We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driving into the villa
Driving into the villa
Driving into the villa
Lagoon side view of villa
Terrace view
Dining/Lounging Terrace
Library
Akumal
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janelle K
Sausalito, California, United States
1 review
“Incredible house, gorgeous lagoon, perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

What a great place to steal away for a week...or more. We've stayed twice at this wonderful home and are headed back a third time this fall. There's so much to say:
- The house is spacious, and ideal for larger groups
- The housekeepers Pedro and Octaviana are there to help with whatever you need, and take care of you like family. Octaviana's salsa might be the best we have ever had.
- The house is a short swim away from the lagoon where we have some beautiful fish and incredible sea turtles. The first year the water was choppy and the open water swim provided a great workout. Last year it was very calm and we were able to snorkel right from the back of the house. Stingrays and other sea creatures abound
- The house is pretty secluded, but is the perfect location when you really need to get away. There are actually some fantastic restaurants within walking distance - La Luna is one of the best and is only 10 minutes away

Rent this house if you are looking for a peaceful getaway, on your own time and pace. Those who love to swim will find this to be an ideal location for incredible warm waters.

We love this house. The open floorplan, beautiful back deck, and incredible views keep us coming back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The ability to access the lagoon right from the back of the property.
Liked least: The property can feel a little secluded, but we loved the privacy.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2012
Thanks Janelle. It is so true that every visit brings new features...be it the weather on the lagoon or a restaurant opening. This year Que Onda just in front of Casa Christensen opened an art retreat and they hold monthly art shows the restaurant is often open. La Lunita is still one of the best private restaurants along the beach. I am sure you will have another great trip this year! :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
duetravel...
Orvieto, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“There is a heaven...I've been there! It's Casa Christensen & I'm going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Situated right on the water at the mouth of Yal Ku lagoon, casa Christensen is an ideal place for a vacation. Every morning we would sit and watch the sunrise from the palapa style porch and then share a beer in its shade in the afternoon. The well equipped kitchen was perfect for any meal and we cooked often during the week. The housekeeper cooked for us a couple of times. Those meals were ample and terrific. Our group of seven had plenty space and privacy and all the rooms were cleaned and made up daily. If you don't want to cook there is a fun little restaurant steps from the driveway called "Que Onda". The house stayed cool partly due to its "hobbit" like construction and partly due to to wonderful ocean breezes that seemed to be ever present. There is a large library of books so reading materials are endless. I was worried about vacation in Mexico with all the negative press in the States... Let me say, every local we came in contact with was pleasant and friendly. I always felt safe. Really, the worst part was having to leave.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great, easy access to excellent snorkeling.... Fun outdoor shower after.
Liked least: The worst part was having to leave!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2012
it is all about the terraces for me too at Casa Christensen. Thanks so much for sharing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Wood River Valley Adventurers
Idaho
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 1, 2012
Octaviana & Pedro have lived and worked at Casa Christensen since 1992.....they are so much of the Casa Christensen experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$350
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Linda M
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Mar 2012
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 19 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing