We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We spent a week here in end of march with our 2 kids(6&10). The shuttle w air transat to and from airport is about 90 minutes on a large bus. Its comfortable but a taxi would definitely be faster. Check in was fast, suites are big, clean and lovely. Our room was very comfortable. There was always chairs by the pool. If you have small kids bring floaties for deep pool and sand toys. They grossly overpriced at resort. Also the photoshop is a joke!!! Hideous prices. Buffets always had lots of good food, but does get repetitious. We loved the mexican restraunt. Also went to Japanese and Mediterranean. The grounds where clean with piles of walking. We would happily return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear love2travelw2kids,

Thank you for your post.
Im glad the entire family had a beautiful time with us and you enjoyed your holiday.

Your opinion will help a future visitors.

Best regards,

Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,758
    866
    281
    132
    65
See reviews for
799
1,321
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We just returned from Kantenah on April 29 2014 (2 adults and 2 kids aged 5 and 3). We truly had a great time and really enjoyed everything about the resort.
The kids had a blast at the splash pad, on the waterslides and at the kids club. We all loved the nightly shows, the food and the grounds. It was clean, well maintained and large enough to keep you busy. Yes, there was a lot of walking, but we like larger resorts. There was so much to do.... the beach is gorgeous, nice and long, and we loved all of the wood walking trails.
I would definitely recommend this resort to a family travelling with young kids. We are already talking about going back next year.

Thank you to the super friendly and helpful staff. Especially those in the kids club, the buffets, the snack bar and the photographers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Shnortney,

In the name of the Palladium staff we want to show you our affection for such a lovely words about our way of work and service. Our motto now its surprise you again next year when you are coming back.

It is for us really important that the kids were happy, love the miniclub and the water park.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior arrival with your likes in terms of accomodation.

Warm regards,

Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

we visited from 4-22 to 4-22, with a group of eight. Five teenagers and three parents. had a wonderful time. The kids wandered around doing their own thing, us adults took shelter under a palapa and enjoyed the beautiful beach and salt water pool. Met up at meals. it was super relaxing for all. We did the teppanki table as a group, which was a hoot, and the food was good. After a stressful wrangle getting a table for all in the steakhouse, we realized that buffet was a good option for our particular group, especially since the boys hated wearing long pants in the heat. Adults did seafood restaurant on the beach, some liked the food, others didn't. raccoons next to our table was very weird. Mediterranean restaurant was good. We actually all enjoyed the buffet, always some things that we loved, and never crowded. We all tried small amounts of new things, and if we didn't like them, just tried something else. Fish cooked to order was fabulous.
We enjoyed the buffet by the Colonial pool for lunch, refreshing breezes, delicious guacamole and gazpacho and coconut ice cream cones. Loved the cappuccinos at beach bars, we got ice with them and iced them down. Yum.
We brought tervis mugs, kept them filled with ice, lime, soda and cranapple all day. Also great for cerveza. we stuck to the resort glasses for mixed drinks, a twenty ounce mojito didn't make sense to me. We enjoyed higher end pre-dinner drinks in Hemenways.
We were too tired for most of the shows, did catch the Mexican show and the Fire Show, I recommend both.
The pathways were beautiful and shady, it is tons of walking, which we all liked. I did need to rotate between shoes to avoid blisters. A few of the super sticky band aids came in handy, along with tums, anti chafe stick, post swim eardrops and immodium. A few got a tiny bit sick, but they blamed in on swallowing water when horsing round in the pool, which makes sense since no one ever missed a meal.
We did the Segway tour, which we loved. Do it on the first day, that way everyone gets a tour of the resort. An orientation tour on the train woud actuall be a welcome addition to the resort.

