We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palladium time share sales?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Calgary Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Palladium time share sales?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our 4th time at the pallidium as the food and spa are better than some of the others on the mayan strip. Our carrier Transat now has weird routing to Cancun from Calgary north to Edmonton and back over Calgary, be aware as the other carriers are direct without adding 2-3 hours (same price) The palladium is offering prepaid hotel for $15 K, when factoring in all inclusive cost $82 - $212 per person per day and no airfair it's less to buy a full package on line and not be locked in. Our only complaint is that they don't try to honour building requests ( same catagory) 3 out of 4 times and we alwas go elsewhere for awile but end up back as it is a favorite. Do tip the great staff it means alot, bellmen always have change.

Room Tip: juniors 9 20 21 if you don't mind walking
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear DougCalgaryCanada,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay with us. I am happy to know that you had have an amazing experience at Grand Palladium Resorts & Spa.

With best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    778
    281
    147
    100
See reviews for
911
1,179
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edwardsville, ill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was our 11trip to the area and our 4th to the Palladium We are truly addicted to this place. Last year, we felt the food was slipping but we love the beach and the Palladium has a great beach so we booked again.
We are not picky and we can always find something to eat.I must say we were pleasanlty surprised with the quality of the food this time. Since you do not have to make reservations ahead for the alacartes, we ate at one every night and skipped the buffets for dinner. We did do buffets for breakfats and had great fresh food. Do try Punta Emilia at night. It's a beach bar that turns into seafood restaurant at night(you will need to make a reservation) it's so nice we went there 2 times. The ambiance was terrific as was the food.
We did not experience any stomach issues at all. We even brush our teeth and drink water from the faucet in the room.
The palladium has 2 beach bars that serve fresh food to order and we ate our lunches and snacks there. None of the other resorts we have been to have had this and we love it as you don't have to leave the beach.Ther is no waiter service directly on the beach but the bars are very close.
The service was good everywhere we went, whether we tipped or not. Our room although showing some age was clean and comfortable.We stayed in a regular room for the first time and had plenty of room for the 2 of us .Colonial 634. You are allowed to use all the amenities except for the royal section.
There are the regular type shows at night but there are also a couple of good bands that play at the Colonial Bar.

We did not leave the resort in the 10 days we were there and never got bored. The beach has everything that we could ask for.
The Palladium is a great value and we are looking forward to going back next year. I look at different places but am afraid to try anywhere else as it has exactly what we need,
Great Service, Good food and Excellent beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you BeachQueen51 for taking time to share with us and others readers, your feedback about your vacation in Grand Palladium. It's a pleasure for us to know that you had have a good experience here with us.

With best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband & I and our friends vacationed at the Grand Palladium Colonial from Sept 9 to Sept 16. This was our fifth time at the resort and hopefully, it won't be our last. We were upgraded to a Mayan Suite in Villa 30 and it was the perfect location - close to the pool, beach, outdoor lunch buffet, beach bar, etc. The beach was fantastic. Husband and friend snorkeled at the reef on the left side (facing the ocean) of the Colonial beach everyday and they were able to see various fish, lobster, etc. Resort was very clean. Employees are all wonderful and go out of their way to help the guests. We ate at an ala carte restaurant every night and they were all good, but some better than others. Portofino was especially good. We saw one night show and it was very entertaining. Would I go back to the Grand Palladium? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Villa 30 - Mayan Suite - Colonial Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear b0bcat66_11,

I am glad that you have shared with us your impressions about your holidays in Grand Palladium. I am happy to know that you had have a pleasant stay again with us.


We definitively will look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

With best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

My wife & I celebrated our 20th anniversary at the grand colonial resort & spa.This hotel the staff & the surrounding grounds where honestly out of this world.This was our first time to Mexico & we loved it. Up on arrival we were given an upgrade to a junior suite & a bottle of champagne had been left in our room courtesy of the management thankyou so much.If anyone has ever thought about going to Mexico for a holiday then this hotel is the place to stay situated in the heart of the jungle fabulous wildlife iguanas, monkeys etc.We will never forget

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear dave65Uk,

Thank you for choosing our property for such a special occasion. We really appreciate your comments and we are glad to know that you and your partner had have a great time with us.

Kindest regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon Sept 4th -18th. We booked the honeymoon with Thomson a year prior and excitedly read the reviews every day and from those we had high expectations, particularly as we were on our honeymoon and had been told by Thomson to expect special treatment including a free upgrade and a complimentary fruit basket and bottle of tequila.

