We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love to visit Hekab Be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal

Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal
Akumal Main Road | on the way to the beach, left hand side, Akumal, Mexico
9841300920
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #9 of 13 attractions in Akumal
Type: Libraries
Attraction Details
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We love to visit Hekab Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This little library in Akumal also serves as a community center and school for the folks in Akumal. Children come to learn to read, write and do math free of charge. This place is run solely on donations but somehow manages to continue doing their good works.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Visit Akumal and make a donation to the local library!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

There are some amazing programs going on at this little library. I've seen it really grow and come into its own over the years. I always check their wishlist online and try to bring some of the items in my suitcase. It's a short walk up the beach from Akumal Beach Resort or Akumal Playa. It's a great way to give back to the community for sharing their beautiful beach with us

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“everyone's local library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a perfect spot for anyone on vacation to visit. If you have room in your suitcase, bring some books, crayons, or small toys to donate to their afterschool literacy program. If you are just enjoying time on Akumal's white powdery beaches...drop by the library and check out a novel to enjoy in a variety of languages. Better yet, go to the section on Yucatec Maya language and learn some mayan words while you work on your tan. I have been enjoying this library on all of my travels to the Akumal area, since 2001. This library is helping the local community, their children, their environment and it is a jewel!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A jungle treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A well stocked library in English and Spanish. The staff is very outgoing, pleasant and helpful.
But the best is to see the local kids learn to read, play and in general have fun.
When coming to Akumal, drop in and visit. Something special for you is to bring some type of supplies: pencils, paper, scotch tape ...anything a library and children can use in the learning process.
Check their website and they have a list of needs.
Please support the local children.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stopped by to drop off a donation and were warmly welcomed and thanked with a tour and a visit with the kids. My own children were very happy we were able to visit!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.