Our arrival was unpleasant. We had emailed ahead asking to be as close together as possible, in non smoking rooms, with one at least above ground floor, if possible. Made reservations in Kantenah six months in advance. We made them through Expedia, so I think the resort just gets the info a week before your arrival? Anyway, we were told on arrival that some of us were moved to White Sands. I was upset, not only because we wanted to be near our friends, but also because I feared getting a room with an open concept bathroom, which is why I had booked Kantenah. Unrelated mixed sex teenagers and open concept bathrooms don't mix. No explanation nor apology was made for the switch. I showed them our Kntenah reservation confirmation, and they relented. Checkin took an hour. Then, when we got to our rooms, all were smoking, and one of them, our key didnt work. the front desk told us to bring the key back to them. After numerous phone calls and visits from three different people, over an hour later. we finally got access to the room. What a horrible start to a much looked forward to vacation. My friend's room, 4802, was super musty smelling. She got on a waiting list to change it. It took two days and much wrangling, but she did get a much better smelling room eventually, 4925, I think. We felt anything but welcomed. I realize that the resort was full, but it was an awful start. fortunately, things improved from there.

The pools were clean and beautiful. Colonial pool was too loud for us, but easy enough to get away from it and enjoy the wonderful beach. the kids area almost made me long for toddler days, it was beautiful, with plenty of loungers round it, so parents Could relax and still supervise their kids. We thought the pool towels were nicer than those of other resorts. Our kids did some Teen club activities, although there were very few other teens there, which was fine because everyone brought a friend. The boys enjoyed hanging with a boy whose mom is a resort choreographer.

We took collectivo, visited Playa and Akumal, super easy and fun. Visted Hekab library in Akumal, inspirational to see how much the volunteers there help the local kids. It is located right on the way to the beach. Did an amazing tour with Edventures, ride bikes and climbed pyramid at Coba, o worth it.
Other guests were bothered by the 1000 Spanish teenagers there at the same time. We were lucky enough never to hear them once we went to bed, so they didn't bother us. They seemed to be on a different schedule than us, so it actually made more room for everyone. They were lining up for the buffet when we were heading in to bed. Worked out well from our perspective.

This resort is beautiful, with good accommodations and very good food and drink. The value is incredible, and I think that we would return, although I would be dreading the Checkin process, I hate feeling like I need to advocate for my family just to get the resort section that we booked.

Room Tip: Don't let the bellhop leave until you make sure your key works and your room is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Beth3536,

We appreciate you great review and we love the fact you had a fantastic vacations.

We will see you on your return and we kindly ask you to send your request directly with the hotel. We can not guarantee to please them, but for sure we will try all on our hads to make it happend.

Best regards,

Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Kantenah for a week during Easter. Overall, we had a wonderful time and I would definitely recommend this resort.

Positives

· Great hardworking staff always with a smile on their faces.
· Magnificent grounds & pools, nice looking lobbies .
· Beautiful beach, clear water, white sand with plenty of snorkeling right at the resort.
· Very kid friendly with activities to keep them occupied.
· Plenty of beach beds, never had an issue finding one.
· Clean spacious room with a private balcony in a jungle setting.
· Food was decent and plentiful, not gourmet though.
· Quiet setting away from the hustle and bustle of Cancun.

Areas that need to be addressed

· Long wait times at the restaurants even though half the tables were not occupied. I overheard many people complain about this. The hotel really needs to address this if they need more repeat customers.
· Requirement of long pants for men at the restaurants , I guess this is the hotel’s ploy to drive more people to the buffets.
· Beds and pillows were not comfortable but manageable.
· The mini fridge in the room did a poor job cooling the bottles.

Other Comments

· The resort seems to be popular among Europeans and Canadians with fewer Americans in comparison.
· Swimming with the turtles can be skipped, not worth the $40.
· Did not see any shows
· I am giving it 4 stars , but would have given 5 stars if the quality of the dinners were better and if there was less wait time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Fun_at_beach_today,

we hopw you had a confortable and safe journey back to Philadelphia.

Thank you for you comment and thank you for your nice words to the staff, grounds, beach and public areas.

All comments, good and bad are taking iun maximun respect and seriousness.

Warm regards,

Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussets
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We travelled here as a family form 4/22-4/29. We have 3 kids ages 7, 10, and 11. This was our 5th trip to the Mayan Riviera and we have stayed at a different all inclusive each time.


