We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, great location, what a price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel & Dive Package!
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views, great location, what a price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Perfect spot for what we wanted/needed! You could not get any closed to the water. Studio was spacious, huge bathroom and tub! Awesome views. TV only got maybe 5 stations, but, hey, that is not why we were there! We will return, no question. All this for about $110/night, wow

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    109
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
73
129
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Recently spent a week in one of the lower level units that is a stones throw from the water. We were there with about 20 family members for a wedding. The units are spacious and had air conditioning in each room. It was great to have the option to prepare simple meals at home rather going to the buffet. This was our first non All Inclusive vacation in Mexico and we enjoyed it. These units are well located and well maintained. Its hard to beat falling asleep to the gentle sounds of the waves each night.
We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were supposed to be on vacation February recess and got stranded in New York City during the Valentines Day Snow Storm. I called Heidi crying as we drove home in a rental car because US Air couldn't fly us home. To our really great surprise she offered us a credit voucher for a future stay. We never dreamed they would be able to accommodate us for spring break but they did! We stayed in Studio #8 for 7 nights and then moved to the hotel for our last 2 nights. We loved Studio #8. The balcony and everything is just as big and nice as the pictures show. It is a bit outdated and the linens and towels are worn( but clean). We knew all of that going in so it met our expectations. The drawback is no sitting area other than bed inside studio. We ended up bringing in the lounge chairs once and the table and chairs a couple of times. It would be nice if they had a little settee or table and 2 chairs in the space between the kitchen and bed. When we go back we will either book the 3rd floor one bedroom or the 2 bedroom one bath so we would have a sitting area. Only other complaint is no screen door on sliders in bathroom. We left them open for much needed air and our tub got dirty from straw roof materials blowing in. We loved everything about Akumal and Half Moon Bay. We had a hard time deciding between Vista Del Mar and Hotel Akumal Carib on Akumal Bay. After walking into town and seeing all the tourists on Akumal Bay we were so happy with our decision. The beach is definitely prettier and there are no rocks on Akumal Bay but with a pair of swim shoes or teva sandals Half Moon Bay is fine. It is so quiet and peaceful (if that is what you are looking for- it was what we were looking for) You can always walk over and hang at Akumal Bay if you want the beach is public. We loved the kitchen especially the toaster and the blender. We definitely missed them when we had to move to the hotel. It was windy for April and the water was rougher and louder than we had hoped. The maid service was top notch, the desk staff were great especially Juan Carlo who is super nice! Actually all three were super nice. Jocelyn helped me blow up my tube and retrieve a couple of bags the maids thought were garbage. One of the best things is being right next door to the only bar on the beach in Akumal. Buena Vida rocks! Great view, good food, decent table service, outstanding bar service and reasonable prices- just a great all around vibe. The other place we LOVED was Pancho Villa next to Turtle Café (also good) in town. Rent bikes for the week. You think the walk is ok and just when you get sick of the walk all the bikes get rented and you are stuck walking. As far as the hotel its probably just fine if you aren't moving from a studio. They are small rooms everything you need but they are small! We will definitely be back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in hotel 102 on ground floor and loved that we could walk right out onto beach. We moved f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 6-night stay at Vista del Mar hotel. I previously stayed on Half Moon Bay in one of the condos, but this time, we picked the hotel as the least expensive option during the busy spring break season.

We requested top floor and got #305, the standard queen room. We arrived around 1 pm and were very happy that the room was ready for us (the official check-in time is 3 pm). The room, painted turquoise, is pretty basic and not big, but has all the necessities - 20L of purified water, a fridge, a coffeemaker plus some cups and plates, free WiFi. Things mentioned in other reviews - such as water taking a while to warm up, ants, or old-ish sheets - were all present but didn't bother us. We never once used the AC - the sea breeze and the ceiling fan made it pleasantly cool. The staff was friendly and helpful - e.g., arranged a cab back to the airport for a decent price.

The best things about Vista del Mar are the gorgeous view of the entire bay (especially from the privacy of the 3rd-floor balcony) and of course, the location! Two good lunch options - La Buena Vida and La Lunita - are within minutes from the hotel, and we enjoyed walking to both Yal-Ku and Akumal Bay. Snorkeling is also good right outside the hotel/Buena Vida, but I preferred to walk a bit to the north and swim out to the larger reef. Overall, we had a great time and would recommend Vista del Mar as a basic, budget option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA....USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice, nothing fancy, decent sized room, could use better water pressure. Nice having large water bottle in room Close to good restaurant, but a pretty good walk to Akumal Bay. We used Akumal dive Adventures next door, got a really good combo rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Having just returned from a 5 day stay at the vista del mar, my only regret is that it was not longer. Prior to arriving there, I had spent some time in cancun, puerto Morelos, playa del Carmen and Merida. And I loved those places (Puerto Morelos and Merida in particular), my stay in Akumal was the best. When my sister and I entered out two bedroom condo (which could comfortably accommodate 5 people) we were stunned by the magnificent view. Things only got better as we learned that Yul ku lagoon was a pleasant stroll from us as was Turtle Bay. Additionally, you can snorkel in the waters directly in front of the condo as It sits on Half Moon Bay. Once we rented bikes at $6 a day we realized how quickly we could get places including the small town with the supermarket and the Pueblo across the highway where we got fresh mangos, pspayas and pineapples at a pittance. Each morning we prepared a breakfast (buy the eggs, they are the freshest!) and sipped coffee as we watched the sunrise. The condo has a efficient well organized kitchen. We had planned on trying out different restaurants during our stay, but Bueno Vida which is just a few doors down was so delicious and had a huge selection, we were happy to try something new there each night. One day we took the collectivo and I think we paid $3 each or less to get to Tulum fir the day! You could easily get anywhere along the Mexican Rivierra at Minimal cost by using the collectivo which is stationed about a half a mile
away. One reason that I have decided that my visit will be longer next year. Akumal is a pleasant quiet community, I think perhaps ideal for middle aged people as well as those with young children.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a basic hotel with all of the necessities for a wonderful vacation. Our queen room was clean, with everything we really needed: a mini-fridge, TV with lots of movie channels, coffee maker, dishes and utensils, unlimited bottled water, free high speed internet that is fast enough to make skype/google voice calls, comfortable bed, good hot shower, and best of all, a balcony just a few feet of soft white sand from the Caribbean Sea!
The staff is lovely. Efficient, honest front desk staff, who speak good English for those of us whose Spanish is less than perfect, friendly cleaning people who spend a good deal of time cleaning the rooms thoroughly, and even washing our dishes.
Bottom-line advice to travelers: be friendly, tip well, and you will be treated like an honored guest!

Room Tip: The rooms at the south end of the hotel appear to have the best internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vista del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.