We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Akumal
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great value and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and 1yr old stayed in the Vista del Mar a couple of nights December 19-21. First of all, I have to say that the condo was much nicer than the pictures depicted. We had a two bedroom unit on the first floor and it was huge. I felt very at home in this condo and it had everything we could possibly need. The beach was right off the patio and I saw a few people walk by on the beach occasionally, but that was it. It was otherwise very quiet in this location and I felt like we had the beach to ourselves. After staying in Cancun a few nights...this was a very welcome change from the loud, noisy hotels in the hotel zone and it also beats being on a crowded beach with loud music constantly playing. It was extremely relaxing and tranquil. I wish we could have spent the entire week here....we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    99
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
71
117
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in room 104 for 3 nights last week. From our patio, we were steps from the water. The snorkeling was great. There is a tiny Mini Super attached to the property if you need snacks or beer. They were very expensive. I'd recommend a stop in Playa Del Carmen before you head south to Akumal for such purchases. There was a nice little already cold refrigerator and a fast coffee pot in the room. We took our own coffee down in the luggage.

Room Tip: If you want to walk out to the beach book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

These condos were awesome, definitely will stay here again! The view rocks, the service was great and the location is perfect. The food at the La Buena Vida is superb too. They have bikes and kayaks to rent and a beautiful beach that they keep very clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just back from our second stay at the Vista Del Mar condos. I love it here and will definately return. Fantastic location right on a lovely and quiet beach about a mile from the main beach It's becoming a bit busy on the main beach now with lots of groups coming in from other resorts to snorkel with the turtles so it's good to be outside. You can lie in bed and listen to the sound of the waves and wake up to the wonderful sight of the sea filling your large windows. Spacious condo with a large balcony and it is situated about a hundred yards from the famous La Buena Vida bar and restaurant where you can enjoy the atmosphere and good cocktails. The condos are very spacious and have everything you need and a very comfortable bed. This is a laid back place and not for you if you need 5 star all inclusive luxury but the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Akumal is a great resort miles away from Cancun style Mexico. To me it has the atmosphere of a Greek village and remains completely unspoilt with no high rises. The only downside is that everything (except La Buena Vida) closes at 9pm so you have to ensure you go out early for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, but we could have spent more. Rooms are small but comfortable and have everything you need- even a fridge and TV. All the rooms open right out to the beach, which is amazing! It's a quiet area but there are bikes for rent and you can find plenty to eat in town. We went snorkeling right off the beach in front and saw lots of great reef, fish, and (of course) turtles! Great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I have been to Vista del Mar several times and have enjoyed it every time. The condo is well equipped, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The beach on Half Moon Bay is a great place to snorkel, and La Buena Vida, the on-premise restaurant/bar, is right on the beach with great views and excellent food and service. Convenience stores and other restaurants are within walking distance, or you can rent a bike from Vista del Mar very inexpensively. We've been to Cancun, and Akumal is much more peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I so wanted to give this condo a 5 star review when we first walked in the front door. It was a gorgeous top unit (#4), with a wonderful layout and perfect deck with plenty of room to spread out. Towels on our bed had been folded into kissing swans! We stayed for two nights, and decided to add 3 more because it was quiet, laid back, and good location. Then something happened. Following a big storm the smell of raw sewage poured up from our bathroom drains, permeating the condo with the smell of feces. The staff was attentive, but not aggressive enough in trying to fix the problem. In fact, there was a shoulder shrug as if to say, "this is how it is here". Each day, twice a day, the staff had to pour a chemical down the tub drain and we had to keep them all covered. They assured us this smell would pass, so we decided not to change rooms. The second problem was dirty linens. The sheets and bed spreads were covered with rust stains and other stains (if you catch my drift). I’m sorry VDM. I don’t think we’ll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list