Pools- the pools were great. The 2 main pools were huge and had lots of different water features in them. My only complaint was that the Colonial pool is way too deep. Almost all of it is 5 feet deep. It's impossible to carry a drink in the pool when it's that deep and it was somewhat nerve-wracking with the kids as none of them could touch the bottom. Two of my kids are good swimmers and one used a tube but you still have to be quite diligent with the kids as it is a long way across the pool. I have no idea why they made it so deep. The pool in the other section is only 4 feet deep so that can be better for kids as well as for hanging out and socializing.

Saltwater pool- definitely check this out. It is worth the walk. The views are spectacular and the kids loved the snorkeling in the pool. There is also a pool bar there, but no towels so definitely make sure you bring some.

Waterpark- was great. Pool is a little shallow though and my 7 year old got a pretty bad scrape on his back from the tube slide. We usually just set up our chairs between the waterpark and the pool and the kids went back and forth for hours.

Food- buffets were really good. Pool bars were good for a snack. The outdoor lunch buffet was good, but the indoor ones were really good with a much bigger selection. My very picky kids always found plenty to eat and even managed to try lots of new things. The breakfast buffet was huge, I have no idea how anyone could say that it gets repetitive. There were probably 100 choices of things to eat. For the ala cartes, we ate at the italian, steak, and japanese. Japanese was our favorite. Both the food and the show were really good. Steak place was pretty good. Filet mignon was clearly not filet, but it was good and the sauces that came with it were really good. Italian was not good at all. Really just the same pastas that they serve in the buffets. My husband had a chicken dish that was good, but everything else was pretty bad. There was also food available in the sports bar if you needed a little snack later in the evening.

Drinks- drinks were typical for an AI. Pre-made mixes for the frozen drinks, mostly well liquors with more top shelf liquors available in some of the lobby bars. Pool bars were just okay. They were quite large but people didn't really hang out at them all that much. At most other hotels, the pool bars usually have a really fun atmosphere and we usually meet a lot of people at them, but here people just seemed to get their drinks and head out. It was also really shady in the afternoon so it actually got a little chilly by 4. Sports bar was fun for the NHL playoffs and there were pool tables, foosball, pingpong, etc to keep the kids busy.

Room- We stayed in Building 51 which I would highly recommend as it is close to everything. A quick walk to the beach, pool, waterpark, and lobby. We had a Jr suite. This room was definitely smaller than some of the other jr suites at other hotels we have stayed at. There was no bureau to put your clothes in, just cubbies in the closet and some desk drawers. There was also nowhere to put your luggage. The pullout was really low to the ground and quite hard but my boys didn't mind sleeping on it at all. The other beds were okay, not rock hard like some other resorts we've been to, but not super comfortable either. Pillows were small, but comfortable. As others have mentioned, the mattress pads are super noisy. The decor in the room was nice and everything worked fine. The bathroom was really small for 5 people. Most hotels we've stayed at in Mexico have a huge shower, but this had a small shower/bath combo that was actually hard to get in and out of. Toiletries were nice and they gave you plenty of them.


Grounds- grounds were beautiful and there were always workers cleaning, planting, trimming, everywhere you went. Some of the wooden walkways were a little uneven or broken but they were repairing a lot of the boards while we were there. We loved walking the grounds and really didn't get lost much at all. It's really well laid out. The quickest way to get from one section of the resort to another is just to walk down the beach. Walking through the resort was always fun as we always saw lots of wildlife.

Beach- beach in front of the Kantenah is the best. There is a great beach bar, hammocks, lots of chairs, and it never gets crowded. There is also lots of shade. Some days they will put out a trampoline and a rock wall in front of the Coloinial beach. It was only there one day for us but my kids loved it. They had so much fun on them. They also tried the kayaks which were a lot of fun. They wanted to do the paddleboards but it was too rough our last 4 days at the resort. Catamarans are free if you know how to sail, otherwise there is a $40 and hour charge to go out with a guide. Other hotels that we have stayed at have offered free guided sails so we were surprised by the charge. Overall, the beach is beautiful and probably the nicest of any hotel we have stayed at.

