We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Beach - Exellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Comedy Festival Discounts
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
La Mirada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right on the Beach - Exellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in room 202 on the second floor in the hotel for 10 days. The room was smaller in person than the pictures I had looked at, but it was perfect for us. (a tad bigger than a cruise ship room with a balcony). If you love to cruise and watch and listen to the ocean, this is the place for you!
Air conditioning worked well, but as someone else mentioned, in this room it was placed where it blew right on your face, so we would turn it off and on as needed. It had a remote so you didn't have to get out of bed to turn it off though!
Internet Wifi I had read was sporadic, but we had no problems using it in the room. Always worked for us.
Water pressure I had read was bad, but we decided to book anyway. I thought "ok..how bad could it be?" VERY BAD. The hot water took 5 minutes to get to the room and then it was just a trickle. If you turned on the cold you could get more pressure, but then you had an ice cold shower. It would take us 30 minutes just to shower. (I have long hair) The sink also had no pressure, but not really an issue since the water is NOT filtered and you use the bottled water supplied to brush your teeth.
I LOVED the location! For the first 7 days we walked everywhere. Yes it is hot, but you can see so much and check out the other places as you walk by. Being that we went in May, it had a slight breeze on the road, but wouldn't be the case if you went later in the year. The last 2 days we rented bikes for $6 a day and they came with a lock. The bikes here did not have the basket like the ones we rented last time we stayed in Akumal. May is still real windy and we were not able to snorkel Half Moon Bay but 1 day. The water was pretty rough and when we went out, we didn't see anything. Akumal Bay had rough days, but we did get to snorkel there and saw a bit more, but no turtles on this trip.
We had no bugs or ants in this room and everything was clean. Safe worked and plenty of storage space.
Since it is a hotel, most of the neighbors we had came and went every other day or so, and if you had a noisy neighbor, the air conditioning and ocean sounds drowned them out.
The water pressure is the only thing that would keep me from staying here again. (and yes they came up and looked at it, but then it just got worse as the trip went on)
If they can get that fixed, I'd go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    113
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
80
136
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The amazing:
1. Location. Few things beat enjoying the breeze in a hammock outside your room 30 feet from the ocean. Great idea. Or go lie down on beach chairs in the shade and be lulled into a nap by the sound of crashing waves. Half moon bay is peaceful and not crowded and apparently a great location for snorkeling - I did not try it but can definitely see this being the case.

2. Staffing. Very helpful and friendly folks. I was out looking at the stars one night and noticed them patrolling the property regularly during the night. Every day they sweep the beach front and clean your room.

3. Attitude. Separating and recycling, not washing sheets and towels needlessly and wasting water (unless you request it). Biodegradable soap wrappers.

4. Rooms. They are small and minimalist, but you want to be outside anyway. They do include a large drinking water jug and a mini bar. Great if you don't want to have breakfast and supper at restaurants and save a dollar or two.

The not so good.
1. Most people like to wake up late during their vacation. Being beachfront means the sun rises right in your face at 7 am. Got used to the routine of sitting in my hammock sipping coffee and watching the sunrise every day and loved it. Can understand why some people may not. Thicker curtains!

2. It is right in between the wonderful Akumal Bay and Yal-Ku Lagoon. Great. But it's still quite a walk in the hot sun either way. They will rent you bikes for 6 dollars a day - a bit overpriced for rusty single speeders.

3. The rocky beach and small pool. It's hard to wade in a beach that has very beautiful but very sharp coral rocks. If you want a dip, you can go down 300 feet to La Buena Vida restaurant and use the pool there. Wonderful for a two year old that wants to get into the water desperately, but adults may find it lacking.

4. Everything in this corner of the world is overpriced. Within this distorted universe, Vista del Mar at $75 USD was not too bad, but I feel this comment needs to be made.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I highly recommend Vista del Mar for people who prefer simplicity over opulence. VDM made my vacation as welcoming as the sea and sky surrounding the hotel. Comfy beds, yummy pillows, great shower, and most importantly, filtered water. In short, everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Rooms are smallish, but we were outside mostly, so that was a minor detraction.

We walked and biked to the village, took the best yoga classes I've ever taken in an airy studio, explored the lagoon, walked on the beach to restaurants and local haunts. It feels like a tiny town tucked into Half Moon Bay, with easy access to Tulum, cenotes, Mayan ruins, Playa del Carmen. Friendly, easy, reasonably priced. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What's not to like...reasonable priced, right one the beach, clean room, on store premise, friendly people, safe, convenient, next to a good restaurant with great drinks and food. The only problem we had was after returning back after a day of swimming our room door was left unlocked but nothing was touched or taken so it was fine. Akumal is a lovely town and if you drive over the bridge there is a great coffee breakfast shop with awesome food..cheap. Mama Maria tacos in town also can't be beat..cheap and the best in Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

For the price this place was a great bargain. We looked at the small $85 room and then saw the two bedroom for $25 more... a no brainer. Full kitchen, A/C, bottle water (small, never used) TV and next to a mini-store and a good restaurant/bar. Hey, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice beach, close to many things without being in the middle, the hotel has many little details that make your stay enjoying and comfortable.

The little grocery shop in the hotel has great prices, and so close to the room & right on the beach (all day long we walked in & out of the place)

The pool is nice, could have a better filtering system though.. the beach were the pool is has many wonderful places to relax (tables, hammocks, palm trees, etcetera), the restaurant is great and the happy hour much fun.

The beds are the down part, mattress is kind of old and the pillows feel like potato sacks, air conditioning although we used it very little is placed were you can’t have it on all the time without blowing in your face while sleeping.

Over all we had a great weekend and most certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 101 is definitely the best, a hop from the shop, next to the beach showers and the corridor tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a great "middle ground" between the mega-resorts to the north and the overpriced hippie-shacks down in Tulum. Not ritzy or rustic, just a very nice medium size hotel, on quiet little Half-Moon Bay, with easy access to Tulum, the main cenotes, etc.
Friendly, low-key, non-touristy area, mostly long-time Mexico travellers.
Nicely decorated rooms, everything in top condition, fridge, coffee-maker, even filtered water dispenser.
All rooms have full ocean view, nice breezes blowing thru, seldom need AC...listen to the waves right outside your patio, instead of the air conditioner!
Pretty good snorkeling right out front, and saw friendly turtles in adjacent Akumal bay, even though it wasn't the main turtle season
Convenience store on-site, beach bar/restaurant and small dive shop 1 minute walk, and a 10 minute walk to the big dive shop, supermercado, bakery and nice cafes in Akumal.
They also have condos next door for larger groups.

Room Tip: South end rooms (205 and 306) get slight bass thump from bar/restaurant down the beach
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vista del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.