We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place, great staff, coconut trees, beaches, snorkeling ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Davis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean place, great staff, coconut trees, beaches, snorkeling ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is great - and even comes with daily maid service (i'm talking doing dishes and everything!). Akumal is really nice, but I found it helpful to have a car to get around to other places. Check out Akumal Pueblo on the other side of the highway, where thay have a tortilleria, a better grocery store than in Akumal, and on some days a good fruit stand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    99
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
71
117
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a family of 6 this was a super spot for four nights. The staff were all so helpful and any problem encountered was quickly resolved. we loved condo C!! Walking distance to town where you can snorkel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Vista del Mar is a vacation resort located on Quintana Roo's southern/central coast. Directly built alongside the beach, it has the usual assorted resort style amenities. This place looks like the photos you would see in a brochure, but in reality it is a resort and with resorts the type of people that frequent them aren't the same ones I would ever want to hang out back home with.

There are two options to rent, either the small studio room with bath and a fridge, or the full blown suite with a complete kitchen.

I predict I won't be coming back here ever again. First, if you decide to go swimming, avoid Half Moon Bay unless you have shin guards and a good pair of shoes for the water. The better option is to go down south Turtle Bay where the coral won't try to eat you alive everytime you enter the water.

Food options here are limited to non-existent, unless you like crappy bar food which is located just south of Vista. I can honestly say that i have never had as bad as food in all of Mexico, and the best meal we had was when we rode our bikes over to the other side known as Akumal Pueblo and shopped at a local vendor for fruits and vegetables for a reasonable price.

The two good things about Vista del Mar are the staff, and their very decent rental prices on bikes. At only six dollars (USD) a day, even these piece of junks are worth it for getting around.

The worst thing about this place are the multitude of morons from Canada and the US who seem to think that acting like total morons is an acceptable behavior since they payed for the stay, regardless of who their neighbors may be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was very disappointed with this condo (#2). very poorly maintained. There was ants everywhere and fixtures were falling off the wall. There was a terrible smell when we arrived that did disappear. I don't understand how the glowing reviews of this place. We really like Half Moon Bay but there are much better places to stay. We have stayed in Iguana and Bahia and they were wonderful and cost much less than Vista Del Mar. It is true the view was nice but there are many many condos on this beach which would be worth going to instead of Vista Del Mar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and 1yr old stayed in the Vista del Mar a couple of nights December 19-21. First of all, I have to say that the condo was much nicer than the pictures depicted. We had a two bedroom unit on the first floor and it was huge. I felt very at home in this condo and it had everything we could possibly need. The beach was right off the patio and I saw a few people walk by on the beach occasionally, but that was it. It was otherwise very quiet in this location and I felt like we had the beach to ourselves. After staying in Cancun a few nights...this was a very welcome change from the loud, noisy hotels in the hotel zone and it also beats being on a crowded beach with loud music constantly playing. It was extremely relaxing and tranquil. I wish we could have spent the entire week here....we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in room 104 for 3 nights last week. From our patio, we were steps from the water. The snorkeling was great. There is a tiny Mini Super attached to the property if you need snacks or beer. They were very expensive. I'd recommend a stop in Playa Del Carmen before you head south to Akumal for such purchases. There was a nice little already cold refrigerator and a fast coffee pot in the room. We took our own coffee down in the luggage.

Room Tip: If you want to walk out to the beach book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

These condos were awesome, definitely will stay here again! The view rocks, the service was great and the location is perfect. The food at the La Buena Vida is superb too. They have bikes and kayaks to rent and a beautiful beach that they keep very clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#13 of 20 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Akumal Beach Resort
Akumal Beach Resort
#10 of 20 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
2.8 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
Free Parking, B...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list