Activities- the activities staff was okay. Definitely not as lively as some other resorts we've been to. The activities seemed to be somewhat rushed. My kids did the pool olympics one day and it was only 2 events. Boys played beach soccer one day and it only lasted 20 minutes even though there were about 15 people playing. Other hotels we've been to will keep playing until everyone get tired. "Crazy games" just weren't that crazy. Did water aroebics one day & that was quite interesting. Started off normal enough but ended with us in a circle massaging the person in front of us. Also had us carrying each other around through a tunnel of hands. My daughter and I thought it was hysterical but some people may not enjoy it. We only saw a couple of the night time shows as we were usually exhausted by then. The "Colors of the World" show was pretty good. The Raggs Pirate show was cute if you have little ones but I have no idea why they would have it at 9 at night! The white party and the fire show was really good. Definitely the most lively night of the trip with lots of people dancing. Some of the lobby music was good and but some was so boring, it was like sitting in a library.

Staff- bartenders and servers were all nice and did a good job. Our room was cleaned well everyday. Front desk was pretty sullen and unhelpful. For example, I lost my glasses one day and went to ask if they had been turned in. I stood at the desk for 10 minutes while the staff member chatted (or flirted) with one of the security guards. By the time she finally decided to help me, there were 4 more people behind me waiting in line. My husband asked for change for a $20 dollar bill (for tips). The man at the front desk practically yelled at him"why is this like this?". The bill had a small tear in it and he acted like my husband was carrying a counterfeiting machine with him.

Clientele- this is the big negative for us at this resort. We have met so many nice people on our trips to Mexico from the US, Canada, the UK, Germany, etc. This resort was completely overtaken by college kids from Valencia, Spain. There were over 1,000 of them there at one time. It was ridiculous. During the day they were pretty quiet but just everywhere. At night, they partied, and partied, and partied. They would be singing on the trains and in the pools. They would completely take over the lobby bars. They would generally arrive home sometime between 2 and 5am and proceed to scream their way into their rooms. They would open and shut doors, yell, sing, whatever it took to basically keep us awake for a good portion of the night. We spoke to management but of course nothing was done. They weren't going to kick out 1,000 people. Just not sure why the resort would want to cater to this clientele. They seem to market themselves as a high end family/couples resort and spring-breakers just do not fit that image. I would like to return to this resort as it had so many positives but since we usually travel in April, I don't think I would risk it again. We did finally meet some awesome people towards the tail end of our trip and had a great time with them but everyone we met was put off by these kids.

Couple of tips for traveling with kids-

Do the beach barbecue and ask for a large table. Food was good, atmosphere was fun, and we met a group of really nice people at our table. The actually had to kick us out for the next seating.

Bring floats and snorkel gear- we used ours almost every day. Kids even used their snorkel gear in the pool a lot.

Walk around and try new areas of the resort- we tried to go somewhere new each day and the kids never got bored.

Raggs breakfast- definitely sign up for this if you have kids. The food is so cute. They make everything into different characters. My kids had no idea who Raggs was (never seen the show) but they really enjoyed this.

Give your kids some freedom- our kids made some new friends and loved going to lunch with them or to do an activity without mom or dad tagging along.

Go to Xel-ha and Akumal- We used the Collectivo to get to both of these. Very easy and only $10 for all of us each way. At Akumal you can rent a golf cart and drive to the various snorkeling areas. Even the kids are allowed to drive the carts. Snorkeling with the giant turtles was amazing. And Xel-ha is so fun. We spent 8 hours there and kids still did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Building 51 is the best with kids. Close to the beach, waterpark, pool, and lobby.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear amanda1022,

Thank you for you detail review.

Your are giving amazing tips for people who travell with kids like the water park that your kids loved, the raggs breakfast and the kinds zone.

Thank you as well for your comment about the variety of the food, the a la cart restaurants and the staff members.

Best regards,

Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Palladium Kantenah with a friend from 19/04/14 to 27/04/14. Was originally booked at the Colonial but was given a room in the Kantenah section which has been refurbished quite nicely. Was glad they did as I had read in the reviews that the Colonial was quite dated. The resort consists of 4 in one plus the royal suites. Can access all with the exception of the royal suites sections on the beach, etc. This is a long review but wanted to try and give a good overview.

Lobby/Theatre: Kantenah lobby was a nice place to have a drink but was pretty quiet. Had a few shops to get anything from tee-shirts to sombreros to pharmacy needs, etc. Bar service was okay, a little slow. We usually tipped but it really didn't make a difference in the service. Had a guy with a guitar most nights for entertainment.

