We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vista Del Mar Akumal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista del Mar Hotel
Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Special Price
Late Autumn Rates Fall!
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vista Del Mar Akumal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The very very best thing about this hotel is the spectacular view! We were on the 3rd floor and had 2 hammocks hung on the balcony overlooking the turquoise water. Unbelievable! We picked this place specifically because it was RIGHT on the ocean. I mean if you had a 1st floor room/condo, you would literally walk right onto the beach. The second reason we picked this place was for the snorkeling. I read it was great. I would say it was pretty good, but wouldn't go so far as great. I'm talking right outside the hotel, though, not an excursion. We were disappointed we didn't see any turtles. We ate at the La Buena Vida restaurant next door and saw a turtle surface every now and then. If you want an extraordinary view while you eat Mexican food, this is the place. It even has swings to sit in. Otherwise, your table is literally on the sandy beach. Our very favorite restaurant was the Turtle Bay Cafe. This is "up" the road about 3/4 mile. If you want to take a taxi up the top of the road, they will charge 100 pesos! (Approx. $10) for the 3/4 mile trip. Transportation there is expensive! We took USA Transfer from the airport which we arranged before we left (but paid for there). It cost $145 round trip and was well worth it. Don't see how you could go cheaper. Once we were there we thought we'd take a taxi to Walmart in Playa Del Carmen (about 30 min away), but taxi was going to be 500 pesos round trip (around $50)! So we didn't go get food but ate at the Turtle Bay cafe 3 times. The grocery store at the top of the road was waaaaay expensive!! You'd do better eating out. We took a Collectivo to Tulum for 30 pesos a piece (one way). You have to walk up the the top of the hill and cross over the highway. The Collectivos come by all the time. Make sure you know which direction you want to head because when they pick you up, it will head down the highway in that direction only. The office people were pretty helpful but some don't speak English very well. Ask any questions ahead of time by calling or emailing Reservations. You will be directed to the reservations office in New Mexico and they are VERY helpful there. Also, I asked for a discount and they gave it to me.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom condo had 3 full bathrooms and was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    104
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
72
120
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in room 202 on the second floor in the hotel for 10 days. The room was smaller in person than the pictures I had looked at, but it was perfect for us. (a tad bigger than a cruise ship room with a balcony). If you love to cruise and watch and listen to the ocean, this is the place for you!
Air conditioning worked well, but as someone else mentioned, in this room it was placed where it blew right on your face, so we would turn it off and on as needed. It had a remote so you didn't have to get out of bed to turn it off though!
Internet Wifi I had read was sporadic, but we had no problems using it in the room. Always worked for us.
Water pressure I had read was bad, but we decided to book anyway. I thought "ok..how bad could it be?" VERY BAD. The hot water took 5 minutes to get to the room and then it was just a trickle. If you turned on the cold you could get more pressure, but then you had an ice cold shower. It would take us 30 minutes just to shower. (I have long hair) The sink also had no pressure, but not really an issue since the water is NOT filtered and you use the bottled water supplied to brush your teeth.
I LOVED the location! For the first 7 days we walked everywhere. Yes it is hot, but you can see so much and check out the other places as you walk by. Being that we went in May, it had a slight breeze on the road, but wouldn't be the case if you went later in the year. The last 2 days we rented bikes for $6 a day and they came with a lock. The bikes here did not have the basket like the ones we rented last time we stayed in Akumal. May is still real windy and we were not able to snorkel Half Moon Bay but 1 day. The water was pretty rough and when we went out, we didn't see anything. Akumal Bay had rough days, but we did get to snorkel there and saw a bit more, but no turtles on this trip.
We had no bugs or ants in this room and everything was clean. Safe worked and plenty of storage space.
Since it is a hotel, most of the neighbors we had came and went every other day or so, and if you had a noisy neighbor, the air conditioning and ocean sounds drowned them out.
The water pressure is the only thing that would keep me from staying here again. (and yes they came up and looked at it, but then it just got worse as the trip went on)
If they can get that fixed, I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The amazing:
1. Location. Few things beat enjoying the breeze in a hammock outside your room 30 feet from the ocean. Great idea. Or go lie down on beach chairs in the shade and be lulled into a nap by the sound of crashing waves. Half moon bay is peaceful and not crowded and apparently a great location for snorkeling - I did not try it but can definitely see this being the case.

2. Staffing. Very helpful and friendly folks. I was out looking at the stars one night and noticed them patrolling the property regularly during the night. Every day they sweep the beach front and clean your room.

3. Attitude. Separating and recycling, not washing sheets and towels needlessly and wasting water (unless you request it). Biodegradable soap wrappers.

4. Rooms. They are small and minimalist, but you want to be outside anyway. They do include a large drinking water jug and a mini bar. Great if you don't want to have breakfast and supper at restaurants and save a dollar or two.

The not so good.
1. Most people like to wake up late during their vacation. Being beachfront means the sun rises right in your face at 7 am. Got used to the routine of sitting in my hammock sipping coffee and watching the sunrise every day and loved it. Can understand why some people may not. Thicker curtains!

2. It is right in between the wonderful Akumal Bay and Yal-Ku Lagoon. Great. But it's still quite a walk in the hot sun either way. They will rent you bikes for 6 dollars a day - a bit overpriced for rusty single speeders.

3. The rocky beach and small pool. It's hard to wade in a beach that has very beautiful but very sharp coral rocks. If you want a dip, you can go down 300 feet to La Buena Vida restaurant and use the pool there. Wonderful for a two year old that wants to get into the water desperately, but adults may find it lacking.

4. Everything in this corner of the world is overpriced. Within this distorted universe, Vista del Mar at $75 USD was not too bad, but I feel this comment needs to be made.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I highly recommend Vista del Mar for people who prefer simplicity over opulence. VDM made my vacation as welcoming as the sea and sky surrounding the hotel. Comfy beds, yummy pillows, great shower, and most importantly, filtered water. In short, everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Rooms are smallish, but we were outside mostly, so that was a minor detraction.

We walked and biked to the village, took the best yoga classes I've ever taken in an airy studio, explored the lagoon, walked on the beach to restaurants and local haunts. It feels like a tiny town tucked into Half Moon Bay, with easy access to Tulum, cenotes, Mayan ruins, Playa del Carmen. Friendly, easy, reasonably priced. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What's not to like...reasonable priced, right one the beach, clean room, on store premise, friendly people, safe, convenient, next to a good restaurant with great drinks and food. The only problem we had was after returning back after a day of swimming our room door was left unlocked but nothing was touched or taken so it was fine. Akumal is a lovely town and if you drive over the bridge there is a great coffee breakfast shop with awesome food..cheap. Mama Maria tacos in town also can't be beat..cheap and the best in Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

For the price this place was a great bargain. We looked at the small $85 room and then saw the two bedroom for $25 more... a no brainer. Full kitchen, A/C, bottle water (small, never used) TV and next to a mini-store and a good restaurant/bar. Hey, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice beach, close to many things without being in the middle, the hotel has many little details that make your stay enjoying and comfortable.

The little grocery shop in the hotel has great prices, and so close to the room & right on the beach (all day long we walked in & out of the place)

The pool is nice, could have a better filtering system though.. the beach were the pool is has many wonderful places to relax (tables, hammocks, palm trees, etcetera), the restaurant is great and the happy hour much fun.

The beds are the down part, mattress is kind of old and the pillows feel like potato sacks, air conditioning although we used it very little is placed were you can’t have it on all the time without blowing in your face while sleeping.

Over all we had a great weekend and most certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 101 is definitely the best, a hop from the shop, next to the beach showers and the corridor tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.