We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mostly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We travelled as a family myself, my partner and 2 year old. We found the service very good and the staff friendly unlike some other reviews. Check in was quick although we got a pre booked taxi instead of the coach to the hotel. Free Up grade to a suite which was lovely villa 49. A good location for us once we found all the short cuts. We only ate at the buffets as my son was poorly with a bad cough and cold the 2nd week so not easy to plan meals around, his illness had nothing to do with the hotel or the food just a common cough and cold!! This for me was the biggest let down some food was ok and some was terrible. The presentation was not good and sometimes the food wasn't hot or even warm. There was how ever always a lot of choice and was only what I expected of a very large hotel catering for many guests quickly. We heard that the a la carte restaurants were good and we were disappointed not to try them. The pool was great never cramped and lots of sun beds. Beach was beautiful and good if you wanted more shade and breeze. Our room cleaner was great most but not all days we had towel art and when my son was poorly and asleep in the day she would come back later and clean for us or phone to see if we wanted our room to be cleaned. Our fridge was always refilled. On a couple of the days the reception called to see that we were happy with everything which was a nice extra touch. Often we didn't wait for the train we walked but if we didn't fancy it a quick call to the bell boy and was there in minutes to collect us. The spa looked amazing and I had a massage which was very good. We spent our evenings in the kantenah lobby and the service was always great. Really couldn't fault the hotel and are planning to go back next year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Hayley D,

I appreciate your time for share with us your comments. Thank you.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    780
    281
    147
    100
See reviews for
913
1,182
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just back today.....from this amazing resort....spent the best 2 weeks holiday ever and I travel a lot.
The resort is perfect in every area food, location ,cleanliness, staff.
Just be aware it takes a while to get your bearings as the resort itself is massive but the amount of wildlife I have seen has blown my partner and I away..
We stayed at the Kantenha area of the resort which was perfect as there was a quite small pool which was idea for us...we met other scots on this holiday which was ace as we travelled together as a group to numerous days out....which made it even more special...!.
Trips you have to do is Tulum, Akumal Beach, Xplor.........they were all fantastic and Akumal beach is the most amazing experience ever getting the opportunity to swim with sea turtles was just fantastic....don't do the tour as they are around everywhere in the water ....you can hire a snorkel and floatation vest....they are cheap to hire and add to the experience.....so you don't need a guide just do your own thing...no sunbeds though just use your beach towel and find a palm tree and you'll be sorted.
Anyway back to the hotel.....im absolutely stunned there has been negative reviews on this hotel we have had a holiday to remember thanks to all you guys at the Grand Palladium....we will be back see you all next year.....

Room Tip: Try and get a top room floor overlooking the trees....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Castlerankie,

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacation with us.

Please, if we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I would like to say that I am unsure whether some of these reviewers stayed I the same place as us! One person has written that the bar staff & waiting staff were miserable!?! To be quite honest they were so upbeat it was ridiculous!!! Anyway to the review......

We arrived at the resort to be upgraded for free to a suite, we didn't ask it was given complimentary & we were so lucky as it was one which was adjacent to the pool & beach. 3105 (Lots of greenery so no view however this doesn't fuss us)

Pool: Plenty of sunbeds, no one seems to rise until 10am - I am a sun worshiper so enjoyed the choice of beds around the pool!

SPA: if you have no kids, this is where you want to be - its so tranquil & gorgeous pool.

Beach: Lovely.. A little busy however not an issue, plenty of sunbeds & a lovely breeze to keep you cool in the hot temperatures.

Food: Brekkie - We ate at the buffet for breakfast every morning, so much selection & very fresh. Lunch - We ate at the buffet next to the pool bar, again fresh & lots of selection, beach bar was ok however food a bit rough.
Dinner - Buffet most nights, they cook meat & pasta fresh to order, lots of variation of food & theme nights each night. We ate at the following a la cartes -Chinese, nice. Steak place (next to the Mexican) gross. Mexican - not good, Italian, nice.

Drinks & Bars - All bars were good, we really liked Hemmingways, adult only.
Drinks were good in all bars.

Playa Del Carmen - We got the bus as recommended by a couple that we met (who randomly live 30 mins from me in the UK!) It is 35 pesos per person each way & a great shopping day for me! Beach was ok there & lots of bars/restaurants.

Summary: A lovely place to stay, I have been to quite a few AI resorts long haul & this is up there as one of my favourite 3. I would recommend to anyone & to reiterate what I said at the beginning... This is a 5 star review... Anything less than a 4 I would be questionning......

Go & Enjoy!!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you Buckmore for taking time to share with us your excellent comments. I appreciate your time.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have been in Cancun, Cozumel and Puerto Vallarta. So we wanted to try Riviera Maya this time. We chose Grand Palladium Colonial based on the price and the reviews. Overall, it was a nice experience.

Airport Transfer: We used USA Transfers. It took an hour to get to the resort. The van was very clean and comfortable.

Check-in: We arrived at the resort around 1:30 pm, and it took about 15 minutes to complete the process. Our room was not ready. So we lelf our luggage with the bellboy and headed to the buffet restaurant for lunch. We were able to check in our room at 2:40 pm.

Room: Our room in Villa # 7 on the top floor, which was what we wanted: easy access to the pool, beach, restaurants and lobby. (I sent a request a week before arrival.for a non-smoking room in villa closer to the beach.) Our maid did an excellent job as we found our room very clean very day. We loved the bathroom with the detachable shower. I agreed with other reviews that the beds, pillows and bedding sheets need to be updated. There was a mini bar in the room including with water bottles,sodas and beers. It was restocked daily which was very nice. There was TV in the room, it never worked. Although we marked on the card hanging to the door that we needed the TV to be fixed, but it never happened. Oh well, we were not there to watch TV anyway.

