We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - but needs some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Regina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice - but needs some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a very difficult location to rate. Some of it was EXCELLENT, however some of it needs to be improved. Would I stay here again...you bet!! Yet I felt I should report both the good and the bad. Hopefully the management will take notice and make some improvements?

The GOOD: the views are awesome; the overall cleaniness of our studio condo; the location;

The "BAD": the towels and linen, the broken appliances, the wi-fi, no english speaking staff.

You can not ask for a nicer more laid back place to spend a week here like we recently did. We rented a second floor studio condo which was big, clean and nicely decorated. (Yes there were a lot of ants in our unit, so keep your food covered). The deck is HUGE!!! The views are perfect!!! The floor to ceiling window in the shower was spectacular. We tipped the cleaning staff VERY WELL and were a little dissappointed they didn't do anything "extra" for us? In the four other Mexican hotels we stayed in during this holiday, their staff always did something extra special for us upon receiving a nice tip (flowers, chocolates, a card, towel animals, etc.)

The televison was small and only worked on a couple of channels? When making toast, one had to hold the lever down the enter time or the toaster won't work. The wi-fi would not (usually) work in our room. We had to take our iphones outside and sit next to the main office (like most other guests) to send messages back home. (All the above mentioned issues were very minor inconviences and almost not worth mentioning).

However the following two issues warrant some attention and I have attached photos to validate my concerns. When we turned back our bedding the first night, there were numerous dried blood spots on the sheets (see photo). We approached the staff on this, but the lack of english spoken created a problem with them understanding our concern. They eventually sent someone up to change our sheets. However, the new sheets still had a "quarter-sized" blood stain on it? (see photo). We ended up rearranging this sheet so this stain was located down by our feet instead of up by our heads. The other concern we want to mention, and one that I've seen posted here previously, were the thread-bare towels. These towels were years past their lifespan and were all torn and tattered. Again, we attached a photo of this. Of all the 4 resorts we stayed in during this Mexican holiday, this one was the most expensive, yet was the only one where we had any concerns?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    98
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
71
115
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in a queen room in the Vista del Mar hotel. It was simple, but comfortable. The best part is the location. We opened our first floor sliding door right onto a small patio that was directly on the beach. It's a quick walk to the small town and right next to the Buena Vista which was a great restaurant/bar. The town of Akumal itself is a very small beach town. It is mostly visited by older couples and families so there is not much nightlife. The beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel and it was just what we were looking for. Right on the beach so we could hear the surf, "our" beach was uncrowded and the room came with a hammock to hang on our patio. Staff was helpful and attentive. And we liked the free wi-fi access.

It would have gotten a 5-rating if there had been a little more upkeep - for example, the sliding screens always took two hands to move and our ceiling fan's speed was either off or take-off. But we didn't visit Akumal for the room, and this will be our first choice when we return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Vista del Mar 6 or 7 times since 2004, once in a condo and the remainder in one of the 1br hotel rooms. They are right on the beach on Half Moon Bay; the beach is low use, mainly by hotel residents. The rooms are designed nicely with a balcony and you have great view of the beach (and a breeze). They have water and a coffee maker and fridge. They are quite small - they are great for a couple for 3 to 5 days; for longer stays you will want something larger. The condos are nicely designed and good for more people or a longer stay. It is a short walk or ride to Akumal Bay or to Yal Ku and a number of places to eat are nearby. It is a great place for mellow get away and we will continue

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We found Vista Del Mar while driving over to Yal-Ku for snorkeling. We made an inquiry and thought the rates attractive for a two bedroom beachfront unit. Stayed 4 nights and found the location ideal. The beach is maintained every morning so there is no glass, trash or clumps of large sea grass washed up and littering the area. The kitchen is well equipped with a full sized refrigerator, gas range top and oven, fresh bottled water supplied and every required utensil for full housekeeping. The unit was groundfloor and right out the door is the blue ocean and plenty of beach furniture for guest use. Our only challenge was having hot water for showers. But we would come back and stay here again! The closest restaurant is the Buena Vida just down the beach maybe 100 yards.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 5 and would ask for that room again but suspect that all of the 2 bedroom units wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Vista Del Mar Condo building. It was great to be right next to the beach. That time of year the beach in front of the condo is sometimes too rough for snorkeling, but there are calm waters at the Lagoon, which is a 15 minute walk away. Our 3 bedroom condo was spacious and comfortable. There was plenty of room for 6 adults. The kitchen was fully equipped, and it was easy to cook all our meals there.
Snorkeling gear was available for rent at the dive shop nearby, and we found our size even at a very busy time of year. We would certainly recommend Vista Del Mar to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Vista Del Mar, the place is ideally located a few feet/meters from the beach and as well the restaurants. You can swim with the tortoises and we saw several tourist coming from Playa del Carmen to see those. Every day we were enjoying the nice view and the sound of the waves. Closeby there are Yal Ku Lagoon great spot do do snorkling. The restaurants close by (walking distance) are as well very good and you will find typical mexican food and nice cocktails. The staff has been always helpfull and besides it was really appreciated that we had our appartment clean up everyday. We definitively recommend this place. Besides during 9 days we were not able to do all the activities we planed (Ruyns, cities, beaches, cenotes ....)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list