We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Del Sol Beachfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Del Sol Beachfront to your Saves list
Del Sol Beachfront
Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Trip in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Vista Del Mar, the place is ideally located a few feet/meters from the beach and as well the restaurants. You can swim with the tortoises and we saw several tourist coming from Playa del Carmen to see those. Every day we were enjoying the nice view and the sound of the waves. Closeby there are Yal Ku Lagoon great spot do do snorkling. The restaurants close by (walking distance) are as well very good and you will find typical mexican food and nice cocktails. The staff has been always helpfull and besides it was really appreciated that we had our appartment clean up everyday. We definitively recommend this place. Besides during 9 days we were not able to do all the activities we planed (Ruyns, cities, beaches, cenotes ....)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    121
    23
    12
    1
See reviews for
82
152
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for ten days over the December holidays. We were on the top floor with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, a large living/dining/kitchen area, and a huge deck where we ate our dinner and relaxed. The location was terrific -- we were far enough away from the main tourist area that it was quiet, and we were close to the YaKul Lagoon which we all loved. We swam and snorkeled in the bay a couple of times and walked on the beach most days. Visitors should bring some sort of "water shoe" to get past the sharp coral and rocks at the water's edge. We rented bikes and used them for transportation for the entire time. We hardly used our rental car. The staff were very responsive and helpful. There were several problems with the unit when we arrived but staff were there within 30 minutes and fixed everything. When we asked for water or anything else it arrived within ten minutes. We will definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We liked the view from the top floor but there are a lot of stairs to get there! Good exercise, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

So nice to have this beachfront room for our last leg of our Mexico adventure. Vista Del Mar is not right in town. It's much quieter than that, but it's still just a short walk. The staff didn't speak much english nor did they give us much information when we checked in. As far as what you can get in Mexico for $90 per night, I found this place a little over-priced, but still well worth it. The lower floors open right out to a little patio literally touching the sand. The room is small and modest, but has everything you need including plenty of drinking water refreshed daily. Akumal is a slow, quiet little 'town', so don't expect party party. Wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but the lower level seemed like the way to go. Easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 8 nights in condo 303. 3rd floor view over Akumal Norte bay is worth the trip: sunrise, pelicans and terns diving for schools of sardines within 10 yards of shore, hardly any people. Sound of waves almost too loud! Beach smallish strip of sand with rocks at waterline and out. Service was friendly and prompt. Kitchenette has new stove and generous fridge along with coffee maker toaster and blender and table settings for 4. Room and bedroom small with newish rustic furniture. Ceiling fans and mini split ACs in both rooms. Short walk to tiny convenience store and three places to eat in Norte. Pleasant 15 min walk south to Akumal Bay with its wide beach, turtles and hordes of tour snorkelers. Overall very good stay, great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is great - and even comes with daily maid service (i'm talking doing dishes and everything!). Akumal is really nice, but I found it helpful to have a car to get around to other places. Check out Akumal Pueblo on the other side of the highway, where thay have a tortilleria, a better grocery store than in Akumal, and on some days a good fruit stand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a family of 6 this was a super spot for four nights. The staff were all so helpful and any problem encountered was quickly resolved. we loved condo C!! Walking distance to town where you can snorkel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Vista del Mar is a vacation resort located on Quintana Roo's southern/central coast. Directly built alongside the beach, it has the usual assorted resort style amenities. This place looks like the photos you would see in a brochure, but in reality it is a resort and with resorts the type of people that frequent them aren't the same ones I would ever want to hang out back home with.

There are two options to rent, either the small studio room with bath and a fridge, or the full blown suite with a complete kitchen.

I predict I won't be coming back here ever again. First, if you decide to go swimming, avoid Half Moon Bay unless you have shin guards and a good pair of shoes for the water. The better option is to go down south Turtle Bay where the coral won't try to eat you alive everytime you enter the water.

Food options here are limited to non-existent, unless you like crappy bar food which is located just south of Vista. I can honestly say that i have never had as bad as food in all of Mexico, and the best meal we had was when we rode our bikes over to the other side known as Akumal Pueblo and shopped at a local vendor for fruits and vegetables for a reasonable price.

The two good things about Vista del Mar are the staff, and their very decent rental prices on bikes. At only six dollars (USD) a day, even these piece of junks are worth it for getting around.

The worst thing about this place are the multitude of morons from Canada and the US who seem to think that acting like total morons is an acceptable behavior since they payed for the stay, regardless of who their neighbors may be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Del Sol Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Sol Beachfront

Address: Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Sol Beachfront rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Del Sol Beachfront condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Del Sol Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Del Sol Beachfront Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Sol Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.