We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Akumal Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Akumal Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Akumal Caribe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our simple, clean, and comfortable bungalow with air conditioning. It was nicely appointed, including a mini-fridge, otherwise nothing spectacular about the room. We were within a one to five minute walk from the beautiful Akumal beach, restaurants, shops, and snorkeling.

Cost of the room seemed a bit overpriced, though I'm sure we were paying for being so close to the beach, which was very convenient. We did deal with some tiny ants indoors, but it wasn't a problem for us. Shower water pressure was low, but adequate. Bed was a bit stiff, but the foam mattress cover made it comfortable enough for us. My wife didn't care for the mildew-like odor in room--didn't bother me, though.

We would go back, but instead request a bungalow which fronted upon one of the garden quads. Snorkeling in Akumal Bay was terrific!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    117
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
99
122
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed at hotel seven times since the early 90s. It is always very relaxing and you marvel that there are still locations like this along the "Mexican Rivera". The hotel is small -- 30 or 40 rooms. The hotel rooms are 50 yards or so from the beach. You can spend your entire vacation in sandals and feel comfortable. And, there is plenty to see as you snorkel in the bay. The hotel is located about an hour south of the Cancun airport, about 20 minutes north of Tulum and about 40 minutes north and east of Coba, another archaeological site in the area. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurants and beach bar, which were both good, but not gourmet. There are some alternative places to eat, which are relatively close by -- some within walking distance.

The real charm of the place occurs in the early morning, late afternoon, and evening. As a hotel guest on one of the nicest natural beaches in Mexico, you almost have the place to yourself. There will be 5 or 6 tables of people at the restaurant, the beach is deserted, and it is very quiet. We hope to go back to the hotel next year. We always get a rental car. The road from the Cancun Airport to Akumal is a 4-lane divided highway with a few stop lights. If you dive or snorkel, the cenotes are very interesting and can be refreshing especially on a warm day.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor if you want immediate access to the beach and easy access to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We brought a group of more than 40 people here for our wedding week and it was perfect! We worked with both the reservations team and the owner to plan the details of our group's accommodation and a Welcome Dinner for 43 people, as well as explore options for our wedding. They were all so easy to work with- timely, helpful, transparent and very reasonable.

Throughout our stay, the staff were exceptional. Between the hotel staff and the restaurant staff, our group was in such trustworthy, capable hands. When you take such a large group abroad, it is important to feel safe, welcome and cared for. The concierge, George, was so on top of things. He and the other desk staff organized our welcome bags and had them waiting in the guests rooms when they checked in, and let guests know we had cold beers ready for them in their fridges. George and the Assistant manager of Lolha, Sam, also helped with music when our guests organized a surprise flash mob for us.

The hotel itself is just a gem in the Mayan Riviera. We had only been to Akumal once before for lunch. When we arrived, I was so happy it was even more beautiful than I remembered. The hotel setting has a very natural, secluded, tropical paradise feel. Our bungalow was very clean, charming and spacious for the price. Our other group member's bungalows and hotel rooms were equally as nice. Those staying in the hotel, especially in the ground floor rooms, loved being able to just walk right off their back patios, out to the pool or the beach.

Many in our group were the energetic, party type. When I first realized the town closes down at 9pm, I panicked a bit. It really turned out not to be a big deal though. We took shuttles into Playa del Carmen one night, we had our welcome dinner another night and then there was the wedding night. Other nights people walked to La Buena Vida, which is open until 11. The hotel was also really relaxed about our group making its own parties, done respectfully. (At least we never heard any complaints) It was also nice that the there is a store, rooms have fridges and it is totally okay to have your own drinks and snacks on the beach. You are not forced to get everything from the bar, which can add up.

It was really just so comfortable, beautiful and relaxing, just perfect for this bride and groom.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were heading to Akumal for a wedding of two very dear friends. We traveled quite long and far to get to Akumal and I did not know what to expect. I am a big, all inclusive resort kind of girl, so initially I was a little disappointed. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by the secluded nature of the beach, quality of the service and food. We stayed in the hotel, on the 2nd floor with a room overlooking the pool. We spent most days under some palm trees in the shade (man it is hot) and sipping drinks at Lol Ha. Our trip was too short to take advantage of the kitchenettes in the room - but there is a full service supermarket on site if you choose to cook some meals in your room. All of the food at the restaurants was very reasonably priced. We ate dinner at the Cave - just walking distance from the hotel and La Buena Vida, a cute outdoor spot, directly on the sand/beach, with treehouses you can climb up into to watch the sun or the stars. All in all, we had an amazing trip - I would definitely recommend it if your looking for something more off the beaten path, away from the touristy bustle of Cancun/Tulum.

Room Tip: Definitely aim for a room on a lower floor - several have balconies with stairs that lead directly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

While we enjoyed the bungalows the first time we stayed there, they weren't fancy and were reasonably priced. They are still not fancy and still near the beach, but their price is now gone up by 50%. They used to include a nice breakfast, but even though the price has skyrocketed, they've gotten cheap and put in a mediocre Continental Breakfast. I won't stay there again myself or with out groups.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I have been wondering how I can best explain why we have raised our prices. It's a complicated matter for us as hoteliers since the 70's. The last few years have been very tough for everyone and we discounted our rates by 20% , added free American Breakfast, and Free Wi Fi. This was great for those that did take advantage and booked a trip, but our occupancy remained down by more than 30%. For the last two years, we tried to make it work with these lower prices but we were forced to raise them again and at least not take away the Free Wi Fi and at least provide the Continental Breakfast. If we don't make enough money, we can't renovate, and if we can't get more people down even with lower prices, we still can't renovate! We are working on a new plan to upgrade the property though, and I hope that with these changes, you will come back to visit us!
Best wishes
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Villas Maya Bungalows are a part of the Hotel Akumal Caribe and are perfect for a relaxed vacation. They are set back from the beach in quadrangles. They are clean and comfortable with air conditioners and ceiling fans and ample light for reading at night. There are bungalows with kitchenettes, but most units have only a small refrigerator and a coffee pot. There is a large water bottle setting on top of the fridge, so there is ample water for drinking, tooth brushing, etc. The check-in is handled through the Hotel, and the staff is friendly and efficient. They provide beach towels at check-in, which can be exchanged every other day, if needed. The room charge included a continental breakfast (juice, fruit plate, toast or muffin, coffee or tea) at the Lol Ha Restaurant. This was the second time we've stayed at the Villas Maya Bungalows, and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed in the main hotel and got a first floor room which opens out to the beach. This was just great for the kids who amused themselves collecting coconuts on the beach. Amazing snorkeling including sting rays and turtles right off the beach. The only complaint I had was there was constantly sand in the room but you can't really help it when you have kids walking in and out of the room and on to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach in front of Hotel Akumal Caribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Akumal Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.