Colonial lobby is quite active and this is where the theatre is located. Next to the lobby bar. There were quite a few university students, about 80 to 100 in one group, which added to the entertainment. Shows are typical to most resorts. Hollywood, Mexican and pirate shows. Lots of entertainment for the kids before the main show. Had a band in the lobby after the theatre shows finished


Spa: Can't comment as we didn't go to the spa.

Grounds: Beautiful and very well maintained. There were people constantly grooming the plants, grounds, etc.

Pools: Main pool is big and beautiful. Didn't spend any time there so can't really comment on the activities. Lots of kids as the children's pool with water park amenities was right next to the main pool.

Quiet pool at the Kantenah side was really nice. Small and a nice atmosphere. Very few children. Nice place to cool off after all day on the beach. Had some really good shooters. Try a Scooby Doo.

Saltwater pool is at the other end of the resort from the Kantenah. Maybe a 15-20 minute walk. Nice quiet area for relaxing and reading. Didn't spend a lot of time there.

Beach: Kantenah beach is really nice for tanning. Soft white sand. Swimming area was limited but okay for the amount of people. Lots of people snorkelling. We spent most of our days on the beach. Really felt like you were in the adult section of the resort. Very few kids. No entertainment team at this end of the beach which is nice for just relaxing. Only music was at the bar. Typical water sports available. Saw three of four different type of fish. Feed them a couple days. They advise you to shuffle your feet when going in the water to scare off stingrays so you don't step on them. Only saw one on the 6th day. Was quite large but very non-threatening. The beach is great for walking.

Restaurants/Bars: Typical For resorts. Teppanyaki/Japanese, Steak House, Italian, too many to mention, (14 in total for the entire resort). Teppanyaki was fun, food was good. Beach barbeque is held on Tuesday and Thursday nights. Chicken, steak, hot dogs, usual BBQ food. Again was good. Italian, not great. Steak house, I found to be the best for service and food. The Tikal buffet was very good. Lots of selection. Landy at the breakfast buffet was very sweet. She was always smiling and provided good service. Ate there most of the time. Pool and Beach Buffets were also good. Bars were very good overall. Lots of tropical drinks. A few name brands but mostly local brand.

Staff: Not overly friendly, but did their jobs quite well. Rooms were cleaned daily. Maids did a great job. Stocked mini fridge with lots of water, pop and 4 beer. We tipped daily.

Rooms: As mentioned, nicely refurbished, clean, flat screen TV. Nice marble bathroom. No problem with anything. Air conditioning work good. We were in building 47 on the third floor. Had a balcony overlooking the trees. Nice and quiet for sleeping. Beds and pillows are quite firm.

Overall I felt this was one of the nicest resorts I have been. I have been to a few Iberostars, the Gran Bahia Ambar and the Grand Palladium Bavaro in Punta Cana which I was not fond of because it was really dated and in dire need of a facelift. So no comparison between the two. I know my friend enjoyed the resort as much as I did.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little bit of a walk to the beach, building 47 is ideal for quietness and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear CindyLW,

Thank you for your great review, with so many tips and suggestions to future guest.

We are thankful for you to take the time to write such a beautiful post.

We will keep improving for your next visit. Tahnk you as well to your friend who you informed us enjoyed as well as much as you did.

Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This resort has so much to offer! More restaurants than we could visit in our stay, all with fabulous food and excellent service. We had smoked samon at breakfast and lobster on the beach and an amazing cooking show at the Japanese restaurant. There were talented musicians all over, great bartenders ( Carlos makes a fantastic dirty monkey ) and friendly staff all around. Beautiful beaches, lots of room at the pool ( some with entertainment, some very quiet), tennis courts, billiards, mini golf, a jacuzzi on our balcony. ... It was a wonderful trip we will never forget. Thank you so much to all of the staff at the Palladium.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Danyelle A,

Thank you for such an emotional post that you describe and we love the fact you had more than a great holiday, so an incredible experience.

We hope you keep same time in Canada and you give us again in the future the chance to surprise you again.

Best regards,


Celia Benito
Director Adjunto / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.