully done garden. The friendly owners live there themselves, and are very available for help or advice. You'd have to drive to Akumal (about 3 km, on the highway) for restaurants and shopping; Tulum and Playa del Carmen are very close by as well. The beach is quite nice, and away from the bustle of the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valentinoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

This is truly one of those places that you're tempted not to tell anyone about because you're afraid word will get out. It is, quite simply, perfect. My wife and I stayed there for three days last November. From the moment we walked in the door of the apartment, we were instantly relaxed. We had the top floor suite, with a balcony looking down on the beach and the azure sea right outside. The suite was spacious, clean, well appointed and beautifully laid out, with tile counters, natural wood and a really great shower. The owners were courteous, helpful and unobtrusive. Whether it was because of the time of year or the financial collapse, we had the little stretch of beach and ocean outfront virtually to ourselves for most of the trip. Combine that with a friendly dive shop 50 yards down the road, and reef diving sites a few minutes offshore, and it made for a perfect mini-vacation.

The only downside is that, unless you're willing to pay bloated prices for mundane fare at the resort down the beach, finding a decent restaurant takes a little doing. There are some quite nice ones in the town of Akumal, less than 10 minutes away by car, but it's best to ask directions before you go. There is also a "restaurant" in the small hotel attached to dive shop, but it seems to open on an as needed basis and is not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chosenatrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

An amazing place for a getaway. Located on the southernmost and most beautiful spot of Akumal beach, Villa las Brisas is the place to be. Beautiful, stylish condos, a neat and tropical garden and everything build in a mixture of Spanish and Mexican style. We stayed in the studio for 5 days before starting a round trip - and liked it so much that we returned some days later. This place is PERFECT and we loved everything about it. Kerstin and Horacio, the owners, are totally lovely and helpful. They make the place special by giving it the totally familiar atmosphere.

We are so glad that we found this place and we will definitely return.

  • Liked — Privacy, familiar atmosphere, location, beach, condo style, calmness
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LaJolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

Villa las Brisas is absolutely wonderful. Kerstin, the owner, is extraordinarily helpful and a geniunely nice person. The room was very nice and large and the grounds were beautiful (they had a fountain, gorgeous plants and flowers, and the beach was lovely). I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you want to get away-and not be surrounded by tons of other people, i.e. Cancun/Playa del Carmen- this is where you should go.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raindog2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

Villa las brisas is just what we where looking for. The owners are great peaple and very helpfull.
We can recomend this place to everyone, Kerstin,Daniel and Horacio are our good friends now.


  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldwacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Las Brisas this June (before hurricanes Emily and Wilma). It was just lovely. Even the bathroom had a whitewater ocean view. The kitchen was well-supplied--we ended up throwing a cooperative dinner party with Kerstin and Horacio, the owners, for the other guests and new-found friends, just for the heck of it!. We did have a rental car, which helped to get to restaurants and grocery stores in Akumal and Tulum, nearby. This was our third visit to the area and we'd live there if we could! Oh yes, if anyone can get this place up and running quickly after a hurricane, it would be this place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank flamencomermaid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.1 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#9 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa las Brisas

Address: Etapa A Fracc. Aventuras Akumal #44, Akumal 77737, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull beach front condos ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Las Brisas Hotel Akumal
Villa Las Brisas Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing