We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and confortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vista del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Vista del Mar Hotel
south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hotel & Dive Package!
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice and confortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Location,Location,Location .,my wife and I stay for three nights and we loved the hotel is right on the beach andl is perfect for anybody from couples to singles the rooms are very confortable , for a price that can't be beat any where in the akumal area . The custumer service is very good , This is the secound time we stay in this hotel and we'll return the next year in a heart beat. MANY THANKS FOR THE WOUNDERFULL TIME. VISTA DEL MAR IS THE BEST.

Room Tip: rooms on the firts floor have the best view and the wifi signal is the best,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    108
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
73
128
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are a little bit outdated, but the location more than makes up for that. We staid here in January 2012, on the first floor, the room was overlooking the beach and the sea. What was also very nice is that the doors can be kept open during the night, because of the mosquito nets, this means you can here the sea all through the night. The snorkeling in front on the hotel is also great, with Eagle Rays and Turtles that are part of the diverse marine life. Finally the restaurant next door, La Buena Vida is an excellent option to go for some food & drinks at the beach!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I just stayed in a studio condo (#7) on the 2nd floor. VDM was recommended by a friend who had stayed there last year, so my expectations were high. I have to say they were met.

You could not be closer to the beach, and the balcony is massive, with two lounge chairs, a table, and hammock. Everything meticulously clean, if slightly dated. There is an electronic safe in the room and plenty of cabinets and drawers. Two sinks in the bathroom. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was broken, but there was plenty of hot water (if you give it some time) and water pressure was just fine. There is no shower curtain inside or outside, so you get a spectacular view of the ocean while you shower (and you can open a large patio door so you're basically showering outside.) In the kitchen you'll find a toaster, blender, microwave, and mini fridge. Perfect for beers, snacks, breakfast items. The bed was firm but comfortable, same with the pillows. TV is adequate, AC is chilly and works great.

The location itself is quiet, there is white sand for lounging on the beach, but upon entering the water you'll need some beach shoes. Watch for hermit crabs in the afternoon, they're all over! One night while walking home from La Buena Vida, we came across a volunteer watching a giant sea turtle laying eggs...and were able to watch it lay it's eggs and return to sea. Really an amazing sight, one of the top events of our 7-day trip.

Other things very close to the hotel: the main Akumal beach (excellent snorkeling in the water and a great spa), Yal-Ku Lagoon (I recommend renting a palapa for only $20usd for a private entrance), and Jungle Jim's ATV tours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

VDM highs: great location, great views, huge balcony (in the studio & condos), friendly staff, good value. The lows: a bit 'dated' and not at all 'posh', however it was clean and adequate for us and we felt safe there. As I mentioned in a review of VDM in 2010: sure, the room needs a chair and a couple of extra pillows; it's not the most comfortable mattress ever (but I've had worse). However, it was much cheaper than some other fancier places. It just depends on your budget and needs.

I have to take issue with a few other reviews who mention things like ants and bugs. I live in FL & have a nice, clean home and we still see ants & bugs sometimes- it happens in tropical weather. They supplied us bug spray & we put our snacks in sealed zip locks or in the frig- no problem. Someone actually complained that the room was too bright at sunrise! Really? That might be the silliest review I've ever read. If you really need a dark room- don't stay on the beach or ask the desk for an extra pillow and cover your eyes in the morning. My husband and I are not crazy about waking up early but we LOVED that we could watch the beautiful sunrises each day from our room or balcony. As for theft- that is always a possibility no matter where you go. We used the safe for obvious things. Ironically, my husband had left $100 in cash laying outside the safe for 2 days before we realized it and no one touched it. Some people complained about the TV. Sure it was small, not HD and few channels in English but we didn't go to Mexico to watch TV. We spent most time out sight seeing, sleeping or hanging out on the balcony with a book. Some reviews compared VDM to all inclusive resorts in Playa del Carmen and other ritzy areas, which is completely different location and price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is the best value anywhere in the area. We stayed in a 2BR/2BA condo on the top floor at Vista del Mar. A wall of sliding glass doors leading to a huge balcony (hammocks, chairs, & table included) overlooking the ocean was our first impression. The tile bathtubs looked like small swimming pools. The unit was spotless, and we wondered how they cleaned every speck of sand from the floors, which were all tile. The kitchen had a very cold refrigerator, bottled water, and items we needed for our stay, including microwave oven, coffee maker, blender, toaster, etc. Full scale meal preparation would have left some items to be desired, but who wants to cook when you're at the beach and you can walk to restaurants. Water pressure was low, but sufficient for showers. We had A/C, many fans, and light switches everywhere. The beach is extremely rocky and not good for children. We did some snorkeling right off the beach at the coral reef in the bay. We can also recommend a restaurant in the town of Akumal (on the other side of the highway) called Tequilaville. Best margaritas anywhere! Oh yeah, great food too! It is run by a fabulous, friendly couple from Canada who made us feel like we'd known them a long time. If you don't mind that this hotel/condo is not new and could use a bit of updating, I highly recommend Vista del Mar. You can easily do day trips to the ruins at Tulum and Coba, many cenotes, and don't miss the snorkeling in Yal Ku lagoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveland, co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel. Quieter than Akumal Bay. So nice to be able to walk right out to beach. Some rocks, but not bad. We saw some marine life including turtles while snorkeling out to the reef.The staff rake up the beach every morning to get rid of the seaweed that washes up over night. Close enough to many restaurants- within 1 mile and fun to ride the hotel bikes around.We visited Ya Kul (go early to avoid crowds) as well as snorkeled Akumal bay- tour groups come by 9 am. We saw 6 turtles and a ray! We checked out Muyil ruins and kayaked the Manate lagoon. We also booked a snorkel tour at Punta Venado-Inah reef is very nice, lots of fish.
One day we drove up to PDC and ferried over to Cozumel. It was fun to rent a scooter and checked out the other side of the island. Fun little bars.Beautiful drive.
The Visat del Mar does have small rooms but no problems with cleanliness, service,water pressure.
Restaurants we especially liked were: Turtle Bay, Gynn Ak, Oscar y Lao(ask to see La La ,their monkey)
We had a great time!

Room Tip: We like the ground level. We di dnot use the AC at night- just opened the windows and let the sea br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel was located right on the beach at Half Moon Bay so we could just walk into the water for snorkeling. It was cool, quiet and clean. The room seemed a bit cramped for 1 double and 1 single bed. The towels and linen were clean but were very tired and need to be replaced, along with the pillows. The WiFi reception was weak. Half Moon Bay is a bit isolated if you need to buy food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista del Mar Hotel

Address: south end of Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vista del Mar Hotel rooms are simple, clean and economical. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Vista del Mar condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. A tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vista del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.