We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista del Mar Hotel
Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Akumal
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for ten days over the December holidays. We were on the top floor with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, a large living/dining/kitchen area, and a huge deck where we ate our dinner and relaxed. The location was terrific -- we were far enough away from the main tourist area that it was quiet, and we were close to the YaKul Lagoon which we all loved. We swam and snorkeled in the bay a couple of times and walked on the beach most days. Visitors should bring some sort of "water shoe" to get past the sharp coral and rocks at the water's edge. We rented bikes and used them for transportation for the entire time. We hardly used our rental car. The staff were very responsive and helpful. There were several problems with the unit when we arrived but staff were there within 30 minutes and fixed everything. When we asked for water or anything else it arrived within ten minutes. We will definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We liked the view from the top floor but there are a lot of stairs to get there! Good exercise, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    104
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
71
119
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

So nice to have this beachfront room for our last leg of our Mexico adventure. Vista Del Mar is not right in town. It's much quieter than that, but it's still just a short walk. The staff didn't speak much english nor did they give us much information when we checked in. As far as what you can get in Mexico for $90 per night, I found this place a little over-priced, but still well worth it. The lower floors open right out to a little patio literally touching the sand. The room is small and modest, but has everything you need including plenty of drinking water refreshed daily. Akumal is a slow, quiet little 'town', so don't expect party party. Wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but the lower level seemed like the way to go. Easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 8 nights in condo 303. 3rd floor view over Akumal Norte bay is worth the trip: sunrise, pelicans and terns diving for schools of sardines within 10 yards of shore, hardly any people. Sound of waves almost too loud! Beach smallish strip of sand with rocks at waterline and out. Service was friendly and prompt. Kitchenette has new stove and generous fridge along with coffee maker toaster and blender and table settings for 4. Room and bedroom small with newish rustic furniture. Ceiling fans and mini split ACs in both rooms. Short walk to tiny convenience store and three places to eat in Norte. Pleasant 15 min walk south to Akumal Bay with its wide beach, turtles and hordes of tour snorkelers. Overall very good stay, great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is great - and even comes with daily maid service (i'm talking doing dishes and everything!). Akumal is really nice, but I found it helpful to have a car to get around to other places. Check out Akumal Pueblo on the other side of the highway, where thay have a tortilleria, a better grocery store than in Akumal, and on some days a good fruit stand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a family of 6 this was a super spot for four nights. The staff were all so helpful and any problem encountered was quickly resolved. we loved condo C!! Walking distance to town where you can snorkel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Vista del Mar is a vacation resort located on Quintana Roo's southern/central coast. Directly built alongside the beach, it has the usual assorted resort style amenities. This place looks like the photos you would see in a brochure, but in reality it is a resort and with resorts the type of people that frequent them aren't the same ones I would ever want to hang out back home with.

There are two options to rent, either the small studio room with bath and a fridge, or the full blown suite with a complete kitchen.

I predict I won't be coming back here ever again. First, if you decide to go swimming, avoid Half Moon Bay unless you have shin guards and a good pair of shoes for the water. The better option is to go down south Turtle Bay where the coral won't try to eat you alive everytime you enter the water.

Food options here are limited to non-existent, unless you like crappy bar food which is located just south of Vista. I can honestly say that i have never had as bad as food in all of Mexico, and the best meal we had was when we rode our bikes over to the other side known as Akumal Pueblo and shopped at a local vendor for fruits and vegetables for a reasonable price.

The two good things about Vista del Mar are the staff, and their very decent rental prices on bikes. At only six dollars (USD) a day, even these piece of junks are worth it for getting around.

The worst thing about this place are the multitude of morons from Canada and the US who seem to think that acting like total morons is an acceptable behavior since they payed for the stay, regardless of who their neighbors may be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was very disappointed with this condo (#2). very poorly maintained. There was ants everywhere and fixtures were falling off the wall. There was a terrible smell when we arrived that did disappear. I don't understand how the glowing reviews of this place. We really like Half Moon Bay but there are much better places to stay. We have stayed in Iguana and Bahia and they were wonderful and cost much less than Vista Del Mar. It is true the view was nice but there are many many condos on this beach which would be worth going to instead of Vista Del Mar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Business Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.