On arrival at the Colonial lobby we were greeted by a male receptionist who informed us we were ‘lucky enough to get an upgrade’. We were excited and had in our minds the photos we had seen of indoor baths and outdoor showers, however, arriving at our room we walked in a little shocked to find a small basic room, not like the lovely photos we had seen on this site. There was no fruit basket or tequila that we were promised, no towl art, and in walking into the bathroom we found a sink full of hairs which were obviously from someone having shaved, so in other words we were left assuming the room had barely been cleaned at all.

Our phone in the room did not work, so before unpacking we decided to walk back to the reception and inform them of what we had found, by this time it was about 6pm and were very tired after a 10 hour flight and 2 hour transfer. We explained this very politely and expressed our sadness as it was our honeymoon. The lady on reception was extremely rude to us, and looked at us blankly asking what we wanted them to do. We explained we wanted either our room cleaned or to move rooms to a new clean room. She then continued to talk to her colleague in Spanish angrily and made it quite obvious they were talking about us. We found this shocking considering we were asking so nicely and were not making a fuss. She then informed us they could move us but it would be a downgrade to a room with two small doubles and that it would be another few days until they could move us into a room with a kingsize bed. We asked if they could clean our current room but she acted like she didn’t understand English (??) So we just agreed to the downgrade. We also mentioned the fruit basket and tequila to which she rudely told us that no honeymooners do not receive this, we explained we were told by Thomson we would, she then checked with her colleague and came back and with no apology said yes we would get this the next day. The days rolled by, but we never received this, we mentioned it to reception the 3rd time we moved rooms, and again they said the next day, but we never got it, by the end of the holiday we gave up and felt so annoyed that we felt like we didn’t even want the fruit or tequila after the way we were dealt with.

When moved into our 3rd basic room we returned from a day at the beach to find the entrance to our room covered in water from a leaking ceiling! As our room phone did not work in any of the 3 rooms were in! we had to walk back to the lobby to tell them. To be fair they did fix it quickly and we had no problems with the leek after that.

We had other little problems arise like our room key not working (meant another trip to reception!) having a cockroach and a lizard in our room (we assume let in by the cleaners) we removed those ourselves as we couldn’t face another talk with the receptionists.One thing I would add is that we did notice that the receptionists on the morning shifts were a bit nicer and did assist us when moving to our third room and when our room card did not work.


However, after all of these problems the fact is we were determined to enjoy ourselves and we did. We thought the beach was perfect; had wonderful views and was central to making our time their special.There were always plenty of sun loungers and it was rarely busy. We also loved the colonial and white sands pools, they are massive and all you could ask for in a swimming pool. The bars were great, and the lobby entertainment was fun and got you in the holiday spirit. The drinks were great, there is so much choice and they always tasted good. We never waited too long for waitress service.

We ate at most of the a la cartes, unfortunately starting at the Italian which was awful, and the others were just ok, we enjoyed the Mexican and the Mediterranean. The buffets were okay, breakfast was good. The hotel caters well for so many people, but even though we tried to select different dishes we still found everything tasted similar and we started to feel a bit sick of the food by week two. Also on our last night we ate at the buffet and had chicken skewers that were cooked on the show grill in front of us, yet it was completely raw inside so we didnt eat it. We also ate at both of the beach bars a few times, this was a lovely place to sit and get a breeze in the heat, the food was again ok.

We braved the collectivo into Playa de Carmen, that was an experience! They don’t worry about safety in Mexico, there was about 15 of us crushed into a 10man van. Make sure you shout your hotel name at the driver when approaching the stop, or he wont stop for you. Watch out in Playa de Carmen for men pretending to be ‘Carlos’ saying they recognise you from the hotel, they will tell you that they also work part time in the lobby and remember you, then saying will you come look at my store. It’s a trick, they spot your wristbands so they know the hotels you are from, we heard several men doing this to groups of tourists – all called Carlos, all working in lobbies.

Over all we really enjoyed our stay, we loved the hotel layout and the set up of it all, and the weather was amazing. We do feel that we enjoyed ourselves so much because of our attitude and that we generally have fun in everything we do, but we couldn’t help feeling like the hotel was trying to do all they could to upset things. We felt very let down by the service we were given, we didn’t expect to be treated like royalty just because we were on honeymoon, but after reading these reviews and hearing of people getting upgrades for no reason, we felt led to believe that we would receive a little special treatment, instead we were given negative treatment. We do wonder if it was an age thing, we are a young couple (late 20’s) and we did feel like older couples were treated with more respect. To make us happy would have taken some minimal efforts from the hotel, but instead they were rude and dismissive.

