We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent establishment on a very nice beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa las Brisas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa las Brisas
Save Saved
You added Villa las Brisas to your Saves list
Etapa A Fracc. Aventuras Akumal #44, Akumal 77737, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Akumal B&B and Inns
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent establishment on a very nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

This is a very well-run establishment, with gorgeous rooms and landscaping. The rooms facing the beach are especially stunning, but any of the rooms in this place would put you much closer to the beach (the water is literally steps away) than any of the rooms at some of the bigger hotels (like the Grand Bahia, just down the beach); and the backfacing rooms look out onto a very tastefully done garden. The friendly owners live there themselves, and are very available for help or advice. You'd have to drive to Akumal (about 3 km, on the highway) for restaurants and shopping; Tulum and Playa del Carmen are very close by as well. The beach is quite nice, and away from the bustle of the bigger hotels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

This is truly one of those places that you're tempted not to tell anyone about because you're afraid word will get out. It is, quite simply, perfect. My wife and I stayed there for three days last November. From the moment we walked in the door of the apartment, we were instantly relaxed. We had the top floor suite, with a balcony looking down on the beach and the azure sea right outside. The suite was spacious, clean, well appointed and beautifully laid out, with tile counters, natural wood and a really great shower. The owners were courteous, helpful and unobtrusive. Whether it was because of the time of year or the financial collapse, we had the little stretch of beach and ocean outfront virtually to ourselves for most of the trip. Combine that with a friendly dive shop 50 yards down the road, and reef diving sites a few minutes offshore, and it made for a perfect mini-vacation.

The only downside is that, unless you're willing to pay bloated prices for mundane fare at the resort down the beach, finding a decent restaurant takes a little doing. There are some quite nice ones in the town of Akumal, less than 10 minutes away by car, but it's best to ask directions before you go. There is also a "restaurant" in the small hotel attached to dive shop, but it seems to open on an as needed basis and is not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

An amazing place for a getaway. Located on the southernmost and most beautiful spot of Akumal beach, Villa las Brisas is the place to be. Beautiful, stylish condos, a neat and tropical garden and everything build in a mixture of Spanish and Mexican style. We stayed in the studio for 5 days before starting a round trip - and liked it so much that we returned some days later. This place is PERFECT and we loved everything about it. Kerstin and Horacio, the owners, are totally lovely and helpful. They make the place special by giving it the totally familiar atmosphere.

We are so glad that we found this place and we will definitely return.

  • Liked — Privacy, familiar atmosphere, location, beach, condo style, calmness
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2006

Villa las Brisas is absolutely wonderful. Kerstin, the owner, is extraordinarily helpful and a geniunely nice person. The room was very nice and large and the grounds were beautiful (they had a fountain, gorgeous plants and flowers, and the beach was lovely). I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you want to get away-and not be surrounded by tons of other people, i.e. Cancun/Playa del Carmen- this is where you should go.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

Villa las brisas is just what we where looking for. The owners are great peaple and very helpfull.
We can recomend this place to everyone, Kerstin,Daniel and Horacio are our good friends now.


  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Las Brisas this June (before hurricanes Emily and Wilma). It was just lovely. Even the bathroom had a whitewater ocean view. The kitchen was well-supplied--we ended up throwing a cooperative dinner party with Kerstin and Horacio, the owners, for the other guests and new-found friends, just for the heck of it!. We did have a rental car, which helped to get to restaurants and grocery stores in Akumal and Tulum, nearby. This was our third visit to the area and we'd live there if we could! Oh yes, if anyone can get this place up and running quickly after a hurricane, it would be this place.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa las Brisas

Address: Etapa A Fracc. Aventuras Akumal #44, Akumal 77737, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull beach front condos ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Las Brisas Hotel Akumal
Villa Las Brisas Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa las Brisas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.