We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I rented a 2nd floor studio room for the week and couldn't believe what we got for the price. It had a small kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave, hot plate, blender, toaster and service for 4. The bathroom had a sizable jacuzzi tub. There was quite a bit of storage space, a spacious deck, and ac, although we opted to keep the windows open to let in the breeze and listen to the ocean, which was mere feet away. The layout of the deck lends itself to complete privacy from neighboring rooms. Pelicans flew overhead daily. Turtles laid eggs on the beach nightly (we were there in July). It felt more like having our own little apartment than like staying in a hotel. Akumal is a wonderful, peaceful town. We walked along the beach every day and snorkeled with sea turtles at the public beach, about a mile from the hotel. Akumal is also central to several cenotes, where we cavern dove 5 out of the 6 full days we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    98
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
71
116
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved being at Vista del Mar. Having a beachfront hotel room at a reasonable price was great and having the wonderful restaurant just yards away (and right on the water) made it even better. The room was smallish for 3 people, but having the coffee maker, small refrigerator and safe, plus the ocean view made it nice for us. We are pretty adaptable and are tolerant of heat, humidity and a noisy air conditioner. Having Yal Ku lagoon just down the road was a bonus. Overall the snorkeling was disappointing, however. Our 10 year old grandson loved it and we would probably go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My daughter and I spent a week here in a 2 bedroom condo while diving, it was perfect.
The condo was immaculately clean when we arrived, and well cleaned again each day. I cook to relax, and found the kitchen to be adequately outfitted (not "gourmet", but serviceable) and, although we kept up on most of our own dishes, the cleaning staff made sure everything was sparkling every morning; the refrigerator was VERY cold - a good thing - and the freezer made ice quickly.
Located about 1K from the "arch" in the center of Akumal, it was easy to walk for light groceries and snacks. Bicycles are available to rent, and I was able to shop in Akumal Puebla for meat and vegetables.
We were there to dive, and the location was PERFECT - less than 50 meters from Akumal Dive Adventures. On diving days, we were able to wake later or take breaks between dives with only a 2 minute walk from the boat.
The AC worked very well, although the ceiling fans were sufficient most days, the showers were hot, the rooms spacious, and the View from the living room was fantastic. We had a ground floor unit and could literally hit the ocean with a rock thrown from the patio hammock.
For Dad + Daughter, 2 bedrooms was plenty of space...next year, we'll bring the rest of the family and take a 3 bdrm unit. I highly recommend requesting a ground floor/ocean front unit.

Only down side - internet can be spotty, but I imagine that's a geographic thing, not a property specific issue.

Transportation Advice: I have not been to the Yucatan in many years, so I did not know what to expect and erred on the side of caution. The car service recommended to me charged $160 RT USD from Cancun to Akumal. I found later that good shuttle services can be found for half that and - if you're even a slightly intrepid traveler - the public transit service ( Los Colectivos/Shuttle Busses)would have done the job for 1/10th the cost. Plan to use the Colectivos to get up and down the coast and save yourself lots of $$$. We took a day trip to Tulum for 12 pesos per person.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor-ocean front. We had a 2 bdrm - unit #5 - very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is weather worn but right on the beach! The A/C works but the bed was SO hard that we left a day earlier. There was a good restaurant right down the beach. And a grocery store right next door. Alot of beach for turtle nests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went with a friend in October 2012 and we immediately started planning another trip for our families. The beach is beautiful and with the dive shop and La Buena Vida restaurant just down the beach it is a great place for families, We had a 3 bedroom on this trip which worked great for our family of 6. Very affordable especially if your are diving as well (you get a discount at Akumal Dive Shop).

We saw tons of turtles while snorkeling and diving plus rays, grouper, barracuda, and tons of other sea life. Highlight if the trip....watching the sea turtles nest of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The very very best thing about this hotel is the spectacular view! We were on the 3rd floor and had 2 hammocks hung on the balcony overlooking the turquoise water. Unbelievable! We picked this place specifically because it was RIGHT on the ocean. I mean if you had a 1st floor room/condo, you would literally walk right onto the beach. The second reason we picked this place was for the snorkeling. I read it was great. I would say it was pretty good, but wouldn't go so far as great. I'm talking right outside the hotel, though, not an excursion. We were disappointed we didn't see any turtles. We ate at the La Buena Vida restaurant next door and saw a turtle surface every now and then. If you want an extraordinary view while you eat Mexican food, this is the place. It even has swings to sit in. Otherwise, your table is literally on the sandy beach. Our very favorite restaurant was the Turtle Bay Cafe. This is "up" the road about 3/4 mile. If you want to take a taxi up the top of the road, they will charge 100 pesos! (Approx. $10) for the 3/4 mile trip. Transportation there is expensive! We took USA Transfer from the airport which we arranged before we left (but paid for there). It cost $145 round trip and was well worth it. Don't see how you could go cheaper. Once we were there we thought we'd take a taxi to Walmart in Playa Del Carmen (about 30 min away), but taxi was going to be 500 pesos round trip (around $50)! So we didn't go get food but ate at the Turtle Bay cafe 3 times. The grocery store at the top of the road was waaaaay expensive!! You'd do better eating out. We took a Collectivo to Tulum for 30 pesos a piece (one way). You have to walk up the the top of the hill and cross over the highway. The Collectivos come by all the time. Make sure you know which direction you want to head because when they pick you up, it will head down the highway in that direction only. The office people were pretty helpful but some don't speak English very well. Ask any questions ahead of time by calling or emailing Reservations. You will be directed to the reservations office in New Mexico and they are VERY helpful there. Also, I asked for a discount and they gave it to me.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom condo had 3 full bathrooms and was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in room 202 on the second floor in the hotel for 10 days. The room was smaller in person than the pictures I had looked at, but it was perfect for us. (a tad bigger than a cruise ship room with a balcony). If you love to cruise and watch and listen to the ocean, this is the place for you!
Air conditioning worked well, but as someone else mentioned, in this room it was placed where it blew right on your face, so we would turn it off and on as needed. It had a remote so you didn't have to get out of bed to turn it off though!
Internet Wifi I had read was sporadic, but we had no problems using it in the room. Always worked for us.
Water pressure I had read was bad, but we decided to book anyway. I thought "ok..how bad could it be?" VERY BAD. The hot water took 5 minutes to get to the room and then it was just a trickle. If you turned on the cold you could get more pressure, but then you had an ice cold shower. It would take us 30 minutes just to shower. (I have long hair) The sink also had no pressure, but not really an issue since the water is NOT filtered and you use the bottled water supplied to brush your teeth.
I LOVED the location! For the first 7 days we walked everywhere. Yes it is hot, but you can see so much and check out the other places as you walk by. Being that we went in May, it had a slight breeze on the road, but wouldn't be the case if you went later in the year. The last 2 days we rented bikes for $6 a day and they came with a lock. The bikes here did not have the basket like the ones we rented last time we stayed in Akumal. May is still real windy and we were not able to snorkel Half Moon Bay but 1 day. The water was pretty rough and when we went out, we didn't see anything. Akumal Bay had rough days, but we did get to snorkel there and saw a bit more, but no turtles on this trip.
We had no bugs or ants in this room and everything was clean. Safe worked and plenty of storage space.
Since it is a hotel, most of the neighbors we had came and went every other day or so, and if you had a noisy neighbor, the air conditioning and ocean sounds drowned them out.
The water pressure is the only thing that would keep me from staying here again. (and yes they came up and looked at it, but then it just got worse as the trip went on)
If they can get that fixed, I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#13 of 20 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Akumal Beach Resort
Akumal Beach Resort
#10 of 20 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
2.8 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list