I would recommend the hotel for someone wanting a relaxing beach holiday at a reasonable price, but would say don’t expect 5 star, expect 4 star surroundings with 3star food, and 2 star receptionists (especially those on the evening shift). If like us you are reading this having already booked your holiday, don’t worry, if you relax and remember you are on holiday you will have a great time, and we would recommend complaining to reception, even though it didn’t work for us! We won’t be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear MrandMrs1981,

I would like to give my apologies for the incidents that you have had during your stay with us. I will take note about all of your comments and I will see this with our Assistents Managers for to analize what's happened.

All comments are very important and these comments are comunicated to our staff for take to measures and situations like this don't happen in the future.

I would like to ask you if it's possible have more information about your reservation so that I can check what happened with your room please.

If you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, please don't hesitate to contact with us.

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager
dtor.colonialkantenah@fiestahotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Hi all this is my first review ' but after having such a good time felt the hotel/staff deserve it..

We arrived on the 6th Sep to the hotel was was knocked off our feet with the welcome ..We were meet at the booking desk with cold towels and a cold drink were we were told the we had a free upgrade to a Junior Suite ...(block20)...
The rooms were clean well made .The maid came every day (towel art was so nice) the mini fridge was filled up every morning ...couldn't fault it one bit

resort

The resort its self is very big .But come on the people who complain about this your thousands of miles from home...its not all about food and drink...have a walk and look around .."the jungle/mangroves are so well looked after the gardening team do a fantastic job .But there's little trains/golf buggies that with take you all over the site ..The main pools are very big this is were all the day time entertainment happens ...but if you want quite time the salt pool or the two adult pools and the place to relax ..Or why not try the sea lol there's lots of coral but look out were all the people are and your find the sand...Me and my son got up most days at sun rise (5.30 ishh) and to our surprise the cleaners were out getting all the sea weed up... Every night the POP team put shows on in the Colonial lobby until 10ishh then jump on to the train and watch the other show at the riviera..then off to the night club (or like us to bed)
Nearly forgot ....don't forget to got to the spa...mmmmmm gym,Jacuzzi,sauna 'hot bath and steam rooms or free the only thing you pay for are beauty treatment and massages

Food
The only place were i have been were you can take a tour of all the kitchens any time of day just by ask ing a member of staff to arrange it for you.
Now were do i start the palladium has 8 a la carte restaurants 5 buffet restaurants 26 bars .We found the food real good at the la'carte ..But me liking to fill my face the Colonial buffet got my vote morning /noon and night...The choice was out of this world everything you want is not a problem...(i recorded the noon/dinner if any one wants to look i will place on youtube)..having worked in the food industry for 22 years i can tell you the hygiene was spot on with chefs/mangers walking around all the time testing the temperatures and quality... Who ever say you can't get a coffee or tea don't listen to them ' coffee/tea was brought to our table as soon as we sat down Or there are two coffee machines around the buffet ..Or you can snack out at one of the beach bars...We came back from coco bongos at 4 in the morning went to the 24 bar and the chef was happy to cook us food and have a chat...

All in all we had one of the best holidays ever and will be returning again...next year....
PS the segway tour is a must $35...and and 20 (£1.20) peso tip goes a long long way(cleaners/bar staff/buffet/waitress/mini fridge/Gardeners)

Room Tip: Email ahead of time with room request they will try there hardest to fulfill your request but cannot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear gav1n157,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium. We are glad to know that you had have a great time with us.

Best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We visited the Colonial 30th August 14th Septemeber 2011. What a fantastic two weeks. This was the third return for two of our party of five and they said it gets better every time. As a vegetarian I'm always worried when I go away but all the restaurants ( including the steak house) and the buffet had a fantastic supply of veggie food. All Labeled clearly!
The beach was stunning, the pools were relaxing and it was always really clean!

We did very little excursions as there was so much to do in the hotel, one of the group did all the scuba diving trips and especially loved the Cozumels. We did the turtle snorkel which was incredible! We saw 7 turtles and lots of beautiful fish.

I would recommend this holiday for familys, couples and friends as there is so much to do for everyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Megan E,

Thank you for taking time to give us your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium. All comments are appreciated and it's help for improve our service constantly.

Best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.