We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TAO Wellness Center

TAO Wellness Center
Bahia Principe Residential Complex, Akumal 77780, Mexico
984 875 5007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 18 activities in Akumal
Type: Spas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An onsite holistic Wellness Center, part of the TAO Residential Community. The center features a movement room with daily yoga, meditation, tai chi, qi gong, zumba and pilates classes; a swimming pool and lap pool with saline water; locker rooms with steam baths; a healthy snack bar; a socially conscious boutique; a vibrant gym; world-class lecture hall for up to 150 people; lounge; terraces and the an energy treatment program featuring an uncommon selection of life balancing and rejuvenation treatments, including the region’s most amazing traditional healing arts program, which centers on the Temazcal Ceremony.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tao Wellness Center is a gem tucked away in a lush green jungle setting. The Center core concept is based on Wellness with an emphasis on Maya culture and healing. A highlight of this is the Temazcal ceremony which is an ancient Mayan ceremony to cleanse your body & soul. The Center provides classes in Yoga, Tai Chi, Qi Gong, Zumba & Meditation along with a small weight room with treadmills, stationary bikes, rowing machine, resistance & free weights. There is a large pool and a resistance lap pool available for swimming. It is available for use by all guests of the Bahia Principe Resort and is quite a popular facility for the resort. When the resort is busy some of the classes can get quite full. The staff of the Center are fantastic people. Always friendly and willing to help. If you enjoy wellness this is a super place to experience if you are down at the Bahia Principe.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SERENE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My sister and I were vacationing at the Gran Bahi Sian Ka'an and had guest privileges at the Tao Wellness Center just a few minute ride from the resort. The Tao Wellness Center is situated in a beautiful jungle and the place is just magical. We visited one afternoon and decided to have a massage at the wellness center. I had an amazing Holistic Bodywork & Aromatherapy. Prior to arriving at the Tao I had read Jonathan Ellerby's latest book "The Promise of Paradise" (an amazing and inspirational book). Jonathan is the CEO of the Tao Wellness Center. My husband and I are returning to the Sian Ka'an in April and will visit the Tao Wellness Center again and hopefully run into Jonathan and have a chance to visit with him.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Peaceful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was part of a group travelling together for a Yoga Retreat hosted by the Tao Wellness Centre. It was a rewarding trip which included full use of the Tao facilities and wonderful excursions to cenotes, canal swims, zip-lining over a lagoon, visiting Mayan pyramids and much more. I thoroughly enjoyed the Yoga, Tai Chi and Qigong classes available at the Tao Centre as well as the beautiful lap pools. The Temazcal was a truly special ceremony much like a Mayan version of a Native American sweat lodge. I hope to visit again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we recently had the opportunity to lead a yoga holiday in the mayan riviera- the tao centre organized and hosted this amazing trip. Daily access to the beautiful Tao wellness centre was the home base for our yoga. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our private Yoga in a glass & open air space that is in the tree tops. We shopped in the beautiful Moksha boutique.Top notch accommodations at Sian Kaa'n hotel. Daily excursions organized by Tao & local guides were uniquely tailored to our group- they gave us a sense of mayan culture, history, &spirituality while actively experiencing the natural wonders of the jungle and ocean. the temescal was a deep and profound experience- not to be missed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal
1 review
“It's Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I will go there again it was one of the most peaceful places I have ever visited. The people were very friendly and English was spoken. The setting in the jungle is well laid out and the condos are well appointed and very reasonabllly priced for this expensive this area. The food in the restaurants is exceptional.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAO Wellness Center also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to TAO Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TAO Wellness Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added TAO Wellness Center to your Saves list