We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a first visit to Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off + Webcome Package
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for a first visit to Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My fiance and I spent a week at this resort in February and we had a great time. Our room was clean, the selection of food terrific, and the grounds were really well maintained. Our room (4608) was in a quiet building, not far from the main pool, the lobby, and the beach. We were greeted by pink flamingos every morning. We never had issues with a la carte restaurants. In fact, you don't have to make reservations and if you don't want to have to wait for a seat (they give you beepers), just show up before 7pm. My favorites were the Brazilian, ribs and more, and the Mediterranean. The buffets were good, there was blue cheese and smoked salmon at almost every meal but we ended up eating mexican every day because it was so fresh. , The fruit selection was great. We thought they could improve the ice cream and some deserts. For us, the hotel complex's best kept secrets were the sea water pool and its bar (don't miss the fire show/party once a week there), the Hemingway bar to play cards and for international brands like Bailey's, the fabulous spa with free access to steam baths and jacuzzis, the sportsbar (they even organized a superbowl event). Things they could improve: the evening shows (they were late and boring), and more shuttles between hotels given the size of the complex

Room Tip: Kantenah is the quiet hotel on complex. It is far from hotel Riviera where shows are, but close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Fabtheluck,

Thank you for your time and good comments.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,129
    1,076
    357
    150
    79
See reviews for
1,059
1,619
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Four of us (two couples) stayed at the Kantenah last week of Jan2012. It was our first time at one of the Grand Palladiums and we can't say enough about the place. We've all been to many resorts and can say without a doubt this was our favourite one yet. And, it wasn't because of any one specific thing but the whole experience as a whole. To sum it up...no reservations required for a la cartes, no a la carte limits, unlimited access to all four resorts, two of the biggests pools you'll ever see in your life and a spa big enough to be it's own resort almost...and I'm not even a spa person, that is untill now :-)

We all agreed it was the first resort we would revisit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Azoresbound55,

Thank you for share with us your excellent comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went over the Christmas holidays and really enjoyed this resort. The room was decent and we had a nice walk out balcony. It's a quite a walk to the beach depending on where your room is located but the grounds are beautiful so it more than makes up for it. The buffets were all really good. This was my first time to Mexico without getting sick - I've been 6 times. The staff are very friendly. The Kantenah has the best beach of the 3 Palladiums that are connected at this resort. The White Sand was too far away from everything and we met people who came to the Kantenah or Colonial just see other people. If you like VERY quiet and no beach, White Sand would be a good choice. The only negative was that we arrived late at night and it was dark. They delivered our bags to our room but only gave us directions on how to get there. It's very dark and disorientating and we got lost. Luckily the golfcart with our bags come by and directed us to our room. Would recommend this resort to nature lovers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear CheriFictional,

It's a pleasure to know that you have had a great vacation with us. Thank you for your time.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family went to this resort in January 2013 for a week and we thought it was great. The staff are very friendly and are quick to help you with anything. The resort is surrounded by nature and wildlife and we loved it, it's very beautiful and you get to see a lot of animals. The rooms and facilities are very clean and the water is safe to drink except for in the rooms. There are plenty of restaurants and buffets to choose from and the food was very good. The pool is nice and big and the beach is beautiful. The bar staff are excellent, if you find your drinks are weak, like we did, just tell them to make your drink strong. Go to the spa on a rainy day, it was very nice and relaxing. The only criticism I have is that at some of the restaurants the service was very very slow even though they were not very busy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear M0n888,

I am glad to know that you have had a great vacation with us. Thank you for comments and for your time.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went there for a family wedding. The place was overrun with obnoxious eastern Europeans, who insisted on standing in the background of our wedding pictures in their skimpy swimwear gawking.
The food was horrid in both the buffets and the a la cart restaurants. All except 2 of the a la carts didn't take reservations. They wouldn't give you a table unless your entire group was present, so organizing a dinner for a group of 20 was virtually impossible, especially since the phones didn't work to call each others' rooms and make plans.
The service staff was attentive enough, but it was sometimes difficult to find staff to help you. Coffee refills at breakfast were sometimes non-existent.
There is no room service available, but the maids are nice and keep the rooms clean. You had to ask for more than 2 towels. The air conditioning and fans are set up on a motion sensor, so when you are not in your room or when the patio door is open, they turn off and it gets stuffy quickly.
Based on this experience, not only would we NEVER go back to this resort, we would never stay at a grand Palladium resort anywhere else either.

Room Tip: Stay in the White Sands area. it is the nicest between the Kantenah, Colonial, White Sands, Riviera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Ashley J,

I would like to offer you our sincere apologies for any incident that you might have had during your vacation. We always try to help our guest and when we have the information in the moment, it's more easy give a correct answer.

I am sorry to know that you left the hotel with this impresion and please, if you change your opinion and you decide to visit us in the future, it will be a pleasure to help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayded at this hotel from January 25th to February 3rd 2013. Everything was EXELLENT during first week of our vacation. We liked it so much! One bad thing that happend very desappointed us. My wedding ring was stollen from our room on the 7th day of our vacation. We reported to the main office and they told us they will investigate that and send us a letter or give us a call during three days, but it is never happend. We didn't recieve any letter or call from them. We left that country with good and bad feelings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Olga M,

I would like to offer you our apologies for the incidents that you have had during your vacation. Please, if you can give me more details about your reservation, I could give you a correct answer.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
dtor.colonialkantenah@palladiumhotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just spent a week at the Kantenah with family (all older than 20yrs). Can't say enough good things about this resort. I had read some negative reviews and the pictures on the resort website made the facilities look out-of-date, so I was a little nervous about our stay. Our travel agent insisted we give it a try, and we were blown away by the resort. The facilities are modern, clean and absolutely breath-taking. The food was excellent. The beach was very busy, but it is so big, there is always room to swim and play. The resort hosts so many fun activities throughout the day, it is impossible to try them all - in fact, we only left the resort once, which is very out-of-character for us. We rode a mechanical bull, snorkelled, took scuba lessons (give it a try, you will LOVE it!), went to the dance club, hung out at the pool... I could go on and on. Most importantly, I have to pay a sincere compliment to the staff, who really make this resort stand-out. We befriended many of the resorts staff, who always remembered our names. They were friendly, hard-working and (very!) fluent in English. House-keeping did a great job, the grounds keepers were meticulous, the restaurant staff were on the ball and the bartenders were hilarious!!

We met many families and couples who have returned to the resort more than once, and I can say we will be joining the club. I'll be back.

Room Tip: In our opinion, the Junior Suite upgrade isn't really worth it. The standard room was more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Tara S S,

Thank you for your excellent comments. I appreciate your time. For us it's very important your opinion about your vacation in Grand Palladium.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything in the future.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.