Pool/ Beach: We used the pool in Colonial. It was huge. There were always plenty of chairs no matter what time we got to the pool or the beach. There beach in front of Colonial was very nice: soft sand, no rocks. No water shoes needed at this section. We were there 7 days and there were 2/7 there was lot of seaweed, but that was due to the wind. It was calm. Even though it was red flag, it was still calmer than the beach in Cancun and Puerto Vallarta. There were lot of fishes right on the beach. We even saw 3 stingrays.

Restaurants: In the morning, we ate at the indoor buffet restaurant (La Hacienda). For the afternoons, we had lunch at the outdoor buffet by the pool El Gran Azul. For dinners, we tried the Chinese, Japanese, Steak House, Italian, and Ribs & More. Our favorite was the Steak House, Japanese and the Seafood night at the Buffet. Overall, we found the food was good.

Staffs/ Service: They all worked very hard and tried their best to please everyone. There were times the service was slow in a-la-carte restaurants, but when we saw managers cleaning the tables, we understood that they were under-staffed. We were on vacation, no hurry anyway.

Entertainment: We watched the nightly shows 5/7 days. In general, the dancers were very professional. They trained and worked very hard. As adults, we enjoyed the shows. However, we thought that the female dancers' costumes were a little
inappropriate for young kids.

The ground: Very nice and clean. The whole resort complex was huge. However, the were trams and trains to take guests to villas and lobbies. However, we loved to walk except at night due to mosquitoes. There were lot of mosquitoes. We were told that usually it was not that bad but because it rained 4 days in a row before our trip, so there were more mosquitoes than normal.

In brief, it was a very nice experience. The only drawback was the mosquitoes. My 6 years old got bitten badly all over his arm, and lower legs even though I reapplied the mosquito repellent every 2 hours but still couldn't keep up with it. We were bitten even in the a-la-carte restaurants and in our room (noted that we kept our room door closed all the time.) This was so far the only time that my husband and I couldn't sit on the balcony to enjoy a cup of coffee at night due to mosquitoes. So would we come back to Grand Palladium in Riviera Maya? We don't know.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear botbien,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments.
We appreciate so much your time and your opinion.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been there for a wedding; actually, it is 4 resorts in one. Lots of Restaurants, couple of open Buffets too to choose from, Great swimming pools. The chapel was really nice, The Beach was clean, no sea weed.
Down side, might be the distance between the rooms and the pool or the beach (it depends on where is your room located). The quality of food was ok not great. There is no room service (to order food in the room). Also, no service around the pool (no server with drinks) you have to go to the bar to ask for one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Emad_10,

Thank you for share with us your comments.

Don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from our vacation at the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort and we must back up what other trip advisor's have reviewed, it is a truly superb facility.Quite honestly it was very hard to find fault with the resort.On our arrival we were upgraded from a double room to a suite at no extra charge and had the added bonus of being adjacent to the pool complex and beach.We must commend the staff for the continual cleaning and high standard of maintenance observed during our visit, it was a pleasure to experience the high standards expected from this complex.The staff were very friendly and always eager to please and ensure that the guests requirements were always met.There was plenty of choice of eating venues from the eight al-carte restaurants and six multiple choice buffet restaurants delivering a varied choice of good quality well presented food.The all Inclusive package included International branded Spirits and local Mexican beers and wine.The Cocktail menu was very comprehensive and was also included in the package.The room we had included a mini bar that was replenished daily,tea/coffee making facilities, Ironing facility,Jacuzzi Bath,Internal/External Shower and large flat screen TV.The evening entertainment was probably the best we have have experienced in any hotel. The Palladium Peoples Ballet productions were again delivered to very high standard. The pirate show we enjoyed immensely.These were presented at 9pm and 10-15pm daily. The animation daily program was also to a very high standard and included Salsa dance sessions beach volley ball, soccer, bucking bronco, water polo and free pool scuba diving lessons to name a few. The evening entertainment also included live music in many of the complex lobbies.On Sunday the volley ball area played host to outside dining, where very large pans of paella were being prepared for outside pool dining.The very large complex is served by a very efficient and fast transport system to the Villa's, lobbies and Spa center.The Spa complex is very Impressive and offers many varied treatments. Some of the Spa facilities are part of the All Inclusive package but many of the treatments are at extra cost.The large pool area is supported by high number of sunbeds.The adjacent beach area has also a large number of sunbeds and the chance to experience the warm Caribbean waters.There is so much to do within this complex you should never get bored, but if you want to venture outside the the complex it is very safe to do so. The area operates a fast and frequent mini bus service to Playa de Carmen and Tulum for 35 Peso's per person/trip for that shopping/Mayan ruins and beach experience.Overall this was a very excellent first Introduction to Mexico and we must again thank the staff of the Grand Palladium for very enjoyable holiday experience.

Room Tip: Book a table early for the Al-Carte Restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Holey59,

Thank you for taking time for share with us your opinion. We appreciate your time.
If we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

First 3 trips were to Cancun so wanted to try something different. Beautiful beach. Not sure what people would complain about. So very many really nice employees. I am early 50's - my daughter/husband in 20's, granddaughter 5. Something for all of us. Take your snorkel mask since there are tons of beautiful fish right off the beach. Multiple shows each night, disco if you can stay awake late. I do not want to have to dress up when I've been relaxing all day and did not need to, but could at nicer restaurants/bars if I wanted. Honestly - once you pay for the resort you could easily just spend the entire vacation on the resort relaxing with no side trips (although we did day to Xel-Ha and took bus to city....) I would go back, and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 21 which was close enough to beach and lobby (breakfast!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear KerryLP,

Thank you for your good comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.