We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go and Learn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centro Ecologico Akumal

Centro Ecologico Akumal
Km 104 Carretera Puerto Juarez-Tulum, Akumal 77730, Mexico
52 984 875 9095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 Attractions in Akumal
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Saint Clair, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go and Learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Go and see the work being done at CEA....take time to the displays and learn about the turltles in the bay and other sea creatures...you will enjoy it....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    38
    8
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiefer, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The ecological center provides a video about the bay and the turtles and other sea life that live in it that is worth watching before you venture out into the water. The main goal is preservation and we fully support that. The video doesn't take long at all. It explains the different zones of the bay and what the different buoys indicate.

After the video, we chose to pay for the guided tour from the ecological center, but it was made clear that we had the option to go out on our own. The tour was sufficient. The guide was not as friendly as the guy who spoke to us in the center and helped us set everything up, but he was good at locating turtles and other interesting things to see.

Our tour lasted exactly how long they said it would last and we saw everything that we expected to see. The guide located over a dozen sea turtles and we had ample time to enjoy watching each one before moving on. The bay wasn't overly crowded and we had more than enough room to swim around and have a good time. I detest snorkeling with a life jacket because I love to dive down occasionally and getting good video of those in our group was pretty difficult with a life jacket on. That being said, I understand their reasoning for the life jackets and was more than willing to abide by the rule.

The biggest letdown as far as the service of the ecological center itself was after our snorkeling was finished. As we came back up onto the beach, our guide walked off without a word or any further instruction (not that a lot was needed). Once we made it back up to the building, the staff pointed us to the foot wash and was friendly with helping us find a good place for lunch.

We didn't have a bad experience at all and we are satisfied with our choice to go through the ecological center, but overall our time there was just okay. With a couple of small tweaks, it could have been a better experience, but this place exists for a good reason and we're supportive of what they're trying to accomplish.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love the Turtles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Love to stop in each time we visit Akumal. If you inquire in the office, they often have t-shirts they sell and the proceeds go to the turtle conservation. Would love to see them have a little more shirts and things to sell to go toward this conservation. Watch the video of the turtles and then go out and snorkel and swim with these beautiful and graceful creatures. Love it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you are in Akumal you will want to stop in here and see all the great work these people do for Akumal and the bay. Even after 7 years of visiting this area I still continue to learn.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Watch your step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Actually visited in November 2012. Here's a group that reminds the rest of us that enjoying a slice of paradise comes with a bit of responsibility for all of us. From not standing on the reefs, to resisting your urge to hug a sea turtle; organizations like the Centro Ecologico de Akumal exist to educate and remind us of what we need to do in order to preserve the beauty we see and enjoy in the Mayan Riviera.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centro Ecologico Akumal also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Centro Ecologico Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centro Ecologico Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.