We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luxury villa specialized in big groups and venues

Akumal
|
Rental Home – 
13 Bedrooms, 17 Bathrooms, Sleeps 39

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bontonbk
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never wanted to leave this perfect house!!......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After many months of research I booked this villa for my 50th b'day girls getaway trip, and it was a magical vacation! Although we were only 7 people, we felt the house was beautiful and inviting, and perfectly suited for us... And loved the Buddhas everywhere! We had Randi cook many meals, and bring his awesome salsa and guacamole to the pool along with the margaritas....life couldn't have gotten any better. The house staff did their jobs so well that we barely saw them but everything got taken care of..fresh beach towels, cleaned rooms, night beach security etc. Thank you Wilma for my birthday gift....a room for each of my special guests. I cannot stop raving about Akumal, and our unbelievable stay at Villa Bellamar!!! A few of my favorite things: rooftop deck for a 360 view, jacuzzi/ yoga deck , hammocks by the pool, beach chairs, and that incredible pool! Recommend renting golf carts with Marcello and Nayemi and just enjoying the area right in Akumal! PS Beds were soo comfortable, too!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Layout of house/pool, beds, staff,, chef, outdoor space
Liked least: No A/C in living areas, slippery tile in kitchen/ living area, a bit buggy
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fran c
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Potential Problem converted into a Fantastic Fantasy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 14 was double-booked into another seven-bedroom villa in the area. Two weeks before departing we were moved to this beautiful location. What a fabulous turn of events!

Bellamar makes you feel like you’ve graduated to “Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous” without the clamoring crowds or paparazzi.

An onsite cook, Randy, made many special items for us (ask about “cat-scratch eggs”). The cook’s assistant, Effriam, concocted fabulous cocktails. A friendly maid staff, Nayali and Inez, straightened the kids’ clutter and did our laundry at no additional charge. Onsite caretaker Aurelio came by on his day off to heat the whirlpool and drop off life jackets so the kids could kayak in the bay. Leo, the nighttime security guard patrolled the grounds from dark until daylight.

Picture yourself in any of the photos and know that it’s even better than that...a zero ground entry pool where you can bask in the cool shallow waters or sit at the poolside bar and sip fresh mojitos. Enjoy a book in one of many shaded perches. Swing in one of the four poolside hammocks. Kayak and snorkel in the ocean. Search for sea urchins. Count the numerous turtle nests on your seaside walk.

While ocean breezes blow through the house, each room as an individual air conditioning unit - which they ask that you use only when you’re in the room. And, each spacious room really will sleep four. The king bed can convert to twins. There is also a sofa with a trundle underneath. Each bedroom — yes there really are 13 and they are identical — contains it’s own private bath which the staff daily cleans and supplies with fresh towels, shampoo and body wash. The baths feature a long vanity with trough sink, commode, and a tub with a shower. There’s also a wall-mounted blow drier. In-room TVs play a host of channels in English, Spanish and Portuguese. There may be more options, but I never turned my set on.

Chef Randy and Effriam, were supplied by TulumChef.com. Their fee, except the purchase of groceries and tips, was included with the house. We selected from a menu and added a few Mayan dishes we’d always wanted to try. They offered the option to grocery shop with the staff and use a credit card, or supply cash (dollars or pesos). When the shopping was completed, they returned with change and receipts to account for every penny spent. The staff also worked with food restrictions for one of our members (no garlic, no dairy); and the finicky requirements of the children (chicken, pasta, homemade rolls, rice, more chicken, homemade donuts, chocolate cake). On the wedding day, they created a delicious heart-shaped Tres Leches cake. We often circled the bar like curious cats to see what was going on in the kitchen. Half of the vacation photos are of the meals and drinks we consumed.

We dined indoors and out, opting to come straight from the pool/ocean to the outdoor tables at lunch, and inside in the evening. The pool or living room were our night hang-out spots, even though there are big-screen TVs and DVD players in the game rooms on both the second and third floors. The third floor also features foosball and ping pong.

Cell phones, ipads, and e-readers were able to search the web, download, receive mail/messages and do whatever we needed them to do, thanks to Bellamar’s wireless network. We were also able to turn them off and enjoy the blissfulness of this location. Catch the sunrise or sunset on the rooftop terrace. The views are incredible! Few people roamed the beach. Perhaps a dozen more snorkeled in the bay. We felt as if we had Half Moon Bay totally to ourself.

If you can tear yourself away from the house or the cook, Akumal boasts 28 different restaurants and many are within walking distance of the house. Also a short stroll away is the Yal-Ku Lagoon. For $12 USD adult/$9 child, you can swim the still waters from 9am -5pm and view a wide variety of fish. Fin and masks rent for an additional $5 each. The house concierge, will book side trips with transportation to the ruins, zip lines, cenotes and various water attractions in the area. Besides the Mayan ruins, Xel-ha and Aktun Chen are two of our favorites.

We came to Bellamar to celebrate a wedding. It included three generations that spanned in age from 7 to 75, plus the blending of two families with children from 7 to 33. Despite the strong personalities and the varied interests, we could find little to argue about. We credit that to this beautiful house, grand location and incredible staff.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Overall luxury condition of the property
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2013
Dear Fran,

Thank you very much for your review. It's always a pleasure for the whole Bellamar team to do our best to make our guests feel in the paradise.

Best regards,
Wilma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Stuttgart
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Chile
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Santiago
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pete, Retired Army Officer
Colorado
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
U.S.
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,928
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Wilma G. A
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, French
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 70 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing